Indian Special Forces

IndianEagle2000

Assuming that if only 2% of this $3.7 billion dollars was earmarked for SF operators per year($60 million), are you suggesting that such a figure is too constraining to give our SF dudes top of the line gear?
Do I look like the MoD representative who has made the Military budget. I am sure funds are allocated as per their "priorities".

Any sane person can tell that, for a military of 1.4 million active personnel a mere 3.7 Billion $ capex for modernization isn't enough.

Now how the fuck they allot it. Who am I to decide. There are artillery regiment, tank regments, mechanised infantry & so many other things to divide the funds into.

DumbPilot

Do I look like the MoD representative who has made the Military budget. I am sure funds are allocated as per their "priorities".

Any sane person can tell that, for a military of 1.4 million active personnel a mere 3.7 Billion $ capex for modernization isn't enough.

Now how the fuck they allot it. Who am I to decide. There are artillery regiment, tank regments, mechanised infantry & so many other things to divide the funds into.
1685276235852.png

You are not understanding what I'm saying. I'm not asking about modernization of the entire Indian Army. I'm asking about the Indian SF, which we have the budget for.

If we have the budget for it, that means we are willfully not upgrading their kit. That conclusions opens some rather jarring conjectures as to why this is the case

IndianEagle2000

View attachment 207742

You are not understanding what I'm saying. I'm not asking about modernization of the entire Indian Army. I'm asking about the Indian SF, which we have the budget for.

If we have the budget for it, that means we are willfully not upgrading their kit. That conclusions opens some rather jarring conjectures as to why this is the case
You either accept the logic of budgetary constraints & move on or waste your time in conspiracy theories. In latter case how am I suppose to verify your doubt.

(Using an out of topic subject to reaffirm my argument of budgetary constraints. You guys are free to draw the analogy.)

GoI has allocated 16,000cr for the Ministry of Science & Technology this year, a growth of 15%. Yet Physicists in IISC Bengalore are not getting funded. What sinister plan is behind this you tell me ?

1685277543008-01.jpeg

IMG_20230528_180609.jpg

DumbPilot

You either accept the logic of budgetary constraints & move on or waste your time in conspiracy theories. In latter case how am I suppose to verify your doubt.

(Using an out of topic subject to reaffirm my argument of budgetary constraints. You guys are free to draw the analogy.)

GoI has allocated 16,000cr for the Ministry of Science & Technology this year, a growth of 15%. Yet Physicists in IISC Bengalore are not getting funded. What sinister plan is behind this you tell me ?
Perhaps slow paperwork is the reason that our SF guys still look like they're from the 1980s. Maybe by 2040s we can hope they upgrade to the 2000s.

Comparing IISC physicists and top-tier combat units of a nation in how they get the necessary resource allocation is just farcical in nature. It reeks of an unprofessional military if things are like what they are right now

Why is it that MARCOS are much more sorted out than the Para SF? All three services get their allocation at the same time, and the Navy even has a lesser budget to work with - and the Navy's vehicles and all cost more than the army per unit!!

IndianEagle2000

Perhaps slow paperwork is the reason that our SF guys still look like they're from the 1980s. Maybe by 2040s we can hope they upgrade to the 2000s.

Comparing IISC physicists and top-tier combat units of a nation in how they get the necessary resource allocation is just farcical in nature. It reeks of an unprofessional military if things are like what they are right now

Why is it that MARCOS are much more sorted out than the Para SF? All three services get their allocation at the same time, and the Navy even has a lesser budget to work with - and the Navy's vehicles and all cost more than the army per unit!!
The capex for modernization of Navy & IAF is higher than that of Indian Army. Even though the overall budget is higher for Indian Army.

Modernization capex 2022-23

Army - 3.7 Billion $
Navy - 5.9 Billion $
Air Force - 6.6 Billion $

And mind you Army has much higher number of active personel as well as SF units.

(I can't justify the rational behind it. I am just stating the facts)

jai jaganath

The capex for modernization of Navy & IAF is higher than that of Indian Army. Even though the overall budget is higher for Indian Army.

Modernization capex 2022-23

Army - 3.7 Billion $
Navy - 5.9 Billion $
Air Force - 6.6 Billion $

And mind you Army has much higher number of active personel as well as SF units.

(I can't justify the rational behind it. I am just stating the facts)
Look army literally returns back the budget in the Ned of fy
And here u r discussing budget which has been nullified long ago in this thread and even in previous one
Coming to monet max to max they would need 200 million for upgradation that too mostly to Indian vendors and few years of time
It's their complete incompetence which no one can defend

mcpo117

Anyone remember this FMS package ? It would have replaced a lot of our worn out m4s and tavors
NOPE! Latkey rakhenge 10 saal ke liye until the rest of the world has moved on to something better.

Marcus Aurelius

India has an inept bureaucracy in every organisation. Basically after so many years of socialism, babugiri has become a part of our DNA. I work in a govt organisation and any effort on my part to reduce unnecessary bureaucracy and paper work is met by a staple statement from my juniors and some seniors- "aap phass jayenge, sab kehnge ki aap bhrasht hain". I mean you try to reduce bureaucracy and you are termed corrupt. These babus or govt servants belong to various age groups but all of them are obstructionist in their work. Isse lagta hai ki itne saal ki economic liberalisation ke baad bhi yeh log Cuba ya USSR mein jii rahe hain. Somehow I feel that the ethos of economic liberalisation have simply not touched our govt servants, especially those who belong to the group B, C and D categories of govt services. Several group A officers are also sample pieces. I feel we do not need to field a huge advanced military against the PLA, just request the Chinese to take two babus from our govt and place them in their defence ministry, dekhna ek saal mein PLA soldiers will start patrolling on khacchars, we ll win the war without firing a single bullet.

Corvus Splendens

As per some of you Indian Army is drowning in Dollars, yet nothing shows up on ground.

You make up whatever you want. I really have no locus standi. My defence or your aquisition doesn't change the reality.

Budgetary constraints are a reality. Ignoring that would not help any one. If that is not the case then we charther into the territory of conspiracy theories.
The army has the budget for jetpacks. But won't spend the same amount to equip the entire Para regiment with Laser cut plate carriers, Comtacs and ballistic high cuts. The army returns a portion of the allocated funds each year to the gov. Lack of will or intent triumphs over supposed budgetary constraints here.

IndianEagle2000

The army has the budget for jetpacks. But won't spend the same amount to equip the entire Para regiment with Laser cut plate carriers, Comtacs and ballistic high cuts. The army returns a portion of the allocated funds each year to the gov. Lack of will or intent triumphs over supposed budgetary constraints here.
Do you think the entire sanctioned amount is disbured to the Army on time to utilise.

As I shared the tweets from a Physicist in IISC Bangalore. Funds are not provide even after being allocated. This could possibly be the same case for the Army.

In that case returning of Sanctioned amount must be the formalities version of Funds not granted.

I am not defending it, but it could just be one reality that we often overlook.

ManhattanProject

I am not complaining. You guys clearly know better.

Must be the your years of experience in Special forces operations. I understand. 😏

UKs military is small compared to Indias. I like it when people right away compare every thing in India to the First world. Just take a stroll down an Indian steet you will be humbled.

These will be deficiencies. Till India becauses atleast a middle income country.

People are not blind you give them money. They will present you Indian soldier geared up like Navy Seals the Next day.
We are talking about the premier special forces of the Army here Numbskull, we are not talking about the infantry. Apparently the best of the best, the tip of the spear. Do you not understand the point, if the best soldiers you have in this country have such shit training and equipment, imagine whats going on with the average grunt.

IndianEagle2000

We are talking about the premier special forces of the Army here Numbskull, we are not talking about the infantry. Apparently the best of the best, the tip of the spear. Do you not understand the point, if the best soldiers you have in this country have such shit training and equipment, imagine whats going on with the average grunt.
IISC Bengalore is one of the premier research institutions in India. If they can face the level of neglect. I would say even the Para SF are not immune to such budgetary constraints.

The only other reasons could be some random conspiracy theory. I have no issues with that, I just don't buy it.

And mind your language you "Numbskull". I have been patiently relying to a dozen of you "Numbskull"s without a vugure outburst since yesterday. Have some decency.

ManhattanProject

Basically nothing much, the PCs are bulky asF you guys just don't realise it.
The Radio placement is pathetic, ensures proper shouldering of their rifle becomes a hectic task and some guys even had their radios down below on their PCs which reduces the reception of RF(antenna placement is extremely mission critical). Some dude had his spare radio battery strangled onto a shoulder molle, it'll fall once his AK starts rattling.
The guy with the Mono Tube TASL NVG/NODs had it connected to an external mount instead of using a mount, clearly beats the purpose of the shroud his HCBH had.
We know my dude, most people are just happy that they are taking a step in the right direction. Once you have something, you slowly start to try to make it better. Bulkier vests might give way to better plate carriers in the future, atleast they have standardization.