Indian Special Forces (archived)

MuzzleVelocity

I love this argument. Bengladoshi too use it very often to justify the malnutrition as lean and mean. I mean WTH you want to look like Katreena and Deepika.

Muscle mass is proportional to the proper nutrition and diet. We Indians are too much into spicy Carbs. Our boys love to eat Idli/dosa and sambhar. Half of our population love to eat rice as staple diet. A large amount of them are strictly vegetarian. So there are lots of hurdles .

You will get what you eat and how much you exercise. Most of our Army camps don’t have optimum level of gym facilities.
Good amount of muscle mass is essential for carrying heavy load that modern soldiers carry (in western forces). Endurance is also important. Since our soldiers are not habituated to Carry heavy load, our forces don’t care much about muscle mass and gyms.
Did I say malnutrition?
Have you seen the body physique of a marathon runner opposed to a 100 m sprinter?

MuzzleVelocity

Most of the para sf guys seem pretty athletic, getting jacked up is over rated and the more jacked up you are, you get tired much more easily.
Also you can't really compare indian body structure with western ones. First of all they are mostly taller and thicker boned as well.
Yeah this is true. They do generally have a better physique.

WARREN SS

ust1200 SF? There are atleast 10 SF units with 700-800 men in each.
SF battalions are Relatively small Indian battalions don't exceeds 600

Whatever Source you have in army they Will tell you there number Not exceeds 2400
I love this argument. Bengladoshi too use it very often to justify the malnutrition as lean and mean. I mean WTH you want to look like Katreena and Deepika.

Muscle mass is proportional to the proper nutrition and diet. We Indians are too much into spicy Carbs. Our boys love to eat Idli/dosa and sambhar. Half of our population love to eat rice as staple diet. A large amount of them are strictly vegetarian. So there are lots of hurdles .

You will get what you eat and how much you exercise. Most of our Army camps don’t have optimum level of gym facilities.
Good amount of muscle mass is essential for carrying heavy load that modern soldiers carry (in western forces). Endurance is also important. Since our soldiers are not habituated to Carry heavy load, our forces don’t care much about muscle mass and gyms.
Do you Know terrain On Which We carry Load or operate regularly
ask Caucasians Operate in valley

LOL Do you know causalities US forces Suffered in Tora bora Mountainous region

Have u seen Probation Of PARA SF :megusta:LOL Which army the World run 100 km Endurance

Ask any SF around the world To carry Out Night raid Like We did on tololing During Kargil war At Average height of 5000+ metres Without Night vision And Logistic support.There CO Wil resign first

We don't have luxury Of AC-130 ,Warhogs And Apaches Saving our Ass o_Oo_O

We Lag Behind on in Per ca-pita Soldier spending And Logistic support

WARREN SS

Had Heavy Body Being Parameter of Good warrior Skill Mongolians Wouldn't captured Almost 2/3 rd World
Gurkha's Still Considered one of the Most feared Race in war fighting

Lupus

Whatever Source you have in army they Will tell you there number Not exceeds 2400
You need better sources.

The strength of Para SF is 5K-6K operators.

WARREN SS

You need better sources.

The strength of Para SF is 5K-6K operators.
You Prove It by your Source ??
that they are 5K to 6 K ??

you Presume it As there 9 battalions of SF

Battalions are usually have 800 soldiers(Max/) but this a American standard of unit not Indian

Indian battalions are Pretty small as We half half the Officers commissioned then Required

Range Of battalion goes From 300-800 Depends On Army standards

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battalion

Lupus

You Prove It by your Source ??
that they are 5K to 6 K ??

you Presume it As there 9 battalions of SF

Battalions are usually have 800 soldiers but this a American standard of unit not Indian

Indian battalions are Pretty small as We half half the Officers commissioned then Required

Range Of battalion goes From 300-800 Depends On Army standards

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battalion
5K-6K is the most logical conclusion.

There's plenty of literature available in public domain that puts the average strength of Para SF battalion at ~600 so yeah 9×600 calculation is totally justified.

Aur bhai akele AFSOD ki strength 3K hai agar Para SF main kewal 2400 bande hain to AFSOD main kya unke putlon se kaam chalega...MARCOS aur GARUd ko to mila ke 3K ke aaspas baithta hai

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
In addition to the various points listed above by various members wrt what our SF lack (am sure this too has been pointed out, but I felt like listing it out again) are:

1. Drone support (not the small battery operated ones, but ISR like support) so that they don't assault blind
2. Suppressors ! Why don't our guys use them ?

WARREN SS

5K-6K is the most logical conclusion.

There's plenty of literature available in public domain that puts the average strength of Para SF battalion at ~600 so yeah 9×600 calculation is totally justified.

Aur bhai akele AFSOD ki strength 3K hai agar Para SF main kewal 2400 bande hain to AFSOD main kya unke putlon se kaam chalega...MARCOS aur GARUd ko to mila ke 3K ke aaspas baithta hai
AFSOD still 5 years Away And Recruitment Will be ram up

There Is no fixed Number

Nevertheless Numbers always not great Parameter SAS only has 1800 Operators in three Regiments

ArgonPrime

Do you Know terrain On Which We carry Load or operate regularly
ask Caucasians Operate in valley

LOL Do you know causalities US forces Suffered in Tora bora Mountainous region

Have u seen Probation Of PARA SF :megusta:LOL Which army the World run 100 km Endurance

Ask any SF around the world To carry Out Night raid Like We did on tololing During Kargil war At Average height of 5000+ metres Without Night vision And Logistic support.There CO Wil resign first

We don't have luxury Of AC-130 ,Warhogs And Apaches Saving our Ass o_Oo_O

We Lag Behind on in Per ca-pita Soldier spending And Logistic support
Had Heavy Body Being Parameter of Good warrior Skill Mongolians Wouldn't captured Almost 2/3 rd World
Gurkha's Still Considered one of the Most feared Race in war fighting

Do you know what it's called that you're doing here my Krautphile friend?? It's called denial.

Lupus

AFSOD still 5 years Away And Recruitment Will be ram up

There Is no fixed Number

Nevertheless Numbers always not great Parameter SAS only has 1800 Operators in three Regiments
Comparing Para SF with SAS..apples and oranges.

US is better for this comparison.

1st Special Forces, 8K
75th Ranger REGT, 3.5K
1st SFOD-D, 1.5K

That puts the strength of US Army SF/SOF at a whopping 13K!

ArgonPrime

1st Special Forces, 8K
75th Ranger REGT, 3.5K
1st SFOD-D, 1.5K

75th RR is not Tier 1 though but then again, the vast majority of the SOFD-D comes from the 75th, so............

WARREN SS

1st Special Forces, 8K
75th Ranger REGT, 3.5K
1st SFOD-D, 1.5K

Compare the Ops SAS takes And complexions
We designed or say copied there Insignia or Style
as Army was Legacy Royal British army
Chindits were One of the First modern SOF

US SOF are depends On logistics.Without it they are Nightmare

Compare the Ops SAS takes And complexions
We designed or say copied there Insignia or Style
as Army was Legacy Royal British army
Chindits were One of the First modern SOF

US SOF are depends On logistics.Without it they are Nightmare
I mean any army in this world requires logistics without it they are toast.

WARREN SS

Do you know what it's called that you're doing here my Krautphile friend?? It's called denial.
Its Not denial it Logic and Facts

Without Logistics And Close Air support
US SOF is pretty much nightmare like any SOF

There Many Ops Were US SF's fucked up without Warhogs or Apache's on there tail against Taliban ragtag militia's

buffing Up Will makes you nightmare on high-altitude in valley

Give Para SF budget 50000-70000 $ Per Soldier ca-pita

Like I said It all about budgetary constraints And logistic support

WARREN SS

I mean any army in this world requires logistics without it they are toast.
Do Para SF has it When they raid Enemy posts ??? that has 5 times Ratio
Be realistic here

PARA SF don't have
SOCOM like logistics And Close air supports
They have AC-130,War hogs,Apache's
USSOCOM's FY2021 budget request is for $16.6 billion, and USSOCOM has requested a force structure of 67,092 military and 6,831 civilian personnel.

Do a Comparison

UK SF
In fact, reports indicate that UK special forces have been understaffed by about 100 troops for years. It appears that, like many other forces within the UK military, they have been racked by under-funding and problems with force retention. In an attempt to address this, special forces have been promised an extra £300 million to bring them “up to full strength” in their fight against ISIS.

Lupus

They have AC-130,War hogs,Apache's
USSOCOM's FY2021 budget request is for $16.6 billion, and USSOCOM has requested a force structure of 67,092 military and 6,831 civilian personnel
What are you trying to say ? That we should demean US SOF just because they have access to better resources ?

If resources/support/tech/logistics are so evil then why don't we take away even the Tavors from our SF, just send them to war empty handed...perhaps naked bcuz you seem to believe that they're superhumans who don't require any of this evil logistics