Indian Army SIG Sauer 716 assault rifle.

Compare the prices.Galil is too costly also 50% or more, and tge advantages its going to bring dont justify the cost.
If Viets can afford it so do we. The problem is more to do with procurement process.

We could have moved on to 6.8 round for all purpose too instead of 3 diff. Ones. But this needs a long-term planning in defence procurement which we lack.

If Viets can afford it so do we. The problem is more to do with procurement process.

We could have moved on to 6.8 round for all purpose too instead of 3 diff. Ones. But this needs a long-term planning in defence procurement which we lack.
AK-203 sorry AK-103 with rails is a political purchase which we should have avoided. It is a bullshit that we are buying just to impress someone, why can’t we go for a 16” CAR-816 or an AK-19? After all no one uses 7.62x39 for infantry, not even Russia who made the round.

Ak have its own benefit and is cheap ( if bought directly). But if we are paying so much for these then better move on to Galil Ace series.

Anyway it's fcuked up so can't do much now. May be caramel or caracal will get carbine contract and make army go for their series run.

Killbot

It has a special purpose. It will we for units in peace areas and rashtriya rifles. Their engagement range will be within 300m. But in case of conventional war, I don't know what they'll do. It should suffice, imo. Notwithstanding the logistical constraints. That can be mitigated too if army ordnance corps are on top of their game. There are certainly better options, but no use bitching about it. The deal will be signed come the Putin visit.

Killswitch

If the AKS are built in large numbers prices will come down. If matched with good ammo and optics, this platform could meet all necessary requirements. Don't believe me, just watch the video. Primary arms make great 762x39 optics. It's an American company with a factory in China. Maybe with some actual problem solving, India could get a similar prism sight made in India in bulk.

ManhattanProject

If the AKS are built in large numbers prices will come down. If matched with good ammo and optics, this platform could meet all necessary requirements. Don't believe me, just watch the video. Primary arms make great 762x39 optics. It's an American company with a factory in China. Maybe with some actual problem solving, India could get a similar prism sight made in India in bulk.

the galil performed way better at this corse, the problem is the cartridge. The 7.62x39 round is very susceptible to wind.

We have many options at for 7.62*39 mm riflre at home instead of this AK 203 purchase.

From OFB : TAR and Ghatak
From DRDO: MCIWS (7.62*39 mm version)
From SSS defence: P-72
From Astr defence: INDRA rifle

IMHO, this AK203 should be scrapped ASAP. Neither it meets the quality or price of Sigs.

Swiftfarts

We have many options at for 7.62*39 mm riflre at home instead of this AK 203 purchase.

IMHO, this AK203 should be scrapped ASAP. Neither it meets the quality or price of Sigs.
What about AK 15 ?

N4tsula67

Nahi hoga scrap abto. The deal will be sealed when Putin visits India. Politics ka chakar babu bhaiya (both indo-russian politics and local politics).

Killbot

the galil performed way better at this corse, the problem is the cartridge. The 7.62x39 round is very susceptible to wind.
Yeah, but it is pretty much the best cartridge for armor penetration within 300m. Excluding full power rifle cartridges of course.

Killbot

It was a political deal in the first place.

Automatic Kalashnikov

You have any info/pics of INDRA rifle?

Colonel Danveer was among the first officers in the Army who tested tested the INSAS way back in 1997. He was a young officer then, who was tasked by the Northern Command to be the trial officer for new INSAS rifle.

He is currently retired and runs a youtube channel focussed on national security issues.
This is what he has to say about AK203 purchase, while visiting Defence expo 2020.

You have any info/pics of INDRA rifle?
Looks like FN SCAR kopy to me, with AK-chhap "nose in-rock back" style magazine locking mechanism.

1606080769103.png

Probably their aim is to keep magazine commonality with previous firearms* (INSAS magazine in 5.56mm one,AK mags in 7.62x39mm one and FAL//SLR magazine in this 7.62 NATO one)

*One thing that is there is neither previous gen rifles in service have last round bolt hold open device/feature on them (manual BHO devices are there on SLR and INSAS but mainly meant for locking the bolt back during inspection purposes) and the firearms that they showcased clearly have AR style BHO device on its left side,so maybe modification on the magazine is also there to enable the feature here,i think ? just make a cut-out in magazine where follower ends to make it actuate BHO device and so-kinda thing me thinks...