Pakistan cannot sustain an 'Arms Race' with India

Why are even been compared with inferior nation ....even they know that they are behind us in everything

sasum

Atheist but not Communists.
Pakistan’s slide into ‘failed state’ status

Ahmed Rashid
| Feb 11 2015 04:30 | 15 comments |
Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif poses with his wife Kalsoom Nawaz Sharif © Omar Havana/Getty Images

As I write this, I am sitting at my desk in Lahore, Pakistan, enduring one of the coldest winters on record. I am doing sowithout heating, hot water, or electricity. The house seems virtually to run on thin, cold air.

There has been no gas since October, so no heating. There is electricity, but only for about half the day. The rest of the time the rich run generators (if there is fuel), the middle class use battery packs and the less fortunate light candles or oil lamps — all for the lack of some basic amenities.

For a week during January there was no petrol or diesel in the market at all. Businesses were shuttered, kids stopped going to school and the only people on the road were dignitaries and their twenty car cavalcades.

The crisis ridden government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif offers no explanations and demands no resignations from officials. There is neither self-criticism nor admission regarding the total lack of governance, the failure to deliver services or even the lack of official concern. Mr Sharif’s most munificent gesture during the petrol crisis in January was to cancel his trip to attend the World Economic Forum in Davos.

The Pakistani media offer up dozens of reasons for these failures — the most common being economic difficulties faced by energy producers or a scam by unscrupulous government ministers. The real causes are impossible to determine, as there has been no serious investigation by the authorities.

Unchecked power is not the only problem. Pakistan’s army is waging a war against Islamist extremist groups like the Pakistani Taliban — but terrorists are still able to strike more-or-less at will. Late last month, 50 people were killed and 100 injured in a bomb blast at a Shia mosque in a part of Sind province which has never seen such an attack before. All the while, diseases like polio, which has nearly been eliminated in the rest of the world, are still rampant in Pakistan, and illiteracy and joblessness are a growth industry.

A country without energy is a country in the process of dissolution, facing the same fate as Syria or Somalia. While the suffering hasn’t yet reached these proportions, the words “failed” or “failing state” now trip regularly off thetongue and pen of every journalist.

It must also be added that one branch of the state continues to function admirably: Pakistan’s over 500,000 strong army. Given the relative success of the military, many will tell you that democracy is a failure and the army is the only saviour of the country. Pakistan, however, has never had a sustained period of civilian rule in which the military did not set the agenda. Authoritarian measures implemented after a series of military coups since 1958 have never offered a real solution.

The military now seems to understand this. Despite the ongoing crisis, and the army’s intense dislike for the present crop of civilian politicians, it’s not about to seize power again. Nor should it. Instead there must be more pressure from public and civil society groups, and a demand for better governance, less corruption and the delivery of basic services to the people. Pakistan needs more democracy, not less, and more accountability from its leaders

The issue is not a choice between military rule or democracy — but one of finding genuine leadership that aspires to serve the people, rather than itself.

sasum

Flag used by Sindhi nationalists showing an axe in opposite to the most popular Muslim Sufi symbols of Ajrak and Sindhi Topi in Sindh

Districts of Sindh
Sindhi literary movement emerged in 1967 under the leadership of Syed and Pir Ali Mohammed Rashdi, in opposition to the One Unit policy, the imposition of Urdu by the central government and to the presence of a large number of Muhajir (Indian Muslim refugees) settled in the province.

No Sindhi nationalist party has been ever voted into power in Sindh at any level of government. Some nationalist parties and associations are banned for "terrorist, anti-state and sabotage" activities by the Pakistani government. A massive Sindhudesh rally was organised in Karachi in March 2012, followed by a freedom march by the pro-separatist Jeay Sindh Qaumi Mahaz (JSQM) which, according to sources, gathered hundreds of thousands of people to demand independence for Sindhudesh.

A strike called by the pro-separatist Jeay Sindh Muttahida Mahaz (JSMM) on 25 January 2014, resulted in a complete strike in the province, excluding some areas of Tando Allahyar, Matiari andGhotki. Sindhis feel that they are separate and full-fledged nation, so they have been struggling for self-determination of Sindh.

1: We were apart of the same occupation and colony, but historically - we were never united. Modern day Pakistan only came under control of an Indian empire during Mauryan Empire and Maratha Empire and that was only briefly and loosely controled.
Only Mouryans or Marathas do not represent India. 100s of Small and large empires of India has ruled here.

And most important thing that foreigners first attacked here about 3500 years after existence of India.
Otherwise, this place always had been dominated by Indian Rulers directly indirectly.
2: Modern day Pakistan was mostly ruled by the Western bloc - there were no Indian rulers in Pakistan except several and those being located around the border.
who told you that? o_O Every part of Pak has been a part of India in history. And here's case of western idiots like brits or frenchies, they had many times ruled islands of China and Japan as well. Does that make them apart. A big NO.
3: Bhai, even Punjabi culture in Pakistan is far different from Punjabi culture in India. The only closest culture to Indian is probably Sindhi culture - because of the large number of diversity and Muhajirs. East Sindh was naturally apart of India.
Again, Sindhi lifestyle and culture and that in rest of pak is now much different than that of today's India.

India and Pak went completely different ways after August 1947.
You must compare cultures before 1947. :p
Other than that - I agree with everything you said.:D
:doh::doh::doh::doh::doh:
Pehle argument, phir kehta hai agree ho gaya.
Kis sample se pala pada hai. :facepalm:
India's national poverty line is 0.53$

Pakistan's national poverty line is 1.25$ - after Pakistan halved its poverty it changed its standards to 2.00$
Mr. intelligent. India's poverty line is 0.53$ bit paki poverty line is not 1.25$ if you know. :D It is international standard(2012)
According to that poverty is:
India: 21.90%
Pak: 15%
And based on new output in international standards(2015 is at 1.90$):
India: 12.4%
Pak: 8.3% you can watch Indian speed.
60.3% of Pakistan's population lives under 2 dollars a day compared to 79% in India and 81.3% in Bangladesh - before you decide to speak about Pakistan; look at your own yard first.
New Data(2015) at 3.10$ a day.
India: 58.4%
Pak: 44.76%
BD: 70%+

In 2030(projected):
India: 14.2%
Pak: 35%
And this is why we speak. :D
We solve problems much faster than your country.

Remember, India lagged behind pakistan in per capita income, HDI, Literacy, Education Index, Mobile usage, Internet Usage, Life Expectancy, Global Hunger Index and living standards some years ago.
But we overtook pakistan in all of these fields. Same gonna happen to poverty.
By the way, in 2050, India's per capita income will be 3-4 times of pakistan and will be a developed country. I wanna hear this on that day. What you gonna say. :grin:
Anyway, our per capita income growth rate is your double. :peace:

@garg_bharat Bro, why going off topic. We could discuss it in economic section. Thus thread isn't about that. :)

This is wrong,most foreign names of India are based on "The people east of the Sindhu river"
now persians couldn't pronounce Sindhu so it because "Hindu"
Greeks couldn't pronounce Sindhu so it became "Indus"
No, you got it wrong dude. Sindhu name was derived into Indus and then to India by European idiots.
I'm talking of Arabian idiots. :p

@Hamza Baloch Looks you are too confused about living standards of Indians. :p
No problem, you could ask this to Pakistanis who visit India frequently or you can yourself come and watch here. World isn't idiot who gives us crown of global economic engine. :D
And here you are posting selected pictures of poor, do you know how many of the are Bangladeshi and Nepali refugees? :grin:

@Hamza Baloch

india is most racist country ?
that map do not shows what india is but actually it shows who and what indias neighbors are, :laugh:
who or which country wants neighbours likes pakis and bangladeshi and chinese, :laugh:

any country surrounded by pakis and bangladeshis and chinese gonna become racists, :laugh:

shameless neighbours like these for whom looting indias land is not enough so they come to bullsh*t on indian forums too.

sasum

Poverty in Pakistan
images(6).jpeg

@Hamza Baloch

india is most racist country ?
that map do not shows what india is but actually it shows who and what indias neighbors are, :laugh:
who or which country wants neighbours likes pakis and bangladeshi and chinese, :laugh:

any country surrounded by pakis and bangladeshis and chinese gonna become racists, :laugh:

shameless neighbours like these for whom looting indias land is not enough so they come to bullsh*t on indian forums too.
Actually, if we could watch diversity in India, and even after that number density of such caese in India is better than West, Middle East and Far East, India must be ranked about a quarter of given score but idiots won't do so to sleep in the heavens of westy Utopia.

So, I wish you not to troll at that case and politely talk with a silent laugh to enjoy the moment like I'm doing.
:lol:
Jitne pakis aate hain, aap log sab ko bhaga dete ho.
Mera timepaas kaise hoga aise? o_O

sasum

Unemployment problem in Pakistan
images(7).jpeg

Frustration amongst NWFP tribal youths
images(5).jpeg

@sasum @salute @garg_bharat @Blackwater why paying too much care about pakis guys? Just reply their question and don't pay attention to rest of their bs. Do we really need to prove India in front of them? o_O
Instead, they will start calling you Pak-obessed or islamophobic. Don't respond to trolls.

sasum

images(8).jpeg

Proud citizen of PAK
images(10).jpeg

Lost Childhood in Pakistan
afghanistan.jpg

lol all of DFI united in counter-trolling Hamza Punjabi :rofl:

@sasum @salute @garg_bharat @Blackwater why paying too much care about pakis guys? Just reply their question and don't pay attention to rest of their bs. Do we really need to prove India in front of them? o_O
Instead, they will start calling you Pak-obessed or islamophobic. Don't respond to trolls.
I have warned this guy repeatedly to stop. He came with an agenda and refuses to listen. So it is time to make him listen.

There is absolutely nothing great about terrorist infested retrograde society of Pakistan.

Only a fool can glorify Pakistan.

Hamza Baloch

I have warned this guy repeatedly to stop. He came with an agenda and refuses to listen. So it is time to make him listen.

There is absolutely nothing great about terrorist infested retrograde society of Pakistan.

Only a fool can glorify Pakistan.
Oh please - India is a paradise; no rape, suicide, assault, racism. Wake up to fact and reality.

You call my country terrorist infested when India ranks 6 in global terrorism and is actually increasing, Pakistan is on the tip of 3 and is decreasing.