LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Who said this and from where did you get this ? I would be the most happiest person if factually this is correct ! All i have heard is LCA is much better in handling qualities - that is way different than WVR combat.
Lca has more advanced fbw system than mirage as it came much later. So that gives it advantage. Design is inspired by mirage itself so it improves on that too.

Lca mk1a will be armed with bramhos NG . Which will give it stand off strike capabilities from 600-800km away.

Nirbhay air launched version will also come with subsonic range greater than 1000km .

Also pgm and lgb ranges will continuously improve .lca will be able to strike on most porky military targets from Indian airspace itself.

We have a very dangerous beast on our hands.

With lca mk1a mid pylon capable of carrying 1500kg weight ( Bramhos Ng) it will also be able to carry any future subsonic cruise missile which we will develop.
Let mk1a come first. Nirbhay is over 1500 kg + right now. They will be integrated with Sukhoi. Also there are plans for Nirbhay ER for a range of 1500 km more heavier than current.

Nirbhay air launched is already under development. There were some pics of the lab too somewhere . Ask @porky_kicker . It can be lighter and smaller for slightly lower range to be air launch capable just like scalp.

Anyway we already saw the pic at air India where lca model had Uttam aesa and bramhos Ng.

Kharavela

You simply do not understand enough
That might be true as you are the Only Gyani in this forum.

1. No airforce today wants light fighters. There is a not a single 5th gen light fighter program in the world today
Are IAF planners preparing their fighting doctrine according to unique Indian requirements or copy-pasting other Airforce's requirements ?
Just for your consideration Saar,
A) please tell the forum a suitable fighter aircraft which can operate from Leh airfield and also in Thar desert of Rajasthan ? Remember MMRCA trials ? 4 of the 6 contenders failed the trials at Leh whereas LCA cleared the Leh trials with ease. None of the contenders in MMRCA could churn out 6 sorties per day whereas LCA demonstrated the same in Ex Gagan Shakti.

2. This has been proposed many times by many people. Both IAF and IA should have their own design bureau. Guess we will have to wait for this reform.
Who has stopped them from having their own design bureau and taking responsibility of the project just like IN since project Leander. Rather, IAF choose not to stand by HF-24 MARUT and allowed to kill the first indigenous Indian fighter aircraft.

3. IAF has supported indigenous programs enough. Its your fault if you cannot understand it and come out of your biases.
Pray tell ignorant me some of such programs instead of rhetoric.
Bright example of IAF supporting indigenous program is HF-24 MARUT, isn't it ?

Sure, shut down IAF. One of the most stupid things I have ever read on this forum
As we are witnessing this year, once CDS assumes charge and Tri-Service integration starts which will eventually lead to Theatre Commands, IAF will definitely loose it's primacy. That is what the Chair-Marshalls were scared off and the reason for their objection for creation of CDS.

Sent from my ASUS_X00TD using Tapatalk

Kharavela

IAF changed the ASQR only after the LCA was delayed, not before. Since the project was delayed, their requirements evolved with time, as happens in every weapons program.
Just name one aircraft in IAF inventory which confirms to ASQR insisted for LCA.

No IAF doesn't insist on everything before induction. You simply lack knowledge. LCA has been accorded FOC and has entered production without gun trials
Please read before preaching.

Jaguar Induction in IAF:
https://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/india/shamsher.htm

MiG 29 induction in IAF:
https://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/india/baaz.htm

Kharavela

I trust the knowledge of someone like @porky_kicker or @Unknowncommando 2 to take their word, but i don't know if you're credible enough... I'm seeing you for the 1st time.
If you are indeed seeing @ersakthivel for the first time, you are definitely new to all threads related to LCA Tejas.

I'm active for almost 2 years... Maybe because he isn't active regularly.

Any news when first FOC spec plane will be delivered by HAL? Previously remember some one mentioning Oct-Nov timeframe for FOC planes coming out.

uoftotaku

I'm active for almost 2 years... Maybe because he isn't active regularly.
Hahaha you missed all the fun with him and Sancho going at it.

Many of the old guard are not that active anymore or have shifted to SF Forum

The quality of conversation here has suffered as a result

Any news when first FOC spec plane will be delivered by HAL? Previously remember some one mentioning Oct-Nov timeframe for FOC planes coming out.
Same time, it's in jigs. Either later this month or early November.

patriots

Defense lover
Same time, it's in jigs. Either later this month or early November.
Its in equipping stage...first engine ground run would have done in October last(as reported by Ananth Krishnan m)
And first flight in November or December....
4 foc before April 31.

Nirbhay air launched is already under development. There were some pics of the lab too somewhere . Ask @porky_kicker . It can be lighter and smaller for slightly lower range to be air launch capable just like scalp.

Anyway we already saw the pic at air India where lca model had Uttam aesa and bramhos Ng.
Nirbhay is not coming on Tejas mk1 . Mk2 may be if they reduce the weight as you said I haven't read about that though . It weigh over 1500 kg and plan is to integrate it with Sukhoi first .

As far as Brahmos NG pic is concerned it's been around for long let it get tested first and then integrated but it's going to take some time.

And yes everyone have seen the pic they even showed it at LIMA in similar mock up.

Uttam AESA may come in mk2 . So These are probably planned for mk2 version which does make sense.

Hahaha you missed all the fun with him and Sancho going at it.

Many of the old guard are not that active anymore or have shifted to SF Forum

The quality of conversation here has suffered as a result
The conversation is much better without the abuses . Many of the rotten tomatoes were literally psycho back then . Tejas is still getting in this timeline when many people said the same they used to argue over it.

Ohh yeah and Tejas mk2 wasn't needed because it's increase in weight will neutralise the additional thrust of GE 414. I see same morons now talking about how important Tejas mk2 is for IAF.

I see less name calling and abuse hurled at people much more sensibility in people to listen. Still some nut case but better.

And yes when you are waiting around for something since last 15+ years and nothing has moved much you do get bored but old habits die hard so people keep coming.

Chanakya 002

IAF strongly pitches for desi fighters, from Tejas to 5 generation jets.
  • IAF has put its full weight behind the development of a home-grown fifth-generation fighter aircraft (FGFA)
  • Now, the IAF’s full focus is on the futuristic twin-engine AMCA, with advanced stealth, multi-sensor integration and supercruise capabilities
In a strong push for indigenisation, the IAF has put its full weight behind the development of a home-grown fifth-generation fighter aircraft (FGFA) as well as shown its readiness to go in for 200 Tejas Mark-II light combat aircraft after inducting the first 123 Mark-I jets.

“We have no plans for importing a FGFA. The indigenous AMCA (advanced medium combat aircraft) has already been initiated…We are putting all our energy into it. IAF remains committed to indigenous development in consonance with the PM’s 'Make in India’ initiative,” said Air Chief Marshal Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria, who took over as the chief on September 30.

India had last year formally junked the proposed multi-billion dollar joint development and production of the FGFA called Sukhoi T-50 or PAK-FA with Russia on the grounds of economic and technical viability despite having completed the $295 million preliminary design contract inked in December 2010, as was then reported by TOI.

Now, the IAF’s full focus is on the futuristic twin-engine AMCA, with advanced stealth, multi-sensor integration and supercruise capabilities, to be developed in collaboration with DRDO, Aeronautical Development Agency and Hindustan Aeronautics (HAL). “The swing-role AMCA prototype should roll out of the hanger by 2024-2025, with the first test flight one to two years after that,” said a source.

In the near term, the IAF is banking upon the single-engine Tejas fighter to plug the shortfalls in the number of its fighter squadrons, which is down to just 30 (16-18 jets in each) when 42 are needed to tackle the collusive Pakistan-China threat.

IAF has so far signed contracts for the first 40 Tejas Mark-I jets, with the next deal with HAL for 83 improved Mark-IA fighters set to be inked soon. “After these 83, we hope to order Tejas Mark-II,” said ACM Bhadauria.

Sources said IAF has managed to reduce the price of each Tejas Mark-IA jet to Rs 309 crore in hard-nosed negotiations with HAL, which had earlier held that the overall deal with infrastructure and maintenance would cost Rs 49,797 crore. The Mark-II fighters, with more powerful engines, advanced avionics and enhanced fuel and weapons carrying capacity, in turn, will weigh 17-tonne as compared to the 12-tonne existing Tejas.

There is, of course, also the project to build 114 new fighter jets for over $20 billion (Rs 1.4 lakh crore) under the “strategic partnership” policy in a joint venture between a selected foreign aviation major and its Indian partner.

ACM Bhadauria said IAF would soon go to the defence ministry for preliminary approval or “acceptance of necessity” for the project, following which the RFP (request for proposal) will be issued. The seven contenders in this race are the Rafale (France), F/A-18 and F-21 (US), Gripen-E (Sweden), Sukhoi-35 and MiG-35 (Russia) and the Eurofighter Typhoon.

He says Tejas mk1a price 309 crore
42 -45 million around we were expecting that 65 million ( correct me If I am wrong ) what HAL was expecting is day light robbery . They do understand a more capable twin engine mig 35 with AESA can be bought for around 50-55 million.

Anyway let them roll now finally dream coming true.