LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
Eh, leave the Jaguar out of this, The DARIN III Jag is lethal and excellent at strikes.
only in naval roles its effective...or after we make air superiority in enemy space by other fighters help. yes, it can also play small role in valleys. but it never gonna use in starting period of war. it hv limited roles now. so it is better than our training aircrafts, but very below performance than tejas etc fighter. its maximum bvr capabilities is very short (40-50 km with ASRAAM). so it cant face a aircraft, which hv proper bvr missile.

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
Just buy LCAs and gift them to vietnam and phillipines
lol...we r suffering from low fighter numbers. nd u r thinking we should gift it to phillipines etc. do u think we r going to buy huge number of modern fighters in MRFA, tejas 2 nd AMCA projects?? i mean if we r going to buy 500-600 new fighters in coming year, than we can give tejas mark 1 nd 1a to others. 😝😜

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
Who is going to pay for missiles and bombs ??
Q. Navy topic. Any idea about Navy plans to integrate desi weapons in Naval fighters ??
LCA mk1a is better than DARIN III Jag in strike and more lethal, only issue is combat range
as a point defense, it can mainly put in CAS (close air support) nd CAP (combet air petrolling) roles. it dont need range nd it should be deployed near border (just like mig 21 case). it will not crossed our border nd remain their to stop enemy fighters. so they dont need higher range, 500-700 km range is enough. we will surely send our rafale, mirage 2000 nd mig 29 in enemy territory. so they will cross our border nd they need range to attack deep inside enemy territory. meanwhile su 30 mki nd tejas mark 1a will assist them near our border. although tejas mark 1a hv refueling probe nd drop tanks to increase its range. remember our tejas reached Singapore (3000+ km distance) without any refueling. so that mean they can reach 1000 km in enemy territory nd came back also (with weapons).

johnj

as a point defense, it can mainly put in CAS (close air support) nd CAP (combet air petrolling) roles. it dont need range nd it should be deployed near border (just like mig 21 case). it will not crossed our border nd remain their to stop enemy fighters. so they dont need higher range, 500-700 km range is enough. we will surely send our rafale, mirage 2000 nd mig 29 in enemy territory. so they will cross our border nd they need range to attack deep inside enemy territory. meanwhile su 30 mki nd tejas mark 1a will assist them near our border. although tejas mark 1a hv refueling probe nd drop tanks to increase its range. remember our tejas reached Singapore (3000+ km distance) without any refueling. so that mean they can reach 1000 km in enemy territory nd came back also (with weapons).
LOL, Jaguar is not a point defense fighter, its a tactical deep strike fighter
FYI- CAS depended on two things, endurance and high accuracy of weapons, LCA lacks both now, but currently testing hammer. LCA good in air support for ground troops but not CAS
FYI - Mig21 also not a CAS aircraft, IAF brought Mig23 for that role, in future mki/mk2 provide CAS
FYI - LCA FOC also having refueling probe, means IOC also get that feature
Aircrafts which is capable of replacing Jaguar- M2k, LCAmk2 and Rafale, Since IAF only having m2k and rafale in low nos, LCAmk2 is the only major solution till AMCA arrive and AH64, Mi17, LCH, armed drone provide CAS. Both M2k and rafale can penetrate paf airspace for strike and air dominance role simultaneously, thanks to their range, endurance, superior air to air capability and PGMs, TACM etc true multi/omni role capability, Rafale having additional advantage thanks to VLO, Spectra EW, meteor.
width is 8.2 m, length 13.2 m, height 4.4 m. TOW clean 8.500 kg, MTOW 12500kg super-sonic at all altitudes, max speed of M 1.5 at the tropopause. Maximum STR 17 deg per sec & maximum attainable 30 deg per sec." By Air Marshal MSD woolen in 1998
super-sonic at all altitudes is the major plus point and M1.5 is the minus point, a major reason why IAF asked for new powerful engines for mk1, and it become mk2. mk1+F414= mk2 and mk2 not equal to mk2 mwf.
IF mig21 can cross border, then LCA also capable of crossing indo-pak border with out any issue, attack enemy planes and strike enemy targets inside pak territory
combat range - Radius of action, combat radius, or combat range in military terms, refers to the maximum distance a ship, aircraft, or vehicle can travel away from its base along a given course with normal load and return without refueling, allowing for all safety and operating factors.
Combat range of mk1a is better than ioc version and range decrease with load, less range for strike/cas mission compared to CAP or interception, a reason why Russia having su35, su30 and su34. USAF considering B52 heavy bomber for CAS
Bottom line - LCA is a good replacement for Mig21 but for Jaguar, AMCA is the best option and rafale is another alternative

johnj

They have accepted the "under the table" gifts from Israel. Now they have to give them some business, if not all..
We already spending billons $$ for jaguar DARIN III plus buying their weapons from ccm, bvr, pgm, standoff weapons, targeting pod, agm, TACM etc is enough,
fine, we can buy their aerial refueling equipment, for converting airliner into mrtt in HAL

daya

Strike with what? Jaguar payload is deteriorated due to underpowered engine. IAF simply wasted money on DARIN III upgrade.
Hota tab bhi kuchh nahi.. jab bada powerplant hota... pakistan 24 jahaj ko despatch karta hai hamari seema me.. aur hamara jawab kya tha.. sabko pata hai.. ye aise hi chalega.. bas WC and above.. post create hongi.. nayi.. pay aur pension ka bill badhega.. upar walon ki suvidhaye bhi..

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
FYI- CAS depended on two things, endurance and high accuracy of weapons, LCA lacks both now, but currently testing hammer. LCA good in air support for ground troops but not CAS
FYI - Mig21 also not a CAS aircraft, IAF brought Mig23 for that role, in future mki/mk2 provide CAS
Aircrafts which is capable of replacing Jaguar- M2k, LCAmk2 and Rafale, Since IAF only having m2k and rafale in low nos, LCAmk2 is the only major solution till AMCA arrive and AH64, Mi17, LCH, armed drone provide CAS. Both M2k and rafale can penetrate paf airspace for strike and air dominance role simultaneously, thanks to their range, endurance, superior air to air capability and PGMs, TACM etc true multi/omni role capability, Rafale having additional advantage thanks to VLO, Spectra EW, meteor.
https://twitter.com/hashtag/TejasMk1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1684932936871927809%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es2_&ref_url=&src=hashtag_click
super-sonic at all altitudes is the major plus point and M1.5 is the minus point, a major reason why IAF asked for new powerful engines for mk1, and it become mk2. mk1+F414= mk2 and mk2 not equal to mk2 mwf.
IF mig21 can cross border, then LCA also capable of crossing indo-pak border with out any issue, attack enemy planes and strike enemy targets inside pak territory
combat range - Radius of action, combat radius, or combat range in military terms, refers to the maximum distance a ship, aircraft, or vehicle can travel away from its base along a given course with normal load and return without refueling, allowing for all safety and operating factors.
Combat range of mk1a is better than ioc version and range decrease with load, less range for strike/cas mission compared to CAP or interception, a reason why Russia having su35, su30 and su34. USAF considering B52 heavy bomber for CAS
Bottom line - LCA is a good replacement for Mig21 but for Jaguar, AMCA is the best option and rafale is another alternative
https://twitter.com/hashtag/TejasMk1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1684932936871927809%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es2_&ref_url=&src=hashtag_click
lol...i m talking about tejas not jaguar. everything i said about tejas not jaguar. yes tejas mark 1a can enter enemy border, just like su 30 mki. but why we will send them, instead of better platform like rafale. mig 21 entered pakistani border by mistake nd get shot down.
do u honestly think in a war, u will send ur tejas mark 1a in enemy border. when u hv choice of rafale nd mirage 2000. i dont think so. pakistani air space is not dangerous, coz they hv limited sam protuction nd less aircrafts. so "crazy nd aaj kuch tufani krte hai" mind people can send tejas mark 1a in enemy border. but chinese airspace is relatively very hard to enter.
jaguar is mainly for ground strike role. so any aircraft which hv better ground strike capabilities can replace it. even we can replace them multirole fighters like tejas mark 2 or MRFA rafale (if its happened some how😂). 😝

johnj

lol...i m talking about tejas not jaguar. everything i said about tejas not jaguar. yes tejas mark 1a can enter enemy border, just like su 30 mki. but why we will send them, instead of better platform like rafale. mig 21 entered pakistani border by mistake nd get shot down.
do u honestly think in a war, u will send ur tejas mark 1a in enemy border. when u hv choice of rafale nd mirage 2000. i dont think so. pakistani air space is not dangerous, coz they hv limited sam protuction nd less aircrafts. so "crazy nd aaj kuch tufani krte hai" mind people can send tejas mark 1a in enemy border. but chinese airspace is relatively very hard to enter.
jaguar is mainly for ground strike role. so any aircraft which hv better ground strike capabilities can replace it. even we can replace them multirole fighters like tejas mark 2 or MRFA rafale (if its happened some how😂). 😝
Lol,
1. Pak having advanced SAMS, which can shoot down enemy fighter jets around 100km
2. Pak having better no.of AEW&C than IAF
3. Cold war era is gone and PAF don't have any 5th gen now
4. PAF can detect mki 400+km away and mki is a missile magnet
5. IAF having around 125 jaguars and operated around 130 mig23 and around 450 mig21 and around 165 mig27
6. Currently IAF only having 16 LCA mk1 foc and 36 rafale
7. Currently PAF having more amount of advanced AAMs, PGMs, TACM and standoff weapons
These are some facts you need to understand
If you say LCA can replace jaguar, then you are talking about jaguar
You know why IAF upgrading and keep jaguar and why used m2k in balakot attack ?? becz mki or any other jet cant replace jaguar and jaguar lacks air dominance capability
Jaguar is unique aircraft, very hard to replace, like a10, harrier, only alternatives currently available are f35[best/true replacement], rafale and su34. On the other hand LCA is more like su35, eft, f22, mig21 with underpowered engine. LCA mk1 need 95kn engine and mk2 need 110/125kn engine to attain its full potential
Yes, Since LCA is second best aircraft after rafale in IAF arsenal now, with around 650km+ combat radius [range 1800km+] LCA can easily enter pak airspace and attack both air targets and strike ground targets with extreme high accuracy and high survivability compared to m2k and mki
PAF having enough SAM to counter IAF and around 300 fighter jets to counter IAF jets, and IAF need to consider PLAAF also
Chinese airspace is very easy to enter becz they lack infra compared to Pak in areas close to Indian border
Yes, jaguar is a ground strike ac, but any aircraft with better ground strike capability can't replace jaguar, like LCAmk1a cant replace MKI or m2k or mig29
Its sad most of the people don't know the how good is jaguar and why iaf upgrading jaguar with 4.5th gen tech

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
Lol,
1. Pak having advanced SAMS, which can shoot down enemy fighter jets around 100km
2. Pak having better no.of AEW&C than IAF
3. Cold war era is gone and PAF don't have any 5th gen now
4. PAF can detect mki 400+km away and mki is a missile magnet
5. IAF having around 125 jaguars and operated around 130 mig23 and around 450 mig21 and around 165 mig27
6. Currently IAF only having 16 LCA mk1 foc and 36 rafale
7. Currently PAF having more amount of advanced AAMs, PGMs, TACM and standoff weapons
These are some facts you need to understand
If you say LCA can replace jaguar, then you are talking about jaguar
You know why IAF upgrading and keep jaguar and why used m2k in balakot attack ?? becz mki or any other jet cant replace jaguar and jaguar lacks air dominance capability
Jaguar is unique aircraft, very hard to replace, like a10, harrier, only alternatives currently available are f35[best/true replacement], rafale and su34. On the other hand LCA is more like su35, eft, f22, mig21 with underpowered engine. LCA mk1 need 95kn engine and mk2 need 110/125kn engine to attain its full potential
Yes, Since LCA is second best aircraft after rafale in IAF arsenal now, with around 650km+ combat radius [range 1800km+] LCA can easily enter pak airspace and attack both air targets and strike ground targets with extreme high accuracy and high survivability compared to m2k and mki
PAF having enough SAM to counter IAF and around 300 fighter jets to counter IAF jets, and IAF need to consider PLAAF also
Chinese airspace is very easy to enter becz they lack infra compared to Pak in areas close to Indian border
Yes, jaguar is a ground strike ac, but any aircraft with better ground strike capability can't replace jaguar, like LCAmk1a cant replace MKI or m2k or mig29
Its sad most of the people don't know the how good is jaguar and why iaf upgrading jaguar with 4.5th gen tech
thnku for ur reply:-
1:- sir ji,,, india nd pakistan hv 3300 km land border. i dont think pakistan buyed enough HQ9 to cover their air space. i will surprised if they buy more than 2 squad of HQ9, due to their bankruptcy.
2:- yes agree. but we can confuse them just like in balakot stike. i mean decoying or deploying other aircrafts from different indian bases nd send special group of aircrafts inside to strike.
3:- yup.
4:- yes, su 30 mki hv large RCS. but they also hv jammers nd EW system. so i dont believe they can be detected from 400 km specially by pakistani radars. jammers nd ew system can confuse radar signals, so it reduce dedection range. we can make 10 su 30 mki group, nd send them from 13 different places (if we assume only half 130 su 30 mki is serviceable that time) of 3300 km border. so pakistan also hv to devide their fighters to confront 13 group of su 30 mki. but out of 13 su 30 mki group only 1-2 group can enter pakistani space. yes it hv also surprise element (when pakistani dont thinking of our attack nd hv less aircraft in CAP missions).
5:- we already retire mig 23 nd mig 27 (i think in 2017-18). ur number of jaguar is right. but we hv only bison upgraded mig 21 now. they hv 6 squad in number. thats why tejas 1 nd 1a hv 6 squads (123 numbers) to replace mig 21.
6:- wrong. total 32 tejas mark 1 (16 IOC nd 16 FOC) nd one- two trainer version already given to IAF. dont know how many IOC upgraded to FOC.
7:- pak hv more AAM, PGM etc,,, i dont know. so i cant comment on that. but it dont make sense.
8:- IAF only operating jaguar, coz we hv less fighters to even operate current 33-35 squads. same reason why we still operating mig 21. otherwise mig 21 should retire in 2010 nd jaguar should retire 2018-20. we r only user of jaguar in world. darin 3 upgrade isnt a huge upgrade (except aesa radars). still it is a decent fighter in between a proper 4 genration nd advance training aircrafts. but it cant survive against a decent 4 genration fighter. coz it hv only WVR like ASRAAM to attack, which hv 40-50 km range. jaguar main strength was its flying on ground levels. but now sams nd striker or igla type man portable defense system make its life hell. though it can use in surprise attacks around valleys. thats it.
9:- i dont think u r following PLAAF nd their development in ladhakh borders. they deployed s400 nd HQ 9 nd others sam system there in good number. they hv better quality aircraft than pakistan. nd they can easily deploy more fighters in indian border in war, compaire to 300 low quality pakistani fighters. so again its "relatively harder" to enter in chinese airspace than pakistani.
10:- sry but jaguar nd mig 29 replaced by tejas mark 2. its already decided. jaguar type role not needed in current war fare. its good in naval missions. but its role can easily do with trainer aircraft. i mean bombing etc after we gain air superiority in enemy air space.
sry for long msg. read it with tea nd namkeen (i suggest bhurji or moong daal is best) 😝😂🙏

johnj

thnku for ur reply:-
1:- sir ji,,, india nd pakistan hv 3300 km land border. i dont think pakistan buyed enough HQ9 to cover their air space. i will surprised if they buy more than 2 squad of HQ9, due to their bankruptcy.
2:- yes agree. but we can confuse them just like in balakot stike. i mean decoying or deploying other aircrafts from different indian bases nd send special group of aircrafts inside to strike.
3:- yup.
4:- yes, su 30 mki hv large RCS. but they also hv jammers nd EW system. so i dont believe they can be detected from 400 km specially by pakistani radars. jammers nd ew system can confuse radar signals, so it reduce dedection range. we can make 10 su 30 mki group, nd send them from 13 different places (if we assume only half 130 su 30 mki is serviceable that time) of 3300 km border. so pakistan also hv to devide their fighters to confront 13 group of su 30 mki. but out of 13 su 30 mki group only 1-2 group can enter pakistani space. yes it hv also surprise element (when pakistani dont thinking of our attack nd hv less aircraft in CAP missions).
5:- we already retire mig 23 nd mig 27 (i think in 2017-18). ur number of jaguar is right. but we hv only bison upgraded mig 21 now. they hv 6 squad in number. thats why tejas 1 nd 1a hv 6 squads (123 numbers) to replace mig 21.
6:- wrong. total 32 tejas mark 1 (16 IOC nd 16 FOC) nd one- two trainer version already given to IAF. dont know how many IOC upgraded to FOC.
7:- pak hv more AAM, PGM etc,,, i dont know. so i cant comment on that. but it dont make sense.
8:- IAF only operating jaguar, coz we hv less fighters to even operate current 33-35 squads. same reason why we still operating mig 21. otherwise mig 21 should retire in 2010 nd jaguar should retire 2018-20. we r only user of jaguar in world. darin 3 upgrade isnt a huge upgrade (except aesa radars). still it is a decent fighter in between a proper 4 genration nd advance training aircrafts. but it cant survive against a decent 4 genration fighter. coz it hv only WVR like ASRAAM to attack, which hv 40-50 km range. jaguar main strength was its flying on ground levels. but now sams nd striker or igla type man portable defense system make its life hell. though it can use in surprise attacks around valleys. thats it.
9:- i dont think u r following PLAAF nd their development in ladhakh borders. they deployed s400 nd HQ 9 nd others sam system there in good number. so again its "relatively harder" to enter in chinese airspace than pakistani.
10:- sry but jaguar nd mig 29 replaced by tejas mark 2. its already decided. jaguar type role not needed in current war fare. its good in naval missions. but its role can easily do with trainer aircraft. i mean bombing etc after we gain air superiority in enemy air space.
sry for long msg. read it with tea nd namkeen (i suggest bhurji or moong daal is best) 😝😂🙏
1. they dont need to cover entire pak airspace only impoartant areas, pak also having Spada 2000
2.lol, dont compare a small preemptive strike against non military asset, its total nonsense/stupid theory, apologies. it i offensive you
4. Don't work since they are having better AEW&C, even with super duper EW, they can detect mki 250/300 km away easily
5. its nor about mig21 or lca mainly, or jaguars, but about mki
6. ioc is use less, in warfare, no guns, no bvr or advanced ccm, only outdated r73, need to upgrade them into mk1a uttam standard
7. yes, a major reason why iaf crying for mrfa
8. lol darin 3 upgrade is similar to mk1a upgrade. flying on ground levels is to avoid SAMs, issue is qr srsams with eo sensors, but pak AEW&C nullify jaguar main strength, that why F35 is the best solution. asraam range is about 25/30 km max
jaguar main strength was its flying on ground levels - yes, but all jets can fly on ground levels, in the case of jaguar it can cover around 500km on ground levels, which helps to avoid radar detections, and pop up outside PAF sam range and use sead and strike PAF targets, and use ccm for self defense, but jaguar lost its main advantage when PAF acquired erieye
9. Yes, but they lack PAF having large no of aircraft also, PLAAF only stated and still need more time to build infra to support 500 plus aircraft in forward bases
10. why do you think drdo developed saaw, that how one achieve air superiority in enemy air space. destroying their SAMs and air defense/air force basics and its job of jaguar in the past, in future one need stealth ac to achieve the goal. IAF decided to replace mig 29/m2k/jaguar with mk2 becz there is no other option, amca only arrive around 2040mk1/ 2045mk2 if jv is successful,
IAF brahmas 900km/ air launched help to fill the role of jaguar with deep penetration strike role, spy satellite acquire the target, mk2 can do sead after brahmos strike, and destroy rest
Jaguar type warfare - rafale, su34, sh etc were developed keeping in mind of jaguar type warfare and due to the arrival if awacs, f35 stealth is developed
trainer aircraft cant replace su34, or rafale or sh or rafale, jaguar having twice the range of tejas in low altitudes