Indian Counter Terror Operations Pictures & Discussions

Isn't sending a platoon of infantrymen a cheaper option than UCAV?

Sending infantry is costlier because a life gets lost any how you would need soldiers there. They send 3,4 Jahils to target decorated Indian soldiers while they themselves stay safe at home. Using drones will be highly accurate. And this shift in policy will definitely hurt them.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Sending infantry is costlier because a life gets lost any how you would need soldiers there. They send 3,4 Jahils to target decorated Indian soldiers while they themselves stay safe at home. Using drones will be highly accurate. And this shift in policy will definitely hurt them.
The cost of a missile is more than of a few magazines.

We in India dont have that kind of a defense budget to dream of this and moreover you have to put the feet on the ground no matter how advanced your technology is.

Santosh Sharma

India has a huge budget. I guess army has the required budget too. Question is just importance and priorities. I am concerned the issue that happened at Shopian could it have been avoided if there was a thermal eye in the sky. We did it with Agni and Prithvi. Can we not do this again.

Thanks

We in India dont have that kind of a defense budget to dream of this and moreover you have to put the feet on the ground no matter how advanced your technology is.
The problem is not the defence budget the problem is how much indigenous your weaponry is. When the weaponry is made in India, the cost will come down. So the total operation cost. Compare mars mission of NASA with India. That's the perfect example.

You would always need soldiers on ground but drone has a psychological affect on them.

It's not that budget is not there, just that due to past lapses major capital acquisition was delayed. Which is being cleared now .By 2020 we will done with most of the foreign acquisition, I hope vehicles, ammo and Missiles will be the focus from then on.

Like last year acquisition focus was on army, this year it will be airforce capital acquisitions. Navy are anyways are smart chaps, they have planned well for them selves, so no problems there.

A clandestine aspect of drone warfare is the psychological impact on a population of being constantly spied upon, to the extent of preventing them leading normal lives and, oddly enough for a supposed 'anti-terror' weapon, terrorising them, as exemplified by Zubair Rehman's testimony to the U.S. Congress.

THE SOCIAL EFFECTS OF DRONE WARFARE ON THE F.A.T.A. AND WIDER PAKISTAN
http://architecture.brookes.ac.uk/research/cendep/dissertations/Steve-Pine.pdf

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

The problem is not the defence budget the problem is how much indigenous your weaponry is. When the weaponry is made in India, the cost will come down. So the total operation cost. Compare mars mission of NASA with India. That's the perfect example.

You would always need soldiers on ground but drone has a psychological affect on them.
In that case it would be better if we blow them exactly on the LOC before they even cross to our side.

Let it be drone or gunship to mortar and artillery is design to support man with the rifle on ground, this is undisputed logic.

If you read few pages back, The debate here at this thread is to reduce Army casualties of trained experienced solider including SF in counter insurgency ..

Army use nearly 1000 trucks daily in J&K only, And no less than 150-200 sorties each week of Army aviation comprise of various helicopter in the valley, The amount spend after fuel is itself astronomical compare to use of drones and puny missiles ( Though their are no UACV used by IA in the valley ) ..

Our operations are inside our territory, Our defenses consist of many tiers behind LOC Itself, Carrying out attack outsides LOC is limited..

Isn't sending a platoon of infantrymen a cheaper option than UCAV?

In that case it would be better if we blow them exactly on the LOC before they even cross to our side.

If you read few pages back, The debate here at this thread is to reduce Army casualties of trained experienced solider including SF in counter insurgency ..

Our operations are inside our territory, Our defenses consist of many tiers behind LOC Itself, Carrying out attack outsides LOC is limited..
In any case MI of IA would be doing the needful to catapult the strike on tangos before they cross over the LOC.

But after continous casualities in the past 5 months of India soldiers I guess, they really need to change strategy.

UACV is known to create psychological affect, which similar sort of militants have faced in FATA. I believe IA should at least try once deplyoing them ASAP for support, once they get the delivery. Arty cannot be used, helis are prone to gunfire and early detection.

You had metioned that Humanit needs to be revised with the use of better network structure in JAndK. So in a nutshell it should be delivered to incoming threat that something can hit it from anywhere. This will keep the soldiers shielded.

Or

Keep PA busy by bringing them out in open for direct confontration.

What type of UCAV you are referring here ?, Their are none available for the terrain and threads we are facing ..

Unless one is customized for specific needs ..

UACV is known to create psychological affect, which similar sort of militants have faced in FATA. I believe IA should at least try once deplyoing them ASAP for support, once they get the delivery. Arty cannot be used, helis are prone to gunfire and early detection.

You had metioned that Humanit needs to be revised with the use of better network structure in JAndK. So in a nutshell it should be delivered to incoming threat that something can hit it from anywhere. This will keep the soldiers shielded.

Or

Keep PA busy by bringing them out in open for direct confontration.

Yes, the cost of missile is more than a few magazines. But this is not even close to losing an officer and I am not even talking about the cost of a human life. It takes multiple years of training & experience to make it to the rank of a Major. Add a decade to that of a subedar.

Cost of missiles vary but a Milan2T costs around 40 lacs, Konkurs M about 1.6 crore and as per some reports, TOW2B costs 40 lacs as well.

They don't engage until they cross a certain threshold or else their families don't get paid in Pakistan.

What type of UCAV you are referring here ?, Their are none available for the terrain and threads we are facing ..

Unless one is customized for specific needs ..

10 IAI Eitan UCAVs for which India signed deal with Israel. Other than that Rustom 2 is not at all capable due to height issues, speed and payload capacity

Willy2

Is there any thread for Chechnya and Daghistni insurgency ?? what kind of weapon ,drone Russian Army use there etc. I think that insurgency somewhat similar to Kashmiri one , along with terrine .

But there they have different terrain.

Sent from my SM-T211 using Tapatalk

Willy2

But there they have different terrain.

Sent from my SM-T211 using Tapatalk
In south Caucasus , there are medium high mountains and small valleys too , city like capital Grozney are on those valleys and rest of the part are mountain just like our pirpanzal and zhaskar

TOS 1 Buratino. Their Drone is same as Indian Forpost (Searcher Copy)

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Yes, the cost of missile is more than a few magazines. But this is not even close to losing an officer and I am not even talking about the cost of a human life. It takes multiple years of training & experience to make it to the rank of a Major. Add a decade to that of a subedar.

Cost of missiles vary but a Milan2T costs around 40 lacs, Konkurs M about 1.6 crore and as per some reports, TOW2B costs 40 lacs as well.

They don't engage until they cross a certain threshold or else their families don't get paid in Pakistan.
You would still have to put the men on the ground because no technology is 100%.

Cross border firing will still kill people and IEDs will still be effective.

Our casualties are not high on a 1 on 1 ambush firefight but are high in urban areas and IEDs will be deadly and add to that cross border sniper fire.

None of that can even be changed 1% with a drone.

The environment is not very technologically friendly, Use of laser guided weapons are very rare due to this fact..

It would make sense if its able to drop dumb & guided bombs from high altitude, Unfortunately Eitan cannot and i cannot comment on Rustom as its not a final design ..

IAF mostly use unguided rockets to target intruders via MI-17 ..

The number are too less for imported drone for routine operations in the valley, But will make a difference for sure when used in conjunction with IAF and Army against large anti-terror operation, If used ..

10 IAI Eitan UCAVs for which India signed deal with Israel. Other than that Rustom 2 is not at all capable due to height issues, speed and payload capacity