Indian Army SIG Sauer 716 assault rifle.

Rambo101

USA has a habit of show off by buying the most expensive platforms, imo we should have adopted the 6.8x43mm cartridge to replace all others.
Yes and in future we could have gone for 6.8mm telescope ammunition, Eliminating need for 7.62 all together while getting KE performance of a 7.62 + accuracy of 5.56 in the process.

6point8mm-composite-cartridge-1200.jpg

USA is not moving up yet. The NGSW program has about as much chance of success as previous M4 replacement programs. M4 is here to stay. Modern 5.56mm cartridges are good enough. Modern 5.56 rounds like M855A1, Mk.262 77gr, Mk. 318 62gr are the way to go. Even USMC is adopting the M27 IAR, in 5.56 and it will be around for the next 40 years. So, 5.56mm carbine was a good decision by IA.

7.62×39 has no future. We should have gone for 5.56mm AR. 5.56mm NATO, that is. This 5.56mm INSAS seems to be an underpowered round.

AK 15, AK 19 etc are just plain AKs with better furniture and new gas block. We should have gone for something like Galil ACE in 7.62mm if we were going with that cartridge. It is already made in India and I'm sure price would be lower than degenerate OFB's overpriced fraud 103 with crappy rails.
USA will be moving up probably to new 6.8mm telescope ammunition.
5.56mm is a dead end, there is simply not enough KE to do any substantial damage going into the future.

Killbot

Yes and in future we could have gone for 6.8mm telescope ammunition, Eliminating need for 7.62 all together while getting KE performance of a 7.62 + accuracy of 5.56 in the process.

View attachment 65404

5.56mm is a dead end, there is simply not enough KE to do any substantial damage.
6.8 SPC II is a good round, but that isn't telescoping case ammo. That is polymer case.

1604546670243.png

Case telescoping.

This kind of ammo is very, very, very expensive to produce. 5-6 times as much as 5.56. Highly unlikely that US will go for this. And like I said, NGSW program is probably not gonna succeed,as soldiers are comfortable with 5.56mm.

5.56mm is a very wide term. Hundreds of different loads are available. Google these cartridge loads: Mk.262 77gr, Mk.318 62gr and M855A1 62gr. These ammo loads are cheap to produce and can do sufficient damage.

Of course, 6.5 grendel or 6.8 SPC are better, but they are expensive. 5.56mm is good enough. Not something that needs replacement right now by any means.

View attachment 65404

5.56mm is a dead end, there is simply not enough KE to do any substantial damage going into the future.
Textron new guns were showcased, kisi ne nahi dekha kya?

Killbot

Textron new guns were showcased, kisi ne nahi dekha kya?
Those are some very complex guns. Which can be good or bad. If this deal does go through, I'd bet on Sig. Much more conventional design. Piston driven AR 10, with features from MCX Virtus.

Yes 👍🏻
These will be damn expensive, I feel USA should go for HK416 to replace M4 as Common platform advantage plus M4 is getting obsolete as an infantry weapon, heck after we’ll get all AK-203, SiG-716 and CAR-816, then our army will have better guns than the US Army, what about the DMR program of Indian Army?

I feel they are going to use SiG-716 as a DMR also which is not good!

Narendra s rawat

Yes 👍🏻
These will be damn expensive, I feel USA should go for HK416 to replace M4 as Common platform advantage plus M4 is getting obsolete as an infantry weapon, heck after we’ll get all AK-203, SiG-716 and CAR-816, then our army will have better guns than the US Army, what about the DMR program of Indian Army?

There were reports that present svd dragnovs
is going to be upgraded by SSS defence and will be used in DMR role.
Untitled-design-8-1068x601.jpg

But considering our inventory of 6000-7000 of dragnov.we might go for Sig 716

Rambo101

Yes 👍🏻

I think so. NSG already using it.

1548279499844.png

I think so. NSG already using it.

View attachment 65419
Why tf is NSG getting so much? I mean what is their use now?
Now every state has its separate police departments with their own CICT SWAT forces that will tackle terror threats plus funny thing is that all these police tactical units are trained by NSG itself and have similar equipments also, why wasting money on NSG when it is of no use now or else deploy them for active CICT ops in Kashmir.

Killbot

I feel they are going to use SiG-716 as a DMR also which is not good
There were reports that present svd dragnovs
is going to be upgraded by SSS defence and will be used in DMR role.
View attachment 65415
But considering our inventory of 6000-7000 of dragnov.we might go for Sig 716
think so. NSG already using it.
They'll upgrade all dragunovs. That'll make them 0.6-0.8 MOA guns with new optics and muzzle brake from existing 1-1.2 MOA. For proper sniper roles, there is a tender for 5000+ .338s. No need to worry there.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Slightly old news but nevertheless interesting to be aware of about NSG using the world‘s smallest drone - BlackHornet.

i think if india ever developed one it will be called the “machchar” or “Madhu machchar”. :rotfl:

On another note, i Hope CDS Rawat is thinking about drone swarms as a force multiplier.

1604560594374.jpeg

1604560651151.jpeg

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Cased Telescoped (CT) weapons from Textron in use with the US Army being evaluated for their next generation squad weapons. 6.8mm projectile in US Army for the first time. Nice.

1604561783423.jpeg

>AK-19 BHETTAR THAN AK-12 AK-203 REEE

Coming from people who're not aware of whole modern AK saga,like hell what's the difference anyway ?
AK-19 IS JUST AK-12 WITH NEW SIGHTS, NEW BUTTSTOCK AND NEW ENLARGED PISTOL GRIP THAT ALSO HOUSES MAGAZINE LOCK IN IT! :facepalm:

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

A grand AK 203 pic:

Russian heartburn:

Ak19 versus Ak 203:

Rambo101

A grand AK 203 pic:

Russian heartburn:

Ak19 versus Ak 203:
This gun is the biggest crap among them all , from price to performance. Should go for more SIG 716 or AK 15 or 19.

Rambo101

Coming from people who're not aware of whole modern AK saga,like hell what's the difference anyway ?
AK-19 IS JUST AK-12 WITH NEW SIGHTS, NEW BUTTSTOCK AND NEW ENLARGED PISTOL GRIP THAT ALSO HOUSES MAGAZINE LOCK IN IT! :facepalm:
Does AK 19 come in 7.62 ?

Killbot

No sir, it is an AKM with a 90 degree gas block and a furniture upgrade in 5.56.