Indian Special Forces (archived)

Nuvneet Kundu

Look at the guns of these operators- pristine! This is a secondary team, not part of the main CT task force who took part in the Pathankot operations and the 29th December drills in Delhi.
All defense enthusiasts on all forums love looking at tactical looking things. :D

Btw, One of them has a silencer and others don't. In that case I don't know how that first guy's silencing efforts are going to help anyone since everyone else will be loud. Th good take away from this is that we are taking proactive steps and a near certain terror strike has been thwarted. It does two things, first, it builds pressure on sleeper cells to constantly keep relocating, next it spreads defense related news to ordinary Indians who might not be aware of how our jawans work. More defense related news in the public sphere leads to more discussion, which leads to an informed nation, which prevents paid media from distorting facts.

I see many people who counter anti-national channels like NDTV in their comments section are getting information from defense forums. This keeps pressure on those paid channels to not stray away too far from the facts. Literally every traitor 'journo' who says anything anti-Tejas gets pounded on the internet these days.

Accha hai, Accha hai :D

NSG Commandos .
Equipment

Nuvneet Kundu

Guys I am still not able to believe that we lost seven of our men during the Pathankot attack by the JeM terrorists. We are well equipped and protected by the pictures posted above. I am not able to come to a logical conclusion of how 7 of our men died when we are better equipped than those terrorists.....
No amount of well-equipped infantry will be able to withstand explosions. The entire airbase was laced with grenade-booby traps. The alive terrorists laced even the dead bodies of their fellow terrorists. NSG lost only 1 man while defusing a bomb. I think this could have been avoided.

@kr9 @salute I did some searching and found that the device that we were discussing is not a thermal imager.

Optical Target Locater

April 6, 2015: The DRDO's Laser Science and Technology Centre (LASTEC) has unveiled an indigenous Optical Target Locater (OTL), a laser-based portable surveillance device, for detection of passive or active optical threats. The system, to be offered to the Indian Army and paramilitary forces, functions on the cat’s eye effect. According to the DRDO, "Any optical system when illuminated by a laser beam returns some back-scattered energy. This retro reflected energy helps in locating optical targets against a static background. The system is an important tool for detection of any active or passive surveillance device using the retro reflected signal from their front end optics." Two variants of the OTL are being developed. The development of short range version, OTL 300, for 300 m range has been completed. OTL 1500, the long-range version, is presently undergoing test and optimisation process.

OTL 300 finds application in active scanning and monitoring of specific areas, VIP security and detection of pointed optics. The equipment has been demonstrated to potential users like Delhi Police, National Security Guards and Indian Army and was recently deployed for area sanitisation and security on several occasions.The Delhi Police has in fact ordered the OTL 300.

aditya g

Guys I am still not able to believe that we lost seven of our men during the Pathankot attack by the JeM terrorists. We are well equipped and protected by the pictures posted above. I am not able to come to a logical conclusion of how 7 of our men died when we are better equipped than those terrorists.....
In this very incident we saw 2 SF operators killed or injured (Gurusewak and Gaur), while one unarmed middleaged DSC jawan who was not even on alert killed a terrorist with bare hands! How do you reason that with your logic?

See reply by @abingdonboy above. But my 2 cents:

Our boys are fighting a war. And war has a cost. Somehow our populace at large has developed a two pronger understanding:

1. Our forces are not well equipped (quantity or quality)
2. If well equipped we will stop dying

In reality both statements are partially true and partially incorrect. In this war the attackers have the advantage and time place luck has a large role to play. In this context the stellar role played by Indian Army in J&K and North East over decades is mind blowing! Shat shat pranaam to them!

Abhi9

Patna Swat

NSG
http://**********/attachments/10414440_1425703004377846_999607144506103370_n-jpg.262810/
http://**********/attachments/11693985_756545417795596_956729104025375277_n-jpg.262805/
http://**********/attachments/11665744_756545121128959_7706560630325831304_n-jpg.262806/
GARUDS

Adding to the above their is no country in the world which has the vast experience of 100 years fighting conventional war (from Egypt to Sri Lanka) from Nazis,China,Paki's to well organized terror org LTTE which outclass ISIS.

We inherited a terror infested country in North East which was suppose to break up in few decades,the poor country which had 3 fronts East,West pak and China had neither the budget nor manpower,but yet we not only crushed those insurgencies but went on sri lanka.

We had designed our own training methods and created prestigious CJIWS (jungle warfare),Kargil battle school,HAWS etc etc where even US and other comes to train with Indian Army,Indian army is the pioneer in the warfarw of High altitude sub zero temperature since 1983 beaten back several Paki counter attack including few failed SSG operations in siachen.

In kashmir (where the population is most hostile to India) where thousands of terrorists active in 90s including few Afghans who had fought with Soviets now only 300~ active terrorists in 2016 and insurgency is almost crushed in Kashmir and North East.The entire cadre of NSCN fighters was wiped in a single raid of Para SF.They begged for cease fire with GOI and now Peace has been established.

We had accomplished this as 3rd world poor country fighting with SLR with minimum force - means no Heavy Armor, No Air force/strikes.

Now compare this with pak which lost half its country,Siachen and Kargil (1971) to India while every pak province suffering from terrorism not to mention it bomb its own civilians in airstrike,artillery,Drones and Tanks plus NATO support.

Russians did the same in Chechnya.

No amount of well-equipped infantry will be able to withstand explosions. The entire airbase was laced with grenade-booby traps. The alive terrorists laced even the dead bodies of their fellow terrorists. NSG lost only 1 man while defusing a bomb. I think this could have been avoided.

@kr9 @salute I did some searching and found that the device that we were discussing is not a thermal imager.

Optical Target Locater

April 6, 2015: The DRDO's Laser Science and Technology Centre (LASTEC) has unveiled an indigenous Optical Target Locater (OTL), a laser-based portable surveillance device, for detection of passive or active optical threats. The system, to be offered to the Indian Army and paramilitary forces, functions on the cat’s eye effect. According to the DRDO, "Any optical system when illuminated by a laser beam returns some back-scattered energy. This retro reflected energy helps in locating optical targets against a static background. The system is an important tool for detection of any active or passive surveillance device using the retro reflected signal from their front end optics." Two variants of the OTL are being developed. The development of short range version, OTL 300, for 300 m range has been completed. OTL 1500, the long-range version, is presently undergoing test and optimisation process.

OTL 300 finds application in active scanning and monitoring of specific areas, VIP security and detection of pointed optics. The equipment has been demonstrated to potential users like Delhi Police, National Security Guards and Indian Army and was recently deployed for area sanitisation and security on several occasions.The Delhi Police has in fact ordered the OTL 300.
so what it do,

does it illuminates enemy rifle or gun scopes,

whatever it is,it gonna be cool if they miniaturize it and mount that sh*t on gun.

Nuvneet Kundu

so what it do,

does it illuminates enemy rifle or gun scopes.
Yes, it illuminates all types of optics like cameras, spy devices, laser ranger finders, gun scopes and basically everything that uses a lens. So if some sniper is watching you from a far away distance you can spot him with this device. Or if NSG is entering a building where terrorists might have planted cameras to keep an eye on the movement of security personnel, this device will detect it. It basically warns you about people who are watching you through any device that has a lens.

@Bornubus Russian action in Chechnya compares less with our counter-insurgency ops and more with our Kargil war, in its scale and nature. The mujahadeen in both these wars were funded by the CIA and they deliberately struck India and Russia at the same time to prevent the two countries to supply aid to each other.

The mujahadeen might not have achieved their goals but the US sure achieved their limited goal of hurting all their enemies in a single stroke.

On a tactical level, it allowed the US to cause losses on our end, on a strategic level the mujahadeens who were fighting American occupation in Afghanistan got a more lucrative target so they focused their attention away from Afghanistan and went to fight India and Russia. The US killed 3 birds with one stone, they hurt India, Russia (the wars cost us around 2 Billion $ each) and on top of that 1000s of mujahadeen were killed by Russia and India, to the benefit of US troops in Afghanistan.

They did this just before the 9/11 drama to make sure that most mujahadeens in Afghanistan got killed fighting Russia and India to make sure that the US troops faced no resistance when they invaded Afghanistan. This shows that the decision to invade Afghanistan was already made in 1998. US General Wesley Clark later admitted that the US had a plan to invade 7 nations.

“We’re going to take out seven countries in 5 years, starting with Iraq, and then Syria, Lebanon, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and, finishing off, Iran”

Link : http://www.globalresearch.ca/we-re-...q-syria-lebanon-libya-somalia-sudan-iran/5166

punjab47

महाबलामहावीर्यामहासत्यपराक्रमासर्वाग्रेक्षत्रियाजट
If enemy is not likely to have body armor, then 9mm is not a bad round. Remember, many of these commandos want to move light & fast.

Even army says it likes us optics but not armor, too heavy. 9mm much more controllable in automatic fire. Also less likely to penetrate walls & cause civilian casualties Vs 762x39.

Surprised they don’t have mp7 heard that's much better. Many special forces or commandos prefer smgs due to short barrel length. They have to move through tight spaces where, even 14" barrel of m4a1 is too much.

Heard us SF have special 12 & even 10" m4s.

Check this out :

Armies don't use pistol caliber carbine simply because they need 0-400m versatility. If you know you're very likely not going on engage past 100m, nothing beats these at close range.

How about AK 107 for nsg ,it will suit them
Don't be absurd. A 7.62mm assualt rifle for CQB?? You're going to be putting more people at risk with such reckless suggestions with the threat from over protection.

There is nothing wrong with the MP-5s the NSG have, they are all brand new (bought since 2010) with all the "goodies" you would want and the NSG is comfortable with it. It's lethal weapon in CQB and in the hands of trained operators.

The NSG has assualt rifles (SIG-552/3) if they need an assualt rifle, they even have belt fed machine guns should the need arise.