ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Welcome

All is well.........now i waiting for Tejas MK-II. Please any body can explain the specification of MK-II. i hope it should be at least 4.5 gen plane and similar to MIG-30MKI by performance. i am requesting to our scientist that please don't try to make world lightest plane, try to make world best plane. i always listen by ADA scientist proudly say it's a world lightest plane. however i don't know what is advantage of light weight.

I have heard of old wine in new bottle but this is a case of old wine in old bottle. Tired of repetitive information. By the way I wonder who could have pressured IAF chief to rephrase his words. The whole world by now knows what he wanted to say. Imagine a pro fighter pilot like Naik is made to eat his words because he just was waiting to vent his frustration. Heaven help us!!!
VJ could you please clarify on how Tejas is an 3rd generation fighter? What are the features that make an 3rd generation fighter and how does Tejas fit that mold?

Also IAF chief is not infallible and he could have had a slip of tongue.

vijay jagannathan

clarification----- Light combat aircraft ----Tejas-Mark 1 even after FOC will be unacceptable to IAF. Why do you think they even thought of Mark-2 2 years ago?

And oh by the way IAF wants only 83 of Mark 2. Now even I who is a reborn Tejas critic fail to understand how the IAF has already decided that it will not have anything more than 83. Simply because by the time Mark 2 becomes operational IAF's airstaff requirements and doctrines would have gone a sea change. Time and tide stops for none especially technology.

LCA mark 1 technology demonstrator. Mark 2 to fly prototype in 12 months. Otherwise LCA must close down and stop wasting Tax payers money.

abirbec04

What does the IAF want is perhaps unclear to IAF themselves, otherwise they wouldn't get into the PAK FA project after seeing only one prototype so blindly. LCA Tejas has been dogged with unnecessary controversies and is being sold to a customer who clearly prefers foreign made fighters over indigenous development. I still don't understand one simple thing, why is GOI so happy to pay billions for any foreign designed aircraft but reluctant to pay more than a few millions for the development of our own programs.

Just how much does the Tejas cost? 150-200 crores a piece. Whats the problem in getting it in numbers?

If you see the other divisions of the armed forces, the Indian Army's wishlist for a new tank reads like a star wars kind of weapon. They stopped at putting wings on the tank. Complete BS. Both the IAF and the IA has been shifting goalpost so much that even if you manufacture the F-22 at home they would say its not upto the mark and find some fault out of it. IAF should be told in stricter terms, enough is enough, buy the Tejas and work with it - you are not going to get overhyped foreign toys spending tax-payers money just to feel good.

BS ........... BS ......... and more BS today from the IAF chief. At least on the day of the IOC, he should have kept his mouth shut and applauded the efforts of the scientists. But no, even today he has to speak about all the negatives. Then go fly the Mig-21s and keep flying them till the end of the 21st century. P.V. Naik maybe the IAF chief, but with the beer belly and unrefined mannerisms, he sure does not inspire any confidence in me. P.K. Barbora would have made a better Chief in my view.

vijay jagannathan

What does the IAF want is perhaps unclear to IAF themselves, otherwise they wouldn't get into the PAK FA project after seeing only one prototype so blindly. LCA Tejas has been dogged with unnecessary controversies and is being sold to a customer who clearly prefers foreign made fighters over indigenous development. I still don't understand one simple thing, why is GOI so happy to pay billions for any foreign designed aircraft but reluctant to pay more than a few millions for the development of our own programs.

Just how much does the Tejas cost? 150-200 crores a piece. Whats the problem in getting it in numbers?

If you see the other divisions of the armed forces, the Indian Army's wishlist for a new tank reads like a star wars kind of weapon. They stopped at putting wings on the tank. Complete BS. Both the IAF and the IA has been shifting goalpost so much that even if you manufacture the F-22 at home they would say its not upto the mark and find some fault out of it. IAF should be told in stricter terms, enough is enough, buy the Tejas and work with it - you are not going to get overhyped foreign toys spending tax-payers money just to feel good.

BS ........... BS ......... and more BS today from the IAF chief. At least on the day of the IOC, he should have kept his mouth shut and applauded the efforts of the scientists. But no, even today he has to speak about all the negatives. Then go fly the Mig-21s and keep flying them till the end of the 21st century. P.V. Naik maybe the IAF chief, but with the beer belly and unrefined mannerisms, he sure does not inspire any confidence in me. P.K. Barbora would have made a better Chief in my view.
Abirbec--- The IAF is very clear and has always been clear. Forget materials for construction,forget fly by wire forget aviaonics--lets take one simple parameter. THRUST. IAF always wanted 100+ KN thrust. Where is it getting it?? Now what do you do with a plane that after years and years of development neither has a AESA RADAR, EW suit,BVRAAM,and thrust. Now atleast one must be completely developed to instill confidence in the product. Plus of course several other parametrs have either not been met,or half tested plus some questions regarding design and airintakes itself.What about the speed. It hasn't and seems like cant exceed 1.3 mach(sourced from Tarmak007) So what do you do?? ADA says will develop in due course. When? This is something nobody can answer because we all have seen for ourselves the kind of delay. So where does that leave the IAF? keep waiting or go about their business by looking elsewhere? Do you agree they have a far more important job to do?

chex3009

Do anybody know about the Navigational system of Tejas??? Can someone throw light on it???

LETHALFORCE

vijay jagannathan

Guys I am sorry but I am not ranting. I am not against Tejas itself but against further time and money spent on Mark 1. I support the immediate shift of manpower and resources to development of Mark 2 so that we don't delay the final product which the IAF has been waiting for. I hope I am clear.

It makes a lot of sense to concentrate manpower energy and money in going for mark 2. mark 1 is a tech demonstrator. IAF is not happy with it as it does not fulfil its needs and specifications. Its clear and final. and if people cannot digest this fact they can continue to live in a pseudo world. ACM's enthusiasm says it all.
Yes it does that is why GOI has given the money and ADA has started working. Development of sub systems began back in 2009.

MK-1 is no tech demonstrator. Had it been IAF would not have ordered 20 more calling it much better than Mig-21 and 'better' doesn't necessarily means right from IOC. Path from IOC to FOC involves minor design changes and lot of software upgradation especially due to integration of new weapons. And this requires very small down time at work shop and can be done on entire fleet of IOC production models.

LCA doesn't fulfill its specified specifications at IOC but all was never required to be at IOC itself and that is why world over design houses follow IOC -> Fly and develop -> FOC methodology.

Yes it is clear and final that is why ACM elaborated his sophisticated comment as "some systems and maneuvers have to be finalized leading to the FOC". But who cares if obsessed people can't get to real meaning.

By the way I wonder who could have pressured IAF chief to rephrase his words. The whole world by now knows what he wanted to say. Imagine a pro fighter pilot like Naik is made to eat his words because he just was waiting to vent his frustration. Heaven help us!!!
Imagine a pro fighter pilot and ACM breaking down his words only to make obsessed citizens understand real meaning embedded in his sophisticated speaking.

clarification----- Light combat aircraft ----Tejas-Mark 1 even after FOC will be unacceptable to IAF. Why do you think they even thought of Mark-2 2 years ago?
Mark-2 means LCA with advanced not contemporary avionics and weapons. And even today original idea could stay as same. But since a scaled up Tejas can be developed with least resources and new engine is spoken to be powerful enough, in comes the second thought, which is to evolve it to M-MRCA. May be just to cap 126 at 126, who knows?

And oh by the way IAF wants only 83 of Mark 2. Now even I who is a reborn Tejas critic fail to understand how the IAF has already decided that it will not have anything more than 83. Simply because by the time Mark 2 becomes operational IAF's airstaff requirements and doctrines would have gone a sea change. Time and tide stops for none especially technology.
MARK-2 is least expected to have parity with the M-MRCAs as far as technology is concerned. So if IAF inducts M-MRCA then it will surely do LCA MK-2 as well.

83 as per what, desi dork media? What structure its makes when we know a regular IAF squadron equals to 18 fighters and 2 trainers? What will IAF do with that odd figure?

LCA mark 1 technology demonstrator. Mark 2 to fly prototype in 12 months. Otherwise LCA must close down and stop wasting Tax payers money.
Mark-1 is no technology demonstrator and whatever incompetence it has in relative terms will be sorted out by FOC something which is a fully natural methodology practiced worldwide.

If buying MK-2 after 2015 is waste of tax payers money then so is buying and inducting M-MRCAs by 2015.

LETHALFORCE

Guys I am sorry but I am not ranting. I am not against Tejas itself but against further time and money spent on Mark 1. I support the immediate shift of manpower and resources to development of Mark 2 so that we don't delay the final product which the IAF has been waiting for. I hope I am clear.
There have been many technological advancements since LCA mk1 began which will be incorporated into LCA mk2.

Do anybody know about the Navigational system of Tejas??? Can someone throw light on it???
LCA uses Honeywell RGL-INS for navigation but this is 2007 news. Recently somewhere i read about indigenous replacement but failing to recall where. BTW LCA is stated to have GPS navigation.

SATISH

Well one must know the different parameters for IOC and FOC. In IOC the aircraft s certified to be fit to fly. It does not involve much of weapon system integration, rather weapon separation and the air crafts behavior. Only during the FOC testing phase the actual weapon systems are tested. Hell even the gun is not fired yet.

Well P2P I agree the Tejas has only a 22 degree AoA but it is far better than the MiG 21. As I told LCA is not as capable as the Mirage 2000. If the LCA had been in the size and weight category of the M2K it might.

shaka

Backup your statements with sources.

83 is not a small number. Thats total 123 LCA equal to MMRCA order.

shaka

IAF is not interested in LCA Mk1. That is very clear from ACM's statements in the past as well as today.
Sources please. this is clear from today's statement that it will get everything before FOC.

Exactly the point. You just made it. IAF is getting high end jets, state of the art. But in the end IAF will lose 20 pilots now and another 20 pilots later to the Mk1 with standards WAAAY below what the MRCA is providing.
Stop writing crap will you. How is LCA waay below MRCA standard because some brochure says so. Clarify it.

Losing 40 pilots in 3 years is no joke, not to mention a base or 2.
What rubbish

Not the IOC jets. At Max G force of 6 the Mig-21 will be spinning circles around the LCA, not to mention it will get shot down by BVR anyway. The Bisons have a capable EW as well as BVR.
Do you even know that every jet in the world goes through IOC/FOC process. Weapons get certified and it takes time for that.

I will agree with the older Migs. But the Bisons are more 4th gen than the Mk1. Not to mention the older Mig-21s are actually being replaced by MKIs and later MRCA in the future.
Do you even know that every jet in the world goes through IOC/FOC process. Weapons get certified and it takes time for that.

I hardly doubt the specifications even match what the Mirage-2000 will be getting. What we have is not Elta's radar. We have our own MMR that uses Israel's radar processors. Our very first radar matching the RC-400 series, I don't think so.
Can you back up your silly statements.

R-73 yes. R-77 not yet. That's for FOC.
So.....?

The MKI upgrade plan is much more comprehensive than the LCAs. MKI will have everything required even before the FOC LCA hits the production line. So, cannot compare.
Backup your statements please......

Also, the Mayawi suite is still not ready and will not be until after 2012.
Backup your statements please......

Nope. I want a Gripen for a R&D budget that is perfectly adequate for our needs.
Do you even know what our needs are ?

The point is the ACMs words are being criticized for being out of line when he is the one in charge of protecting our country. When he speaks the truth, the messenger as well as the message is criticized simply because nobody wants to hear it.
point taken

This is the same story as the Arjun. Calling for induction a product that is well below required standards and then criticizing the people who rejected the product and comparing them to our political schemers.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/dc-comment/when-arjun-beat-t-90-754

shaka

The MRCA fighters are all flying right now and are all awesome killers, including Gripen. And we need them even more so.
Grippen NG is a paper plane as well.

There are times we have to get out of the rabbit hole and look at things objectively. For some reason not many people do that.
Are you talking about your self

shaka

I say drop the LCA mark 1 and forget IOC LOC whatever. Use it as a tech demonstrator. Move seamlessly into mark 2.
Then what if MK2 fails to satisfy you, drop it and move it to AMCA

AF will not and should not and MUST not wait for another 3 years for LCA mark 2. Its seriously jeopardising its ability.Maybe like Kaveri was delinked IAF must delink from the LCA and look the other way. Maybe the Navy can hang on.
Perhaps you must ask whats not wrong with LCA mark 1? if you had inducted LCA mark 1 with full FOC in 1985 that would have been awesome, if you had it in 1990 it would have been a big thing then, if you had it in year 2000 it would have meant something----but what do you expect a 3+ generation plane that too 2 years away from FOC in 2010???? NOTHING!!!!
What do you do with 20 F-404 engines?? do you want to induct toy planes in IAF becaUse you went and bought 20 odd engines? thats not a good enough reason. donate them to IIT,GTRE. sell them to scrap merchants or industries who will try to reverse engineer them.
Man I am getting sick of replying to this nonsence.