Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

UAE shows interest in LCA :biggrin2:

I am very much interested in Katrina....:biggrin2:

Does that mean I wish to marry her or she will marry me.

I mean UAE minister may have admired India being capable of making its own fighter and manufacturing capabilities but to buy it, it's completely different thing. First did he say he wants to buy, next did India said we want to sell, do we have enough for our own, do we have capacity to make LCA Tejas in required numbers for both UAE and iaf, will GE and Israel supply engines and radar respectively for UAE lca Tejas, etc..... So for export of LCA, "Delhi abhi bahut door hai bhai".:)

Far before the issue of production for exports comes in, one need to remember the amount of Israeli parts in Tejas, which translates into export restrictions especially to Arab nations and the low capability the current production versions have (UAEs hugh performance and capability demands are well known). So this news, or better the visit of a foreign politician is a nice photo op, but that's it.
UAE is just trying to stoke controversy in Rafale deal by visiting facility. These guys made a fuss over Kerala flood relief and are now trying antics here to help left wingers and INC. Rahul Gandhi tried to talk to HAL union and failed and now this visit. Coincidence don't you think? UAE will buy a light fighter of KA 50 class when they can get more F 16 Blk 70s?

Folks any updates on Tejas Aerial refueling!!!

Though we had sucesssucc refuel, more tests were supposed to take place right!!

HAL is being cautious with Tejas and I agree with Indranil at BRF when he says it's not just Tejas we are building, but the entire aerospace ecosystem in India. No room for error, so HAL wishes to be absolutely sure when crafting out new pieces and certifying them fit for use.

A single setback and the import vultures will descend on Tejas like Napakis rampaging at a wedding buffet.

dumdumdum

Couple of questions for people in the know ..
1. Why is SP6 listed on the flighttestnews page by ADA?
2. Are we so close to FOC that almost all testing is done? there were only 4 test flights in last 15 odd days.

Sancho

Delivery of the first Boeing KC-46A Pegasus tanker to the U6S Air Force was scheduled for October 27, but it is set to be further delayed amid ongoing problems with certification of the aircraft’s refueling system.

On the other side

Sancho

UAE is just trying to stoke controversy in Rafale deal by visiting facility.
Has nothing to do with that, it's just normal for foreign officials to use LCA as a PR photo opp, just as we have seen in the sight seeing trips LCA made with officials from other countries.
If HAL was smart, they showcased the Advanced Hawk to the UAE, which would have much higher chances for exports than LCA.

Has nothing to do with that, it's just normal for foreign officials to use LCA as a PR photo opp, just as we have seen in the sight seeing trips LCA made with officials from other countries.
If HAL was smart, they showcased the Advanced Hawk to the UAE, which would have much higher chances for exports than LCA.
UAE was part of Kerala propaganda operation during floods. Rahul Gandhi met with few ex, current HAL workers and sought to get some traction but failed. Issue was about Rafale deal offsets. Now same UAE visits HAL as part of foreign trip?

UAE is coincidentally buying Eurofighter Typhoons and is negotiating for Rafales. They seem to be super interested in our Rafale deal which is also strange, in their local media. Smells funny.................

https://gulfnews.com/news/asia/india/what-is-the-rafale-deal-controversy-1.2286071

http://www.tacticalreport.com/view_news/UAE-France-and-possible-reactivation-of-Rafale-deal/5512

https://www.defensenews.com/digital...ernize-uaes-mirage-fleet-for-a-reported-350m/

Has nothing to do with defence nor with politics, but with the fact that UAE has a large number of workers from Kerala.
UAE wants converts and influence in India. Thus they see an avenue to promote disharmony in India by any and all means. Even ToT if it were offered to UAE will seem less unless a private company produces it under license in India. Indian PSUs are a textbook case of how NOT to run a company.

They are neither buying EF or Rafale, but want F35.
UAE is 'buying' (not bought) Eurofighter Typhoons not F 35. USA will never sell to an unreliable middle east country because of Israeli objections. Israel is the only F 35 partner to get access to the source code and even have their own unique variant F 35I.

Sancho

UAE is 'buying' (not bought) Eurofighter Typhoons not F 35
And again, UAE is not buying EFs, Saudis, Oman, Kuwait and Qatar are. UAE only evaluated EFs years ago and since then has not gone any further. They already stated preference for F35, if they can get them is another question.