India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Indrajit

Times of India says "$1B for 2 phalcon systems'...

Hindustan Times says "$1B for 2 aircraft from russia" and "$1B for two airborne radar systems".
Yeah, what I was referring to. You would assume they would be more careful with that kind of difference.

I read online its more to do with the platform the Radar is placed . A330 has 2 engines won't be generating the kind of power needed for PHALCON Radar . You needed 4 engine based platform so the only option for us is IL-76 . Chinese also placed their KJ2000 AWACS on IL-76 only .

Or else we get Airbus A340 and place the Radar dome on top of it .

"strategic autonomy".

We're obviously paying the Russians hafta for something.

Bhurki

I read online its more to do with the platform the Radar is placed . A330 has 2 engines won't be generating the kind of power needed for PHALCON Radar . You needed 4 engine based platform so the only option for us is IL-76 . Chinese also placed their KJ2000 AWACS on IL-76 only .

Or else we get Airbus A340 and place the Radar dome on top of it .
Those 2 engines(30+ tons each) are way more powerful than the 4(12 tons each) in IL76.

Moreover, its the endurance that matters the most in an awacs, that is, how long you can stay on station. And so efficiency is paramount requirement.
Russian engines are really poor when it comes to efficiency.

Also, IL76 is a cargo jet, and is meant to hold weight inside of its body. This makes the body fat and more draggy. Compare that to a civilian airliner which is far more drag efficient.

Seriously we hold military exercises with China and Russia similar level like what we do with Japan and USA

Do you even follow MALABAR for last 10 years ? the kind of naval exercise three countries do is nothing compared to the exercise IA do with PLA by sending few infantry soldiers

IAF also participate in Red flag exercise with USA , Japan airforce don't participate because of its own rules

Australia has been requesting for so long to be included in MALABAR its just the kind of influence bat shit eaters had infiltrated in their administration made us to keep them away for this long . Now with change in govt they will finally get a chance to join MALABAR

You don't go out in open beating your chest saying china we all 4 now formed an alliance to beat you . No one will do that its more like open threat to china

No it is not.

We hold military exercises even with russia and china.

We have logistical agreements with a lot of countries US france and are almost done with russia too.

All these are mutually exclusive things.

A military alliance is an agreement where nations sign an agreement to help each other against a certain enemy.

Until and unless an agreement like this is in place one cannot call it a military alliance.

Don't understand at all . How does a Tunnel in Rohtang near Manali would have avoided Kargil which was near Drass sector. Pakistan occupied the peaks and targeted Drass and Kargil sector . The route from Manali to leh is not only for Leh but also for other LAC sectors like Lahalu and Spiti valley , which now takes even more importance with chinese heating up the LAC .

The actual tunnel cost was 1800 Crores because of delay it escalated to 4000 crores

:hmm: Correct me if i am wrong but this tunnel should have been build in 80's.

If this tunnel had existed , kargil war wouldnt have happened . Even after kargil war it still took 2 decades to build it.

Internet search shows cost of kargil war as 10000 crore.

Tunnel cost: 4000 crore.

Not building the tunnel to save money and ended up having to fight an unnecessary war and build the tunnel anyway.

We are like a lazy college student , always putting of things until last minute , studying night before exam and somehow narrowingly passing .

mokoman

Don't understand at all . How does a Tunnel in Rohtang near Manali would have avoided Kargil which was near Drass sector. Pakistan occupied the peaks and targeted Drass and Kargil sector . The route from Manali to leh is not only for Leh but also for other LAC sectors like Lahalu and Spiti valley , which now takes even more importance with chinese heating up the LAC .

The actual tunnel cost was 1800 Crores because of delay it escalated to 4000 crores
Yep your right.

I was commenting on a quote by gadkari . But he was referring to Zoji La Tunnel not Rohtang Tunnel.

Inbredstank2a

Kargil happened because of a treaty which said no side will occupy some post as they are hard to maintain during winter with a country we fought wars with. I also don't understand why are guns not allowed in LAC. If we can shoot the chinese then situation would not have been like it is now.

Jaymax61

Kargil happened because of a treaty which said no side will occupy some post as they are hard to maintain during winter with a country we fought wars with. I also don't understand why are guns not allowed in LAC. If we can shoot the chinese then situation would not have been like it is now.
There was no treaty just a gentleman's agreement that both sides would be good during winter in the interest of soldiers on both sides.

Mushy being Mushy broke the agreement and got a kick on his tushy.

Now soldiers on both sides bust their balls in brutal cold guarding those posts.

#JustPakistanThings

Jaymax61

At the time of Kargil, there was no alt all weather route to Kashmir. By choking our primary supply line, Musharraf had hoped that India would fold as India did not have the stomach for a full war given Pak's recent Nuke tests.

An all weather alt route would have closed this topic on the discussion board in Pindi.

Proof of chinese casualty in galwan clash... The picture apparently came from weibo..

Apparently that particular graveyard has 36 such tombstones, all attributing "border defense battle against India." This could be a "token" grave site (the bodies aren't really there), since we've seen videos of PLA handing families ash urns.

1598715817674.png

So the tally of the Galwan skirmish now stands at 21 Indian fatalities, at least 36 PLA fatalities.

The PLA should be more worried about facing India in the winter than the other way around. They may be fortifying their positions, but we're blunting their equipment edge with each passing day. The geopolitical chess board is getting weighted in our favour, too. All India needs to do is hold its nerve and not bite Putin's bait (respectfully decline).

Putin's offer to Modi is basically "I'll get the Chinese to go back, you too go back, halt your construction activity, and accept their territorial gains (new status quo). You have my assurance they won't advance further."