Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

LoC units followed by LAC. I dont think RR will be given priority as the utility of a SAW by RR is pretty low..

Sig 716 second batch has been cleared by DAC. Orders will be placed this year, or maybe have already been, under the veil.

I really hope AK-203 us scrapped. The whole 7.62*39mm idea needs to be thrown out the window. It is a bad idea for a variety of reasons.

But what is imperative is manufacturing special 7.62 NATO ammo loads for the Sig. Machine gun load that OFB makes won't do. Something like the M80A1 would be welcome. Or even a light projectile load. We also imported ammo along with Sig-716s. This cannot continue.
Sig 716i second batch order likely placed. Deals under Rs 1000 cr only need DAC permission.

The earlier deal was questioned by senior defence ministry officials on two grounds—i) the carbines were costlier than the US-made SiG 716 assault rifles also imported under the FTP last year for over Rs 700 crore;
https://www.indiatoday.in/india-tod...on-a-new-hunt-for-carbines-1768612-2021-02-12

the import of a repeat import order for 72,400 assault rifles from the US-based Sig Sauer in early 2019 and late 2020, to meet the IA’s urgent operational needs, was considerably cheaper.
https://thewire.in/security/india-russian-defence-deals-jeopardy

The below article concurs with Sig Sauer 72,000 Sig 716i deal signing in December, 2020 and induction of Negev LMG in January, 2021.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...-with-modern-weapons/articleshow/78724797.cms

Killbot

In the midst of the rapid defence modernization going on and the great focus on domestic tech development, don't forget to curse the Gandhi family and their poodles who crippled our defence forces for so long.
Gandhi family lol. Its just that MoD babus are slobs, and they got whooped on the ass recently by the gov and are a little less slobby than usual. They'll revert back in no time, as soon as GoI starts getting even a little complacent. And Army fetish for imported (read Russian) maal is not helping.

LondonParisTokyo

Gandhi family lol. Its just that MoD babus are slobs, and they got whooped on the ass recently by the gov and are a little less slobby than usual. They'll revert back in no time, as soon as GoI starts getting even a little complacent. And Army fetish for imported (read Russian) maal is not helping.
He talks about the sluggishness of Gandhi parivar perpetually leaving India underdefended. You talk about babus. Who do you think managed to perpetuate babudom? Grow up, man.

Trololo

Who appointed MoD babus? Who set in motion perpetual corruption in MoD? Who appointed people like VK Krishna Menon in that department? Who scrapped indigenous projects like the Marut to make way for Soviet imports? Whose sperm has perpetually occupied high office in this country without merit?

Killbot

Who appointed MoD babus? Who set in motion perpetual corruption in MoD? Who appointed people like VK Krishna Menon in that department? Who scrapped indigenous projects like the Marut to make way for Soviet imports? Whose sperm has perpetually occupied high office in this country without merit?
All good points. But I doubt the Gandhis themselves knew what was going in within MoD. More to do with their bureaucrats and advisors. Corruption within the forces is also equally to blame. Saying politicians are at fault for the said situation isn't right, imo. There were too many factors.

Not defending the Gandhis btw.

Trololo

All good points. But I doubt the Gandhis themselves knew what was going in within MoD. More to do with their bureaucrats and advisors. Corruption within the forces is also equally to blame. Saying politicians are at fault for the said situation isn't right, imo. There were too many factors.

Corruption happens top down. MMS was personally not corrupt. But was he not aware of the shenanigans going on under him? It would be stupid to think that he wasn't. Same with the Gandhis. How come secret files were ferried from the secretariat to that chudail's house by her pet IAS Pulok Chatterji? Massive scams do not happen without the knowledge and tacit approval of folks at the top. Media and babudom are shit scared of the Gandhis. Look at the difference the NDA govt has brought. Jaitely and Nirmala tai were ineffective in taming the import hungry IAF. Parrikar did it. Modi publicly chided the DRDO back in 14 or 15. Many IOFS officers were sacked before term. Today HAL seems to have turned the corner. DRDO is producing technologies quickly. Good policies are in place and are being constantly refined. With the Gandhis this would not have happened. Sorry.

Killbot

Corruption happens top down. MMS was personally not corrupt. But was he not aware of the shenanigans going on under him? It would be stupid to think that he wasn't. Same with the Gandhis. How come secret files were ferried from the secretariat to that chudail's house by her pet IAS Pulok Chatterji? Massive scams do not happen without the knowledge and tacit approval of folks at the top. Media and babudom are shit scared of the Gandhis. Look at the difference the NDA govt has brought. Jaitely and Nirmala tai were ineffective in taming the import hungry IAF. Parrikar did it. Modi publicly chided the DRDO back in 14 or 15. Many IOFS officers were sacked before term. Today HAL seems to have turned the corner. DRDO is producing technologies quickly. Good policies are in place and are being constantly refined. With the Gandhis this would not have happened. Sorry.
When you think of it that way, yeah, makes sense.

LondonParisTokyo

"Not defending Gandhis" But that's exactly what you are doing. When you say that "I doubt they themselves knew" you are absolving them of accountability. How can you run an organization but be blind to what happens beneath you? Joke.

Off Topic but certain khaandaan not "knowing" much about dark sides of defense deals is impossibru,

i mean isn't Bofors "deal" enough to indicate that ?
and if it's not then read about how Indian Air Force was being forced to adopt SAAB Viggen by certain khaandaani pilot and at same time dusra pilot from khandaan was pitching about SEPECAT Jaguar, which was preferred by IAF too,fortunately for IAF before pehla pilot could shove Viggen down their throats khaandaani rajmata's hakoomat fell in '77 and govt formed then chose SEPECAT Jaguar and before pehla pilot could do anything he went to jannat and IAF was able to move ahead with their preferred SEPECAT Jaguar. Then certain VIP helicopter scam is still going on in the courts, this time done by bahu of the khaandaan.

Killbot

"Not defending Gandhis" But that's exactly what you are doing. When you say that "I doubt they themselves knew" you are absolving them of accountability. How can you run an organization but be blind to what happens beneath you? Joke.
Off Topic but certain khaandaan not "knowing" much about dark sides of defense deals is impossibru,

i mean isn't Bofors "deal" enough to indicate that ?
and if it's not then read about how Indian Air Force was being forced to adopt SAAB Viggen by certain khaandaani pilot and at same time dusra pilot from khandaan was pitching about SEPECAT Jaguar, which was preferred by IAF too,fortunately for IAF before pehla pilot could shove Viggen down their throats khaandaani rajmata's hakoomat fell in '77 and govt formed then chose SEPECAT Jaguar and before pehla pilot could do anything he went to jannat and IAF was able to move ahead with their preferred SEPECAT Jaguar. Then certain VIP helicopter scam is still going on in the courts, this time done by bahu of the khaandaan.
Yeah, I admit to looking like a fool here. I guess what I meant to say was that corruption ran deep in MoD and the services themselves too. Corrupt generals was a thing then. And then there were MoD babus...

I think similar case is happening with AK-203. The political leadership is really keen on it. It is a trash deal, bang-for-the-buck wise. Plus, what platforms was it tested against? Haven't heard of any prior army testing. But the civvies can't be expected to know that, so advisors from the services and IOFS babus are blindsiding the govt by pushing the deal, calling it made in India xx% indigenous by 20xx etc. Taxpayers are being robbed and that money goes into the pockets of russians (muh royalty, muh ToT, etc), babus ($1000 per rifle, mfg cost will be in neighborhood of $300-$400), dalals, generals etc. Maybe even the govt (though I doubt this). I'm kinda weak at economics, so feel free to correct.

WARREN SS

Maybe we can have a retail shop where the average grunt can show his ID and buy specialised gear such as BPJ or helmet
I think CSD should do Tie up for these gears
Like gloves, shoes, plate carriers other accessories

They Instead Give subsidies on TV, fridge, AC,Car
Which needless

As shopping website already give better deals

I think CSD should do Tie up for these gears
Like gloves, shoes, plate carriers other accessories

They Instead Give subsidies on TV, fridge, AC,Car
Which needless

As shopping website already give better deals
I feel that this tendering system should first be reformed, it only delays and makes things expensive.