DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

pipebomb

S400 is not the only deal ongoing with Russia. Far more important is russian assistant in arihant program and leasing of akula nuke submarine beside future collaboration on indeginous SSN which are in planning stages.

Then there are deals like talwar class, more t90s and su30mki upgrade program.

Russia is also partner in sfdr project as well as next gen version of bramhos.

It's still two important for us.
IMHO except nuclear sub & un veto(not as reliable as before) i don't see much use of russia

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Your battle readiness is already compromised when you depend on foreign countries for supply??

How will you make up for attrition in time fo war??
What if Russia or usa or France refused to supply ammunition spare during conflict ??

Not very professional eh??
I hear it, I hear it all the time. And I agree with it partially, but let's look realistically -
  • An emerging country like India does not have a strong military ecosystem that we can manufacture everything. Even USA/France/Russia outsources a few things and does not try to make every nut and bolt in the country, it is simply not feasible.
  • Would we rather remain toothless in hope of indigenization when our adversaries are buying anything and everything they can get their hands on?
  • Wars are fought today, hoping for an indigenous technology that we need today to win wars that we will get in the next 10-20 years, is not wise, is it?
Everybody claims that countries will stop exporting weapons to us in war. But has it actually ever happened in real life that it changed the tide of war?
Weapons are bought in sufficient quantities to sustain a good, long intense war (1+ month long).

For example, let's take the example of the Falklands war. French Exocet anti-ship missiles inflicted massive damage to Royal Navy's fleet. The UK then forced France to stop supplying weapons to Argentina. But the damage was done, and the war was over before it came to the attrition game.

Weapons are bought from friendly countries for a reason. We are not buying weapons from China or Pakistan, or even Turkey. We are buying weapons from friendly countries with whom we have had strong relations for many decades.

This import pasandi will soon cost us Arunachal Pradesh
Yes, we ought to cripple us by not buying crucial weapons required to deter and defeat China rather than wait 10+ years on DRDO/HAL to develop it.
Meanwhile we will request China for a pause because apparently we don't have required weapons to fight them. China will outright agree to pause this conflict for next 10 years because they will frankly agree that developing indigenious weapons is actually more important than using them for their purpose.

Alliance air has yet not been privatized. And that is a boon as their assets will be required to charter the then RM to mother Russia, France and other countries. Any aircraft able to fly that long and be able to carry the weight of the long emergency shopping list will do.

WARREN SS

Your battle readiness is already compromised when you depend on foreign countries for supply??

How will you make up for attrition in time fo war??
What if Russia or usa or France refused to supply ammunition spare during conflict ??

Not very professional eh??
That goes For all other countries you have mentioned 99 % of the airforce in the world are flying Imported weapons that need Supply chain support from OEM

Not just 🇮🇳

India fought all its major war based on foreign
Equipments in past hasn't it ??

Annual Spares supply and WWR(War waste reserves)established for these purposes only.
Hope you know the concept

That is why india or any nation except US,Russia, depends on imports from other resources

Countries rely on Allies in time crises
Even US and Russia cannot sustain long time wars without allied support that is
Why Warsaw pact and Nato Came into being.

PS:
Seriously Moment LCA compromised when it's choose GE engines

Americans are zero integrity when it comes to
Alignment

Until we develop Turbofan Engine technologies
We still count as a Beginner in military aviation sector.

flanker99

That goes For all other countries you have mentioned 99 % of the airforce in the world are flying Imported weapons that need Supply chain support from OEM

Not just 🇮🇳

India fought all its major war based on foreign
Equipments in past hasn't it ??

Annual Spares supply and WWR(War waste reserves)established for these purposes only.
Hope you know the concept

That is why india or any nation except US,Russia, depends on imports from other resources

Countries rely on Allies in time crises
Even US and Russia cannot sustain long time wars without allied support that is
Why Warsaw pact and Nato Came into being.

Seriously Moment LCA compromised when it's chose GE engines

Americans are zero integrity when it comes to
Alignment

Until we develop Turbofan Engine technologies
We still count as a Beginner in military aviation sector.
Do see how that went for us...foreign oem's over charging ,wasting precious time and money negotiating.
Western nations are dependent on each other for their weapons true but what people conveniently forget is that most are treaty allies and will never find firing at each other so the comparison is foolish.they are also dependent on china to an extent for few components but they have all the know-how and the industry needed to produce at a notice.

WARREN SS

Do see how that went for us...foreign oem's over charging ,wasting precious time and money negotiating.
Western nations are dependent on each other for their weapons true but what people conveniently forget is that most are treaty allies and will never find firing at each other so the comparison is foolish.they are also dependent on china to an extent for few components but they have all the know-how and the industry needed to produce at a notice.
You still rely on GE for engines ??

Even if your beloved MK2 go through

Industry already achieved 4++ gen aircraft development with LCA mk1A

Now it has enter phase-2
Which is Core of aviation sector that is Turbofan engine technologies.

WARREN SS

LCA cost is comparable to any aircraft we bought
Today

Project Pegged at 8-9 billion $ for LCA mk1 and mk1A

But it's still not Primary aircraft of IAF

Our primary aircraft is MKI and Rafale

which another category all together

Unless OCRA or AMCA developed which will be decade ahead

For this we need Turbofan technology

We compromised LCA now we Compromising
AMCA with GE engines

My focus in on Indeginious industry but
The focus my attention is Different has
Long-term impact

pipebomb

I hear it, I hear it all the time. And I agree with it partially, but let's look realistically -
  • An emerging country like India does not have a strong military ecosystem that we can manufacture everything. Even USA/France/Russia outsources a few things and does not try to make every nut and bolt in the country, it is simply not feasible.
  • Would we rather remain toothless in hope of indigenization when our adversaries are buying anything and everything they can get their hands on?
  • Wars are fought today, hoping for an indigenous technology that we need today to win wars that we will get in the next 10-20 years, is not wise, is it?
Everybody claims that countries will stop exporting weapons to us in war. But has it actually ever happened in real life that it changed the tide of war?
Weapons are bought in sufficient quantities to sustain a good, long intense war (1+ month long).

For example, let's take the example of the Falklands war. French Exocet anti-ship missiles inflicted massive damage to Royal Navy's fleet. The UK then forced France to stop supplying weapons to Argentina. But the damage was done, and the war was over before it came to the attrition game.

Weapons are bought from friendly countries for a reason. We are not buying weapons from China or Pakistan, or even Turkey. We are buying weapons from friendly countries with whom we have had strong relations for many decades.

Yes, we ought to cripple us by not buying crucial weapons required to deter and defeat China rather than wait 10+ years on DRDO/HAL to develop it.
Meanwhile we will request China for a pause because apparently we don't have required weapons to fight them. China will outright agree to pause this conflict for next 10 years because they will frankly agree that developing indigenious weapons is actually more important than using them for their purpose.
145 m777 or 36 rafale will not deter china let alone defeat. You tell me why IA didn't show interest in desi light tank solutions presented by drdo over the years, and all of sudden "hume spurt laake do" . For what reason are ka226 needed exactly.

flanker99

LCA cost is comparable to any aircraft we bought
Today

Project Pegged at 8-9 billion $ for LCA mk1 and mk1A

But it's still not Primary aircraft of IAF

Our primary aircraft is MKI and Rafale

which another category all together

Unless OCRA or AMCA developed which will be decade ahead

For this we need Turbofan technology

We compromised LCA now we Compromising
AMCA with GE engines

My focus in on Indeginious industry but
The focus my attention is Different has
Long-term impact
Whats ur point again?

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
145 m777 or 36 rafale will not deter china let alone defeat. You tell me why IA didn't show interest in desi light tank solutions presented by drdo over the years, and all of sudden "hume spurt laake do" . For what reason are ka226 needed exactly.
At least present a stronger argument if you are going to argue against weapons import, this was the weakest point

👇

145 m777 or 36 rafale will not deter china let alone defeat.
No, we needed 100+ Rafales. Do you realize that 36 Rafales are a stop-gap measure to dwindling IAF strength so that HAL gets enough time to perfect and manufacture Tejas?

And 147 M777 is like a special weapon, especially suited for amphibious and surgical operations, where quick troop insertion and para-dropping of equipment will be crucial.

You tell me why IA didn't show interest in desi light tank solutions presented by drdo over the years, and all of sudden "hume spurt laake do" . For what reason are ka226 needed exactly.
Because the requirement was not there. We were not expecting the Chinese will roll tanks in Ladakh, now you see a renewed focus on China being our main adversary, rather than Pakistan.
And no, IA never said to give them Spurt. IA just expressed that there exists a requirement of a light tank, and Russia/dalals seeing an opportunity, pitched in.

=============================================================

Let me ask you simple reverse questions.

If tomorrow, due to our (foolish) stubbornness for indigenously-manufactured weapons even if they are sub-par, costs us Ladakh, J&K, or Arunachal Pradesh, who is gonna take the blame? Obviously armed forces and govt.

No one will say, "Yeah we lost the war, I lost my son in war, my daughter has been sold to Chinese, but at least we got to use our indigenous weapons, because that's what was actually important".

Live. in. reality.

Errmmmm..actually it does ..
Mere Bhai we have example of Insas where army was given sub standard weapon and they struggled badly because of that
This is a double edged sword ..So we need to get indigenous true and with haste but we also need to make sure that they are quality products.
You don't want armed forces using sub standard products

FalconZero

Easy you will hurt our import loving bootlickers out there.

Probably this is what Rawat saheb had in mind when he asked for a mobile CIWS

View attachment 119911

But DRDO gave him this abomination.

View attachment 119912

View attachment 119910
It was posted last year, OFB or drdo? Who cares as long it just werks.

doreamon