Indian Sniper Equipment & Tactics

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
You will have to consider the issue of “economies of scale”, the order quantity of specific items like sniper rifles is so less that it doesn’t justify the r&d cost within the country . Where as EU and American manufacturers have huge markets within Americas and NATO countries to justify the cost.

One solution can be that instead of designing systems or rifles only for India. if we consider the target market to be all countries on and below Tropic of Cancer, then probably your wish will be granted. In this case potential market justifies long term investment.

On a lighter note:

I try my level best to avoid starting a statement in verbal or written form with “the problem in India is”, maybe you can try that too.... these days we need more solutions and ideas than to reiterate known problem statements.
R&D cost is always minimal. It is the mass manufacturing that costs high. R&D cost is just cost of labour and time which is internal. Cost of imported items matter is the main cost and that comes in mass manufacturing.

R&D cost is always justified, manufacturing cost may not be justified. So, there is no justification for not making sniper rifle technology

You will have to consider the issue of “economies of scale”, the order quantity of specific items like sniper rifles is so less that it doesn’t justify the r&d cost within the country . Where as EU and American manufacturers have huge markets within Americas and NATO countries to justify the cost.

One solution can be that instead of designing systems or rifles only for India. if we consider the target market to be all countries on and below Tropic of Cancer, then probably your wish will be granted. In this case potential market justifies long term investment.

On a lighter note:

I try my level best to avoid starting a statement in verbal or written form with “the problem in India is”, maybe you can try that too.... these days we need more solutions and ideas than to reiterate known problem statements.

Problems and solutions have been known for decades but results are usually failure
A good recent example - warplane acquisition :

Solution 1 buy the plane ( most frequent option) MRCA done 20 years later no plane

Solution 2 joint venture FGFA India providing upfront funding as usual for russia(as I predicted years ago) 10 years later failure no plane

Solution 3 indigenous production LCA after 30 years still not inducted in numbers needed due to lack of infrastructure etc....

So you see solutions to the problems are known nothing to be discovered but due to many different factors usually result in failure. Many many other similar examples. foresight and strategic planning along with multi year commitments by government produce world class weaponry it does not happen fast when you need it to happen

Problems and solutions have been known for decades but results are usually failure
A good recent example - warplane acquisition :

Solution 1 buy the plane ( most frequent option) MRCA done 20 years later no plane

Solution 2 joint venture FGFA India providing upfront funding as usual for russia(as I predicted years ago) 10 years later failure no plane

Solution 3 indigenous production LCA after 30 years still not inducted in numbers needed due to lack of infrastructure etc....

So you see solutions to the problems are known nothing to be discovered but due to many different factors usually result in failure. Many many other similar examples. foresight and strategic planning along with multi year commitments by government produce world class weaponry it does not happen fast when you need it to happen
Yes, true......

That brings us to a few approaches that can be adopted...

1) continue in the current path of economic progress. When we the GDP reaches double the current numbers, defence budget would also double. At that point governments would not mind shelling out a bit for the equipment they need, since threat perception is unlikely to subside by that time.

2) have a strategic policy of going to wars every 10 years like Americans do, which will in turn fuel R&D and manufacturing capacity as per heightened requirement.

3) consider CAPF, CRPF , local police and local swat teams as part of the design requirements. Likelihood of justifying economies of scale increases. In this scenario assault rifles, carbines, pistols ,sniper rifles, scopes,BPJ, BP helmets, NVD, LAMV, light armoured wheeled APC etc gets a boost. In total these chaps under home ministry are about 3 million strong. Of course not all of them need to be equipped to the highest level, but even if 10% it means 3 lakh personnel which is quite a number.

@ezsasa Aptly put.

Though option 2 will require far a degree of taking the initiative that we haven't really seen from the successive Indian governments so far.

Doklam was probably the closest we came to it.

Yes, true......

That brings us to a few approaches that can be adopted...

1) continue in the current path of economic progress. When we the GDP reaches double the current numbers, defence budget would also double. At that point governments would not mind shelling out a bit for the equipment they need, since threat perception is unlikely to subside by that time.

2) have a strategic policy of going to wars every 10 years like Americans do, which will in turn fuel R&D and manufacturing capacity as per heightened requirement.

3) consider CAPF, CRPF , local police and local swat teams as part of the design requirements. Likelihood of justifying economies of scale increases. In this scenario assault rifles, carbines, pistols ,sniper rifles, scopes,BPJ, BP helmets, NVD, LAMV, light armoured wheeled APC etc gets a boost. In total these chaps under home ministry are about 3 million strong. Of course not all of them need to be equipped to the highest level, but even if 10% it means 3 lakh personnel which is quite a number.
Excellent reply. I like number 2 the most. Wars can be very rewarding and much can be gained. Historically warring nations lead the world. The modern Gandhi policy has demoralized and deteriorated the nation.india
Had great prosperity historically when it was a warring nation/kingdoms.

Excellent reply. I like number 2 the most. Wars can be very rewarding and much can be gained. Historically warring nations lead the world. The modern Gandhi policy has demoralized and deteriorated the nation.india
Had great prosperity historically when it was a warring nation/kingdoms.
And unfortunately we don’t live on a island which provides natural defensive boundaries like UK and US(Mexico and Canada are defensive boundaries in my opinion).

Not necessary to implement a strategic policy. We have a population that can fight a 1000 year war if needed others do not have this luxury. We have educated ,talented people to develop a strong base .
IMO olnly thing lacking is a will.

Looks like dragnov is here to stay...
There is a RFP for dragnov-SVDN (with night sight).....

Quantity not specified...

Manish Khan

A. SSG-69 Bolt-Action Sniper Rifle:
Used by Central Armed Police Forces in India like BSF, CRPF, and ITBP and also by other police units.

B. PSG-1 Sniper Rifle:
Used mostly by Counter-Terrorism units and SWAT units in India including Urban Warfare units like National Security Guards. Many of the units are now replacing their older PSG-1 with newer PSG1A1 Sniper Rifle.

C. Galatz Sniper Rifle:
Galatz is the standard troop-level marksman rifle used by Indian Special Forces units ( mainly Para SF, MARCOS, Garuds, and SFF ).

D. SVD Dragunov Designated Marksman Rifle:
The standard DMR weapon in Indian Army and some other units as well like Assam Rifles. It will be soon replaced with a new .338 Lapua Magnum Sniper Rifle though it is still a favorite among Indian units due to its dead-end accuracy and reliability in harsh conditions.

E. Barrett M107:

In India, only a few units are known to use this Anti-Materiel Rifle/Sniper Rifle which includes Indian Army Special Forces, Mumbai Police QRT units, and BSF. It has got its own distinction of being one of the best precision weapons.

F. Mauser SP66:
Used by Indian Army for specialized purposes like long-range sniping.

G. NTW-20 Anti-Materiel Rifle:
Used on Line of Control (India-Pakistan Border) to target enemy bunkers and military hardware and can also be used for counter-sniping in Anti-Personnel role. Its Indian derivative named 'Vidhwansak' is in service with BSF.

H. Barrett M98B:
Used only by select units like NSG and Para SF for specialized causes like long-range sniping.

I. 7.62mm Ishapore Sniper Rifle:
It is used by CRPF, Tamil Nadu police Commandos, and Kolkata police and is an Indian-made product especially built for law enforcement agencies and police units.

1.jpg
2.jpg

J. VSK-94 Silenced Sniper Rifle:
Only MARCOS has been known this tactical sniper rifle which uses a subsonic 9x39mm round to be deployed in tactical roles at short ranges given its armor-piercing capability.

3.jpg

4.jpg

L

yes. Fully free floating with .5 MOA accuracy
Congratulations to the company ....

I hope they finish their internal testing before RFP is issued, especially high altitude hot and cold weather trials.

This purchase of sniper and 50 cal would have been completed by now.
did any pics show up recently, to know which 50 cal was purchased?

Boys!!!! looks like sniper and 50 cal procurement is moving ahead....

Tenders for limited number procurement issued..
BPJ and nigh vision devices were also given in limited numbers initially, before giving multiple orders...

- sniper rifles .338 lapua magnum - Qty 24
View attachment 19216
- .50 cal long range sniper rifle - Qty 16
View attachment 19217

Defenceanalyst91

This purchase of sniper and 50 cal would have been completed by now.
did any pics show up recently, to know which 50 cal was purchased?
Sniper rifles in these quantity can be bought by civilians within month. Literally 100s of the companies r selling these weapons online .Here we hav a 1.4 million army with nearly 200 years of history is issuing rfp and tender for this.i am sure This tender is also struck in some where in defence ministry or army bureaucracy. Already terrorists r using sniper in hinterland, We continue our circus in basic infantry weapon procurement.

i am sure This tender is also struck in some where in defence ministry or army bureaucracy. Already terrorists r using sniper in hinterland, We continue our circus in basic infantry weapon procurement.
That could be one explanation.
or
Training is going on, and haven't made it to the field(especially for 50 cal). we won't be seeing them in COIN ops, only border posts.

Denel 50 cal anti material rifles also used as anti material rifles are already in use. The Army managed to get about 200 of these corruption charges in 2004 derailed the deal.

Denel rifle is military grade rifle. Many others are comparable but not used by the military but by police forces for terror targets. Indian Army also uses the highly accurate Draganov which has lower range.

rkhanna

“Our sniper course also needs a drastic overhaul. Effective sniping can totally disrupt tactical and logistical functions of a forward post by restricting mobility of its troops,” he added.

The Pak army, in contrast, has sharply upgraded both the training and equipment of its snipers. “They have very good sniper rifles, including the Remington modular ones from the US. Their snipers are also much better trained,” said another officer.
https://m.timesofindia.com/india/sn...errer=https://www.google.com&amp_tf=From %1$s

cyclops

How snipers operate and what kind of sniper rifles they use.

IA might have to modulate foreign and new sniper roles and tactics for the Indian environment.

Some practices they can borrow from Russia and US and some they might have to develop from the ground up, especially for counter sniping along the LOC.

:rage:
"This acquisition project, which was finally granted “acceptance of necessity” by the Defence Acquisitions Council in February this year at an estimated cost of Rs 982 crore under the “Buy Global” categorisation, is however still at the initial tendering or request for proposal (RFP) stage. It will take at least three to four more years for the actual contract to be inked after extensive field trials and commercial evaluation."

Are you f*cking kidding me right now? :frusty:

sam29

Hi
what is the update on new sniper rifle for nothern command
Magnum scorpio TGT
BERETA m95
How these guns fair among the best sniper rifles
Specially scorpio tgt