Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Whitecollar

A 10.3 inch AR in the same channel completed the course with only 24 bullets.so carbines in 5.56 can be accurate.
Carbines are accurate given the fact that altitude/height adjustments are made accordingly to support trajectory accuracy. Another thing is 556 is not succeptible to windage compared to a 7.62X39 caliber.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Carbines are accurate given the fact that altitude/height adjustments are made accordingly to support trajectory accuracy. Another thing is 556 is not succeptible to windage compared to a 7.62X39 caliber.
But that ak 103 performance with irons was really good.

Whitecollar

But that ak 103 performance with irons was really good.
Yes this is why some hope is still left in our babus and Jernails(living in 2021 and thinking in 1980's former glory days).
Rest assured 7.62's days are up specially when we have modern calibers coming in like 6.5 or 6.8mm having much higher accuracy, range and precision compared to Soviet era calibers.
On top of that, the 203s will be a mainstay for us so expect it to be in service for almost 25-30 years.

Whitecollar

Yup but the tavor wasn't iron sights it had mepro
I believe Tavors are good for CQB and medium range battles(<200 mtrs). Good for COIN, quick ingress&egress, "OSAMA, OSAMA" and 2 shots to the head, etc. Anyome who thinks that Tavors can become a service rifle are highly mistaken.
Only Tavir fit for serving in Army should be the Tavor 7(7.62 NATO).

Whitecollar

Damn this shit is a beast even with iron sights, wtf did I just saw😕?
Yyyeppp...
This IS a beast and my fav rifle(should I get a chance to fire it). So this tells you why the Russians are not gonna use 7.62 ever again as standard caliber in their Army. The 5.45, despite having high windage, was able to hit 500 yards with just iron sights.
Couple this with a branded RDS or Reflex sight and wreck unadultrated havoc.

Yyyeppp...
This IS a beast and my fav rifle(should I get a chance to fire it). So this tells you why the Russians are not gonna use 7.62 ever again as standard caliber in their Army. The 5.45, despite having high windage, was able to hit 500 yards with just iron sights.
Couple this with a branded RDS or Reflex sight and wreck unadultrated havoc.
Don’t forget at a couple of times the spotter was confused about impacts, so it’s safe to assume he used 1 round less. Plus AK-74 does not have a free floating handguard, imagine AK-12 in it’s place :shock:.

Whitecollar

Don’t forget at a couple of times the spotter was confused about impacts, so it’s safe to assume he used 1 round less. Plus AK-74 does not have a free floating handguard, imagine AK-12 in it’s place :shock:.
2 things here:
1.Current Russian forces used the better recoil compensated and more accurate AK-12(Imagine how they will perform).
2.IWI may be releasing/have released Galil ACE in 5.45 version and that should compete with AK-12. In a year or 2, we may get detailed reviews from US firearms enthusiasts.

Gessler

@Johny_Baba @Gessler whatd the limitations which bars putting free floatjng hand guards over normal Aks? Ak-12/15s and Galils are the only development in that direction.
On the topic of free floating, an opinion from someone with a lot more knowledge & hands-on experience with firearms & their design than me:

" You cannot free float a long-stroke piston gun. Period. Recall free body diagrams from high school? For free-floating a barrel, you basically have no supports to the barrel after the barrel nut. Pure cantilever body. AK's cannot be free floated as they literally have a Gasport connected to the other end, creating inherent two-point rigid support.

AR15's and it's derivatives also use a gas block for DI, but the claim is; gas tube can flex so the Y-Z plane, which I personally think is BS but thats why there is a huge Freefloat market for the AR15DI guns.

Bottom line, unless you have a reciprocation mechanism driven by something other than exhaust gas derived from the barrel, there is slim chance that you can "free float" the barrel.

Also, free-floating is not a great feature, to begin with, a properly bedded gun can outshoot a free-floated gun. The problem is proper bedding is expensive while free-floating is a cheap measure
. "

So there's dispute in the circles of true arms enthusiasts regarding whether even AK-12/15 are actually free-floated in the true sense. However, if you disregard the part about rigid two-point support and simply want a handguard that doesn't touch the barrel, there are several aftermarket options that can work on existing AKs.

Some of the better quality ones:

@Johny_Baba @Gessler whatd the limitations which bars putting free floatjng hand guards over normal Aks? Ak-12/15s and Galils are the only development in that direction.
In my view it's this thing, Rear Iron Sights Block on AK, it's directly pinned on the barrel itself and other side is pinned on milled receiver // trunnion in respective cases of milled or stamped receivers.

1624713373839.png

i mean just look at construction of AK to get what i'm trying to say...
1624713226856.png

So what purpose does it serve actually ?
-> provides a base for rear iron sights
-> affixes gas tube on it
-> other side provides a locking surface for receiver top cover
BUT downsides >
-> It's a heavy chunk of metal directly pinned on barrel, so guess how harmonics would get ducked
-> This relatively heavy chunk of metal is put on centre side of the rifle, already there is chunkier trunnion side and of course bolt carrier + gas piston is also chunkier extending on respective sides....thus ducking up centre of mass of a rifle...not much but slightly off the centre due to all mass distribution...result is when AK is fired on repetitive mode you shall see it kinda becomes harder to balance it due to this arrangement where centre of mass is not on centre...

So is there a solution ?
i mean look at Valmet Derivatives of Kalashnikov (both Valmet and Galil i meant)...
Solution 1 = Remove Iron Sight Block altogether and supplement requirements of affixing gas tube etc in some other way, here they just mounted gas tube directly on receiver//front trunnion via altering it a bit, provided surface to affix Top Cover directly on gas tube and moved iron sights on Top Cover itself
1624715268762.png

There is one downside of this design that is this arrangement is wholly holded in place by push provided from recoil spring-via-top cover-to-gas tube...Once top cover is taken off you shall see gas tube coming outta its place if pushed rearwards...but i guess Ok their doctorine of having Iron Sights on top cover requires that firearm won't be functioning without it so such things won't happen in general.

^This arrangement in general can be utilised in many ways to provide free-floating handguards (sic, refer to excellant explanation of @Gessler 's previous post how cent percent free-floating barrel is impossible on AK but hope you get the idea what am i trying to say here) to an AK, though such thing appears to not have been done on any Valmet Series of AK (Valmet//Galil) yet.

But whatabout other solutions hhmm ?
Let's wait for next post in series.