India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Shashank Nayak

I watched that Nitin Gokhale broadcast, very informative. What the Air Marshal said was that his assessment based on the the kind of platforms inducted into the PLAAF is that they are big into "no contact warfare" i..e stand off long range missiles etc. So yes, the PLAAF is for posturing before a war, but if a war does break out their tactics will be for stand off long range warfare.
Yes.. the chinese believe in non contact warfare... but control of territory is only via boots on the ground.. so PLAGF cannot vacate F5 to F8, for example.. for fear that IA will occupy the positions.. so a critical mass of PLAGF will always be within our artillery range

Tumba

where do MR-SAM & S-400 fit into this scenario?
can kill cruise missiles only if radar targeting network is integrated all over I doubt chalta hai military commanders cared abt that earlier,, basically we have to take hits in this case.

BabaKhalbali

they sure r... they gonna get surprise of modernised T-72 and T-90 cutting into heart of panjab and sindh if they try to play khota to chinis in J&K... lets make sure Kartarpur is captured this time ... before the ceasefire is called And LOC is straightened a bit.
LOC straighten nahin karna hai....pura wapis lena hai

can kill cruise missiles only if radar targeting network is integrated all over I doubt chalta hai military commanders cared abt that earlier,, basically we have to take hits in this case.
India speeds up work on setting up Air Defence Command

Tumba

LOC straighten nahin karna hai....pura wapis lena hai
not possible in 2 front war scenario we r bulky enough with 4 million fighting men but cant leave forces too thin... porkis r expert in using civilian shields and the mullas have too many kids like 15 per baap in porkistan... better kick border villagers and straighten LOC in few points and same time capture som border real estate in sindh and panjab for Exchange and negotiations.

Sarjen

I watched that Nitin Gokhale broadcast, very informative. What the Air Marshal said was that his assessment based on the the kind of platforms inducted into the PLAAF is that they are big into "no contact warfare" i..e stand off long range missiles etc. So yes, the PLAAF is for posturing before a war, but if a war does break out their tactics will be for stand off long range warfare.
I agree with you.. those bombers don't have to come within our range,.. CM will be fire but do you think Chinese will risk escalating that much ???

we can use this as a perfect excuse to target their bases and strategic bridges across LAC and Tibet with Brahmos etc.... they can't do a shit about it.

Tumba

Aifroce has linked all radars over india. Thats not the problem . Problem is saturation attacks
dont beleive, Indian link and nato standard integratioN is totally different... we r jugaadu ppl I trust if 3 targetting radars r available per battery we will buy one only and we have too many different systems link might be superficial integration is basically using everything as seamless targeting environment... I am well aware of these techie babus and commanders ... not possible

Yes.. the chinese believe in non contact warfare... but control of territory is only via boots on the ground.. so PLAGF cannot vacate F5 to F8, for example.. for fear that IA will occupy the positions.. so a critical mass of PLAGF will always be within our artillery range
Love across the Pangong Tso.
Sirijap will be razed to the ground if the Chinese get cocky and push their luck too far.

AmitG

That we are able to pull-off such ops right under their noses is testament to the raw grit and competence of our boys. Xinnie must be seething right now.
The ability of the Indian army to pull this off was never in doubt. The Indian army should have been given the go ahead right at the beginning of this conflict to go on the counter offensive. Maybe there was a need to stock up and make up for shortfalls. Anyway better late than never. The Chinese only understand strength. Things are getting interesting now.

Would be interested to know what is happening in the Depsang plains...