@Anupu
Mein aapki bhavna samajh sakta hun. But there are other perspectives too. Esp. w.r.t. priorities.
Ultimately for everything we are not subjected to tech denial or wherever we are not trailing in some proprietary IPR we can afford to go slow because we will have options.
For places we know there is no option but to do an "ekla chalo" we must have started the day before yesterday.
Currentlly they have just picked up the exact opposite method of doing thing. The things they can do they have started, Y-duct, S-duct, Sensor fusions whatever... But the areas they were lagging have been left to God almighty and America... like the bloody engine.
So merely starting on all fronts possible with AMCA will not help. Deep down perhaps even
@Rahul Singh also wants exactly the same thing when he says let's just move ahead and make a Non-LO AMCA. He too wants to speed up things. But ain't that the way of the LCA. Not that I agree with the current policy formation where you just negotiate till death with the Americans so some Shahi Tukde get thrown your way.
There exists also an inertia within the Indian strategic circles also, which sees it somehow beneficial to depend on the Americans after the earlier dependence on the the Soviets. In between the existence of 'Indian' somehow never occurred to them. That sense buried in the tons of minutes in multiplicates, of countless meetings.
I would love to cut corners too and get the damn thing flying. But what is the point if you are merely, after that first flight, going to depend on some foreigner for help with something messed up by unscrupulous insiders.
Why I use the word 'messed up' is because, at the end of the day, we are, despite everything only following, something that was already done. And if they could do it then how bloody hard can it be for us. Hamare haath nahi hain ya hamare sir par seengh hain. What is wrong!!!???
Hope you understand. We terribly need to prioritize before we need to make AMCA.
And for those who are reading and are sucker, prioritization does imply not having to depend. So kut le warna ghar mein ghus ke teri......