Did our sf get those sdrs as the development of portable sdr was done by drdo and entered production.
1) Patka is heavy as fuck. Fine for COIN ops so close to base but a bitch to run up and down a mountain with. So no for regular infantry. Can the Patka be used across terrain and combat duty profiles ?Protection against what?? 9mm to the front and shrapnel to the rest?? I wouldn't take my chances with a ballistic helmet if presented with the option of a Patka, maybe have mine customized to have the top section reinforced with several layers of ballistic nylon, that should take care of the shrapnel problem.
Oh and the Patka is rated NIJ Level III, so it ain't just the M47 rounds, it can stop M 80 NATO as well when fired from range of 50 meters and beyond.
Well, not according to these folks, it ain't. Here -1) Patka is heavy as fuck.
Sorry but I do not buy that, unless of course you actually want to give credence to the age old Paki rhetoric of Indian soldiers (and Indians in general) being a bunch of veggie eating weak ass pussboys.Fine for COIN ops so close to base but a bitch to run up and down a mountain with. So no for regular infantry.
Why not when the Patka is not really any heavier than other helmets available in the market??!!Can the Patka be used across terrain and combat duty profiles ?
I'm sorry to say this but you sir, have been terribly misinformed.2) already so heavy so any upgrade to add attachments would make it heavier (optics/etc)
That's not the fault of the design, now is it??3) no standardization in manufacturering procwss and QC. Not all Parkas are equal
And because they actually worked very well unlike these 'ultramodern, light-weight' highly comfortable and customizable' MKU helmets that can barely stop a pistol round.It was juggad that became permanent bexause of the old 74 helmets we have.
Yeah, balances out by leaving the wearer completely at the mercy of the lady luck. You know what the problem is with that?? It just so happens that the lady luck is a voluptuous whore and you're gonna find yourself fresh outta cash when you'd need her the most.The new gen of helmets built for modularity that balances protection for tech vs Pure protection is apples to oranges.
Well, can't say anything about that but it is changing with the US Army planning to replace its present ACH with the heavier ECH with Level III ballistic protection being one of the requirements.How many actively deployed units globally use level III protection for the head? They have also seen enough combat why did their helmets evolve differently over 20 years?
You really hate the Patka with a passion, don't you??Patka works no doubt. But so would a block of concrete wrapped Cross my chest.
Are bhai it doesn't look Kewl so not liked by Gucci gang leave itWell, not according to these folks, it ain't. Here - View attachment 69312View attachment 69312
Link - http://www.starwire.in/bppatka.html#:~:text=Variants,weight of the Ballistic Helmet.
In comparison, the upcoming ECP of the US Army is projected to weigh about 3.3 lbs (~1.5 kgs when converted to metrics). So if you feel it's too heavy for you, then it's time for you to hit the gym and train your neck Mr. pencil neck. Don't take it as an offense please, I'm one as well and just started neck training less than a month back, so wish me luck.
Sorry but I do not buy that, unless of course you actually want to give credence to the age old Paki rhetoric of Indian soldiers (and Indians in general) being a bunch of veggie eating weak ass pussboys.
Why not when the Patka is not really any heavier than other helmets available in the market??!!
I'm sorry to say this but you sir, have been misinformed.
That's not the fault of the design, now is it??
And because they actually worked very well unlike these 'ultramodern, light-weight' highly comfortable and customizable' MKU helmets that can barely stop a pistol round.
Check this out, the ugly cumbersome jugaad of yours that you speak of with such disdain at play -
And meanwhile, your precious little ballistic helmet -
Yeah, balances out by leaving the wearer completely at the mercy of the lady luck. You know what the problem is with that?? It just so happens that the lady luck is a voluptuous whore and you're gonna find yourself fresh outta cash when you'd need her the most.
Well, can't say anything about that but it is changing with the US Army planning to replace its present ACH with the heavier ECH with Level III ballistic protection.
You really hate the Patka with a passion, don't you??
Well, I actually happen to be an esteemed member of that same gang myself but still, this move to transition to a lesser protection level does not sit well with me.Are bhai it doesn't look Kewl so not liked by Gucci gang leave it
Well the MARCOS usually lead the way. As for specialist equipment, the Indian Army Para SF have these for display so progress is unfortunately 'slow and steady' .20 easily.
In early 00s (GWOT) US SFs/SOFs had all the stuff we are considering cutting edge by Indian standards (integrated comns, 2-tube NVGs, lightweight helmets (with attachments) plus they had superior night-fighting capabilities to anything I've ever seen from any Indian SF- IR strobes, IR illuminators, IR chemlights etc etc
Early/mid 00s:
\\
This is US and UK SF in the late 00s:
And this is the peculiar thing isn't it? Whilst RR and Ghatak units have made huge strides in the last 10 years, Indian SFs have somehow managed to stay still. Today you could have a RR trooper looking identical to PARA SF bar the Tavor
Something has gone deeply deeply wrong and I don't see how having faith in these clowns that created this situation to fix it makes sense
Even 7 PARA (Airborne) have Tavors now, I'm sure all the SF btns do now.
So what's impressive about this? A high cut with no integrated comns? A lightweight plate carrier without anything that would be useful in a fight, where's the med-kit? Where is the mission planning tablet? Where is the breaching equipment?etc etc
What is meant to make Special Forces special is their SPECIALIST training AND equipment
This is what Western SFs (and even infantry guys now) load outs look like:
Nav equipment, comns, med kit etc etc
In USSOCOM (and I'm sure this is the case now amongst most Western SFs), they have entire spaces dedicated for each individual operator and their personal gea, each guy literally has crates of specialist equipment, Indian SFs are lucky if they have more than 1 spare mag on Ops
Stop being pleased by mediocre updates
Please share the source for the pictures. thanks in advance
Lol Patka looks sexy af. But the problem is that we are developing unnecessary perception that our SF uses Patka as standard. Patka looks very cool and dashing.Are bhai it doesn't look Kewl so not liked by Gucci gang leave it
Yes, CRPF QAT uses them.Had Patka been upgraded for NVGs and other attachments?
Can anybody post the pics.
Had Patka been upgraded for NVGs and other attachments?
Can anybody post the pics.
Did our sf get those sdrs as the development of portable sdr was done by drdo and entered production.
We did modify it... The level 3 helmet applique is a result of that. But that came only recently.So we lost another innovation by not upgrading.
US SF wanted skating related gear and they got it in the 90s and now upgraded them over the years..
Why couldnt we upgrade the patka?
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
W | SSS Defence M72 5.56×45mm carbine which is undergoing trials with the Indian Special Forces | Indian Army | 15 | |
Restructuring of Indian Special Forces | Indian Army | 27 | ||
Indian Special Forces | Strategic Forces | 43915 | ||
Indian Armed Forces Special Operations Division (AF-SOD) | Strategic Forces | 106 |