Indian Special Forces

SGOperative

Ya'll Nibbiars compare the cost of labour's compare the threat and then make a conculsions.
Just compare Capital Budget. Equipment's cost almost the same. We spend much of our money on maintaining existing equipment or purchasing new ones. Which are important along with Infantry gear. Rest all is upto the Top Brass which they think is more important.

SGOperative

Not every soldier we are talking about SF here russia has less defence spending than us.and yes there are army is only 1/3rd of ours but even their low tier spetznaz groups are equiped with the " basics"
It pains me too but we cant just hop on trends we aint got that capital to do.
Also everyone forgets we dint upgrade infantry equipment for decades. Its easy to change 1 or 2 stuff every year not everything in a single year.
The point of MKU helmets they are a upgrade over the current helmets and using accessory attachments can be added. The First priority of the Army will be to give Helmets then the accessory.

Aditya Ballal

Ya'll Nibbiars not just Amerika but another nation's front line troops are also equipped with Zip T shirts. Stop living in 2000's.
Quarter Zip T-shirts are suitable for every climate except the cold climates and will be much more easier to maintain for the average soldier and cheaper to replace( for regular materials not fire resistant ones).

Just compare Capital Budget. Equipment's cost almost the same. We spend much of our money on maintaining existing equipment or purchasing new ones. Which are important along with Infantry gear. Rest all is upto the Top Brass which they think is more important.
Ya'll Nibbiars yeh kya anyone baat hai.

ManhattanProject

They had a program for infantry ratnik ,sf was also upgraded they are more military focused + program went smooth see their people, economy how much it has fallen we can do it too you know the cost of it besides they already have own defence manufacturing ecosystem
At first they imported american stuff for their SF then slowly they started making everything from upgrade kits to laser designators. Look at zenit co. now they produce everything, if only SSS got the same support from our forces.

ManhattanProject

This combat tshirt is pretty common and units have been seen with it
View attachment 122843
You know these shirts actually have to be functional too, the material on the sleeves has to tough and the midriff material has to be breathable. Pockets have to be functional. I hope these are functional too and not just for the looks.

SGOperative

At first they imported american stuff for their SF then slowly they started making everything from upgrade kits to laser designators. Look at zenit co. now they produce everything, if only SSS got the same support from our forces.
SSS has the manufacturing plant ready?

rkhanna

Indian BMP IIs - 90% are upgraded with Israeli TSIK sight and the commanders sight is upgraded by BHEL TKN 3B sight.
Indian BMP IIs - 90% are upgraded with Israeli TSIK sight and the commanders sight is upgraded by BHEL TKN 3B sight
We have about 2600+ BMP-2s in our mechanised forces, only an initial batch of 970 were upgraded with the Alpha Design Technologies Thermal Imager Stand-alone Kit (TISK).
Post the clashes with China another similar upgrade was sought this time with a TISK and a thermal commanders panoramic sight, along with an FCS upgrade for 800 pieces. This most likely includes the 156 additional BMP-2s ordered around the same time.
So 90% of our BMP-2 fleet not being night blind is still inaccurate as once the upgrades are completed it will still be about 60% of the fleet.
Well 60% fleet being upgraded means as a whole in combined arms we srill won't be profficient to fight at night. For us night fighting is a niche luxury. A big chuck of our entire warfighting framework is not compatible with what is upgraded.

Why are Dhruvs a bad option?
Sorry didn't mean to say Dhruvs are not a bad option. For a SOF aviation unit you will need all types of fixed and rotary wing assets to complete a range of missions. Dhruvs are short legged with limited payload but have the advantage of a high ceiling. Great for the mountains and urban environment. Limited for long range missions.

My point was just because one type of helo can fly at night does not equate to us having a nighting fighting capability for our SOF units.

(Unless our ambitions are limited to fighting within the confines of our borders)

SGOperative

Nope a huge order is req @Aditya Ballal did enquire that's their current status business doesn't operate that way and forces are hesitant in using indeginious product
Not in indigenous product for SSS case, they are literally a very new company. Army did conduct Sniper Trials for them. They should target State Police and Paramilitary will help them get First orders.

SGOperative

Well 60% fleet being upgraded means as a whole in combined arms we srill won't be profficient to fight at night. For us night fighting is a niche luxury. A big chuck of our entire warfighting framework is not compatible with what is upgraded.

Sorry didn't mean to say Dhruvs are not a bad option. For a SOF aviation unit you will need all types of fixed and rotary wing assets to complete a range of missions. Dhruvs are short legged with limited payload but have the advantage of a high ceiling. Great for the mountains and urban environment. Limited for long range missions.

My point was just because one type of helo can fly at night does not equate to us having a nighting fighting capability for our SOF units.

(Unless our ambitions are limited to fighting within the confines of our borders)
Specify in detail how SOF is basically blind instead of lacking.

SGOperative

Fire and groove

Their frontline combat units are getting combat shirts- marines, 82nd and some infantry units. in the near future this will be the standard for them, only POGs will run around with untucked shirts

82nd airborne (not SF, airborne infantry) in Kabul:

View attachment 122809

Indian army always 20+ years behind even when they do something 'new'
I wouldn't take this as norm for one, for another the Para airborne has been running a lot if quarter zips for some time now.