DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

cyclops

I don't understand the delay.
What exactly is the problem here with private cos and Kaveri?

Does the Indian private industry not have enough confidence to go into turbofan engines?
Or is the MoD not giving enough infrastructural and monetary support?
Or is the MoD expecting companies to take too much on their plate, and/or undue risk?
Are flimsy IAF orders the problem?
Something to do with foreign competition?

What?

Satish Sharma

Does the Indian private industry not have enough confidence to go into turbofan engines?
Or is the MoD expecting companies to take too much on their plate, and/or undue risk?

What?
untill kaveri doesn't perform equal to f404 and iaf say we will use it in LCA Tejas untill then no private player will be interested in it...
Anyways godrej will be making dry kaveri. What government is expecting is private player should join & fund work with gtre make a successful turbofan engine.. without assuring them orders.. godrej is making the gtx35vs now gtre has began working on new engines basically same core which will be redesigned.. and gormint want private players to lead this..
there is enormous potential as gtre already has alot of experience now...

NoobWannaLearn

What?
Their isn't one problem but a mix of several problems with the system or the pvt industry both

Private industry don't wanna put their weights behind a project which has no definitive future first of all for them it's investements gone to wast it no order given and it will take a long time to even succeed and get orders even if it gets orders while they can just do no r&d investment and just sell products with screwdrivergiri and get their share of profit so why invest in r&d as for infra HAL is providing them infra so it shouldn't be a question at all it's all about their will put invest

Satish Sharma

m777 costed us 45 cr each which included ammo too while i assume a major component would be ammo(excaliber rounds)
The titanium ultra light howitzer of Bharat forge will be way more worth it. Than this overrated m777. They have ulh-39 calibre army should buy if the need more ulh..it has 25km range compared to 21 of m777..

Same ulh-er with 52 calibre will be competing as atags weights More than 15 tons & Has 41km range..

Smoothbore125mm

The titanium ultra light howitzer of Bharat forge will be way more worth it. Than this overrated m777. They have ulh-39 calibre army should buy if the need more ulh..it has 25km range compared to 21 of m777..

Same ulh-er with 52 calibre will be competing as atags weights More than 15 tons & Has 41km range..
like i said the major point was excaliber rounds they are supreme in accuracy so good for taking out terrorist installations quickly but yeah we are skipping big time on indiginous guns imo

Corvus Splendens

The M777s were likely a package deal with the Chinooks, insisted by Uncle Sam. Otherwise there is absolutely zero reason to import it with the ULH available. We probably just wanted the GPS guided ammo but Americans wanted us to buy the guns too.

vishnugupt

What?
Private sector in India largely do Dallali in defence sector. Look around? Everyone just doing licence manufacturing.

Indian private sector do not believe in innovation and research they just want to make quick money by simply doing Dallali.

Have you ever participated in Monthly board meeting in private sector?? Just tell them about innovation and research in meeting and everyone will look at you with pitty. Indian CEO will spend crores on birthday but feels fizoolkharchi if they have to spend 1 crore for research in a year. Same Chamcha HR will get praise how they saved 1 crore for not allowing innovation and research in company.

Instead of reasearch, Private industry believe in army of market agents who bring business by hook or crook.

I have worked in a startup ab-initio. Initially there was lots of talk about innovation and research but after 1 year, a father of one of investor attended meeting since then they are actually doing Dallali for a multination company.

Chamchagiri is the only system prevails in Indian office. Boss is always right if you want to work in office. There is zero tolerance for second opinion in Indian office.

Azaad

The M777s were likely a package deal with the Chinooks, insisted by Uncle Sam. Otherwise there is absolutely zero reason to import it with the ULH available. We probably just wanted the GPS guided ammo but Americans wanted us to buy the guns too.
IIRC the IA specifically asked for the ULH for use in our northern borders especially on the LAC At that point in time Kalyani was nowhere in the picture. In addition to this there was a requirement for a transport chopper for troops which the Chinook neatly fitted into. What also tilted the deal in its favour was that a ULH could be transported by the Chinook underslung.

Azaad

Their isn't one problem but a mix of several problems with the system or the pvt industry both

Private industry don't wanna put their weights behind a project which has no definitive future first of all for them it's investements gone to wast it no order given and it will take a long time to even succeed and get orders even if it gets orders while they can just do no r&d investment and just sell products with screwdrivergiri and get their share of profit so why invest in r&d as for infra HAL is providing them infra so it shouldn't be a question at all it's all about their will put invest
Our diversification plan is all lopsided. GoI needs to get out of small arms & ammo, uniforms, specialised equipment like parachutes, BPJ, body armour etc but they still have a presence there in the form of the OFB.

In highly specialized sectors like Corvette, Frigate , Destroyers AC & Submarine ( both conventional & Nuclear )construction we already have more than enough capacity within the DPSUs itself & on top of it we've the private sector involved.

For perspective, I read recently MDL can if need be set up 11 lines to build submarines. Do we intend using all those lines? No. Then what's the point in involving L&T for Project -75 I? It isn't as if we've a submarine building plan on the scale that China does of building 50 conventional subs & 30 odd SSBNs & SSNs.

Nor can we consider exports at this stage before we've demonstrated that we've complete expertise in design & construction of conventional submarines. Which in turn means our complete potential for building submarines is not fully utilised & is lying idle.

What we should've done is create an East Coast & West Coast Shipyard Limited by merging GRSE Kolkata & HSL & SBC Vizag forming the East Coast Shipyard & MDL, GSL & Kochi Shipyards into the West Coast Shipyard. If need be we could've gotten into capacity addition at these yards or innaugurate new shipyards on either coasts.

Just as we don't have 2 Shipyards to build ACs , we don't need 2 shipyards to build conventional subs. Look at Japan & RoK where 2 or more conglomerates have come together to pool in resources & build subs & even capital ships. Ditto for their Fighter Aircrafts.

While we're running around setting up parallel lines for FA & TF mfg typically in the afore mentioned countries 2 or more conglomerates have joined forces to create a single entity catering to those requirements.

Moreover how exactly do we expect the pvt sector to get into cutting edge , state of the art tech with no prior experience in this field. What we're doing thru such half baked measures is inviting the pvt sector to poach talent in the public sector.

A good example is the project in charge of the HTT 40 basic trainer in HAL went on to join TASL for the C-295 project. It's a good thing the pvt sector didn't respond else we'd probably be in a situation where neither the pvt sector has the expertise in spite of poaching talent to execute such projects & HAL being hollowed out of talent isn't in a position to execute such projects either.

For further perspective one should study how Titan hollowed out HMT.

karn

Looks like Lt Gen P Ravishankar is half way there . IIRC he asked for 7-8 yrs in 2018 to bring the RAMJET shell to production standard. There seems to be only a Norwegian firm which has perfected the tech IIRC. Would make us the 2nd country to do so when we get there.
Lt Gen P Ravishankar is a gem .. I encourage folks to follow his YT channel (gunners shot). They are long and have some redundant info but sometimes good info comes out related to arty .. For example it is from him that I got to know that the IA uses 400K arty shells per year for ... training :shock:.

Lt Gen P Ravishankar is a gem .. I encourage folks to follow his YT channel . They are long and have some redundant info but sometimes good info comes out related to arty .. For example it is from him that I got to know that the IA uses 400K arty shells per year for ... training :shock:.
400k for training

taking some inspiration from shashi tharoor's speech at oxford...
ATAGS must be thinking, "being the latest of a rather long line of artys, i pretty much know what is expected of me, don't know if i can do it any better"

karn

400k for training

taking some inspiration from shashi tharoor's speech at oxford...
ATAGS must be thinking, "being the latest of a rather long line of artys, i pretty much know what is expected of me, don't know if i can do it any better"
To be fair he is probably counting 105 , 122, 130, 155 mm arty combined .