Yes, indeed, forgot about that one.Aps ....too
T-72 was a better choice with a superior gun and Armor. Only thing T-72 lacked was crew space and good fire control system. Vickers 3I could have competed against T-72 better if it at least had the Royal Ordnance L11 120 Rifled Gun from the Chieftain Tank instead of the older L7.
I heard Rheinmetall is interested in Make in India initiative Proposed by PM Narendra Modi and are willing to invest in Indian Defense industry.Agreed but will the Germans comply is the million dollar question. I for one, have no trust in those libtard cucks.
TLDR; from what is known pretty much equal overall... less in post-penetration survivability but has better frontal armour layout & much superior gun. However likely inferior suspension, thus mobility & mobile accuracy. BTW Arjun Mark1 is as vintage as Bhishma & Ajeya.Noob question how does Type-99A2 compare to Arjuna MK1 and MK1A? When will Army gonna approve Arjuna MK1A?
PS: Forgot this part.... I think they were waiting for desi 1500hp engine to become available.When will Army gonna approve Arjuna MK1A?
Arjun 2 has been rechristened as MK1-A. The real Arjun 2 is still on the drawing board.I'm confused on the purpose of Arjun MK-1A. Isn't the Arjun 2 already developed? Why complicate your army with another variant instead of just buying more MK-2s?
Afaik the Arjun-2 will have a re-designed turret. Options exist from radical Armata like auto-turret to something like a traditional Leo2A7 kind of a deal. The Mk1A is basically a Leo2A4 with upgraded systems and bolt on ERA. I also won't be surprised if we see a 130mm cannon on the Arjun Mk2.Arjun 2 has been rechristened as MK1-A. The real Arjun 2 is still on the drawing board.
Uchhal mat vai... Let's see.Afaik the Arjun-2 will have a re-designed turret. Options exist from radical Armata like auto-turret to something like a traditional Leo2A7 kind of a deal. The Mk1A is basically a Leo2A4 with upgraded systems and bolt on ERA. I also won't be surprised if we see a 130mm cannon on the Arjun Mk2.
Damn, even including logistics setup & spares they're ₹55-60crores each... Better than ₹45crores vanilla tincans I suppose, but Rupee being in the gutters is starting to hurt.
Also indigenous content is still no more can 50%. Some desi alternatives are available but under various stages of operationalisation... So expect the price to come down once the 1500hp engine etc. are being used.HVF will then build ‘First of Production Model. These five tanks will be put through General Service Quality Requirement (GSQR) evaluation by the Army and will accord Bulk Production Clearance (BPC) if found satisfactory. Once BPC was given, production would be done as per an agreed schedule, the official said.
Observing that if subsequently more numbers were ordered beyond 118, it would immensely benefit the domestic industry and the ‘Make in India’ effort, the official added that the indigenisation content could also progressively go to 70% with more numbers.
Drdo has also developed GMS and external laser designator hmm.PS: Lol. They're really scared of Quality Control lapses...
Also indigenous content is still no more can 50%. Some desi alternatives are available but under various stages of operationalisation... So expect the price to come down once the 1500hp engine etc. are being used.
As I said, not operational yet.Drdo has also developed GMS and external laser designator hmm.
That's why there is no public image yet. Automatic target tracker must be also there.As I said, not operational yet.