LOC, LAC & International Border skirmishs

tharun

Since the standoff going on at Chinese front our logistics abilities warrants a particular mention.

While an entire Mi 17 unit attached with a division will provide sufficient tonnage for an entire day and airlift 1500 soldiers in 10 sorties.

But using this Giant Mi 26 into operations :-

1. A single Mi 26 can lift as much as entire AN 12 cargo aircraft

2. Two Mi 26 can do the work of entire Mi 17 squadron :)

===============================

More pics of this beast from Chinese front will be posted soon

View attachment 18119
How many mi 17 in each squadron?

I think we have 2 or 3 of these mighty beast in our service . This along with C-17& C-130 can move around 1000+ soldiers close to LAC easily . Hope all the ALGs are fully operational in Arunachal and also in Ladakh

Since the standoff going on at Chinese front our logistics abilities warrants a particular mention.

While an entire Mi 17 unit attached with a division will provide sufficient tonnage for an entire day and airlift 1500 soldiers in 10 sorties.

View attachment 18119

square

Strategic Issues
'PLA plans war games instead of military parade on 90th anniv'

China's People's Liberation Army (PLA) will hold war games instead of usual military parade to showcase its military might on the world's largest standing force's 90th anniversary next week, a media report said today.
so much drama they do .........

drama...

drama....

and more drama...

areey bhai....wo ajay devgun ka dialoge kiya tha...."when you have to shoot , shoot , don't talk.

Earlier 12 Mi 8/17 in one helicopter unit, it should be more now, similarly one Heli unit was attached to a division earlier must've been increase to two since now we have a bigger fleet of Mi 17
Sir ji how well does our Mi 17 performs in comparison to Chinook helicopters in terms of lifting weights.

I think we have 2 or 3 of these mighty beast in our service . This along with C-17& C-130 can move around 1000+ soldiers close to LAC easily . Hope all the ALGs are fully operational in Arunachal and also in Ladakh
Somewhere i read that we have the capability to deploy more than a Brigade size strength within few hours but we need more heavy lift aircraft to transport heavy equipment Tanks, Arty locating Radar, Artillery very close to the LAC

Sir ji how well does our Mi 17 performs in comparison to Chinook helicopters in terms of lifting weights.
Different classes of helicopters. Mi 17Vs are medium lift helos with a MTOW of about 13,000kgs, Chinook in contrast is a heavy lift helo and has nearly double the MTOW of about 25,000 kgs.

Both are meant for different purposes. Mi 17V is the backbone of Indian infantry and also our SFs. Chinook will be for heavy lift requirements, especially in the Himalayan terrain.

Meanwhile China uses SA 321 super frelon

General characteristics

• Crew: five
  • Capacity:
    • 27 passengers or
    • 15 stretchers
  • Length: 23.03 m (75 ft 6⅝ in)
  • Rotor diameter: 18.90 m (62 ft 0 in)
  • Height: 6.66 m (21 ft 10¼ in)
  • Disc area: 280.6 m² (3,019 ft²)
  • Empty weight: 6,863 kg (15,130 lb)
  • Max. takeoff weight: 13,000 kg (28,660 lb)
  • Powerplant: Three × Turboméca Turmo IIIC turboshafts, 1,171 kW (1,570 hp) each
Performance

Armament

• Guns:20 mm (0.787 in) cannon(window-mounted)
  • Missiles:
    • 4× homing torpedoes in the ASW role or
    • Exocet missiles in the anti-ship

I am surprised that they haven't yet reversed engineer a toy of their own.

View attachment 18119
Yesterday I saw multiple MI-17 flying around HAL for a really long time. I got tired after taking too many pics. I think armed forces are alert everywhere.

Well we have lost that opportunity to get more C-17 when Boeing had told they are shutting the production line . We will get one C-17 Plus those 15 Chinooks all by 2020 we will have an amazing airlift capacity for LAC front .if I am not wrong C-17 can carry one T-90 or T-72 easily not sure about Arjun MBT. We can also move those M777 arty s close to Chinese border using those Chinook.This is why someone said we are closing the gap with China slowly and the window of hitting us without sweating their ass out is getting closed faster for the chincoms.2020 the scenario will be all together different

@Akshay Fenix @Akshay_Fenix Well the 50 Submarines will do nothing in chumbi valley but will do everything in the waters of Arabian Sea to block our trade ships and also supply ships .Hope you read the new chinese marine base opened in Djibouti this month which is right at the Horn of Africa looking right into the ships coming out of Suez canal ...And thinking the chinese will fight a war only at the front where the standoff is big illusion ..They will surely open up all their fronts to test the waters against us..

Somewhere i read that we have the capability to deploy more than a Brigade size strength within few hours but we need more heavy lift aircraft to transport heavy equipment Tanks, Arty locating Radar, Artillery very close to the LAC

yeh karenge who karenge.. hona kuch hai nahi.

It is easy to trespass into plain areas and create a base than in mountain warfare. That region is known for it's trible instinct this is why the Porki Army relies more on the so called ' non state actors' and they have plenty of them based in POK and KPK as line of defence.
They are not civilians they are trained tangos.

Clearing a single feature requires days of planning man power and Pakistanis are very well dug and trenched across LOC into their continuous running bunkers across Neelam valley. This is how they are able to avoid and escape Indian shelling. And IA has to resort to hit their vehicles or do cross border raids.

POK toh duur ki baat hai, try capturing Athmuqam.

You cannot capture POK unless until you have highest peaks in your control which are further west of the Neelam Valley and local sources for info.

Allah maaf kare, but this is not true at all.

Compare the hypothetical future scenario with the current situation, not with the ideal situation. Will it be better than current situation? definitely!

What would you rather deal with, a population that is hostile to you and an inimical army that has suzerainty over them? or a population that is hostile to you with no hostile army? Right now, they are firing machine guns, mortars and artillery weapons, training and sending BAT teams from POK. When we capture that, all of that will stop. The locals might throw stones but that is much better than having our soldiers killed in the current cross border firing scenario. Ownership is 9/10th of the law.

When we seize control of that land, we will install our own mobile towers, internet connectivity and other things, so intel gathering will be easier. We can patrol the entire POK so there will be no training camps sending terrorists into Jammu. Capturing POK doesn't mean we have to allow free movement of POK people into J&K. We can contain them in that quarantine zone like we have contained Indians from buying land in J&K.

If you keep waiting for Muslims to be pro-India, then we will be waiting forever. There's never going to be a time when they will start chanting Bharat Mata Ki jai. We have had Hyderabad since a long time and those jihadis are still anti-India to the core. They support Pakistan in cricket matches, they put up Pakistani flags in their neighborhoods, block Hindu festivals etc, but still our internal intel agencies can keep tabs on them and arrest them as and when necessary. That is still better than allowing them to have an independent country in Hyderabad until they become fully pro-India. Then they would have started firing artillery rounds from Hyderabad into mainland India.

Our aim should be to deny strategic land to Muslims and contain them. The hearts and minds can be won later, grab their balls first.

You cannot capture POK unless until you have highest peaks in your control which are further west of the Neelam Valley and local sources for info.
You cannot capture POK due to the tenuous and insecure lines of communication. Period! Plus the combat ratio required for an offensive in the mountainous terrain obtaining in POK is not in our favor which must be at least 6:1. It's more if you add the jihadi brigades floating around in POK into the mix.

This grandiose idea coming from our clueless politicians about capturing POK etc is a lot of hot air and bluster.

IndiaRising

You cannot capture POK due to the tenuous and insecure lines of communication. Period! Plus the combat ratio required for an offensive in the mountainous terrain obtaining in POK is not in our favor which must be at least 6:1. It's more if you add the jihadi brigades floating around in POK into the mix.

This grandiose idea coming from our clueless politicians about capturing POK etc is a lot of hot air and bluster.
isn't it possible to create proxies to do the dirty work, just like pak does? if its a dirty game, you have to play dirty. the balochistan angle has not been sufficiently pursued, so then raise proxies of your own who hit paki army targets, just like how they have raised their own proxies in JeM, LeT, etc

gekko

Well we have lost that opportunity to get more C-17
We have several alternate RFPs in place of the C-17s. We have placed an order for C295 with similar lift capacity. I doubt we'd have used the capacity to transport 1 tank at a time. By the time we transport 50 tanks, the element of surprise will be wasted. In the west, the tanks can roll in like it's another Monday.

We have a heavily militarized Siliguri corridor. It is often touted as a weak point but this is the most fortified area anywhere in India and it is being rapidly stocked with more men and weapon. Although the chicken's neck is a lucrative target for the Chinese, they will be walking straight into Indian Army fortifications. Our troop strength there is in tens of thousands, and all of them are acclimatized troops with proper gear. We are just a whisker away from calling them a de facto mountain strike corp. On the other hand, China does not have more than a few hundred border troops in the area and the rest of them are behind the Tsangpo river.

If they cross the river using the 11 bridges, let them come, and then blow up the bridges. They will be trapped between the Himalaya mountains in the front and a river in the back and no resupply lines and no way to go back. Crossing the Tsangpo itself is a faaarrr distance from the safety of their fortifications. It's a very long supply line which will stretch their resources thin. Every inch they crawl after the Tsangpo will be a drain on their resources and a risk of being cut off from behind if India uses Brahmos strike to demolish the bridges.

There is NO way the Chinkies come out on top of this situation. Sun Tzu would be ashamed of them.

Those who were asking what the bridges look like, here's a photo of one of the 11 bridges. It only appears easy on the map but in reality, there is no way to move without these bridges :

W020170411391076639065.jpg

This bridge connects Lhasa-Arunachal.

Check this, Yarlung Tsangpo (Brahmaputra) and the mountains make a narrow sandwich for them to move :

Unless until something like operation Gibraltar is planned but again you need tenuous and secure lines of communication + local support.

isn't it possible to create proxies to do the dirty work, just like pak does? if its a dirty game, you have to play dirty. the balochistan angle has not been sufficiently pursued, so then raise proxies of your own who hit paki army targets, just like how they have raised their own proxies in JeM, LeT, etc
That's against Indian policy.
Srinagar ko sambhal lo wahi kafi hoga.

Willy2

running bunkers
What is this ???
You cannot capture POK due to the tenuous and insecure lines of communication. Period! Plus the combat ratio required for an offensive in the mountainous terrain obtaining in POK is not in our favor which must be at least 6:1.
Is there any thread/discussion here about Indian offense in Neelum valley during first kashmir war ..

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Kunal Biswas Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border Indian Army 13524
H OSINT compilation thread Knowledge Repository 54
Bornubus LOC, LAC & IB warfare Indian Army 2005
Martian LOC, LAC & IB skirmishs Indian Army 1958