India's Moon Exploration Program

View attachment 38324[/QUOTE]
As per ISRO, they have used thermal imaging & not optical (of 30cm resolution) for finding out the lander. Any clue why so?
Because Lander is emitting heat. Thermal was the fastest way to find location on otherwise cold lunar surface.

Now that they have found the exact spot they can use optical system for clear image.

There must be some fail safe codes punched into Vikram Lander, e.g. if communication is lost then there must be some auto landing instructions.

I hope that the Lander is intact and will be recovered after communication link.

Skyh3ck

As per ISRO, they have used thermal imaging & not optical (of 30cm resolution) for finding out the lander. Any clue why so?
Moon surface is cold, no life no source of any other element which produce heat.. the only way anything create heat is some foreign object.. in this case obviously the lender or rover.. they must have done some thermal imaging of that area and found heat source.. now once the orbitor hovers over that area they will capture some clear pictures.. not sure when but I guess ISRO guys are more eager than us

There must be some fail safe codes punched into Vikram Lander, e.g. if communication is lost then there must be some auto landing instructions.

I hope that the Lander is intact and will be recovered after communication link.
Lander was autonomous. But if thrusters over performed than no body could correct that.

In case of communication if antenna is damaged than it can't receive signal. And even if it can receive signal but is upside down or sideways down it can't upright itself.

Why so serious?

In 10 Years, India Can Set Up Factory on Moon, Get Helium-3 to Earth, Says Father of BrahMos
Pillai said India's base on Moon will also 'become a hub for future launches' for missions to other planets in the solar system.
UPDATED ON: SEPTEMBER 8, 2019, 10:58 PM IST
PTI
Representative image

New Delhi: Former DRDO scientist A Sivathanu Pillai has claimed India will be able to set up a base on the surface of Moon in ten years for extraction of the Helium-3.

Speaking to the "War and Peace" programme on DD News, Pillai said, "In space programme, we are one of the four countries that has complete mastery over technology."

Pillai, who had spearheaded the Brahmos Missiles programme, said, "India will be able to set up a factory on Moon to process huge reserves of precious raw material and bring the extracted Helium-3 to Earth," a statement by War and Peace said.

Helium-3 will be the new energy material for future, he said.

Helium-3 is a non radioactive material that can produce 100 times more energy than Uranium.

Pillai said India's base on Moon will also "become a hub for future launches" for missions to other planets in the solar system.

He said, "Now, there are interests from the US, Russia and China to create base on Moon, (so) India will naturally follow".

And even if it can receive signal but is upside down or sideways down it can't upright itself.
Even toys can upright themselves :hmm: I guess that's not that hard.

The weight of Pragyan is 27 KG. The antennas and other testing modules including solar panels are not made to be reversibly functional.

To flip a 27 KG pragyan you need a mechanism which adds weight and uses force equivalent or more to its mass.

Generally, rovers don't carry these mechanisms rather the software limit the climb up to a certain angle (30°) and have stability features to avoid abrupt motions and acceleration. You might have seen Curiosity rover moving very slow for the very same purpose of stability. Once it is upside down asume it is done for the purpose it was sent.

So what you didn't connect with the moon, you connected with a billion hearts! #ProudOfYouISRO #Chandrayaan2

Too optimistic.

Won't talk about research on already challenging rocketry and maturing RCS thruster and com software by investing years and years of practical involvement on earth and water; but without breaking into AI, Robotics, Automation, material sciences, intelligent compliant, origami mechanics etc. and on top of that developing rector to process this fuel; it looks like a fanboy talk.

Rocketry and sending satellites were sought of national emergencies. We were justified to be frugal, constrained and limited with our focus.

What we are now aspiring to do is a very broad spectrum of multiple sciences and we must very very good at all those.

Not that I wanted it to fail but I am saying it with a bit of glee that every Indian who went through this disappointment has now actually tasted the real science. I think the hype has worked and will work on a very positive note that higher the aspiration higher the chances of failures and for big successes, we need great efforts. I think we have arrived at a juncture where we must not rush to cross the line in a haste.

In 10 Years, India Can Set Up Factory on Moon, Get Helium-3 to Earth, Says Father of BrahMos

New Delhi: Former DRDO scientist A Sivathanu Pillai has claimed India will be able to set up a base on the surface of Moon in ten years for extraction of the Helium-3.

Pillai, who had spearheaded the Brahmos Missiles programme, said, "India will be able to set up a factory on Moon to process huge reserves of precious raw material and bring the extracted Helium-3 to Earth," a statement by War and Peace said.

Helium-3 will be the new energy material for future, he said.

Helium-3 is a non radioactive material that can produce 100 times more energy than Uranium.

Pillai said India's base on Moon will also "become a hub for future launches" for missions to other planets in the solar system.

He said, "Now, there are interests from the US, Russia and China to create base on Moon, (so) India will naturally follow".

https://www.news18.com/news/india/i...-to-earth-says-father-of-brahmos-2301475.html

ataru09

here comes the certificate holders on patriotism...this mission is a failure period. 8 years of R&D down the drain, along with taxpayer money. It was all about building tech for landing & not about orbiter. Chinks, American & others are laughing behind our back even if they don't show it openly....ISRO need to accept the humiliation & launch a mission within a year, they don't even need to send a orbiter now.
If you deal with every setback with belligerent, boorish, and log kya kahenge kind of thinking, suffice to say you are not heading for any kind of success in any sphere of life. If you are young, take a long hard look at yourself and change your outlook towards life.

"900cr down the drain?" They are still operating the orbiter and its instruments. We will learn from this and make sure it won't happen again. That knowledge is priceless.

Israel will get ahead of us? Good for them. We should wish them all the success. That tiny nation has more brainpower per square foot than any place on earth. Is that something to be ashamed about. Whining like someone stole your girl. Holy shit your are a basketcase.

"Chinks, American & others are laughing behind our back even if they don't show it openly."? You know nothing about science/engineering and how its conducted. If anything they will be falling over themselves to know why this might have happened to make sure their technology is not susceptible to a similar failure under identical circumstances. Shove your gully thinking right up your butthole, jackass.

ataru09

My boy does quite a lot of simulations on his computer using Kerbal space program. He thinks due to impact the antennas got damaged. He thinks enthusiasts are not calculating lag in communication relay and because of not accounting it they think the communication stopped during the breaking period but it actually happened after the crash landing.
Moon is very close! The lag is like a bit over 1 second only. Anyway it shouldnt matter what the lag is. If the last signal was received with parameters "altitude = 1 km, speed =200kmph, breaking thrusters=ON", and the link cut immediately after that, it would mean that was the time and location when the comm failed. Should not matter if the lag is 1 second or 100 years.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Sorry for being late on this but I am very busy these days.

7th Sep was a dark day in Indian space program's history. Many dreams were crushed, many eyebrows where raised. It wasn't a simple failure but a humiliating event that will permanently change Indian space program forever.

This news came as a major let down in international media. Pakistanis are jumping in joy. Big three space powers are smiling. Even Israel and France didn't show much solidarity this time.

Historically elite space club was reserved for big 2 (USA & USSR) but China broke this duopoly. They became part of this club by sending successful missions after missions. We however only did lip service but nothing was done on the ground. We have seen only delays and failures. We may want big three space club to expand and become big 4 but this won't happen at our current speed.

After being a major national disaster in first 100 days of Modi. He must be furious at ISRO. In public he may be all relaxed but knowing Modi's true nature he must be fuming at this national embarrassment. This means a big NO for any ambitious space mission as long as modi is incharge. Modi can even cancel upcoming Gaganyaan mission due to failure of Chandrayan-2 mission.

All in all expect major budget cuts for ISRO in 2020 budget. Many people will get changed (fired) in ISRO. Speeding of new space law creation. This will open doors to private space players.

Coming to Chandrayaan mission.

How ISRO shot themselves in foot?!?!

1) Location of landing.

They chose the most difficult location that is full of creators and adverse environment for their first attempt. This was a suicide mission from beginning. If any sane voices existed in ISRO they would recommend a mush safer place like near equator.

2) delays after delays

They over complicated the mission. Added too many payload on first attempt. It was more then they can chew so delays.

3) too much hype.

Bringing Net Geo in and inviting PM may look good on paper but when you have a complicated, untested mess of a mission you better keep silent.

All in all dark days ahead for ISRO. They couldn't have more pro space gov in centre yet they managed to screw this. Now BJP will approach anything space related with extreme caution just like INC.

7th Sep was a dark day in Indian space program's history. Many dreams were crushed, many eyebrows where raised. It wasn't a simple failure but a humiliating event that will permanently change Indian space program forever.

This news came as a major let down in international media. Pakistanis are jumping in joy. Big three space powers are smiling. Even Israel and France didn't show much solidarity this time.

Historically elite space club was reserved for big 2 (USA & USSR) but China broke this duopoly. They became part of this club by sending successful missions after missions. We however only did lip service but nothing was done on the ground. We have seen only delays and failures. We may want big three space club to expand and become big 4 but this won't happen at our current speed.

After being a major national disaster in first 100 days of Modi. He must be furious at ISRO. In public he may be all relaxed but knowing Modi's true nature he must be fuming at this national embarrassment. This means a big NO for any ambitious space mission as long as modi is incharge. Modi can even cancel upcoming Gaganyaan mission due to failure of Chandrayan-2 mission.

All in all expect major budget cuts for ISRO in 2020 budget. Many people will get changed (fired) in ISRO. Speeding of new space law creation. This will open doors to private space players.

1) Location of landing.

They chose the most difficult location that is full of creators and adverse environment for their first attempt. This was a suicide mission from beginning. If any sane voices existed in ISRO they would recommend a mush safer place like near equator.

2) delays after delays

They over complicated the mission. Added too many payload on first attempt. It was more then they can chew so delays.

3) too much hype.

Bringing Net Geo in and inviting PM may look good on paper but when you have a complicated, untested mess of a mission you better keep silent.

All in all dark days ahead for ISRO. They couldn't have more pro space gov in centre yet they managed to screw this. Now BJP will approach anything space related with extreme caution just like INC.
ISRO will see many many changes but it will be given new impetus. All future projects will see increased scrutiny but also more funding. After the massive increase in public interest for ISRO, future projects are assured to be safe.

Last night was worst.

Chandrayan 2 cancelled

People like us spent good money for this launch. Hotel bookings, Air travel, cabs, etc. Only for disappointment at last moment. Very bad behavior by CISF. Told everyone to go back rudely. There where school kids who came to launch site in middle of the night they were too disappointed. Everyone I saw at launch site was visibly angry. Almost everyone was cursing at ISRO.

Now who is gonna reimburse our expenses?

Typical sarkari babu behavior by ISRO. :mad2::mad2::mad2::mad2:
@Cutting Edge 2 remember this tweet? Please avoid this r/india behavior here.

Kashmiri Pandit

1) Location of landing.

2) delays after delays

3) too much hype.

You look more kind of a butt hurt kid with some underlying agenda. All major space agencies have supporter India...except toymaker Suparco.

Moon is very close! The lag is like a bit over 1 second only. Anyway it shouldnt matter what the lag is. If the last signal was received with parameters "altitude = 1 km, speed =200kmph, breaking thrusters=ON", and the link cut immediately after that, it would mean that was the time and location when the comm failed. Should not matter if the lag is 1 second or 100 years.

1.25 seconds is what US deep space stations receive.
Effective delay is more than 3 seconds. The bottle neck is in processing the signal. How long it will take to fall after 2.1 km with thrusters assisting the fall as deviation is more than 500 meters?

The weight of Pragyan is 27 KG. The antennas and other testing modules including solar panels are not made to be reversibly functional.

To flip a 27 KG pragyan you need a mechanism which adds weight and uses force equivalent or more to its mass.

Generally, rovers don't carry these mechanisms rather the software limit the climb up to a certain angle (30°) and have stability features to avoid abrupt motions and acceleration. You might have seen Curiosity rover moving very slow for the very same purpose of stability. Once it is upside down asume it is done for the purpose it was sent.
Yeah I completely missed the weight part, let's hope...

I never read Youtube comments section. After you mentioned, I glanced at it...it seems like mostly conciliatory and some funny snide remarks. But who cares!

I thought the video itself was quite decent. He was analytical and also very supportive of ISRO's Chandranyaan-2 achievement.
Is this by Scott Manly? He is usually good with space analysis and he did better job on analysing whatever telemetry data was visible on display screen. I found comments to be mostly positive with some people waiting for images from orbiter and LRO.

Sent from my ASUS_X00TD using Tapatalk