Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Aditya Ballal

the SLR bro. Who the fuck would actively like sterling in this day and age
The Indian Navy apparently 😂, they just can’t seem to get rid of it, perhaps they’re waiting for the Army to adopt a new Carbine and even they’ll latch on to it like how they did for the Sig 716s.

1673494438702.jpeg

1673494483914.jpeg

Whilst the Coast Guard looks so happy with their Amoghs and JVPCs😂.
1673494659244.jpeg
1673494666953.jpeg
1673494691295.jpeg

1673494733762.jpeg

@Lonewarrior @Johny_Baba so its a done deal now?
'done deal' toh dashk upar se hai as i pointed out in previous post

>joke
more like a scam, no joke

i mean just consider this,
> OFB Korwa, Amethi was inaugurated in 2007 by *ahem* Amethi MP Rahul Gandhi himself, and as per official CAG report itself they were supposed to manufacture CQB carbines and other small arms there
> Since 2008 at least there were constant mentions of indian "assembly" // manufacturing of AK-103 (DO NOTE AK-103M = FIRST VERSION OF AK-103 WITH RAILS ONLY CAME OUT AROUND 2009, THIS EVEN PREDATES RUSSIAN ADOPTION OF 'AK WITH RAILS' ABOUT GOOD 2-3 YEARS HUUUH) on wikipedia, read it yourself at internet archive at here https://web.archive.org/web/20081201084021/http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AK-103
View attachment 187251
and this was later put as citation around 2008, a times of india article on it
View attachment 187252
it mostly stays similar (with some change in lines like "negotiating for a license" etc but main point being same) for good 10-11 some years upto 2019 at least, upto 2019, meanwhile we saw change in govts from UPA-1 to UPA-2 and later NDA-1,two PMs and three Presidents and what not...

meanwhile around 2009 then Izhmash announces AK-103M = this,
View attachment 187253
View attachment 187254
View attachment 187257
mark the date, ALSO COMPARE IT WITH CURRENT SO CALLED AK-203 WE ARE GETTING
View attachment 187256

🤷‍♂️ WHAT FUCKING EVEN...
well this was the early progress of "AK with Rails" thing in Russia which went further ahead and in some years forked into AK-200, AK-400, AK-12 etc all...not relevant (EVEN THOUGH DAMN RELEVANT IN BROAD SENSE) to us

we saw AK-103 plus railed top cover (do note this seemed like from KM-AK upgrade kit of Russia) at some OFB exhibition around 2017-18 time if i remember correctly
View attachment 187264
View attachment 187265
also note how even this seemingly "desi made AK-103" also is damn similar to what we're getting in name of AK-203 hhmm

coming back to wikipedia thing,
this mention of "licensed manufacturing AK-103" ONLY WENT AWAY IN 2019, AND AROUND SAME TIME THEY WERE ROLLING OUT AK-200 SERIES, FROM THAT ONE AK-203 ONE EVENTUALLY GETS SELECTED AS UPCOMING STANDARD ISSUE RIFLE WITH SAME LICENSED MANUFACTURING + ToT THEY HAD BEEN DISCUSSING WITH US IN PAST

DOESN'T IT ALL SOUND SO STRANGE ? Like something that'd been going on for more than 10 years eventually is selected as INSAS replacement - as next service rifle while every damn other rifle program here (be it licensed manufacturing-JV or developing here or even impoorting ) is effectively butchered down to ;no orders; - as if they only wanted russian AK baaki sab jaae bhaad mey ; and even selected a variant that was damn similar sans rails to what was originally offered...
ab dekhna yeh hain ki kab hota hain kaise hota hain etc

Because it's the only SMG on which you can attach a pointy pointy pokey pokey thingy
View attachment 189164
Now don't you dare ask me why navy needs those thingy...everyone can have fetishes
Ye teri nazar ka kasur hai ki sharab Pina shikha diya
Tere pyaar me teri chaah, me
Teri behki behki nighah ne mujhe ek sharabi bana diya .
Sharab kaisi khumaar kaisa
Pilyai hai kis tarah se tune ki mujhe khud ki kadar nai hai .
( indian navy procurement commitee to a sterling carbine )

Vietnamese are developing a 5.56mm amphibious assault rifle from the Galil Ace tech they got, a derivative that fires conventional 5.56x45mm ball ammo above surface as well as specially designed 5.56mm underwater ammo, both feeding from standard 5.56mm magazines
1673518468908.png

all it requires during change of medium is ammo is changed by replacing magazine and gas setting adjustments at gas block
1673518684745.png

they are patenting this tech as well, some public documents about these are on internet

@VivaVietnamm

Arjun Mk1A

We are the only army in the world who has worse guns than insurgents

What to do man? We cannot call our Generals to Parliament and cross question them since it threatens National Security. No one journalist ready to ask this question to COAS why still we are not getting any Guns from that factory which is lying idle for last 4 years. We don't have that RM who is really ready to scrutinize the armed forces and take serious decisions.

It will be shitshow which will never going to end. Every skirmish you will find new lack of capability. We are not going to fix it as we are seeing it from Kargil

Corvus Splendens