Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

India Super Power

So it's clear that drdo aip will remain a tech demonstration as usual
It generally happens with nearly all indigenous projects
Even having one rather than improving and developing a better one, it's better to import aip
Expected from armed forces
No value for indigenous aip such a critical technology considering our industrial capability
Sab mitti me milla do

So it's clear that drdo aip will remain a tech demonstration as usual
It generally happens with nearly all indigenous projects
Even having one rather than improving and developing a better one, it's better to import aip
Expected from armed forces
No value for indigenous aip such a critical technology considering our industrial capability
Sab mitti me milla do
DRDO AIP is planned to be used as a plug-in refit when the Kalvari (Scorpene) class submarines when it will come for mid-life upgrade.

DRDO AIP has recently been developed. It has to undergo a lot of testing. Thus, at this moment it is not very much feasible to expect that foreign submarine OEM's will offer it as power-plant as part of P-75i proposal.

Also, with Russian and Germany dropping out of P-75i, we will have only France (stealthy scorepenes) and South Korea (original design based on Type 214 TOT from HDW). So, it is better to cancel this P-75i all-together and go with France, as a follow-up order of Scorpene class. This way, the existing infrastructure of MDL can be used. We can also club this deal, with 110 kN fighter engine from DRDO-JV, as part of G-G deal with French government to reduce cost.

Lastly, we should also get the addition Kilo class submarines from Russia, to fill up numbers.

India Super Power

DRDO AIP is planned to be used as a plug-in refit when the Kalvari (Scorpene) class submarines when it will come for mid-life upgrade.

DRDO AIP has recently been developed. It has to undergo a lot of testing. Thus, at this moment it is not very much feasible to expect that foreign submarine OEM's will offer it as power-plant as part of P-75i proposal.

Also, with Russian and Germany dropping out of P-75i, we will have only France (stealthy scorepenes) and South Korea (original design based on Type 214 TOT from HDW). So, it is better to cancel this P-75i all-together and go with France, as a follow-up order of Scorpene class. This way, the existing infrastructure of MDL can be used. We can also club this deal, with 110 kN fighter engine from DRDO-JV, as part of G-G deal with French government to reduce cost.

Lastly, we should also get the addition Kilo class submarines from Russia, to fill up numbers.
Can't we make a super scorpene by just adding a compartment of vls and drdo aip system as a p-75i

Ya'll Nibbiars we can do any that can improve the Kalvari class but MODs nahi manage.

MOD ne kabhi kuch innovative mana hai
Woh chodo kabhi kuch time pe advanced kam kiya hai
Kuch nahi woh sirf 50-70 sal pehle ki tarah department chala rahe hai
When something happens then just fucking excuses
No you can't upgrade kalvari like that , or you may end with hydrodynamical issues .

Added weight , change in cog , and length will be too much ,aip addition is max we can do in small time frame .

Better to go for a bit bigger design , use Li ion batteries and some new aip than current one for p76 , use IEP and if feasible then pumpjet too