India Launched Surgical Strikes Across LoC: DGMO 29/09/2016

The Die Is Cast
by Pratap Bhanu Mehta
We do not know the full details of the surgical strike along the LoC. But the official narrative around it has been professionally surgical. This was a limited strike to pre-empt terrorists from entering India. India acted within its rights. The target was terrorists, not Pakistan’s army or territory. It is for now envisaged, officially, as a limited operation.

The diplomatic circumstances around the operation have used this particular conjunction in global politics, and India’s built-up diplomatic capital well. But in the wider discourse and ideological framing, there is a sense, to use the line attributed to Ceaser when crossing the Rubicon: Alea iacta est (the die has been cast). The operation itself is not unprecedented. But the operation’s public use as a statement of India’s intent and resolve is new. The operation, by its public embrace, becomes the declaration of a policy. Its immediate psychological effect has been to boost confidence in our capabilities. It will also, therefore, change expectations, and potentially, the assessment of future options. It enhances Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s standing. It gives him unprecedented political capital, both for his foreign and domestic agenda.

The operation is one in a series of diplomatic and political moves, so its full effect will depend on how that chain unfolds. It is too early to conclude anything. But what are the mechanisms to watch out for, by which this operation might have an effect? How might these mechanisms work? Do they suggest things will get worse before they get better?

In strategic terms, we are, whatever the government might stay, still in an ambiguous zone. We demonstrated that we will not succumb to nuclear blackmail; that the threshold before things go out of hand can be raised. But the real question is: What is the bandwidth? A “shallow” strike across the LoC is, at best, tinkering with strategic restraint. It is not abandoning it. It is not a form of action that either significantly degrades Pakistan’s capabilities, or compels it to change posture. The real test will come now, if both sides engage in discovery of what the new threshold is. This is not something that should be deduced a priori.

But the main mechanisms to look out for are political. The operation puts the Pakistani Army in a bind. The potentially most powerful effect of the operation may be to put some stress on the relationship between the military and non-state actors in Pakistan. While strikes like these are unlikely to degrade Pakistan’s capabilities much, they will, depending on the extent of casualties, raise the following question.

Presumably, the non-state actors will demand greater protection, and hence increase the potential cost of using them. It is one thing to risk your life inflicting damage on the “enemy”; another to be sitting ducks without protection. The Pakistan Army cannot be seen to be abandoning its non-state assets and proxies.

The second thing it could lead to in the short run is change of modus operandi: Instead of cross-border infiltration aimed at Kashmir and the border, there is more targeting of other soft targets. We will not see the effects immediately. Even if Pakistan had the assets and capabilities in place, it would be too obvious a coincidence were something to happen almost immediately. But the prospects for long-term escalation remain.

The second bind for the Pakistani Army is this. Pakistan’s initial response has been a form of denial. But that is to be expected. They will also want to control the narrative. It also gives them room for political manoeuvre.

But if the Indian strikes are seen as humiliating, it is bound to have two effects. On the one hand, it will have repercussions on the institutional politics inside Pakistan. It could dent the authority of the current military leadership.

India’s decision to release footage may have an influence on this politics. On the other hand, the fuel that powers Pakistani elites’ identity is humiliation. Pakistan has an extraordinary history of turning humiliation into a basis for new resolve. And here we may have crossed a Rubicon. As much as the army statement on the strikes was professional, the political and ideological sabre-rattling will go across the border as an attempt to humiliate.

The India-Pakistan relationship is almost psychoanalytic. The public triumphalism about this operation in India is not just cathartic, as if to say we are no longer passive victims. Let us not put too fine a point on it: Public discourse also has shades of blood lust. This blood lust is also evident in irresponsible sections of the Pakistani leadership. While the government may want a calibrated strategic escalation, the psychological escalation is now out of control.

The government is doing a good cop-bad cop story: Responsible, statesmanlike articulation at the top, but through the party, a kind of ideological blitzkrieg on the other hand. At one level, the aggressive public posture is not an add-on: It is itself a part of the strategy to signal that Pakistan should not escalate, because we are capable of anything. But such psychological passions will need to find their recompense on both sides, particularly if there are casualties. In India this psychological recompense is also needed for the fact that we have, for the moment, lost Kashmir. More than 80 days of curfew is a deep moral loss, no matter what we do to Pakistan. This genie will not be put back in easily.

There is widespread exasperation with Pakistan. There is also a leadership vacuum in global politics: From Syria to Afghanistan, the US is disengaged or stuck. China’s overreach and ideological imperatives make it difficult for it to be an effective international actor in diplomatic terms. This vacuum has given India some breathing space. But this space has, paradoxically, been a consequence of India’s relative restraint. It would be foolish to assume unequivocal support for India if hostilities escalate. The international community may be exasperated with Pakistan. But in a global leadership vacuum, there will also be wariness of action that challenges the authority of the Pakistani military beyond a point.

The strategic and diplomatic thinking may be calibrated. There is a possibility that India will say, “we have made our point, “ and Pakistan will say “we have got it”. This will be the rational position to take. But there is reason to worry that this may not come to pass. This is because in both India and Pakistan, regimes have now tied the mast of their popular legitimacy to taking strong action against the other. That is not a reassuring thought.
Source>>

This problem with banu metha types

Now this left/lib people wants IA army to strike but doesnot want GoI to own it and always remain pussy type.

They site eg of attacks happens in past too but now owned by GoI of past .but they donot humiliate paki elites.

as if pak elites give any fu,,,k about such lib people

whenever there is aatck in india this paski elite celebrate

Guys this is today's press conference, i posted wrong video

PLEASE LISTEN TO HIS LOGIC LOL

@Brood Father @Bornubus @hit&run @Ghanteshwar @Darth Malgus
Decoding the video
Quote ..Hum aisa jawab denge jo vo soch bhee nahee saktein
Actual meaning....We will remain in denial mode as it not expected from any NUCKLEEER POWAAA

Quote ..Never ever seen Para SF operating like this
Actual Meaning ...We don't have Para SF or any unit of such capability , how can we know about their operating capability

Q..We have all the systems in place in LOC , wouldnt be possible by Indians to infiltrate
AM ...Since our economy is in tatters and everyone is involved in corruption we have junk equipment in LOC which works at will , Also we love to take tight nap after dinner

Q..We are battle hardened
AM ..Since birth we are denial mode , we deny that we are even born , So now we have become DENIAL HARDENED

Darth Malgus

Decoding the video
Actual meaning....We will remain in denial mode as it not expected from any NUCKLEEER POWAAA

Actual Meaning ...We don't have Para SF or any unit of such capability , how can we know about their operating capability

Q..We have all the systems in place in LOC , wouldnt be possible by Indians to infiltrate
AM ...Since our economy is in tatters and everyone is involved in corruption we have junk equipment in LOC which works at will , Also we love to take tight nap after dinner

AM ..Since birth we are denial mode , we deny that we are even born , So now we have become DENIAL HARDENED
I hope Modi's security detail is very Alert. I have a feeling taking him out may be in the agenda.

Then we will have an all out war , if they will hit modi we will have no other choice but to go to all out offensive
We can also witness Nuclear war (which is an eventuality)
Indians should be prepared for anything ...but so does pakistani

Then we will have an all out war , if they will hit modi we will have no other choice but to go to all out offensive
We can also witness Nuclear war (which is an eventuality)
Indians should be prepared for anything ...but so does pakistani
Also if they hit modi world can say goodbye to it 1/4 population and remaining will starve to death and nuclear winters

Shamelessly paraphrasing BF..with my comments in red

Saale bhoot ki tarah ghus ke aate hain aur humaari baja ke chale jaate hain..to kahaan se dikheinge..lekin yaar is baar to hadd hi kar di..kuchh to lihaaz karo..kam se kam vaseline hi laga lete...

We never thought any sane person would want to come to our hellhole. Which is why Indians have a fence on the LoC, humaara to naam hi kaafi hai. This proves my point that Indians are certifiably insane..

Humaari fauj ko badi bahaaduri ke saath peeche hatne ka poora tajurba hai

A worth reading article. So, not writing in quotes.:rofl:
Why the world should applaud Pakistan for continuing to deny India's surgical strikes

By Sreemoy Tendulkar
More than 48 hours since India's Special Forces moved across the LoC, neutralised some terror facilities and killed over 50 operatives in four sectors of Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir and then owned up the covert operation, Islamabad and Rawalpindi have sent confusing signals. Mostly, though, Pakistan army and administration have remained in stout and fierce denial.

This has understandably caused bafflement and even mirth in India.

Apart from a small section of the media which still appears to be skeptical about the Wednesday night surgical strikes, the overwhelming feeling is that Pakistan's denial is an extension of its self-delusion. Pakistan's critics have pointed out that nothing more could be expected of a revisionist nation which still deludes itself into believing that it won in 1965 and denied the presence of terror masterminds Osama bin Laden and Mullah Omar inside its territory till the US came and took them down.

Maybe. But I would argue here that in this case, Pakistan's denial isn't an example of its illusion, rather a laudable step in a difficult situation. So long as the Pakistan Army does not carry out any retaliatory misadventures and stays within the confines of rhetoric and even ridicule, India would do well to give Pakistan the legroom it needs and even indulge in some of its false bravados. A bit of banter never harmed anyone. Nobody, absolutely nobody wants a full-scale war between two nuclear-armed nations.

For the doubters in India who think that the entire operation is a figment of Narendra Modi and Indian Army's imagination, well, nothing can be said because to this date some people still choose to believe that NASA faked the moon landing. Besides, even if for argument's sake we consider that India faked it, the purpose has been solved. So doubters have the permission to doubt in peace and perpetuity.

Shock and alarm in Pakistan
For a more realistic understanding of Pakistan's response, consider the series of steps that Islamabad and Rawalpindi have undertaken since the strikes "which never happened". After vociferously claiming that India had carried out nothing more than cross-border artillery shelling which was an "existential phenomenon" Pakistan moved unusually quickly on the political, diplomatic and military fronts.

Reports have emerged out of Pakistan recalling its battalions employed for Operation Zarb-e-Azb (counter-terrorism operations), cancelling all leaves and putting the army in an emergency alert.
India Today, quoting sources, reports that Islamabad has begun mobilising troops, reserves and mechanised infantry along the Indian borders. Intelligence agencies have confirmed enlistment of Pakistani troops, says the report.

On the political front,
Suhasini Haidar reveals in The Hindu that Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has convened a series of urgent high-level meetings to discuss the situation at LoC. The government has also "convened a special joint session of the Pakistani Parliament on Wednesday, which will follow the National Security Committee meeting, where Nawaz Sharif has extended a special invitation to all the chief ministers to speak about the LoC situation".

On the diplomatic front, Pakistan's permanent UN ambassador Maleeha Lodhi met New Zealand's UN envoy Gerard van Bohemen, who is president of the 15-member Security Council for September, and "brought to his attention the dangerous situation that is building up in our region as a result of Indian provocation",
according to a Reuters report.

Taken together, these represent a rather unusual response for "regular artillery shelling across the border" from India.
Livemint notes that Nawaz has called "Indian aggression" a threat to the entire region and even "warned that Pakistan is also capable of executing surgical strikes and will not allow anyone to cast an evil eye on it.
:pound:
And finally, a senior Pakistani journalist has told Dawn that "It would be more accurate to say that there was an incursion, which means Indian troops may have crossed the Line of Control (LoC), but it cannot be called a "surgical strike".

Why the denial
Now let's come to the question at the centre of it all. Why is Pakistan denying the operation and taking reactionary steps at the same time? The answer is multi-layered and incumbent on various factors. The first among these is a conundrum. If Pakistan were to admit that the strike indeed has taken place, it would be forced to concede two crucial points.

One, that well-laid out terror infrastructure exists in Pok, a position that it has flatly and consistently denied in the past. That would be a telling blow to its Kashmir narrative because the fulcrum of its complaint is that the "Kashmir rebellion is home-grown" and all Indian accusation of cross-border incitement is false. Pakistan Army cannot afford to confirm its own lies.

Two, any admission of Indian surgical strikes would be a humiliating kick in the face of its supposedly "invincible" army led by the larger-than-life macho General Raheel Sharif. That would be a bigger existential crisis, more critical than point No.1.

Consider the improbability of an admission. India says that it carried out a cross-LoC incursion and brought "significant damage" to Pakistan's terror factories. And all of this supposedly happened when Pakistan Army was at an advanced stage of battle-readiness with regular reports of"thundering F-16s landing on civilian airstrips".

India's action, therefore, would be especially galling for General Raheel Sharif who is so close to retirement and angling for an extension. Only a few days back, the general had bragged that Pakistan Army "has now become invincible", and "knows all covert and overt intrigues and intentions of the enemies" while addressing a gathering in connection with Defence Day at GHQ, Rawalpindi, according to a report in The Indian Express.

"I want to make it clear to all enemies of Pakistan that Pakistan has always been strong and today it is invincible,” The Express Tribune quoted Sharif as saying, elaborates the report. The egg on his face would be difficult to wash off.

But there is a third reason why Pakistan is denying the strike. And this is by far the most important motivation. If it admits to the surgical strike, Rawalpindi has absolutely no option other than to retaliate against India. And it cannot be a proxy intervention. The army, the only institution that enjoys a modicum of respect in a failed state, cannot afford to be publicly humiliated by its greatest enemy and keep quiet. That would rob Rawalpindi of its halo and forever cripple its hold over Islamabad. While that would be a good thing, in the long run, it is certainly not part of 'Pindi khakis' plan.

And if a military intervention does take place, India will have no option but to retaliate and it could soon escalate into a full-blown war between nuclear-armed rivals with potentially devastating consequences. Which is why Pakistan's denial is actually a laudable attempt to defuse the tension. It is telling its awaam that "nothing happened", so they are under no obligation to take revenge.

And that is exactly why Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been mysteriously silent about one of the most professional surgical operations carried out by the Indian Army.

Explaining Modi's radio silence

Consider the very controlled and restrained statement released by the Indian Army, which was careful to stress that this was "merely a counter-terrorism operation" aimed at "preventing terror modules from infiltrating into Indian border" and that "operation has ended and no such action will take place." DGMO Lt Gen Ranbir Singh said, among other things, that: "The operations aimed at neutralizing terrorists have since ceased. We do not have any plans for further continuation. However, the Indian Armed Forces are fully prepared for any contingency that may arise… I have been in touch with Pakistan Army DGMO and have informed him of our actions. It is India's intention to maintain peace and tranquillity in the region… We expect the Pakistani army to cooperate with us to erase the menace of terrorism from the region."

This is Indian Army telling Pakistan Army that 'look, we have no intention of intruding your airspace or violating your sovereignty, and we merely did what we did because we were acting in self-defence."

This was accompanied by complete silence from Modi who reportedly personally monitored the operation. There was not even one laudatory message for the army from the PM. His silence can be interpreted as total reluctance to aggravate the situation with rhetorical bombast. He clearly does not wish to heap more humiliation on Pakistan. The surgical strike itself would have conveyed what needed to be conveyed.

International pressure

The final piece in the Pakistan's denial jigsaw falls in place when we consider that post the surgical strike, all major global powers have either backed Indian stand asking Pakistan to remove terror infrastructure from within the area it controls (US and Russia), gave sermons on the need for exercising restraint (China), or complete silence about the strike despite Pakistan's outrage. This means a resounding diplomatic defeat for Pakistan. But more than that, it also means that the world is telling Pakistan to take the strike on its chin and move on. And nobody minds giving Pakistan some space to carry on with its bluster provided there is no escalation. Denial is the least we should allow.

What about the millions of anti nationals inside this country? What about them?
All in good time sir..all in good time.

Do remember Tulsidas ji likhe the. "Bhay bin hot na preet" or "no respect without fear".

Once the gloves are off and a mental barrier is breached, some will fall into line on their own.

If I were them, I would be afraid, very afraid..

Decoding the video

:rofl::pound: Nice one

Quote .."Never ever seen Para SF operating like this "
Seems like pakis are surprised and awed by the efficiency of our Para SF troops.

As a sobering thought, I hope our soldier who strayed over is brought back safely and alive.

If sanity prevails, Bakis will return the soldier and use it as a major tool to score diplomatic brownie points and claim (with due apologies to Amitabh Bacchan) hum dushmani mein bhi sharaafat rakhte hain.

Let's see how it plays out...

Superdefender

Hey brothers one question. It is a fact that more than 38 terrorpigs had been slained. The no. will be 50-70. But what is the actual no. of dead PAK soliers? Is it 2 or 9?!! Our local news paper yesterday published 9 dead. I thought it as some printing error. But today again it has been published that 9 dead under the headline "How the attack happened?". What is the truth?

Abhinav Dharma

ah there was news that there may be crisis in punjab because there may be war and see this
(Sorry if Already Posted)
They Are diplomatically isolated in South Asia
Source :-http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/politics-and-nation/pakistan-announces-cancellation-of-saarc-summit/articleshow/54611707.cms
ISLAMABAD: Pakistan on Friday formally announced that the 19th Saarc Summit which was to be held in Islamabad in November this year has been cancelled.

A statement form the Foreign Office said that "the spirit of the Saarc Charter is violated when a member state casts the shadow of its bilateral problems on the multilateral forum for regional cooperation".

"Pakistan attaches great importance to regional cooperation under the umbrella of Saarc and remains committed to hos ..

Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

And This
imes.com/news/defence/pakistan-puts-off-saarc-summit-after-sri-lanka-drops-out/articleshow/54604453.cms
Pakistan puts off Saarc summit after Sri Lanka drops out
By Dipanjan Roy Chaudhury, ET Bureau | Sep 30, 2016, 03.58 PM IST
Post a Comment

READ MORE ON » Sri Lanka | SAARC | Pakistan | India
NEW DELHI: Pakistan on Friday ‘postponed’ the Saarc summit, scheduled for November 9 and 10, hours after Sri Lanka became the fifth nation to drop out of the meet. “Pakistan deplores India's decision to impede the Saarc process by not attending the 19th Saarc summit at Islamabad on 9-10 November 2016,” the Pakistan foreign office said in a statement.

“India's decision to abstain from the summit on the basis of unfounded assumptions on the Uri incident is a futile effort to divert at ..
Source:-http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/defence/pakistan-puts-off-saarc-summit-after-sri-lanka-drops-out/articleshow/54604453.cms
Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Bharat Ek Khoj

They are basically part of international gang of media. You can't do anything about it. Otherwise they will plant a story like rapped for eating beef and spread it worldwide.

^^ I don't think our soldiers stopped to count. They laid waste to whatever and whoever came in their way. Now they say 7 camps were targeted, each harbouring an estimated 15-20 Piglets. Let's assume an attachment of 3-4 TSPA piglets with each camp.

I think it's safe to assume that nearly all the occupants of these camps met their 72. But let's assume conservatively that at least 90% piglets were halaaled.

Total number = 7x20=140

90% of 140= 126.

That would be my conservative estimate.

Imaxxx

"Shaktimev Jayate" - Strength Alone Triumphs
Unkil hame bachao not working...again:
US tells Pak to shut down its nuclear talk amid regional tensions with India
  • Yashwant Raj, Hindustan Times, Washington|
  • Updated: Oct 01, 2016

In a blunt message delivered very publicly on Friday, the United States told the Pakistani government to “exercise restraint” regarding the use of nuclear weapons, or the talk about it, alluding to the rhetoric coming out of Islamabad lately.

“I would just say nuclear-capable states have a very clear responsibility to exercise restraint regarding nuclear weapons and missile capabilities,” US state department spokesman Mark Toner said at the daily briefing in response to a question, about "some of the rhetoric from the Pakistani government".

"And that’s my message publicly and that’s certainly our message directly to the Pakistani authorities," he added.

He didn't elaborate but the United States has been concerned about Pakistan's nuclear arsenal, said to be the fastest growing in the world, for a while and not only in the regional context but, and mostly, about terrorists getting access to them.

There had been a sharp rise in Islamabad in talk about using nuclear weapons to prevent India from carrying out a retaliatory strike against the Uri attack by Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Muhammad on September 18.
"We will destroy India if it dares to impose war on us. Pakistan army is fully prepared to answer any misadventure of India," Pakistani defence minister Khawaja Asif told a Pakistani TV channel last Monday.

"We have not made an atomic device to display in a showcase. If such a situation arises we will use it and eliminate India," he had added, raising alarm not only New Delhi but capitals around the world already worried about Pakistan's nuclear arsenal, which is growing rapidly, falling into the hands of terrorists. The defence minister had made a similar threat on September 17, the day before the Uri attack.
If his intention was to scare New Delhi, he failed.

Two days after Asif's interview, Indian special forces crossed the Line of Control to hit a string of launchpads in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir in what have been called "surgical strikes"; the extent of damage inflicted remains unclear.

Islamabad has not fully acknowledged them yet — even tried to dismiss it as a routine exchange of fire across the border — and, it is feared, it may rush into something rash to thwart criticism at home of allowing a humiliating infringement of its sovereignty go unanswered.

But a nuclear strike? Pakistan has talked publicly about using "low-yield, tactical nuclear weapons" (also called battlefield nuclear weapons) — that are less devastating than strategic nuclear weapons that can destroy entire towns and cities.

Pakistani officials have also been remarkably open about the purpose of these tactical weapons. “Our nuclear programme is one dimensional: Stopping Indian aggression before it happens. It is not for starting a war. It is for deterrence,” foreign secretary Aizaz Chaudhry said during a visit to the US in 2015.

The United States was planning to offer Pakistan a nuclear deal then that would have capped its nuclear arsenal in exchange for access to nuclear equipment and supplies it had facilitated for India in 2008. But it didn't work out.
http://m.hindustantimes.com/world-n...-with-india/story-wjjEOFWCCoLEp69lct4TRI.html

Has somebody any idea about Shabir shah(Kashmiri separatist leader).
Got some inputs that he was attacked