Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

NutCracker

LIVE

# 180 MK1A order as whole will cost 1.15 Lakh crore.

# MK2 numbers won't be affected by the additonal 97 MK1A order.

Fatalis

Aniruddha Mulay

LIVE

Rs. 1.15 lakh crore for 97 jets seems a bit too high to me, are we expecting additional weapons, support, PBL, spares packages to better maintain operational tempo?

NutCracker

Rs. 1.15 lakh crore for 97 jets seems a bit too high to me, are we expecting additional weapons, support, PBL, spares packages to better maintain operational tempo?
The way CAS said in the interview , he meant that whole 180 combined would be worth of 1.15 lakh crore, means same 70-80M per jet with all logistics, as it was during 2021.

Azaad

LIVE

Mk-2 nos have already been downsized from ~200 nos in around 2015 to last read numbers of ~ 110 nos . We actually don't know as of now how many does the IAF plan to procure but rest assured if they enhance the order for the Mk-1a which is almost a certainty as of the present then it'd eat into the numbers of the Mk-2 .

What's more , the more we delay the MRFA the more it clashes with induction of the Mk-2 & the AMCA Mk-1 which is a direct competitor to the Rafale ( assuming Rafales are the chosen MRFA ) meaning Mk-2 & AMCA Mk-1 will eat into MRFA numbers in terms of financial limitations as far as the former goes & duplication of functionality as far as the latter goes..

NutCracker

Mk-2 nos have already been downsized from ~200 nos in around 2015 to last read numbers of ~ 110 nos . We actually don't know as of now how many does the IAF plan to procure but rest assured if they enhance the order for the Mk-1a which is almost a certainty as of the present then it'd eat into the numbers of the Mk-2 .

What's more , the more we delay the MRFA the more it clashes with induction of the Mk-2 & the AMCA Mk-1 which is a direct competitor to the Rafale ( assuming Rafales are the chosen MRFA ) meaning Mk-2 & AMCA Mk-1 will eat into MRFA numbers in terms of financial limitations as far as the former goes & duplication of functionality as far as the latter goes..
As our economy grows we should be planning to field at least 1- MK2 for 2 -J-10C China has. Although production has stopped ,yet they've build up fleet of 600 J10C. I can easily see MK2 numbers crossing 200+.

Azaad

As our economy grows we should be planning to field at least 1- MK2 for 2 -J-10C China has. Although production has stopped ,yet they've build up fleet of 600 J10C. I can easily see MK2 numbers crossing 200+.
Unfortunately , it's a decade too late for that .

NutCracker

Unfortunately , it's a decade too late for that .
We gotta play the cards we are dealt. Xi is also bidding the time. He has decided to rule till he die.

Their Fujian hasn't launched a jet yet . Might take 5-6 more years for becoming fully operational. Bigger one is under construction which won't be fully operational upto 2030.