Infrastructure and Energy Sector

InfraStory (@marinebharat) Tweeted:
UK plans 100% Rail Electrification by 2050. Around 38% of British Rail routes are electrified

In 2005, 40% of Indian Railway routes were electrified. Latest data confirms 80% electrification & 100% Rail Electrification by 2025

Indian Railways will be carbon neutral by 2030.

How are we doing with the cleanup of trash that we see all over the railroad tracks and around railroad stations?

How many of our railway stations have been updated and beautified and equipped with proper waste facilities to prevent further litter and pollution?

They need to put concrete barriers between the people walkways and the highways. Guard rail style barriers are not going to do it. You need durable concrete barriers to protect the people walking along the pathway from any vehicle accidents waiting to happen. The concrete barriers must be at least 1.5 meters tall. You can have cutouts in the top part of the barriers for people to see through.

Ya'll Nibbiars when it was designed touted as low cost housing master piece Raj Rewal.

View attachment 149983
View attachment 149984View attachment 149985View attachment 149986

And now abodened totally.
View attachment 149987
View attachment 149988View attachment 149989View attachment 149990

This is the state of once celebrated 1987 Low housing project to this state. Matinace ka sawal hai nahi hota hai India mein.
This is so butt ugly that no wonder people abandoned it. The layout is not actually functional at all. Makes it hard for maintenance. One recurring failure that I keep seeing with housing developments in India is that they don't plan for needed yearly or semi annual maintenance to keep up the buildings in good shape. As a result, these buildings don't have a long life.

Mumbai Trans Harbor Link

Ya'll Nibbiars it's costal road not Harbour links.
They need to put concrete barriers between the people walkways and the highways. Guard rail style barriers are not going to do it. You need durable concrete barriers to protect the people walking along the pathway from any vehicle accidents waiting to happen. The concrete barriers must be at least 1.5 meters tall. You can have cutouts in the top part of the barriers for people to see through.
Ya'll Nibbiars it's alreday rewised to that's this is an old renderings.

tommy

How are we doing with the cleanup of trash that we see all over the railroad tracks and around railroad stations?

How many of our railway stations have been updated and beautified and equipped with proper waste facilities to prevent further litter and pollution?
That needs a change in mindset of people. I have seen cleaning being done on timely basis by the staff but it again becomes normal in a few hours.

Ya'll Nibbiars when it was designed touted as low cost housing master piece Raj Rewal.

View attachment 149983
View attachment 149984View attachment 149985View attachment 149986

And now abodened totally.
View attachment 149987
View attachment 149988View attachment 149989View attachment 149990

This is the state of once celebrated 1987 Low housing project to this state. Matinace ka sawal hai nahi hota hai India mein.
I am not able to recall the name but this is based on design language of one famous US based Architecture.
He made several housing societies based on this design in 70s and 80s in US and few other countries.

Most projects are like this only now.

One famous example:
Habitat 67

I am not able to recall the name but this is based on design language of one famous US based Architecture.
He made several housing societies based on this design in 70s and 80s in US and few other countries.

Most projects are like this only now.

One famous example:
Habitat 67
Good god! and people actually liked it and bought it? What an affront to our eyes and our sense of aesthetic. And it is not even practical at all. It must be very expensive to maintain this atrocity.