India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

cereal killer

Ban On 101 Defence Items Imports In Push For Self-Reliance: Rajnath Singh

It is estimated that contracts worth almost Rs 4 lakh crore will be placed upon the domestic industry within the next 6 to 7 years.

The list includes high technology weapon systems like "artillery guns, assault rifles, corvettes, sonar systems, transport aircrafts, light combat helicopters, radars and many other items", the Centre said in a statement

Read more
Apart from Artillery guns rest seems to be all hogwash. We all know what will happen :lawl:

Europeans praising India...

US expert :-

:megusta:

Agree with all of them but 2 points:

1. Banning of IAS and as a matter of fact other bureaucrats is not the solution. It will create more problems. The bigger issue is the need of specialization which needs civil service reforms. Mind you. You cannot run a ministry without IAS. MoD does not work as a standalone agency. It needs integration and cooperation both vertical and horizontal with other ministries which is where IAS come in.

2. Ministry of personnel, public grievances and pensions is more apt. There is no such " ministry of welfare".
IAS and specialization? Impossible. Their specialisation is bossing around and establishing deep nexus with politicians as main agents of corruption and political manipulations. The problem with IAS is their inability to work with others without bossing. They create an absence of dialogue which is essential for MoD due to multiple agencies involved. What is required is the complete integration of MoD which IAS has assiduously blocked so far against mandates of so many national-level security committees.. The integration will create space for healthy dialogue at the policy-making level.

MoD has OFB, DRDO, DPSUs, Three Services, Defence Accounts and others and there is abject lack of trust and faith between all leading to IAS doing monkey tricks rather than promoting communication and dialogue. The absence of dialogue can lead to disaster in the strategic and Security realm.

Cactus09

Corruption is an
IAS and specialization? Impossible. Their specialisation is bossing around and establishing deep nexus with politicians as main agents of corruption and political manipulations. The problem with IAS is their inability to work with others without bossing. They create an absence of dialogue which is essential for MoD due to multiple agencies involved. What is required is the complete integration of MoD which IAS has assiduously blocked so far against mandates of so many national-level security committees.. The integration will create space for healthy dialogue at the policy-making level.

MoD has OFB, DRDO, DPSUs, Three Services, Defence Accounts and others and there is abject lack of trust and faith between all leading to IAS doing monkey tricks rather than promoting communication and dialogue. The absence of dialogue can lead to disaster in the strategic and Security realm.
Corruption is an issue which plaques every section of the government. And that includes defence services as well. Enough cases are out there in public to say the same.Tackling that is a whole new issue altogether which requires a different approach. There are just too many stakeholders not just in MoD but in other ministries as well. Thats why " structural reforms" have been suggested time and time again for IAS training to bring in specialization. Your arguments might be true for older IAS officers with colonial mindset. Not for the new ones. And that goes for every organization which has old people stuck in past mindset running the organisation.
Even armed forces suffer from the same with evidences of strong interservice rivalry.

IAS being both the problem and the solution is the whole reality of the governance setup. You cannot have governance without bureaucracy and bureaucracy without governance. Thats the bitter truth. The best way is to separate the bureaucracy and the IAS into their field of interest right from their training days. The same way it is done for armed forces. That will help solve issues not just of MoD but the whole governance setup.

without doing basic reforms such as restructuring of MOD and corporatization of useless PSU these new policy which are passed every year will be useless.
▪A robust feedback mechanism should be made so that forces get what they want as we all are aware of the INSAS saga where army kept asking for modifications.
▪ private companies should be encouraged and make sure that all foreign collaborations are done with them as their learning process is fast .

Corruption is an

Corruption is an issue which plaques every section of the government. And that includes defence services as well. Enough cases are out there in public to say the same.Tackling that is a whole new issue altogether which requires a different approach. There are just too many stakeholders not just in MoD but in other ministries as well. Thats why " structural reforms" have been suggested time and time again for IAS training to bring in specialization. Your arguments might be true for older IAS officers with colonial mindset. Not for the new ones. And that goes for every organization which has old people stuck in past mindset running the organisation.
Even armed forces suffer from the same with evidences of strong interservice rivalry.

IAS being both the problem and the solution is the whole reality of the governance setup. You cannot have governance without bureaucracy and bureaucracy without governance. Thats the bitter truth. The best way is to separate the bureaucracy and the IAS into their field of interest right from their training days. The same way it is done for armed forces. That will help solve issues not just of MoD but the whole governance setup.
Administrative Reform is a big bane in a country like India. Adminstrative reforms starts from a village level administration to Union Ministry...

Panchayati Raj concept was hailed as a penecea for a long time but today Vullege Panchayt has turned into worst kind of politics one can ever imagines which has divided villages into caste , creeds, muhallas, parties, clans and even between husband and wives. IAS hold over corruption has widely increased due to village Pradhans.
The concept of bureaucracy of being a rulers rather than a service is the fundamental cause. Why does one need a super rattu professor Pundit to be an IAS is basic qualification is graduation? Why should age of entry be extended to 32 years when 24 years is good enough. Why should there be a concept of Superior service and Subordinate Service? Why should there be promotion and eligibility test at each level of promotion/ Why should every IAS be guaranteed minimum Secretary level retirement.? We are no longer a colony..

To be good DM of a district one must start at Naib Tahsildar and spend minimum of twelve years in subordinate ranks before one is appointed as SDM? Why should a two years IPS be SP of a district?

There are a lot of problems in Administration of the country which need to be tackled at the grass-root level. Administration reforms invariably must strike at the root of Politician administration nexus nad that is why administrative reforms will never take place.

without doing basic reforms such as restructuring of MOD and corporatization of useless PSU these new policy which are passed every year will be useless.
▪A robust feedback mechanism should be made so that forces get what they want as we all are aware of the INSAS saga where army kept asking for modifications.
▪ private companies should be encouraged and make sure that all foreign collaborations are done with them as their learning process is fast .
Public and private enterprise are two sides of the same coin except that one side is a little smoother than the other.
Only objective is to make mota paisa including margins and make an ass out of the buyer.

When cheaper and far better alternatives are available via imports, block them in the name of Desh Prem, Atmanirbharta, Desh Bhakti, etc.

I don't care if we have to import an entire factory line , but for God's sake, improve the ammunition quality. It can be done at a far lesser cost than what is being quoted by OFB.

Indrajit

Our Foreign Minister competing with Imran Khan on who is a better beggar. This Chap has no honor or dignity.

He’s the son of KS Subramanyam. Should be amongst the last persons to be accused of not having dignity or honour. You always have to leave an “out” in diplomacy, he’s doing his job. Probably one of the best foreign ministers India has ever had.

Raj Malhotra

Being Son of Anyone is not a Qualification. Whole attitude of MEA is of surrender. His personal attitude is of 10th Class Student reading a speech from cut & paste Internet Articles. He is out right failure. Like a 1962 Menon without the wit.

MEA has obstructed all major economic actions against China on the pretext of giving an out to them. Instead India has been outed from its own Areas. Begging is not diplomacy.

If he was such a great visionary then how come this moron was sleeping when intrusion happened.

cereal killer

Being Son of Anyone is not a Qualification. Whole attitude of MEA is of surrender. His personal attitude is of 10th Class Student reading a speech from cut & paste Internet Articles. He is out right failure. Like a 1962 Menon without the wit.

MEA has obstructed all major economic actions against China on the pretext of giving an out to them. Instead India has been outed from its own Areas. Begging is not diplomacy.

If he was such a great visionary then how come this moron was sleeping when intrusion happened.
What he is supposed to do? He will follow GOI instructions. He can't turn rogue & issue provoking statements without any backing. I think so far he is doing fine job.

nice read.
He he...
====
Were there incidents between the two sides like the present ones?
There used to be pushing and pulling at times and we had identified the characters (Chinese) who, whenever they came with a patrol, would behave like that. So we used to be prepared accordingly. There was a very interesting case in Yangtse. We have an advantage over them there and we could see when they were coming and by the number of vehicles we could know how many of them were there. I decided that we have to have moral ascendancy over them and issued orders that as and when the Chinese approached, our troops would pop up to confront them five at a time. The Chinese did not know how many of our troops were there and they started asking our officers upfront how many people did we have there. Our simple answer used to be, ‘enough’.
In another incident, in 2018 when I was Corps Commander, a senior colonel of the PLA (equivalent to Indian Army Brigadier) attempted to enter our area with a sizeable number of troops to take pictures. He tried every trick to get upto a certain point. He came with 400 people. However, we were well placed in 4 Corps. We also put those many across. When they could not push us back, they started interacting. The senior officer came down to pleading and confessed that he was going to get sacked if we do not let him take pictures. ‘I am a very high profile officer. All I want to do is take one picture I will not take any of my men along’, he pleaded.
Our CO told him very clearly that we have to maintain status quo and any issue should be taken up with higher headquarters or in border peace meetings. Then we saw him pull out bottle of wine and two glasses and offered one to the CO. Obviously he (the CO) did not take as he was was on duty. That fellow (Chinese) drank the whole bottle, became emotional and again pleaded. So I told my CO to tell the Chinese Lt Colonel accompanying him that his senior was behaving irrationally and if anything happens he will be responsible. Eventually they went back.

He he...
====
Were there incidents between the two sides like the present ones?
There used to be pushing and pulling at times and we had identified the characters (Chinese) who, whenever they came with a patrol, would behave like that. So we used to be prepared accordingly. There was a very interesting case in Yangtse. We have an advantage over them there and we could see when they were coming and by the number of vehicles we could know how many of them were there. I decided that we have to have moral ascendancy over them and issued orders that as and when the Chinese approached, our troops would pop up to confront them five at a time. The Chinese did not know how many of our troops were there and they started asking our officers upfront how many people did we have there. Our simple answer used to be, ‘enough’.
In another incident, in 2018 when I was Corps Commander, a senior colonel of the PLA (equivalent to Indian Army Brigadier) attempted to enter our area with a sizeable number of troops to take pictures. He tried every trick to get upto a certain point. He came with 400 people. However, we were well placed in 4 Corps. We also put those many across. When they could not push us back, they started interacting. The senior officer came down to pleading and confessed that he was going to get sacked if we do not let him take pictures. ‘I am a very high profile officer. All I want to do is take one picture I will not take any of my men along’, he pleaded.
Our CO told him very clearly that we have to maintain status quo and any issue should be taken up with higher headquarters or in border peace meetings. Then we saw him pull out bottle of wine and two glasses and offered one to the CO. Obviously he (the CO) did not take as he was was on duty. That fellow (Chinese) drank the whole bottle, became emotional and again pleaded. So I told my CO to tell the Chinese Lt Colonel accompanying him that his senior was behaving irrationally and if anything happens he will be responsible. Eventually they went back.
"became emotional and pleaded again" :pound: