MRCA News & Dicussions (IV)

vishal_lionheart

Following are my question please answer anybody.

Actually, We have to see in a direction, WHAT AIR FORCE actually need and what we GETTING?
We turn around MIG 35 because it is Russian and we dont want put all eggs in 1 basket, but what about real offer.

what are we getting with MIG 35

A) super-manoeuvrability (a capability to fly at supercritical angles of attack, at increased level of sustained and available g-loads and high turn-angle rate, which require a greater thrust-to-weight ratio and improved wing aerodynamic efficiency);

B) supersonic flight with afterburner disabled (what is also referred to as 'super-cruise');

C) low detection in radar and IR wave bands (meaning stealth);

D) short takeoff and landing runs;

E) a significant reduction in flight hour cost, ground crew, size and weight of non-standard ground support equipment;

F ) a new layout of onboard equipment and a new arrangement of cockpit information and control instruments; a high level of integration.

Klimov's 3-dimensional system has the nozzles moving 18° in all directions. Aircraft can fly at very low speeds without angle-of-attack limitations, and that it will also remain controllable in zero-speed and 'negative-speed' (tail-forward) areas for sustained periods.

Off topic
European suck our money, even they don't have past experience of Aircraft manufacturing, except France. American want to use us, for their geo political view.

Mig 35 offer super cruise like Eurofighter

It also offer high angle attack better than Rafael.

We can integrate weapons of our choice, no one can offer

We can make change in Aircraft by our needs, no one can offer

vikramrana_1812

what are we getting with MIG 35

A) super-manoeuvrability (a capability to fly at supercritical angles of attack, at increased level of sustained and available g-loads and high turn-angle rate, which require a greater thrust-to-weight ratio and improved wing aerodynamic efficiency);

B) supersonic flight with afterburner disabled (what is also referred to as 'super-cruise');

C) low detection in radar and IR wave bands (meaning stealth);

D) short takeoff and landing runs;

E) a significant reduction in flight hour cost, ground crew, size and weight of non-standard ground support equipment;

F ) a new layout of onboard equipment and a new arrangement of cockpit information and control instruments; a high level of integration.

Klimov's 3-dimensional system has the nozzles moving 18° in all directions. Aircraft can fly at very low speeds without angle-of-attack limitations, and that it will also remain controllable in zero-speed and 'negative-speed' (tail-forward) areas for sustained periods.

Off topic
European suck our money, even they don't have past experience of Aircraft manufacturing, except France. American want to use us, for their geo political view.

Mig 35 offer super cruise like Eurofighter

It also offer high angle attack better than Rafael.

We can integrate weapons of our choice, no one can offer

We can make change in Aircraft by our needs, no one can offer

Even Russians dont want Mig35 if INDIA dont fund this project....so u can very well judge the condition of this plane.....it is just an upgrade of Mig29k.....We need new tech/western avionics to boost our defence...We dont need same old platform which we are using for the past 15 years....ie Mig29.............

vishal_lionheart

We need new tech/western avionics to boost our defence...We dont need same old platform which we are using for the past 15 years....ie Mig29............
F 16 is too old platform, F 18 also decade old platform, Jas 39 Gripen is also based on Old Vigen platform and new concept still is on drawing board, EFT is a not mature platform they only pursue their Single crystal engine technology, Rafael is also developed on their Mirage 4000 platform, There is only good new platforms are F 35 and F 22. Indians and Israelis are having developed skill for latest skill of AVONICS
Mig 29 is potentially untapped platform. We can use our own Avionics like Israelis and as it is as open integrated source for American, Israeli,French weapons as these days WEAPONS ARE SMARTER AND LOT SMARTER.
I found latest news on net that WE are getting BLUE PRINT of LATEST Engine of MIG 29 as old problem in that Engine has already sorted out. It is performing excellent day by day.
Please Guys read again my previous post regarding MIG 35 for latest development. European and American lobbying hard for their product as this is new MARKET for their product. They ADVERTISE lot of about their products. We have to purchase INFRASTRUCTURE along with their products

Anshu Attri

Air Force MRCA Deal - Dassault Rafale, Eurofighter Emerge Front Runners After Field Trials

http://http://bharat-rakshak.com/NEWS/newsrf.php?newsid=13485

2010-09-27 After exhaustive trials of six fighter jets, reports indicate that the Indian Air Force (IAF) has made its choice clear to the Government on the fighter jets needed. Frontrunners for the force are French fighter Dassault Rafale and the Eurofighter Typhoon built by the European consortium.

Bernhard Gerwert, Chief, EADS, is quoted to have said "If you are taking into account the portfolio of EADS we can bring the bridge between civil aviation and military aviation." The Americans and Russians have lost out. Boeing's F18 no longer a frontrunner and Sweden's Gripen too falling off the Indian radar. Despite MiG 35s big thunder, its engine failing to impress while the F-16, according to the IAF has no future.

Another reason favoring Rafale and Eurofighter is political. Thomas Matussek, German Ambassador, "We regard India as a strategic security partner and this is why we do not insist on an end user monitoring agreement period." So when the mother of all defence deals is signed for the 126 Multi-Role Combat Aircraft chances are good that either Rafale or the Eurofighter will fly away with the Rs 42,000 crore deal.

Air Force Conducts Field Trials
Flight evaluation of the fighters started in August 2009 at Bangalore. The F/A-18E/F and F-16IN completed their field trials by mid-September 2009. The Rafale began trails in late September 2009. As of late October 2009, the IAF has completed the trials of F/A-18, F-16, Rafale, and MiG-35. According to Air Chief Marshal P.V. Naik, all the aircraft tested so far "are going neck and neck". On 23 January 2010, India's ambassador to Italy stated that the Eurofighter Typhoon was in the lead.

The Gripen was the last of the aircraft to be evaluated by the IAF. On the 22 March, two Gripens left Bangalore, one to Jaisalmer and the other to Leh, Ladakh. At Jaisalmer AFS, a Gripen would undertake the hot weather trials and also a dummy run and bomb drop at the Pokhran Firing Range. The other Gripen headed towards Leh, would perform high altitude tests involving landing, refueling and restarting engines.

Prior to the Gripen, 4 out of the 5 aircraft had issues restarting their engines during trials conducted in Leh. Updated bids have been requested by the MOD on 28 April 2010, according to an MOD official. Meanwhile GRIPEN NG DEMO aircraft has passed its high altitude tests in Leh and also other hot weather tests. Now the process of down selecting will begin. European fighters have become 25% cheaper. CEO of Eurofighter consortorium says that he now has more than 50% chance in the competition.

Air Force MRCA Deal Saga
OCTOBER 2006 Govt. to put deal on "fast track"
JANUARY 2007 MiG-35: Top Candidate for Air Force MRCA Deal
MAY 2007 Avionics, Weapon System tilt balance in MRCA Deal
JULY 2007 No split deal - Single vendor to bag the Deal
OCTOBER 2008 Air Force expects decision soon
AUGUST 2008 Air Force to conduct field trials soon
NOVEMBER 2008 Dassault seeks 'level playing field'
MAY 2009 Air Force begins field trials
SEPTEMBER 2010 Will not 'rush into' MRCA Deal says Defence Ministry

warriorextreme

i am rooting for eurofighter or rafale...

but its sad that even after all the trials the decision will depend on politics and so on our babus..

vijay jagannathan

same old story and same old speculations. plus emotional out pourings of individuals. above all duplication of information from livefist and bharathrakshak.Of late this blog and this site hasn't had much to offer. Can the moderator do better?

SAAB optimistic of making it to MMRCA downlist of IAF

BY: PTI

As India's biggest defence contract of $ 10 billion to acquire 126 (MMRCA) nears final stages, the lone Swedish contender is optimistic of making it to the downlist.

Expressing optimism, SAAB executives said that their India campaign was enthusing them to enter the lucrative fighter market in the Asian region where many other nations are planning major acquisitions.

The Swedish company executives are hopeful that the Indian Government would shortlist the competitors by December to bring the number of contenders from six to two or three.

The Gripen is in contention with American F-16 and F-18/A Super Hornets, French Rafale, Russian MiG 35 and Eurofighter Typhoon.

The company executives claimed that the Gripen had come through well in Indian flight trials held at Leh and Jaisalmer.

"The trials were a complete success. We are very happy with the trials that went off early 2010. We are looking forward to the next steps and we are hopeful," Eddy de la Motte, Director, Gripen for India, told PTI on the sidelines of the Africa Aerospace and Defence expo 2010.

Gripen, like other five contenders, had undergone trials at Bangalore, Leh and Jaisalmer for performance assessment trials over varying terrain and weather conditions over six months that ended in March-April this year.

La Motte said the Indian Air Force pilots, who tested the 1,320 mile-per-hour jet, were a "really professional team" and the flight evaluation was "very demanding."

Gripen's Campaign Director and Test Pilot Magnus Lewis-Olsson said SAAB was looking forward to winning the Indian contract as it would mean a lot for the company.

"If you win India, that would be a strong signal for the world," he said.

The Gripen fighter aircraft, which is in service in the Swedish and South African Air Force, flew for 12 to 15 hours for eight days and also did single sorties during the trials.

Under the MMRCA deal, India will acquire 126 aircraft in 86 single-seater and 40 twin-engine seat configurations. It plans to procure 18 aircraft in flyaway conditions and produce 106 locally under license through technology transfer.

SAAB optimistic of making it to MMRCA downlist of IAF

Boeing, US Navy in $5.3-bn fighter jets deal

The world's largest aerospace company Boeing received a lift Tuesday when the US Navy awarded the aviation giant a new 4-year contract for 124 Super Hornet and Growler aircraft valued at $5.3 billion.

Under the terms of the new multi-year agreement, Boeing will deliver 66 F/A-18E/F Super Hornets and 58 EA-18G Growlers to the US Navy from 2012 through 2015, a statement said.
Source

vijay jagannathan

with the lowest bidder winning the engine deal ie GE and the MoD in the past repeatedly talking of the lowest bider winning, the extremely well built and capable and GE engined and above all the cheapest plane in MRCA SAAB gripen is surely the no.1 contender to win the contract. Built like a SAAB is a common refrain in the west -- swedish build quality is unmatched

If we have select ed GE 414 for LCA mk 2, then it means F 18 is sure to win MMRCA.
It also means the 2 front war preparation is going on seriously and we hope US will support India in such a event

neo29

With Ge-414 for the Tejas, the Sh-18 and Gripen seem to be the hot favorite at the moment.

neo29

^^^^ Commonality of engines of Tejas and MMRCA will be an aspect.