India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Rudra7678

too much information and each one contradicting the other.

can anyone post the link where the family has said that there are bullet wounds on the body?

that would clear a lot of things for me.
Here are two links:

"Company Leader Nyima Tenzin, 51, was reportedly killed by a gunshot in the neck. "

"Sources say that the Company Leader died after he stepped on a landmine while others say that he died of a gun shot wound to his neck."

Yes, army kids, sainik school kids, NCC c's have a leg up in SSB vs general population but I did not feel that any of it was against me going from a civil. I have cousins and tau ji in force though.....recently some coaching schools are offering for SSB interviews.
Coaching is a different matter .... but there is something called Compromising Selection system.. the moment it is detected in a candidate he is out..

NCC "C" is a very pathetic and sorry state,,, they are called in as a special batch. Out of 500 called 490 are out the first day as they fail in basic intelligence test.. rest ten go out after five day's good food...

Recently two NCC boys were selected from Gujrat and it made national News...

Sainik and Military Schools and RIMC are different ball games. It is six years of military-oriented group and leadership training environment for which the govt spends tons of money... they are bound to develop those qualities which SSB is looking for. Still, the selection rate for NDA between Sainik Schools and Civilians is about 50:50... all those guys from Sainik schools do not make it..

All these are Nehruvian ways of democratization of Military Leadership minus reservations ... these are intact and remain in place.. Indian Armed Forces is the only organization in the country where all shades of the population and all regions including NE find good representation without provision of reservations..

Rudra7678

At no point did Nithin Gokhale said that black top is under chinese control. What he said that there was a race between two and we are at the top while chinese are on nearby ridges. So peak is with us and surrounding areas are with chinese as per my understanding. I chinese had the top they wouldnt be running like dog who got petrol put into his ar*e.

Start from 8:35 mark. Thanks! According to him, IA is holding the extended ridge line to the Black Top, if I am understanding this correctly.

Lancer

Bana
Hi
The focus has been to dominate the infiltration routes while trying to show development in the hinterland
If you see, successful infil attempts have reduced sigificantly
A lot of preemption is on

As for Haji pir, It is with us.
Great to hear 👍 👍 👍

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
Now only US, India, Canada and Australia are speaking loudly against China. No one else has the guts. And countries like Britain, Germany are asking tough questions and banning Chinese things. But still they are mulling to speak against CCP loudly.

But things are picking up speed. Maybe its due to covid or maybe due to CCP's aggressive mindset in every field.

I wouldn't be surprised if in the coming months everybody start singling out China economically. Yes there is the factor of reliance on China. But soon that will also fade away.

omaebakabaka

Coaching is a different matter .... but there is something called Compromising Selection system.. the moment it is detected in a candidate he is out..

NCC "C" is a very pathetic and sorry state,,, they are called in as a special batch. Out of 500 called 490 are out the first day as they fail in basic intelligence test.. rest ten go out after five day's good food...

Recently two NCC boys were selected from Gujrat and it made national News...

Sainik and Military Schools and RIMC are different ball games. It is six years of military-oriented group and leadership training environment for which the govt spends tons of money... they are bound to develop those qualities which SSB is looking for. Still, the selection rate for NDA between Sainik Schools and Civilians is about 50:50... all those guys from Sainik schools do not make it..

All these are Nehruvian ways of democratization of Military Leadership minus reservations ... these are intact and remain in place.. Indian Armed Forces is the only organization in the country where all shades of the population and all regions including NE find good representation without provision of reservations..
Yes, standards are same for everyone....coaching mostly works if you want to develop physical strength to clear 10 obstacle test.....it was during my time but it was not hard to begin with. As you said, physical strength is not given huge weight. Medical can get you out....and most heart breaking

omaebakabaka

Yes, standards are same for everyone....coaching mostly works if you want to develop physical strength to clear 10 obstacle test.....it was during my time but it was not hard to begin with. As you said, physical strength is not given huge weight. Medical can get you out....and most heart breaking
Cut it out before someone complains OT

johnq

destroy won't be a good idea. then same will happen to ours and debris will threaten other sats and iss.
if we can disable those using emp, that'd be great but do we possess such capability?
KALI and its follow-ons could do it, but that would mean acknowledging its existence. Another way would be to hit the satellite at such a way that it either blows its components away from earth, or pushes them towards earth where they burn up on re-entry.

They don't lower standards just because you are from army family but as army kids they get lot of exposure and it leads to having some desirable personality for fouj plus fitness too.....thats the advantage but army families have their own share of hardships always on the move.
The selection process is a dynamic and flexible process... if one is an Army officer kid he is tested as per expectations of his environment and level of upbringing.. civilian'ss responses are adjudged differently... a 12th class pass and a graduate from a university can not have the same set of testing parameters..

After all, they are selecting humans with different stages of development and different set of backgrounds.. their sights are only on - leadership potential and trainability of a candidate..

The major issue in is that that can they make a horse out of an ass standing in front of them..

Aghore_King

That's a load of BS.

True, Army SSB has a soft corner for wards of ex-servicemen.

Also true that Retd. Officers run SSB training centers. They do a very good job in grooming lads and prepare them to deal with the initial screening and the ragda that follows. But to say that you can bribe your way past SSB is a load of BS. There are entire panels on the board. Are you saying you bribe every individual in the panel at every level?

Army only looks for certain qualities in an individual. The physical ability is secondary because trust me, the Army does a bloody good job in making you a fighting machine.

Kabhi aao SSB center, the real grind starts after initial screening. Most get weeded out in initial screening.
Do you know how many rounds of tests, how many individuals are involved in screening alone?
How many individuals will you buy out?

There is little to no scope to make any illgotten money till you atleast reach rank of Capt/Major. How do you recover your bribe money? Dowry? What if you get killed or are discharged from service due to some reason? What if a mishap occurs during training? Paisa gaya.

There may be 'agents' who take money promising you a job but rest assured, they pocket the money if the candidate makes it on his/her own merit or return the money/disappear from the scene if the candidate doesn't make it.

This is not some 'constable ki bahali' where agents, officers, politicians put pressure and try to get their candidates in.

I studied in a non-defence KV and my classmates elder brother made it to the one of the most elite fighting units of the Army. Their family only had priests, academicians or bankers in their family tree. He chose a different path. Reservation/Bias in SSB for wards of Ex-Army men is the weakest strawman argument I have come across. Sounds more like a case of 'sour grapes' than anything else.
Calm down man, no need to turn hyper. I was putting forward my opinion only after reviewing several cases.
There are always variations.
As for the second point, I was told by the relative of a guy who owns a training center that they can get me through SSB if i pay an amount and that they've "helped" several candidates this way.

Aghore_King

I know more than 10 people whose parents were officers in armed forces and didn't clear SSB . I just spoken to one yesterday who came back from his SSB not getting recommended whose family member is 2* level officer.

There are no special favours in SSB for children of armed forces , If that was the case i would be happily sitting in LOC or LAC today rather coming here and ranting .
OK Boss, fair enough.....

omaebakabaka

The selection process is a dynamic and flexible process... if one is an Army officer kid he is tested as per expectations of his environment and level of upbringing.. civilian'ss responses are adjudged differently... a 12th class pass and a graduate from a university can not have the same set of testing parameters..

After all, they are selecting humans with different stages of development and different set of backgrounds.. their sights are only on - leadership potential and trainability of a candidate..

The major issue in is that that can they make a horse out of an ass standing in front of them..
Lets continue in a more appropriate forum, mine was for NDA SSB and I did notice differences of how aggressive some army kids were compared to those pure civil. This topic is interesting.....my cousin was an instructor for few years at NDA

johnq

Most IRBM/ICBM use INS and other navigation methods and do not rely on sats in general as main guidance.
They are more likely to use their cruise missiles against army positions, and these take cues from their satellites; they would certainly lose accuracy without their satellites. But destroying their satellites over Himalayas would also render their GPS bombs ineffective, and their bombers/fighters would have a tougher time. I think they are less likely to use ballistic missiles against soldier positions because they are generally not as accurate, and they are also visible to radar, so can be jammed in their descent phase.

omaebakabaka

They are more likely to use their cruise missiles against army positions, and these take cues from their satellites; they would certainly lose accuracy without their satellites. But destroying their satellites over Himalayas would also render their GPS bombs ineffective, and their bombers/fighters would have a tougher time. I think they are less likely to use ballistic missiles against soldier positions because they are generally not as accurate, and they are also visible to radar, so can be jammed in their descent phase.
Cruise missiles mostly work by way points and terrain mapping. Now a days there is redundancy in guidance systems to bypass jamming and other things. GPS signals are actually easy to block and hack....not really sure if India has any equipment to do that but ISRO probably does....they fly different profiles to escape SAMS. If we look at recent Syria campaign, many CM's were shot down by TOR, Pantsir, S-200s....I feel India is a bit week on the AD side but missile war is unlikely to happen

Pugilist

The Europeans are finally waking up to the Chinese. EU’s top diplomat (Borell) launches amazing assault on China. Says China is a new Empire and that:

“...in order to be able to peacefully negotiate and settle conflicts [with] these new empires, built on values other than our own, we too must necessarily learn to speak what I have called the language of power.”

In a separate article piece he has a good swipe at Xi’s leadership.

Xi’s global reputation continues to get clobbered.

Wonderful stuff.

doreamon

this article says china ll send 300 fighter jets at a time in NE sky .We wont have enough option to counter that then bomb indian army . They ll suffer some loss but this number can surpass any airdefence we have ...
after that ground attack ll follow. chicken neck ll be taken over and NE ll be detached and then india ll surrender :laugh: As we have no nuclear 1st use policy ... Whats you guys think abt it .

Chanakya 002

Hey ...Hey ...Hey ... thamba Thamba...
The proportion of sons of JCO/OR and sons of Army Officers selected in SSB is 10:1... can check it...

SSB is very very hard-pressed to select candidates and every year there is a shortfall from given vacancies for almost all courses. SSB assessment is a dynamic selection process developed and constantly upgraded by a DODO organization by the name of DIPR and the psychologist there is a DODO Scientist.

Officers children are not joining the fauj ... that is one of the sad issues today..

Proceedings of the selection of a candidate are part of the service records of an officer till after retirement... the moment anything goes wrong.. they look at his selection proceedings at the first instance...

I assure you it is one of the top class selection procedures in the country...
I know SSB very well, in our time it was called SRB means service rejection board.
I have many friends and many juniors with very little IQ and non of the OLQ but are in armed forces as COs