LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Steven Rogers

NaPakiRoaster
remember every chinese toy u ever bought only to find them getting bad after a week? they looked damn good in the shop as well...chinese are the pioneers of counterfeit industry...credit where its due!
Chinese are many decades ahead of india when comes to commerical manufacturing...
In the defence,they will be delivering the first of the two frigates to Pakistan whose contract was signed in 2019,so it's not wise to belittle things we don't even know about....

arnab

Chinese are many decades ahead of india when comes to commerical manufacturing...
In the defence,they will be delivering the first of the two frigates to Pakistan whose contract was signed in 2019,so it's not wise to belittle things we don't even know about....
nobody is belittling anybody...its well known that chinese have a massive counterfeit industry and they vary quality based on their respective export mkts...to basically dump their cheap stuff...thats apt for a fighter they neither use, nor share the core tech with pakistan...equating frigates and other high end military hardware with other commercial items is plain wrong. china is a nation where the govt aka the party owns the land, there are no political labour unions, with a workforce that can work round the clock which might be because of their 996 work culture. yes india is behind, and chinese have matured far ahead...but even with a well oiled indian manufacturing ecosystem...comparing india with china wud be akin to comparing apples with oranges!

MonaLazy

advantages of slow-speed performance
High-performance fighters have one of three wing shapes- trapezoidal (leading edge sweeps back, trailing edge sweeps forward), sweptback (with low aspect ratio & both leading and trailing edges sweep back) & delta. The former two designed primarily for high-speed flight have relatively poor low-speed characteristics- the first consequence of poor lift at low speeds is a higher stall speed (minimum speed an aeroplane must fly to produce lift or else fall to earth). If stall speed is high the plane is forced to fly faster than that (irrespective of mission), burn more fuel increasing the cost of flying it.

The second consequence is how lift & drag vary at low speeds- you need to understand the low-speed flight regime, the region of reverse command & power curve explained here beautifully-

There are three regions in the power curve and airspeed control is king
1. Region of reverse command- We have a lot of drag on the airplane at lower airspeeds (high AoA having to plough through air) which is the back side of the power curve. Speed increases, drag reduces.
2. Minimum drag- When you want to go far this provides maximum endurance- any slower or faster you have more drag.
3. Front side of the power curve- Step on the gas, speed increases, drag increases until you reach top speed.

Good low speed handling is important- every plane operates there, intentionally, at least twice every flight- during take-off and landing. Delta wings can produce a lot of additional lift at low-speeds (when placed in a high angle of attack, thanks to leading-edge vortices)- affording better handling characteristics in the region of reverse command.

When you are coming in for approach, you are aiming for minimum drag- if you are slower then you have to add power as you are fighting higher drag. If perchance you are dangerously slow, then you have substantially more drag. To get rid of this drag you need to speed up, by losing altitude. Only then you will have engine power available to climb away from the ground. Now imagine you are at 20 feet and you have to go down to go up because of being on the wrong side of the power curve- but you don't have enough altitude to lose to gain speed!

Having both safety margin of lift and higher control at low speeds are a boon for landing on aircraft carriers as it allows precise manoeuvring to trap the plane. It has benefits for land based planes too as it can operate from shorter runways- does not need to build up higher speeds to create lift & take off. Also on landing it can come in slow reducing stress on the airframe, wear & tear on landing gear giving it higher life and since the speed was low, to begin with- can come to a stop at a smaller distance. That's a win-win!

@Bleh @MonaLazy @Gessler @SavageKing456 @Okabe Rintarou
What are the advantages of better slow-speed performance (Tejas doing a slow flyby at 120 knots)? In the case of CAS, can the guns be used at such speed ranges when the pilot keeps the nose up?
No.. Basically the jets bleed speed to stop hard maneuvers. Then the one with greater slow speed authority can sit inside the others turn circle, or make it overshoot (the faster stallspeed key will fall off the sky if it tries to go slower).

remember every chinese toy u ever bought only to find them getting bad after a week? they looked damn good in the shop as well...chinese are the pioneers of counterfeit industry...credit where its due!
Yeah you are right.. Chinese products are always like "chale tho sham tak ya tho Chand tak" Everyone knows what is the truth about those Chinese Qualified Weopons...Chinese are experts in copying and reverse Engineering ! The harsh reality of Chinki Products!

There are pics of pylon with maws either here in drdo threads or on strategic forums .

I will post them if I could find them again.
Ok thanks for your information. I was curious to know about this DRDO MAWS , as I didn't read much about them in detail.

And once again thank you sending The pics. Good day

Yes ,you have to accept that they are way ahead of us in Terms of Manufacturing,but I have my doubts regarding the Quality of Their Product. We can't say how reliable those chinki products are ,but one thing I know for sure .They are making Weopons and Inducting them and also Exporting them with great Speed ,heck now they are building Warships faster than US( correct me if I am wrong)

To all the guys who are saying that we will Be able to Export Tejas and so and so.Guys ?We should first Fullfil our own Squadron Strength requirements,we ourselves are facing shortage of Squadron and we are thinking of Export ?Yeh kya chutiyapaan hai yaar ?HAL is slow ,we are losing more Aircrafts than we are Inducting.
Hope you get what I am trying to say. It's a fact guys.

To all the guys who are saying that we will Be able to Export Tejas and so and so.Guys ?We should first Fullfil our own Squadron Strength requirements,we ourselves are facing shortage of Squadron and we are thinking of Export ?Yeh kya chutiyapaan hai yaar ?HAL is slow ,we are losing more Aircrafts than we are Inducting.
Hope you get what I am trying to say. It's a fact guys.
For exports a different manufacturing line will be opened it won't affect domestic requirements.

I just said my opinion, we should first Fullfil our needs and than others. Pehle apna pet bharo aur uske baadh doosro ka.
🙂

Vamsi

Not really stealth bomber but more of a stealth bomber fighter but Unmanned buddy .Hope you recall GHATAK UAV program. Good day
I'm aware of Ghatak buddy , I knew about it since 2017. When he said India has a similar programme , I wonder whether we really have a manned stealth bomber , Hence I asked specifically