India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

Synergy

Are the Chinkies out of their mind?!!

They are really considering crossing the mountains & attack us..
Wondering what would happen in case India manages to cut of their supply lines and thousands of their troops are trapped on our side for the picking...
probably, they are not out of mind. they are stretching us thin.
they won't cross mountains. they will take little bit of our land (at this juncture), might be few km. and for doing so, they assumed, we don't have the guts to retaliate.

just think, no country will ever threaten (with a war) India with 40/50k or 100k troops until and unless it's sure that India won't retaliate. and I'm afraid, but they are completely right in their study (till now).

now they are bringing troops and consolidating their positions. they won't attack. they will just defend their newly acquired positions. we have to attack them to oust them from there. will a mirror deployment from our side be very useful in that regard?

I'm sorry but imo till now we are playing in their terms.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
I agree Pakis have a limited air space to defend still they've got nearly 390 active fighter aircrafts. We on the other hand a nearly two front situation every time have got only 615 active fighters. At a bare minimum I guess we need to up this number to 800 in at most 2-3 years. We need to get hold more of Migs & mirages & buy F16/FA18's to fulfill this emergency.
and from where do you think you will find pilots? you can buy a plane in 2-3 years but can't effectively train pilots for the same. IAF already have shortage of pilots as is.

Chandragupt Maurya

I agree Pakis have a limited air space to defend still they've got nearly 390 active fighter aircrafts. We on the other hand a nearly two front situation every time have got only 615 active fighters. At a bare minimum I guess we need to up this number to 800 in at most 2-3 years. We need to get hold more of Migs & mirages & buy F16/FA18's to fulfill this emergency.
Is our airspace really much bigger than Pakistan ? Because we are a peninsula and a huge part of our country is surrounded by ocean which can be attacked by navy and Naval Airforce only

Synergy

The Chinese's are rolling aircraft's like a no ender's , Seroiusly need's to look out for the RMAF MIG 29's around 19's offered .
only secondhand F16 (or F18) can give us the required numbers at this point of time.

we will have many good fighters in the near future, but war is knocking at our door, RIGHT NOW.

ARVION

only secondhand F16 (or F18) can give us the required numbers at this point of time.

we will have many good fighters in the near future, but war is knocking at our door, RIGHT NOW .
The , RMAF offered us 19 MIG 29's and even the , QAF offered us the 12 2000's . The malaysian deal was in the exchange for spare part's , engine and supplier's for the SU 30 MKM's .

Synergy

and from where do you think you will find pilots? you can buy a plane in 2-3 years but can't effectively train pilots for the same. IAF already have shortage of pilots as is.
worst case scenario, I think we have 1000s of pilots who are not actively piloting right now. hoping we will get 100/200 from them who are fit enough to fly.
and we know F16s in and out.

cereal killer

Is our airspace really much bigger than Pakistan ? Because we are a peninsula and a huge part of our country is surrounded by ocean which can be attacked by navy and Naval Airforce only
Add North East + China border too. See the upcoming air fields Chinese are setting up. Clearly at the moment we don't have numbers to deal with two front situation.

cereal killer

The , RMAF offered us 19 MIG 29's and even the , QAF offered us the 12 2000's . The malaysian deal was in the exchange for spare part's , engine and supplier's for the SU 30 MKM's .
And I heard PAF was all set to add 30+ Mirage V from Egypt. We Should've pushed hard at QAF to hand us those 12 mirages. Is that deal still on?

We must stock up on chai biscuit supplies too since we plan to run this charade all year long.

China builds airfields helipads roads air defence areas etc.

Us aree aap aye na chai nasta kijiye chalo baith ke baat karte hai.

What does csg expect huh that chinese will be so impressed by their english that they will leave us alone.

Also wasn't this the same group which was saying that we must mend ties with china not anger them or something like that?

AmitG

Deterrence from Denial to Punishment
Keeping the above framework in view, let us see how has Modi’s India has worked on the latest Security dilemma China has created for India.

• If the Chinese actions are directed at Road DSDBO. India has made it clear that it will be carried on. India is on the verge of completion of the road project.
  • India has so far deployed its military machine on denial mode that is for raising the costs for China to advance any further at an unacceptable loss, as also more or less standing firm on its territorial integrity and sovereignty.
  • India has also taken a small punitive action in Galwan thereby clearly signaling that India was willing to use military instruments to punish China for its misadventure.

• Punishment by Other means=
  • Banning 104 apps to impose economic costs and destroying resources dear to the enemy.
  • Formation and participation of quad is an attempt to take the battle to an area that certainly is more dear and harmful to China than LAC.
  • Not falling for the Chinese trap for a direct military confrontation at contested areas where China gained positional and numerical superiority due to military pre-emption.
  • Maintaining ambiguity of time and place of military counteractions.
  • The diplomatic offensive against China and attempts at its isolation.
  • Further decoupling of the Indian economy from Chinese with prospects of larger economic cost to the enemy.
The small punitive action taken, was not because it was sanctioned by the govt or the army top brass but because of the initiative of the commanders on the ground in response to the death of their colleagues . If deaths had not taken place it would have been swept under the carpet. Remember there are reports of 70+ Indian soldiers that were injured in clashes in Pangon Tso before the Galway clash, a incident that was conveniently brushed under the carpet.

The punishments listed mean zilch as far as the current situation on the border goes. The latest report said who that the Chinese have dug in in positions that were their objectives and are refusing to leave. What Is the GOI going to do about those? Pretend that all is well and activate their media and Internet trolls to try and convince the public that it is so?:doh:

Chandragupt Maurya

Add North East + China border too. See the upcoming air fields Chinese are setting up. Clearly at the moment we don't have numbers to deal with two front situation.
But by that logic China is in much worse condition as they have huge airspace with hostile neighbors like Vietnam and Taiwan each of these countries have advanced airforce with modern jets