LOC, LAC & International Border skirmishs

Two Indian soldiers killed

Snipers have been a true force multiplier for Pakis since this skirmish started last year. We seem to be lagging behind in terms of equipment. RIP brave jawans

Shortage (if any) of manpower can be overcome from Chinese Paramilitary forces and interior troops. China spend a large budget on internal security too.

Now they are giving more importance to other arms such as Rocket Force and EW capabilities which make sense.

Beside India China and Pak deploy Border guards/ police / paramilitary on the border apart from regular troops

1st Joint Border patrol of China and Pak. Notice Pak Border police and Chinese Frontier defense regiment.

PoK Xinjiang border

View attachment 17619
I think we can no longer assume that Pakistan is not a threat to India even in terms of conventional forces. For all intents and purposes, a war with Pak is a war with China. We need to fix our procurement and weapon development programs.

Snipers have been a true force multiplier for Pakis since this skirmish started last year. We seem to be lagging behind in terms of equipment. RIP brave jawans

I think we can no longer assume that Pakistan is not a threat to India even in terms of conventional forces. For all intents and purposes, a war with Pak is a war with China. We need to fix our procurement and weapon development programs.
Their sniping equipment is better than ours.Useless dragunovs

Dragunovs have their use, they can be used from a helicopter for instance or to engage multiple targets in an urban environment etc. However, for use long distance to take out Paki sentries who are obscured and stationary, a bolt action is more accurate.

A round of applause for our BABUS at MOD who havent bought a good enough bolt action rifle.

Another pile of shit in their dumpyard.

Global times writing in less jingoistic tone now

http://www.globaltimes.cn/content/1056073.shtml

China urges India to withdraw troops from boundary after Indian FM calls for management of disputes
By Zhang Xin Source:Global Times Published: 2017/7/12 19:17:09

China urged India to recall troops who crossed over the China-India boundary at the Sikkim section, after India's foreign secretary said on Tuesday that India and China can manage the differences over their contested border.

Chinese Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Geng Shuang stressed on Wednesday that the Sikkim section has a history and is a defined section of the China-India border.

"The Sikkim section of the China-India boundary was defined by the Convention between Great Britain and China Relating to Sikkim and Tibet in 1890. The section has been recognized by both China and India and this convention holds true for both countries," Geng told reporters at a regular press conference.

The Sikkim section is the only defined boundary between India and China, and is totally different from the undefined boundary in the east, middle and west parts, Geng said.

"China has repeatedly pointed out that the illegal trespass of Indian border troops of the mutually recognized border is different in nature from the frictions in the undefined sections of the boundary," Geng added.

He urged India to unconditionally withdraw its troops to the Indian side of the boundary.

A day earlier, S. Jaishankar said that the two countries can handle the disputes like they did so many times before, as "no part of the border has been agreed upon."

In 2003, China's Central Military Commission approved the concept of 'Three Warfares', namely:

(1) the coordinated use of strategic psychological operations;
(2) overt and covert media manipulation;
(3) legal warfare designed to manipulate strategies, defence policies, and perceptions of target audiences abroad.

Implementation
In recent months, Beijing has been intensifying the implementation of this military doctrine.
It can be seen every day in the declarations of the Chinese spokespersons: even when on the wrong foot, China makes it sound that the other party is at fault ...by making more noise.

No contradictions
In this ‘Warfare’, there is no such a thing as ‘contradiction’.Take an example, a couple of days ago, the Chinese embassy in New Delhi asked Chinese people in India to ‘strengthen self-protection’.The Global Times commented on the “travel notice released amid a fermenting military standoff on the border;” it was referring to the standoff on the Sikkim-Tibet-Bhutan border. According to the Chinese tabloid the advisory notice had to be issued because India trespassed on China’s territory.Though the premise is untrue (see in my different postings on the subject), the Chinese embassy nevertheless released the notice on its website, urging "all Chinese citizens in India and those who are going to visit India to pay close attention to the local security situation and strengthen self-protection.”It added: “Reduce unnecessary travel to India, and leave travel information with family members, colleagues and friends. Keep a low profile, and respect the local laws and law-enforcement personnel," it says.

Promoting Ziro
Now, you may think that the Chinese do not encourage its nationals to visit India.Though it seems a contradiction with the Embassy's notice, an article published in July in the Chinese Travel Guide magazine promotes Ziro as a tourist destination.

But you may ask, why to ‘promote’ Ziro, headquarter of the Lower Subansiri of Arunachal Pradesh?
The answer is simple, for Beijing, Ziro is part of Southern Tibet and the local Apatanis are a Chinese tribe.
The 6 pages of the last issue of ‘Travel’ magazine describes in detail the ‘Chinese’ tribe, the Lhoba Apatanis.
In its introduction, the article explains that the Apatanis are ‘the most beautiful ethnic people’ …of China of course.

It says: “In the Tibetan area of Southern Tibet, there is a tribe named Apatani. The women of this tribe are known to be the most beautiful of all Tibetan tribes. But their beautiful appearance can also become a burden. In order to protect themselves from other tribal intruders’ attack, they make themselves less attractive, by plugging a big cork into the nose.

It continues: “…In the eyes of ordinary people, it can only be regarded as an alternative beauty, but for the Apatanis in Southern Tibet, this is considered as a protection to live a longer life. The choice to insert a cock in the nose of those beautiful compatriots was a helpless choice, but fortunately today, in the new society such a tragedy has been discarded, let us hope that it will not appear again.”It further comments: “Other beautiful world women could say in the past, it is fortunate that I was not born in Apatani.”

The article describes the most important Apatani settlements “in the valleys of the southern mountainous region of Tibet, where 26,000 Apatanis live.”

China probably considers Ziro, though a part of Arunachal Pradesh, ‘a territory occupied by India’.
This article seems a further and determined step towards a more concretely claim for the entire Arunachal Pradesh.

This can be also be seen as part of the 'Three Warfares'. Let us hope that Delhi notices.One response could be to liberalize the antiquated Inner Line Permit/Protected Area Permit system.

===============

Source : http://claudearpi.blogspot.in/

On one side we have indian tax paying individuals and corporations and on other side good old freeedoom loving muricans and corporate america. Who wins? Freedom fries anyone.
As for Dragunov, it's from the 60s right, I bet even the russians have replaced most of it.

Best option would be to replace it with some Israeli sniper rifle, cause u know we ain't making shit anytime soon.

IDI DAN.338 Bolt Action Rifle

Best option would be to replace it with some Israeli sniper rifle, cause u know we ain't making shit anytime soon.

IDI DAN.338 Bolt Action Rifle

There is a RFI released for 15000 sniper rifles recently . You can check for it on Indian army website.

We might hear some news on this next year.

Tarun Kumar

I am sorry but people are missing the point here. Snipers are really useless on LOC. If such an event happened against Chinese or American army they would simply let loose a barrage of heavy artillery across whole of LOC to neutralize the aggressors. The fact that we take days even weeks to respond to such aggression shows to me that we simply dont have the heavy artillery numbers to put across all are frontiers in sufficient numbers. Even the response to May 2 beheadings came on May 9 and there also we used ATGMs and heavy mortars not artillery. the Paki posts destroyed on May 9 may have had only handful of soldiers and mostly terrorist. If this is the sad state of our artillery, how on earth can we face a 2 front war , let alone a 2+ front war as our army chief is saying. Chinese artillery is vastly superior to ours and M777s will not be deployed till 2022. Dhanush is stuck in endless trials and ATAGs is nowhere in sight. I really feel sad for our soldiers.

Throughout history our brave men have been let down by poor commanders, generals and politicians. Just read about the battle of Jhelum between Alexander's continental army and soldiers from Puru kingdom. Even Greeks write that Indians fought like lions to the last man but were let down by lack of body armour and good horses.The greek soldiers who won against mighty persian empire became utterly demoralized at prospect of facing more Indian soldiers deeper inland.

It seems the state of our leadership-military and civilian has not changed since last 2000+ years. May god bless the souls of the 2 fallen soldiers and hope we at least retaliate in proportion if not severely.

I am sorry but people are missing the point here. Snipers are really useless on LOC. If such an event happened against Chinese or American army they would simply let loose a barrage of heavy artillery across whole of LOC to neutralize the aggressors. The fact that we take days even weeks to respond to such aggression shows to me that we simply dont have the heavy artillery numbers to put across all are frontiers in sufficient numbers. Even the response to May 2 beheadings came on May 9 and there also we used ATGMs and heavy mortars not artillery. the Paki posts destroyed on May 9 may have had only handful of soldiers and mostly terrorist. If this is the sad state of our artillery, how on earth can we face a 2 front war , let alone a 2+ front war as our army chief is saying. Chinese artillery is vastly superior to ours and M777s will not be deployed till 2022. Dhanush is stuck in endless trials and ATAGs is nowhere in sight. I really feel sad for our soldiers. Throughout history our brave men have been let down by poor commanders, generals and politicians. Just read about the battle of Jhelum between Alexander's continental army and soldiers from Puru kingdom. Even Greeks write that Indians fought like lions to the last man but were let down by lack of body armour and good horses.The greek soldiers who won against mighty persian empire became utterly demoralized at prospect of facing more Indian soldiers deeper inland. It seems the state of our leadership-military and civilian has not changed since last 2000+ years. May god bless the souls of the 2 fallen soldiers and hope we at least retaliate in proportion if not severely.
Can you please write in paragraphs. Thanks

Big Artillery is not being used on LOC by both sides due to an old understanding between India & Pakistan after ceasefire in 2003 IIRC

LMAO it's kinda depressing, Pakis with defence budget 10 times smaller than us are keeping up and sometimes pose major challenge.
Our soldiers fight bravely with political restrictions, insufficient gear and half stomachs while our politicians are busy filling their corrupt ass and sending their children abroad.
Only thing that will fight a two front war are our brave soldiers, we would make up for all the political fuck ups with our soldiers lives.
Bhai atleast spare the military of our politician bullshit.
Praying to god that Modi ji will fix this in the upcoming years.

Keep this thread strictly on LOC, LAC skirmish related where regular and special forces of both sides are involve and not irregular warfare & counter insurgency ..

Post all counter-insurgency news and post here
Thanks bhai hopefully you will keep this thread clean from off topic and irrelevant garbage that fill the quota of 100 pages so quickly lol

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Kunal Biswas Skirmishs at LOC, LAC & International Border Indian Army 13524
H OSINT compilation thread Knowledge Repository 54
Bornubus LOC, LAC & IB warfare Indian Army 2005
Martian LOC, LAC & IB skirmishs Indian Army 1958