Indian Special Forces

AVINASH4061

@AVINASH4061 Hey Mate, During your tour of duty in the northeast, how were the foods? Curious to know, cause most regular troops will go in their convoy, and hardly any no stop in between, but SF guy in their Gypsy would stop at the local hotel where meat is available they will sit and eat the food like they truly enjoyed them. Happened to me a long time ago, we were at this stall having a snack and some troop jump out of the Gypsy and came inside we were apprehensive but all cool later they ordered some foods and rather enjoying it. The only reason I know they were SF I saw the word Balidan. So any nostalgic memories from the days? Thanks
I am a big time food fan of Manipuri cuisine, esp the Meitei way of preparation. I binged and binged and binged. And true we had no restrictions on where and how to move.

AVINASH4061

I’ve never seen SPG CAT members wear any helmets. Is there any reason they don’t?
Helmet, though is very important at times impedes the mobility of your head and restricts the panoramic vision when you are wanting to scan fast. May be that could be the reason. Also the threat perception in a particular scene would dictate the use. Not at all times the operators wear all kind of armour.

The lives of the sucking VIPs are of utmost importance. Jungle and mountain warriors don't take the position at the podium when it comes to procurement. Babus and Generals won't buzz. But in case of the politicians everything is fast track. It's all about the sucking priorities.
Don’t you think SF should have gone with HK416 instead of FN SCAR-L? Anyways both have been banned to us, but just a general question.

AVINASH4061

Don’t you think SF should have gone with HK416 instead of FN SCAR-L? Anyways both have been banned to us, but just a general question.
That hardly matters, the weapons don't dictate the quality of ops when the difference between them is bleak. Please get out of this psyche of this weapon that weapon blah blah. It sounds naive. We are not in video games.

Sir IA selected an Assaulr Rifle which no one wants to procure over an AR that is used by DEVGRU and Delta among others. Hence I asked this question.

AVINASH4061

Sir IA selected an Assaulr Rifle which no one wants to procure over an AR that is used by DEVGRU and Delta among others. Hence I asked this question.
Please stop wandering in the world of technical specifications and the foreign SF. They are very good but they are not all. There is so much more. Did they not suffer against the Talibs who had only AKs with no sights. Comparisons and performance is not always based on the tech specs and marketing of those big industries.

Ok sir, but what will Indian Army do as now both FN SCAR and HK416 have been banned to us.

Aditya Ballal

Ok sir, but what will Indian Army do as now both FN SCAR and HK416 have been banned to us.
I believe there are no restrictions by FN America , since their sales are FMS sales, so the they sell it to the US DoD, who then sell it to us at a small mark up. Also FN America make a lot of the parts in the US itself so aren’t restricted by their parent company’s policies too much. SFFs deal was directly with FN Herstal(parent firm in Belgium). I believe it was halted due to opposition by leftist employee unions , NGO pressure and Chinese pressure as China-EU talks were going on at the time.
FMS may not work for H&K as they’re German laws are stricter and majority of the guns parts are not made by H&K US.

All the Special Forces across the world only use these 2 weapon platforms?? Jinke paas ye nahi hain haye tauba kar rahe honge?
No sir, these 2 weapons were shortlisted by Indian Army for SF modernisation, then FN SCAR were selected over HK416, now that both are banned to us, what will IA do was my question. As the IA Carbine GSQR strongly indicates the selection of OFB Carbine as it is the only one filling the requirements of the Tender.

Maybe they’ll get it from FN America, but SiG MCX would be better than both overhyped HK416 and FN SCAR.

Aditya Ballal

All the Special Forces across the world only use these 2 weapon platforms?? Jinke paas ye nahi hain haye tauba kar rahe honge?
I believe these 2 guns are no longer at the same level as they were few years ago, as the SCAR series of guns are way too expenesive, HK 416 has competition from cheaper piston driven guns such as the SIG MCX or IWI Arad , etc. Even DI AR 15 guns are now reaching similar levels of reliability due to better and modern metallurgy being available now. I believe @Gessler @ManhattanProject and others who I've not mentioned have said this before many times in the recent past.
Sig MCX is cheaper than both these 2 mentioned guns, identical to AR 15 pattern of training, has folding and adjustable stock our MOD loves😂. Commonality with Sig 716 is an added benefit. Conversion possibilities to .300 blackout and allegedly 7.62x39mm(this I'm not sure if they're still offering this) too could be beneficial.