Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Umm na; from their point of view, these cheap sights are the most feasible option.

You must understand the fact that DRDO labs and OFBs don't use sights for aiming or zeroing; they use iron sights. The only purpose of all these sights are to woo people (and army) by proving that this gun can be mounted with a cutting edge sight just like other foreign guns. And for this purpose an expensive sight would be a huge loss for them.
Ya'll Nibbiars we make dot sights don't we?.

Aditya Ballal

Umm na; from their point of view, these cheap sights are the most feasible option.

You must understand the fact that DRDO labs and OFBs don't use sights for aiming or zeroing; they use iron sights. The only purpose of all these sights are to woo people (and army) by proving that this gun can be mounted with a cutting edge sight just like other foreign guns. And for this purpose an expensive sight would be a huge loss for them.
Not exactly true, with the OFB 7.62X51 sniper rifle, it was marketed and sold with the Vector Optics sight and sold to CAPFs, Assam rifles and various State police forces. Most our our forces end up buying the same optics that the gun was displayed with in same or lesser quantities.
1639891882072.jpeg

It’s absolutely retarded if a DRDO Lab(ARDE) can’t get few pieces of an optic developed by a sister lab(IRDE) made by a PSU BEL, then something is seriously wrong. And we know they can do it, because they have done so in the past, like BEL Trinetra was almost always displayed with either ITL Mars or BEL Trinetra, even in Aero India 2021 some OFB products were also displayed with BEL Trinetra.
1639892541592.jpeg

Whitecollar

Not exactly true, with the OFB 7.62X51 sniper rifle, it was marketed and sold with the Vector Optics sight and sold to CAPFs, Assam rifles and various State police forces. Most our our forces end up buying the same optics that the gun was displayed with in same or lesser quantities.
View attachment 126439

It’s absolutely retarded if a DRDO Lab(ARDE) can’t get few pieces of an optic developed by a sister lab(IRDE) made by a PSU BEL, then something is seriously wrong. And we know they can do it, because they have done so in the past, like BEL Trinetra was almost always displayed with either ITL Mars or BEL Trinetra, even in Aero India 2021 some OFB products were also displayed with BEL Trinetra.
View attachment 126440
Look...the thing is...these rifles are being displayed for the public. BEL might have a fear that their optics are photographed and their years of R&D on optics(copy paste somewhat) will be revealed in public domain.
Plus you never know...some idiot kid will throw the gun optic first into the tarmac. Better to use cheap jugaad. It makes guns look modern, fools the public and is cheap so no issues if broken/stolen.

Aditya Ballal

Look...the thing is...these rifles are being displayed for the public. BEL might have a fear that their optics are photographed and their years of R&D on optics(copy paste somewhat) will be revealed in public domain.
Plus you never know...some idiot kid will throw the gun optic first into the tarmac. Better to use cheap jugaad. It makes guns look modern, fools the public and is cheap so no issues if broken/stolen.
Close up Photographs of Trinetra are very much available in public domain and there’s nothing revolutionary about that sight which itself is “inspired” by the Mepro MOR, a sight with integrated IR and visible lasers. There’s no fibre optic or tritium option to power the reticle, it uses only battery power to save costs.
Only the damage of sights by public is valid. But they’ve sold the same sights they’ve been displayed with together in exhibitions several times. Our forces barring the top level do not have much knowledge or experience regarding this so they blindly end up buying whatever is supplied with the rifle.

Whitecollar

Like the Koreans did with their K Series Guns
We all know that INSAS or anything remotely named after it will never be inducted by IA ever again. My point is:
If INSAS MK1C is a much improved version, why not export MK1C, TAR, TriCa, ASMI, etc in US/Canada?? Norinco has been doing it for many years now. Why can't our Babus think in this direction?

SGOperative

We all know that INSAS or anything remotely named after it will never be inducted by IA ever again. My point is:
If INSAS MK1C is a much improved version, why not export MK1C, TAR, TriCa, ASMI, etc in US/Canada?? Norinco has been doing it for many years now. Why can't our Babus think in this direction?
because they are Babus?

Aditya Ballal

Excellent way to earn Foreign Exchange too, because of its negative image people may actually end up buying it out of curiosity. But the prices have to be really competitive too attract customers. This is exactly what Norinco used to do, even used INSAS’s can be refurbished and sold at more attractive prices. Some state police forces used to sell their old surplus 0.303s in limited quantities in the foreign markets too. Don’t know through who and how they did it though.

Whitecollar

Excellent way to earn Foreign Exchange too, because of its negative image people may actually end up buying it out of curiosity. But the prices have to be really competitive too attract customers. This is exactly what Norinco used to do, even used INSAS’s can be refurbished and sold at more attractive prices. Some state police forces used to sell their old surplus 0.303s in limited quantities in the foreign markets too. Don’t know through who and how they did it though.
We only need to sell the guns in their semi form. Makes the gun cheap from the get go. But if we keep gun's quality at par with army standards and make price competitive enough, avg Amriki and Cannadian will happily buy INSAS and it's variants.
One of my friend in Canada got a chance to fire Norinco exported T97 NSR. He had told me "if this flimsy gun gets sold so much here, imagine what Indian guns could do"

Aditya Ballal

We only need to sell the guns in their semi form. Makes the gun cheap from the get go. But if we keep gun's quality at par with army standards and make price competitive enough, avg Amriki and Cannadian will happily buy INSAS and it's variants.
One of my friend in Canada got a chance to fire Norinco exported T97 NSR. He had told me "if this flimsy gun gets sold so much here, imagine what Indian guns could do"
For INSAS all they have to do is get rid of the 3RB and they’re good to go. But they may have to make changes to the barrel lengths and other stuff as the US has some wacky rules about those.

Lonewarrior

- Removing not just the 3R/Auto trigger pack but also modifying the receiver so that no Bubba can make it full auto.
- Adding a shorter barrel and completely removing the stock. So that it can be imported as a "pistol".
- Getting the receiver chopped by a gas torch and selling the remaining "kits".
- Convincing a US firm to make enough components for INSAS (completely different from AR and AK which they have experience with) so that it can comply with 922R.

So according to you guys which one of these is the OFB Babus going to do!?
I think none; coz every scenario requires मेहनत.

Whitecollar

- Removing not just the 3R/Auto trigger pack but also modifying the receiver so that no Bubba can make it full auto.
- Adding a shorter barrel and completely removing the stock. So that it can be imported as a "pistol".
- Getting the receiver chopped by a gas torch and selling the remaining "kits".
- Convincing a US firm to make enough components for INSAS (completely different from AR and AK which they have experience with) so that it can comply with 922R.

So according to you guys which one of these is the OFB Babus going to do!?
I think none; coz every scenario requires मेहनत.
Or else try selling in Canadian market?

Whitecollar

Canada is a very uncertain market.
No one knows when they will ban a gun.
Make a name for yourself first boii. Amrikis keep a close eye on any gun that gets exported to Canada. They may even visit Canada to try out those guns. Youtube will do the rest. We have quite a lot of Indians living there...if they can own firearm, buying Indian will be a matter of pride for them.
Lot of Chinese optics have swarmed Canada recently(also available in shopping malls). This is where BEL chips in.

Start small but atleast start somewhere bro.