Indian Special Forces (archived)

India Super Power

Did our sf get those sdrs as the development of portable sdr was done by drdo and entered production.

rkhanna

Protection against what?? 9mm to the front and shrapnel to the rest?? I wouldn't take my chances with a ballistic helmet if presented with the option of a Patka, maybe have mine customized to have the top section reinforced with several layers of ballistic nylon, that should take care of the shrapnel problem.

Oh and the Patka is rated NIJ Level III, so it ain't just the M47 rounds, it can stop M 80 NATO as well when fired from range of 50 meters and beyond.
1) Patka is heavy as fuck. Fine for COIN ops so close to base but a bitch to run up and down a mountain with. So no for regular infantry. Can the Patka be used across terrain and combat duty profiles ?

2) already so heavy so any upgrade to add attachments would make it heavier (optics/etc)

3) no standardization in manufacturering procwss and QC. Not all Parkas are equal

It was juggad that became permanent bexause of the old 74 helmets we have.

The new gen of helmets built for modularity that balances protection for tech vs Pure protection is apples to oranges.

How many actively deployed units globally use level III protection for the head? They have also seen enough combat why did their helmets evolve differently over 20 years?

Patka works no doubt. But so would a block of concrete wrapped Cross my chest.

ArgonPrime

1) Patka is heavy as fuck.
Well, not according to these folks, it ain't. Here -
Patka.png

Link - http://www.starwire.in/bppatka.html#:~:text=Variants,weight of the Ballistic Helmet.

In comparison, the upcoming ECP of the US Army is projected to weigh about 3.3 lbs (~1.5 kgs when converted to metrics). So if you feel it's too heavy for you, then it's time for you to hit the gym and train your neck Mr. pencil neck. :D Don't take it as an offense please, I'm one as well and just started neck training less than a month back, so wish me luck.

Fine for COIN ops so close to base but a bitch to run up and down a mountain with. So no for regular infantry.
Sorry but I do not buy that, unless of course you actually want to give credence to the age old Paki rhetoric of Indian soldiers (and Indians in general) being a bunch of veggie eating weak ass pussboys.
Can the Patka be used across terrain and combat duty profiles ?
Why not when the Patka is not really any heavier than other helmets available in the market??!!
2) already so heavy so any upgrade to add attachments would make it heavier (optics/etc)
I'm sorry to say this but you sir, have been terribly misinformed.
3) no standardization in manufacturering procwss and QC. Not all Parkas are equal
That's not the fault of the design, now is it??
It was juggad that became permanent bexause of the old 74 helmets we have.
And because they actually worked very well unlike these 'ultramodern, light-weight' highly comfortable and customizable' MKU helmets that can barely stop a pistol round.
Check this out, the ugly cumbersome jugaad of yours that you speak of with such disdain at play -

And meanwhile, your precious little ballistic helmet -

The new gen of helmets built for modularity that balances protection for tech vs Pure protection is apples to oranges.
Yeah, balances out by leaving the wearer completely at the mercy of the lady luck. You know what the problem is with that?? It just so happens that the lady luck is a voluptuous whore and you're gonna find yourself fresh outta cash when you'd need her the most.
How many actively deployed units globally use level III protection for the head? They have also seen enough combat why did their helmets evolve differently over 20 years?
Well, can't say anything about that but it is changing with the US Army planning to replace its present ACH with the heavier ECH with Level III ballistic protection being one of the requirements.
Patka works no doubt. But so would a block of concrete wrapped Cross my chest.
You really hate the Patka with a passion, don't you??

HawkisRight

Well, not according to these folks, it ain't. Here - View attachment 69312View attachment 69312
Link - http://www.starwire.in/bppatka.html#:~:text=Variants,weight of the Ballistic Helmet.

In comparison, the upcoming ECP of the US Army is projected to weigh about 3.3 lbs (~1.5 kgs when converted to metrics). So if you feel it's too heavy for you, then it's time for you to hit the gym and train your neck Mr. pencil neck. :D Don't take it as an offense please, I'm one as well and just started neck training less than a month back, so wish me luck.

Sorry but I do not buy that, unless of course you actually want to give credence to the age old Paki rhetoric of Indian soldiers (and Indians in general) being a bunch of veggie eating weak ass pussboys.

Why not when the Patka is not really any heavier than other helmets available in the market??!!

I'm sorry to say this but you sir, have been misinformed.

That's not the fault of the design, now is it??

And because they actually worked very well unlike these 'ultramodern, light-weight' highly comfortable and customizable' MKU helmets that can barely stop a pistol round.
Check this out, the ugly cumbersome jugaad of yours that you speak of with such disdain at play -

And meanwhile, your precious little ballistic helmet -

Yeah, balances out by leaving the wearer completely at the mercy of the lady luck. You know what the problem is with that?? It just so happens that the lady luck is a voluptuous whore and you're gonna find yourself fresh outta cash when you'd need her the most.

Well, can't say anything about that but it is changing with the US Army planning to replace its present ACH with the heavier ECH with Level III ballistic protection.

You really hate the Patka with a passion, don't you??
Are bhai it doesn't look Kewl so not liked by Gucci gang leave it

20 easily.

In early 00s (GWOT) US SFs/SOFs had all the stuff we are considering cutting edge by Indian standards (integrated comns, 2-tube NVGs, lightweight helmets (with attachments) plus they had superior night-fighting capabilities to anything I've ever seen from any Indian SF- IR strobes, IR illuminators, IR chemlights etc etc

Early/mid 00s:

\\

This is US and UK SF in the late 00s:

And this is the peculiar thing isn't it? Whilst RR and Ghatak units have made huge strides in the last 10 years, Indian SFs have somehow managed to stay still. Today you could have a RR trooper looking identical to PARA SF bar the Tavor

Something has gone deeply deeply wrong and I don't see how having faith in these clowns that created this situation to fix it makes sense

Even 7 PARA (Airborne) have Tavors now, I'm sure all the SF btns do now.

So what's impressive about this? A high cut with no integrated comns? A lightweight plate carrier without anything that would be useful in a fight, where's the med-kit? Where is the mission planning tablet? Where is the breaching equipment?etc etc

What is meant to make Special Forces special is their SPECIALIST training AND equipment

This is what Western SFs (and even infantry guys now) load outs look like:

Nav equipment, comns, med kit etc etc

In USSOCOM (and I'm sure this is the case now amongst most Western SFs), they have entire spaces dedicated for each individual operator and their personal gea, each guy literally has crates of specialist equipment, Indian SFs are lucky if they have more than 1 spare mag on Ops

Stop being pleased by mediocre updates
Well the MARCOS usually lead the way. As for specialist equipment, the Indian Army Para SF have these for display so progress is unfortunately 'slow and steady' .

ArgonPrime

Not to offend anyone but I find it kind of disconcerting how even those who happen to be among the most knowledgable and logical persons around can fall for blatant misinformation so easily.