Wuhan Coronavirus Thread

Is coronavirus a biological warfare agent released by China?

• yes

Votes: 175 89.3%
  • no

Votes: 21 10.7%

Agraj

So US has halted the yearly donation to WHO,made a reviewing committee to assess the role of WHO in mishandling the crisis,terming it as 'failure in handling the basic duty'. The US also alleged WHO for a pro china stance. India and the rest of the world should really follow suit,CCP. must be held accountable,till now the data coming out of china is either botched or modified in CCPs interest.

Covid19 lockdown: There's only one way to save Indian lives and economy

SARS-CoV-2 that causes COVID-19 is here to stay. Every single carrier is one too many. Even if by a miracle everyone is cured this instant, surfaces could still carry SARS-CoV-2 for days. How long before a single, stray virus finds its way into someone’s lungs and this global nightmare has a sequel?

As the PM and CMs of different states met over video conferencing and decided to extend lockdown for two more weeks, reactions varied. Richer Indians fluctuated between boredom and irritation, poorer Indians between worry about short term hunger and long term poverty and death.

The real question though is this: would we go back to normal on the 1st of May? And if we do, how long before another burst of infections emerge across the country like in China, which on 11th April saw 99 new cases, its highest increase since March 6? Do we go for another lockdown? If yes, how long?

Let’s find out the peak our medical infrastructure can handle. India only has around 40,000 ventilators with only a few thousand free during normal times.

Add to that the fact that we only have 1 doctor per 1,457 citizens i.e we have a shortage of over 600,000 doctors and 2 million nurses. Right now is perhaps not the time to ask why even after 73 years of independence, India’s medical infrastructure is so woefully inadequate or laugh at the irony of doctor-shortage in a nation where every second middle-class family wants to make their child a doctor.

We learn from nations – almost all Asian – who have succeeded. South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong have kept the virus under manageable levels without draconian lockdowns, and it now seems so has China.

What these places did is what the WHO had asked in the first place – the three magic words – ‘test, test, test’ and two more: ‘contact-tracing’. But these pose a special challenge for India.

A key problem in India is our horrendous communication skills. Millions still haven’t understood the gravity of the disease and continue to roam around needlessly despite the lockdown (excluding genuine cases like hunger-stricken migrants). Thus what we need most is effective community communication of the seriousness of the issue involving local leaders and workers. This will be key to any solution we come up with.

To repeat once again - COVID-19 is not going away in a hurry. The government should make decisions based upon this assumption, as also the knowledge that resultant poverty could kill hundreds of thousands in India. But it need not be so. With enough testing, we can restart life and economy in a phased, controlled manner. And together, over time, united as a nation, step by step, we can defeat this invisible enemy better than any other country in the world.

https://www.sify.com/news/covid19-l...s-and-economy-news-columns-ueneBtajfdicc.html
The people who are promoting "test test test" strategy, has become ideological, same with opposition to HCQ. Libtards.
Here is a tweet from the author and where he stands.

here2where

So US has halted the yearly donation to WHO,made a reviewing committee to assess the role of WHO in mishandling the crisis,terming it as 'failure in handling the basic duty'. The US also alleged WHO for a pro china stance. India and the rest of the world should really follow suit,CCP. must be held accountable,till now the data coming out of china is either botched or modified in CCPs interest.
Knee jerk reaction IMO by orangie, similar to his leaving the climate change group earlier, without any data or proof. Punish CCP/WHO/anyone else, but first prove culpability.

Absolut_Vodka

Quarantined Abdul
I also agree............

Now Malaysia gets HCQ from India, Turkey will too and then Prithvi Raj Syndrome will force us to sell to Pakiland too.

Indian govt only knows how to buttfuck Hindus, specially by Muslims. That's our orgy, getting fucked by 72 mullahs.

But let's keep Liquor shops closed while Abduls throws rocks all over BJP and congregate as per their wishes. The biggest hurdle in combating coronavirus are liquor shops and yes, don't forget to send ventilators and drugs to nations that rubbed us in UN. Who cares about hundreds or even thousands of dead soldiers. Can't give up fetish of getting spanked by peacefuls over such small matters.

here2where

The people who are promoting "test test test" strategy, has become ideological, same with opposition to HCQ. Libtards.
The same author in another article says the below. How does one counter the rationale behind the requirement to test and it being very expensive in our country at present?

India needs up to 6 crore daily tests to win over COVID-19

Even critics would agree that PM Modi’s address to the nation yesterday was the best so far with feel-good symbolism replaced by important steps. The best though, was saved for last when he asked young scientists to step up to help create a vaccine against SARS-CoV-2.

This open call to science during a crisis after years of either cutting science funding or minuscule increases is not only a welcome departure but the second step in India’s fight against COVID-19. The PM missed out on the first, most important step - testing.

First, let’s find out how immediately helpful the call to create a vaccine is by considering the best possible outcome. Let’s say the best scientific minds after heeding the PMs call and aided by unlimited funds and zero bureaucracy, manage to find a vaccine within a month. And let us say testing and approval – which takes years - is shortened to 3 months.Post that we’d at least need a year to have the vaccine reaches most of 1.3 billion Indians.

The question that even this best-case scenario begs to ask is this: what do we do for the next 16 months? Obviously we cannot keep the nation under lockdown. Thus, a vaccine does not provide the shortest path to a return to a semblance of normalcy in the post-COVID world. Testing does.

Why is testing so important?

Knowledge is power, more so during a pandemic where you need to SEE an INVISIBLE VIRUS to effectively control its spread. How you do that is by following its movement, like in almost every invisible man movie where you are not able to see the person but can see his wet footsteps.

Every single cluster spread of the virus worldwide has shown the pattern in SARS-Cov-2’s movement – the person who gets it spreads it to those who come closest to him physically, who then do the same. This spread, we can ‘see’ if we test extensively.

That is what countries who have fought the virus effectively so far without having to impose drastic lockdowns – Taiwan, South Korea, Germany, etc. have done. This is what India needs to somehow replicate if it wants to open up its economy and literally save thousands to lakhs of lives that would be lost, not to the virus, but hunger and poverty the more lockdowns extends.

India, however, has been criticized for having one of the poorest per capita testing numbers. The reason is not hard to guess – the current tests are too expensive for a poor nation like India.

What we need, like I eluded to in a column previously, are tests so cheap that getting one would be as easy as buying vegetables from the nearest market.

And what is the ideal number of tests India needs to do daily? The answer is somewhere between 2.6 lakh to around 60 million a day. Why this huge fluctuation? The 2.6 lakh figure I’ve reached from expanding South Korea’s current numbers (10,000 daily tests for a population of 5 crores) to India’s population.

The 60 million figure is an approximate extension made after studying a series of white papers put out by Edmond J. Safra Centre for Ethics, a research center at Harvard University. They suggest up to 20 million tests per day for the US (less than one-third of India’s population) along with a vigorous contact tracing regimen.

This is not an accurate figure for India by any stretch and my only intention with this guesstimate is to trigger this thought in India as we don’t seem to have begun thinking about it. To get the correct testing numbers for India though, epidemiologists, ethicists, and statisticians have to get together to consider the various India specific factors into the calculation like the Safra Center has done to arrive at their numbers.

The biggest problem in India as far as testing goes, is its cost which right now is prohibitively high to enable such mass testing. Hence, what we need is the cheapest COVID-19 test in the world, a test under Rs. 100, ideally half of it i.e. Rs.50. At this cost, doing say even 10 million tests a day would cost the exchequer Rs. 50 crore a day, a minuscule sum when you consider that the loss to India on account of the lockdown is $4.5 billion per day.

The tests would, of course, need to be followed by rigorous contact tracing which India has effectively managed in places like the state of Kerala and Bhilwara in Rajasthan.

What would also need to be kept in mind to make that many tests are to help those industries that make the material that goes into making these test kits i.e. reagents, plastic parts, tubes etc.

Thus what the PM should have also asked the scientists of the nation and industrialists is to join hands and pool people and money to create the cheapest COVID-19 test in the world. It would be ideal if the PM got on national television for a 10-minute address just for this and perhaps also declare both financial assistance to those who want to try their hand and also rewards for those companies who come the closest.

Thus, the very first order of business for at least a part of the scientific establishment in the Modi administration should be to ‘see the virus’ by developing homegrown, inexpensive testing kits and figuring out the correct number of tests we need daily. Without this, we’d be doomed not just from a collapsing economy, but also the social unrest that thousands to lakhs of possible hunger deaths could unleash.

https://www.sify.com/news/india-nee...over-covid-19-news-columns-uepgJ7fefiigh.html

doreamon

These Imaan wale never fails to show us what they are.
a
Now Malaysia gets HCQ from India, Turkey will too and then Prithvi Raj Syndrome will force us to sell to Pakiland too.

Indian govt only knows how to buttfuck Hindus, specially by Muslims. That's our orgy, getting fucked by 72 mullahs.

But let's keep Liquor shops closed while Abduls throws rocks all over BJP and congregate as per their wishes. The biggest hurdle in combating coronavirus are liquor shops and yes, don't forget to send ventilators and drugs to nations that rubbed us in UN. Who cares about hundreds or even thousands of dead soldiers. Can't give up fetish of getting spanked by peacefuls over such small matters.
agreed .. govt shd allow home delivery of liquor in big cities... west bengal has started it.. Software engineers in bangeluru are craving alcohol like water :biggrin2: ... This ll allow nationalist people to help govt earn some revenue and fight covid19..

Agraj

Knee jerk reaction IMO by orangie, similar to his leaving the climate change group earlier, without any data or proof. Punish CCP/WHO/anyone else, but first prove culpability.
Call it knee jerk or whatever,even the Japs questioned WHOs pro china stance.The point is how little did the world governments knew about the virus.WHO stated there was no evidence for a human to human transmission,this was the data they were provided by CCP,it was in December.after a few weeks WHO makes a complete u turn and says human to human transmission is happening.All these statements were made under the evidence provided by CCP.it was WHOs job to provide the world with the most accurate information.what the orange guy said is absolutely true,'who didn't even perform their basic duty',instead relied on CCP for evidence.A country reportedly having 80k covid cases and 6k death,managed to cure them all ? How ? Ccp did what they do best,propaganda.they planted a factually incorrect information to who as to face save china from the global Fallout that was inevitable.and WHO being so much deep in bed with China relayed it.

The same author in another article says the below. How does one counter the rationale behind the requirement to test and it being very expensive in our country at present?

India needs up to 6 crore daily tests to win over COVID-19

Even critics would agree that PM Modi’s address to the nation yesterday was the best so far with feel-good symbolism replaced by important steps. The best though, was saved for last when he asked young scientists to step up to help create a vaccine against SARS-CoV-2.

This open call to science during a crisis after years of either cutting science funding or minuscule increases is not only a welcome departure but the second step in India’s fight against COVID-19. The PM missed out on the first, most important step - testing.

First, let’s find out how immediately helpful the call to create a vaccine is by considering the best possible outcome. Let’s say the best scientific minds after heeding the PMs call and aided by unlimited funds and zero bureaucracy, manage to find a vaccine within a month. And let us say testing and approval – which takes years - is shortened to 3 months.Post that we’d at least need a year to have the vaccine reaches most of 1.3 billion Indians.

The question that even this best-case scenario begs to ask is this: what do we do for the next 16 months? Obviously we cannot keep the nation under lockdown. Thus, a vaccine does not provide the shortest path to a return to a semblance of normalcy in the post-COVID world. Testing does.

Why is testing so important?

Knowledge is power, more so during a pandemic where you need to SEE an INVISIBLE VIRUS to effectively control its spread. How you do that is by following its movement, like in almost every invisible man movie where you are not able to see the person but can see his wet footsteps.

Every single cluster spread of the virus worldwide has shown the pattern in SARS-Cov-2’s movement – the person who gets it spreads it to those who come closest to him physically, who then do the same. This spread, we can ‘see’ if we test extensively.

That is what countries who have fought the virus effectively so far without having to impose drastic lockdowns – Taiwan, South Korea, Germany, etc. have done. This is what India needs to somehow replicate if it wants to open up its economy and literally save thousands to lakhs of lives that would be lost, not to the virus, but hunger and poverty the more lockdowns extends.

India, however, has been criticized for having one of the poorest per capita testing numbers. The reason is not hard to guess – the current tests are too expensive for a poor nation like India.

What we need, like I eluded to in a column previously, are tests so cheap that getting one would be as easy as buying vegetables from the nearest market.

And what is the ideal number of tests India needs to do daily? The answer is somewhere between 2.6 lakh to around 60 million a day. Why this huge fluctuation? The 2.6 lakh figure I’ve reached from expanding South Korea’s current numbers (10,000 daily tests for a population of 5 crores) to India’s population.

The 60 million figure is an approximate extension made after studying a series of white papers put out by Edmond J. Safra Centre for Ethics, a research center at Harvard University. They suggest up to 20 million tests per day for the US (less than one-third of India’s population) along with a vigorous contact tracing regimen.

This is not an accurate figure for India by any stretch and my only intention with this guesstimate is to trigger this thought in India as we don’t seem to have begun thinking about it. To get the correct testing numbers for India though, epidemiologists, ethicists, and statisticians have to get together to consider the various India specific factors into the calculation like the Safra Center has done to arrive at their numbers.

The biggest problem in India as far as testing goes, is its cost which right now is prohibitively high to enable such mass testing. Hence, what we need is the cheapest COVID-19 test in the world, a test under Rs. 100, ideally half of it i.e. Rs.50. At this cost, doing say even 10 million tests a day would cost the exchequer Rs. 50 crore a day, a minuscule sum when you consider that the loss to India on account of the lockdown is $4.5 billion per day.

The tests would, of course, need to be followed by rigorous contact tracing which India has effectively managed in places like the state of Kerala and Bhilwara in Rajasthan.

What would also need to be kept in mind to make that many tests are to help those industries that make the material that goes into making these test kits i.e. reagents, plastic parts, tubes etc.

Thus what the PM should have also asked the scientists of the nation and industrialists is to join hands and pool people and money to create the cheapest COVID-19 test in the world. It would be ideal if the PM got on national television for a 10-minute address just for this and perhaps also declare both financial assistance to those who want to try their hand and also rewards for those companies who come the closest.

Thus, the very first order of business for at least a part of the scientific establishment in the Modi administration should be to ‘see the virus’ by developing homegrown, inexpensive testing kits and figuring out the correct number of tests we need daily. Without this, we’d be doomed not just from a collapsing economy, but also the social unrest that thousands to lakhs of possible hunger deaths could unleash.

https://www.sify.com/news/india-nee...over-covid-19-news-columns-uepgJ7fefiigh.html
is it the case that you are agreeing with this fellow's view?

afako

Hindufying India
It looks like HCQ a medicine which costs Rs 3 a tablet is working effectively in majority casescasws., though not a direct cure but the best we have and it works.

Now the leftists, globalists and all vested interests who are in the race to new vaccine for China Virus and want to sell it at $1000, they are using MSM to criticize and show HCQ as having side effects and harmful. They are sponsoring fake HCQ trials, applying stringent clinical rules which hithertohitherto is not applicable to other potential cures.

Maybe Trump and Modi realise this thing.

Follow this thread.

Reporting in Bloomberg

Just a catchy headline calling HCQ as hyped and not working. Inside the article it is stated that it was a small study not peer reviewed, conducted in China and mostly highlighting increase in side effects which is not true as HCQ is one of the oldest medicines and it's effects are very well documented over 70 years. It is very common prespcription by doctors across the world.

There is lot of anecdotal evidence coming out of US. of its effectiveness. No medicine works in 100% cases but not every pandemic should be an opportunity to create a $1000 medicine cure only for the elites to afford.

here2where

WHO stated there was no evidence for a human to human transmission,this was the data they were provided by CCP,it was in December..
Going by your above line, whose fault was it then. I would say the fault was entirely CCP's. Its CCP's moral and ethical responsibility to provide factual data to a world organization like WHO who then formulates guidances and protocols to be followed for similar outbreaks elsewhere on the planet. If WHO makes incorrect guidance in the inital days of a day zero virus outbreak, CCP's butt needs to be kicked and WHO given a severe reprimand and its procedures reviewed and tightened up by competent personnel. Not having its funding cut down. Killing WHO is not the answer. Thats why iam still in search of scientific publications that prove beyond doubt of CCP culpability in this mass murder planet-wide.

is it the case that you are agreeing with this fellow's view?
When the author says we aren't doing enough tests (using the 'wider net catches more fishes' simile) due to the current test being prohibitively expensive for a developing country like ours, iam inclined to agree. Answer obviously is local development of cheaper test kits, more tests, more detections and timely quarantining.

Reporting in Bloomberg

Just a catchy headline calling HCQ as hyped and not working. Inside the article it is stated that it was a small study not peer reviewed, conducted in China and mostly highlighting increase in side effects which is not true as HCQ is one of the oldest medicines and it's effects are very well documented over 70 years. It is very common prespcription by doctors across the world.
After lying and spreading the Coronavirus all over the world who cares about a Chinese study

Reporting in Bloomberg

There is lot of anecdotal evidence coming out of US. of its effectiveness. No medicine works in 100% cases but not every pandemic should be an opportunity to create a $1000 medicine cure only for the elites to afford.

Looks like the chinese ploy of mass producing medicines for the chinese virus and taking the world as a hostage is down the drain and chinese are having their bums kicked cuz of the HCQ.
The chinese burn is understood.
with such reports china is making it obvious that they are really butt hurt.

here2where

Malaysia is big source for medical latex gloves which are extremely important for hospitals.
Indian trader's import tons of latex gloves from Malaysia.
nothing stops us from banning importing latex gloves from them (similar to palm oil) and purchasing instead from thailand which is the largest exporter of rubber products. punish malays till they come begging, i say.

Demand for latex gloves is reaching new heights price of import is already doubled if we ban the imports of latex gloves from Malaysia it will create huge issues.
In this crucial time importing the latex gloves from thailand will require more efforts.
And new PM Of Malaysia is working to improve relationship between india and malay.
After covid-19 ban Malaysia no issues but at this time no we need gloves.

Icarus

I am not talking about politics, but general perception, since despite having 2nd highest population, India controlled it in a much better way.
Trust me, that won't happen either. They will say India did not test enough or hid the deaths or migrants suffered bla bla bla. They will never grant India even a small victory. This is not about politics, it's innate racist hatred.

When the author says we aren't doing enough tests (using the 'wider net catches more fishes' simile) due to the current test being prohibitively expensive for a developing country like ours, iam inclined to agree. Answer obviously is local development of cheaper test kits, more tests, more detections and timely quarantining.
incase you haven't watched this interview. gives a few answers regarding testing.

i think to have a better understanding of high testing rate in other countries, we need to know what type of testing they are doing. are they clubbing both anti-body & PCR? anti-body test can be done on site and takes 30 mins & PCR test can be done only in a lab.
Screen Shot 2020-04-15 at 5.30.46 PM.png