DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Archer

The OFB design is reasonable, its within their manufacturing limits and is likely cost-effective. If it meets IA requirements, its a serious contender.

south block

up your a**
The OFB design is reasonable, its within their manufacturing limits and is likely cost-effective. If it meets IA requirements, its a serious contender.
I support PSU but even I can't fathom this junk --- was DRDO involved in its design ?

@south block
Is that so? Why exactly is this a junk? Maybe it is... But let's hear you elaborate on the reasoning please, parameter & specification wise (not "lookz lyk 90c dejyeen").

aarav

जय परशुराम‍।
OFB FICV certainly is an upgrade of BMP2 with 3rd generation ATGMs and NAG carriers BMPs it certainly is an handful with other Indian armoured elements, private players are only making graphic renders whereas this OFB FICV is reality

south block

up your a**
moscow-russia-9th-may-2017-kurganets-25-infantry-fighting-vehicle-J43W81 (1).jpg

This russian IFV kurganets-25 is on same league with better design --- quality --- protection, performance & much more lola!

Ek to in OFB walo ko defend kartey kartey is forum may itni galiyaan soon ni padti hai --- upar say madrchood esa ghatiya chutiyaapa karengay Kabhi socha hi nahi thaa :facepalm:

OFB FICV certainly is an upgrade of BMP2 with 3rd generation ATGMs and NAG carriers BMPs it certainly is an handful with other Indian armoured elements, private players are only making graphic renders whereas this OFB FICV is reality
Both L&T and TATA have something going. TATA had a basic tracked platform years back.

I dont know what stage both are in, but it's just not renders. This FICV program have been halted so many times, I am surprised they're doing anything at all outside basic design stage. The user could change requirements drastically.

south block

up your a**
@south block
Is that so? Why exactly is this a junk? Maybe it is... But let's hear you elaborate on the reasoning please, parameter & specification wise (not "lookz lyk 90c dejyeen").
basic upgrade of BMP 2 is not path breaking futuristic design it's still a cold war relic ---- I hope they improve its design --- what's need to be done ? --- increase side armour & build quality --- turret need to be at higher elevation

Screenshot_20200205_082247.jpg

Those rear door hatches on up need to go for good so does firing port on sides --- I swear to good I am in depression right now.

south block

up your a**
I am not saying that OFB vehicle is bad but it can be improved & must be improved ---- more money need to be poured in --- better design & quality control --- a better propulsion system to supplement any weight gain due to added armoure ----- turret need to be higher & need to go back like this

images (48).jpeg

eliminating need for those two hatches in back which serves no purpose.

kurganets25_ifv_3d_model_c4d_max_obj_fbx_ma_lwo_3ds_3dm_stl_2180984_o.jpg

4l-image-67.jpg

Propulsion system is Hidden quite well same can be done for OFB IFV.

Pret

OFB's 'skull' is so thick that any criticism just bounces off. The only thing that has sustained them is a monopoly. Once it's gone, OFB is gonna go full BSNL or Hindustan Motors or *insert a PSU name here*
I am not saying that OFB vehicle is bad but it can be improved & must be improved ---- more money need to be poured in --- better design & quality control --- a better propulsion system to supplement any weight gain due to added armoure ----- turret need to be higher & need to go back like this
M8, OFB has been "manufacturing" armored vehicles since forever yet it can't design a good ICV on its own. Its system isn't rigged for innovation. Taking an existing system and modifying it isn't innovation. It's imitation.

OFB's 'skull' is so thick that any criticism just bounces off. The only thing that has sustained them is a monopoly. Once it's gone, OFB is gonna go full BSNL or Hindustan Motors or *insert a PSU name here*

M8, OFB has been "manufacturing" armored vehicles since forever yet it can't design a good ICV on its own. Its system isn't rigged for innovation. Taking an existing system and modifying it isn't innovation. It's imitation.
But innovation is not their mandate, indigenisation is.
Have they ever said their mandate is innovation.

We have to be clear about our expectations.

south block

up your a**
armour doesn't look moduler at all --- to much chutiyagiri by OFB --- DRDO should improve the vechile ASAP ---- these jokers need to rope in people with sense of aesthetics + knowledge on subject matter of what they are designing in first place.

I think it's old farts with no sense of aesthetics who calls the shots for promotion ---- why not build few schools, colleges & institutions specialised in just design of military vechiles on par with other countries .

Mk-2 cockpit has a unique MFD below the large area display for control of Net-Centric Tactical Situation & the mother aircraft's Unmanned-Wingmen.

Equipped with voice command, pilot's decision support system & AI-based displays, Mk-2 cockpit workstation is truly contemporary.

Courtesy :- Harsh vardhan Thakur (Tejas Test pilot )
FB_IMG_1580890494350.jpg

south block

up your a**
Western exposure & grooming from childhood is a must ---- this joker think clearing exam all it takes --- yes for research probably but as saying goes --- what the purpose of that research if you can't apply it in real life ---- I think Indians still haven't figured out aesthetics + mechanics of how system works to large extent --- building gated cities all over country with good exposure to wide range of topics ----- technological industrial clusters to be precise can go a long way in developing & delivering things ---- Chinese in its coastal belt managed to build many in last 3 decade ---- Japanese & Korean already have it so does Taiwan ---- we can do it to if Nepotism is not tolerated in both OFB & Pvt sector where few chetoos sellers in cahoots with politician can & do con the system to their advantage.

basic upgrade of BMP 2 is not path breaking futuristic design it's still a cold war relic ---- I hope they improve its design --- what's need to be done ? --- increase side armour & build quality --- turret need to be at higher elevation

View attachment 42492

Those rear door hatches on up need to go for good so does firing port on sides --- I swear to good I am in depression right now.

View attachment 42498
eliminating need for those two hatches in back which serves no purpose.

View attachment 42497
View attachment 42496
Propulsion system is Hidden quite well same can be done for OFB IFV.
Those two hatches & firing-ports are Indian Army GSQR requirement. That's why soldiers have to sit facing outwards, unnecessarily widening the APC.
It'd be easier to not cut those holes in the frame, but without those it'll be rejected.

Other than that, lots of "pathbreaking" & "futuristic" designs are lying out there not inducted... Talk specs & capability & performance.

Better hidden propulsion can't make any performance difference, equally vulnerable too.
Side armour has been increased from STANAG-2 to STANAG-4.
Slat/spaced modules & APS are definitely needed, but may be added later on...this being just a prototype.

Screenshot_20200205_080252.jpg
1580893553200_Screenshot_20200205_080252 - Copy.jpg

Here I added the side-modules & changed the front. Looks less crappy now?... There's your "aesthetics".
Screenshot_20200205_080416.jpg
1580894182389_Screenshot_20200205_080416 - Copy - Copy - Copy - Copy.jpg

Damn these two turned out well! Should I mail them to OFB?
some times he talks like dalal. ....................
He is... no H.V.Thakur surely.

south block

up your a**
Those two hatches & firing-ports are Indian Army GSQR requirement. That's why soldiers have to sit facing outwards, unnecessarily widening the APC.
It'd be easier to not cut those holes in the frame, but without those it'll be rejected.
as I said I don't think it's bad & improvement need to be done ---- even Russians have given up on hatches & firing ports but not Indian army ---- that turret can go back with higher elevation giving longer range & visibility ---- if it just a prototype lot more can be done surely & I hope they take clue from Armata family of vehicles --- army is doing Hera Keri with her requirements --- I am 100% sure they will cancel everything at end & will go for Russian IFV.