DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Khagesh

@Bhadra
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-pape...ays-rear-admiral/article5227728.ece?css=print

Published: October 12, 2013 00:00 IST | Updated: October 12, 2013 05:36 IST KOCHI, October 12, 2013
Induction of indigenous heliborne sonar on cards, says Rear Admiral
SPECIAL CORRESPONDENT

The low-frequency dunking sonar (LFDS) developed by DRDO’s Naval Physical and Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL) at Thrikkakara has shown steadfast progress in trials and is on the threshold of induction into naval inventory, Rear Admiral D.M. Sudan, Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Air), has said.

Helicopter-borne dunking sonars play a key role in the detection of enemy submarines. NPOL’s LFDS programme, which carries forward its experience of developing dunking sonar Mihir, had made substantial progress with encouraging results in extensive trials on board the Advanced Light Helicopter (ALH). We would not let this effort be wasted, said the Rear Admiral, asking sonar scientists to give the programme a final push to make the system worthy of induction.

Naval Physical and Oceanographic Laboratory Director S. Anantha Narayanan said efforts were on to simultaneously fashion an enhanced version of the sonar for fitment on the Navy’s Multi-Role Helicopter (MRH), whose acquisition is under way.

On the sidelines of a workshop on ‘Challenges in Development of Airborne Systems and Sensors’, Rear Admiral Sudan later added that field evaluation trials of the helicopters competing in the MRH bid was over and contract negotiations would start very soon.

“Offset issues are being deliberated at the moment,” he said. (Helicopters NH-90, jointly developed by AgustaWestland and Eurocopter and Sikrosky’s S-70B are vying to win the contract for purchase of 16 MRH.)

The Rear Admiral, also a Sea Harrier fighter pilot, said the limited upgrade programme (LUSH) had given greater capabilities to the aged Harriers.

“They have done extremely well and the upgrade, done a few years ago, increased their serviceability. The Harriers are nearing the end of their career, but it will be three to four years before they are paid off. It also depends on the availability of the aircraft carrier INS Viraat, from whose deck they operate,” he said.

The Rear Admiral said the Navy would have liked the under-development Light Combat Aircraft (Navy) programme to gather greater momentum, but the immediate goal was to get the second development aircraft (NP-2) airborne.

“The NP-1, which is undergoing some modifications, will take to the skies shortly and we are eager to complete the NP-2 and get it airborne by early next year. The idea is to also construct the shore-based test facility [in Goa] in about six months for the aircraft to ski-jump before the monsoons,” he said.

NPOL’s low-frequency dunking sonar programme has made substantial progress with encouraging results in extensive trials on board the Advanced Light Helicopter. We will not let this effort be wasted.

Rear Admiral

D.M. Sudan

Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Air)
You are absolutely not interested in facts and will go on and on issues you have to grind an axe.

Arre Bhai a Dunking sonar is no big deal.
What is big deal is an EFFECTIVE dunking sonar.
Considering the deployment scenario, the IN took out the RFP for a MRH competition where you had the possibility of an ULTRA-LOW FREQ. sonar on an untested helo (NH-90) or a run of the mill Low Freq Sonar on a well tested and likely to go out SH70B. After the first 16 Sikorsky will likely also degrade further their helo for the next MRH-ASW competition to be done by IN.

So it boils down to a Great Sensor vs Great Helo catch-22.

Unfortunately the NH-90 guys got finicky and as Livefist reports:
http://www.livefistdefence.com/2012/07/scrappy-indian-navy-copter-bid-nears.html
It is understood that Vaccari wrote that letter to Antony since a previous letter by AgustaWestland senior veep for international business development Giacomo Saponaro to Defence Secretary Shashikant Sharma wasn't answered.
Please see that name highlighted again and again till it drills right into you - that is your friendly neighbourhood CAG.

The exact same guy who was in the prime UPA def min spinmasters and today writes Audit Reports about LCA developments.

This sort of situation arises because Audit is a tool not an answer. Audit tool can be used as:
1) a weapon - which Shashikant Sharma does,
2) a tool - which Vinod Rai used to do,
3) as self-wounding instrument - as you do.

Here is what the Defence Ministry says (during UPA times):

ersakthivel

Brilliance
I never said Like that, even if you pulled at maximum G's the Missile always wins.. in many cases, lower g Lower Speed low maneuver means Jackpot for Missile

Ye did you see that MK 2 flying ..!

AFAIK .. MAWS is just a missile warning system which warn the fighter about incoming missiles characteristics..

I'm lazy.. please calculate
So as per your view once a missile is launched on a fighter , the game is over!!! Whether pulling lower Gs or higher Gs , there is no escape for a fighter!!!!

Even MAWS is no use!!!!

Then why spend 200 million dollar on a single rafale?

may be the mere mention of Spectra in Dassault aviation brochures wards of all evil missiles!!!

And as usual the great Libiyan opeartions against "space age cutting edge Libiyan airforce and air defence"is the proof of Spectra!!!

SO we can equate Libiyan air defence with SAAB erriee eye AWACSS equipped PAF and more than 30 awacs flyfing PLAF and blithely ask our IAF Rafale pilots to go to war!!!.

If you cant even divide 8837 Km by 6 get the answer what is the worth of your claims on Rafale's Spectra?

Khagesh

I do think that wrt ISRO in areas of ballistics DRDO has not been far behind.
Understatement of the Kalyug.

ISRO rocket goes up facing challenges - something important stays up there.

DRDO missile goes up facing similar Max-Q and guidance challenges - something exceedingly important comes back down with far more accuracy.

Coming back down is reason why DRDO can never be matched by any other facility inside India.

For example ISRO already injects multiple payloads into orbit. But does that qualify ISRO to produce MIRVs.

While DRDO has been doing much more demanding MARVs since quite sometime now, even when the launch is from under the water.

ISRO is a scientific-commercial entity. DRDO is a development-strategic entity.

Khagesh

The Services themselves have no dearth of technical manpower but they do not have even a single penny in the name of research. Govt pays DRDO and others for research.
Sir ji 3 reasons:
1) Armed forces are piss poor. They don't get money for their weapons. What is the point expecting them to do R&D.
2) Serious R&D has become so strategy oriented that armed forces will not be allowed to do it in any serious manner. FYI while the IN has a very good design prowess, they still were not allowed to design the ATV Arihant
3) Armed forces do not have very many engineers. The engineers headcount itself needs to be hiked in the armed forces. But how will that get done if all the resources will be eaten up by gold plated imports.

Khagesh

Arre hamare SanjeevJino bhai bade ziddi hain bhai.

I quoted a French Air Force biggie from the Dassault site saying - Rafale flies 1 hr 30 min in clean config at 450 knots at lo altitude (~410 km two way) and still he thinks Rafale range penalty is not much compared to Su-30MKI.

The comparison of a PSU made LCA w.r.t Mirages, will be even more difficult for him.

SanjeevJino bhai, during Kargil un-upgragded Mig-29 had targeted 2 PAF F-16s simultaneously. You must be well aware of this.

On the last page Kunal Biswas has pasted what is to be expected from the upgrades of IAF planes. You will notice, against Mirage 2000 it mentions that after upgrade it will be able to track and target multiple targets. That is because until now it could not do that. Most probably that is why, in order to justify the purchase of Mirage 2000, IAF had to invent a role for it, by jury rigging LGBs to it during Kargil. You may not be aware of this.

LCA has been capable of this from prototype stage itself.

power_monger

That is because they share tech with each other in that field.
Can you give specific instances or throw links which talks on this in specific?ISRO has distanced itself from DRDO as there is lot of co-operation between NASA and ISRO which it would not like to loose.

@Kunal
Why did not you provide the Link ( you all insist on that and one your moderator deleted my five posts citing link not given)
The backgrounder does say something else which is:
Friday, August 22, 2014
http://trishul-trident.blogspot.in/2014_08_01_archive.html
link.

The poster you have pasted is coy / producers advertisement with lots of claims which I am not refuting. However, it says that that Abhaya LFDS would be deployed on RHIBs that is Rigid-hulled inflatable boat away from the ships, in coastal areas. That simply is a push and forcing the Navy to adopt a system asked for / meant for something else. In order to make some sense out of it ROVs are being procured. That is Jugad after 13 long years.

LFDS are meant to be operated from naval surveillance helicopters and Surveillance plateforms such as P-8I Long Range Maritime Reconnaissance and Anti Submarine Warfare aircraft. What is being mentioned there is that Abhaya has been reduced down to coast surveillance and small ship uses.

Please provide links that This sonar is presently use on P28 class stealth corvettes, And exported to Mayamar Navy`s stealth frigates .. P28 class Kamorta recently commissioned carries an ASW helicopter, heavy weight torpedoes, ASW rockets. What is use of it being there if this sonar can not be used from helicopter.

@Khagesh

Please stick to the topic ...

request stop using this word "Are..." in Hindi that is not well taken..

Thirdly kill the massage and not the massager ( you gave an instance of Angad in one of your post)

Fourthly , do not drag the CAGs / Def Secy into refuting the arguments and bad name them. They are doing their constitutional duties. (you are not) Every ministry and department gets an opportunity to reply their audit objections.
Knowing what is happening in DRDO is the right of the public because they pay for it and CAG exercises that function for them.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Look at that .....

I am not paid for doing what I do on DFI like I have a feeling some others do but in prejudicial manner. I do it objectively and as per rules .. some are welcome to dislike it but the dislike should be within rules and not personal whims and personal logic
Don't make loaded comments!!!!!!

All it was asked of you was to give correct dates and fair comparison with overseas research organizations , so that every one could have a fair and informed view about how efficient of bad DRDO is.

For ex CAG report on tejas says for a 84 Kn engine tejas is overweight at 6.5 tons. it is an opt repeated accusation by many people.

But when you compare other fighters with similar engine power and rane like JF-17, gripen C all of them weigh much higher than tejas mk1 !! Eventhough they have much lower wing area.

In the same way 4 men crew 60 plus ton 7 road wheel Arjun was criticized by every one comparing it to 6 roadwheel T-90. Now armata the 3 men crew tank also has 7 road wheels and weighs around 60 tons. The reason they cited was extra armor for better crew protection and safe ammo storage!!!!, the same reason that weight increased in Arjun mk2.

And the CAG report that listed out so many ills on tejas was for a period of 2009 t 2013.
1.Now even internal EW suit for tejas has been okayed,

2. Albout the lack of protection for tejas pilots from 7.62 mm bullets, even su-30 MKI and rafale have no armor protection for pilots from 7.62 rounds, That spec was required only for world war two era tree top level dump bomb dropping fighter facing ground fire, none of the modern fighters are going to do that , so they dont have protection for pilots from 7.62 rounds.

Thats why dates and fair comparison with overseas similar projects and research org is important.
NASA conducted so many X flight experiments and compiled vital aerodynamic stats for many later gen US fighter planes . But if you look at them from Accounting purpose they too can look like a closed staff project with no useful prototype!!!!

power_monger

I never said Like that, even if you pulled at maximum G's the Missile always wins.. in many cases, lower g Lower Speed low maneuver means Jackpot for Missile
I hope you are just joking. Element of Surprise is still a must for missile to win against a fighter jet.There is lot of skepticism of a AAM missile being effective at more than a distance of 40 kms if fighter jet is warned about the missile.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
@Kunal
Why did not you provide the Link ( you all insist on that and one your moderator deleted my five posts citing link not given)
The backgrounder does say something else which is:
Friday, August 22, 2014
http://trishul-trident.blogspot.in/2014_08_01_archive.html
link.

The poster you have pasted is coy / producers advertisement with lots of claims which I am not refuting. However, it says that that Abhaya LFDS would be deployed on RHIBs that is Rigid-hulled inflatable boat away from the ships, in coastal areas. That simply is a push and forcing the Navy to adopt a system asked for / meant for something else. In order to make some sense out of it ROVs are being procured. That is Jugad after 13 long years.

LFDS are meant to be operated from naval surveillance helicopters and Surveillance plateforms such as P-8I Long Range Maritime Reconnaissance and Anti Submarine Warfare aircraft. What is being mentioned there is that Abhaya has been reduced down to coast surveillance and small ship uses.

Please provide links that This sonar is presently use on P28 class stealth corvettes, And exported to Mayamar Navy`s stealth frigates .. P28 class Kamorta recently commissioned carries an ASW helicopter, heavy weight torpedoes, ASW rockets. What is use of it being there if this sonar can not be used from helicopter.
http://www.business-standard.com/ar...vides-major-boost-to-navy-114112500024_1.html
" November 12, without announcement or fanfare, the ministry of defence (MoD) signed a small contract with enormous implications for itself and the Indian Navy. This formalised the purchase of six advanced towed array sonar (ATAS) systems from Atlas Elektronik, the German naval systems giant, for just under Euro 40 million (Rs 306 crore).

These ATAS systems will equip three Talwar-class frigates (INS Talwar, Trishul and Tabar) and three Delhi-class destroyers (INS Delhi, Mumbai and Mysore), allowing them to detect enemy submarines in the Arabian Sea, where the warm, shallow waters confound conventional hull-mounted sonars.

Without ATAS, all the warships the navy has built and bought since the 1990s - each costing a few thousand crores and crewed by a couple of hundred sailors - would be sitting ducks in war. Enemy submarines, lurking unseen 50-80 kilometres away, could leisurely torpedo Indian warships.
"
It seems Navy is buying the same ATLAS stuff it rejected as per your post!!!!

The blogger you quoted is as "colour full" as any defence journo can get!!!!

When I asked him that a few deg tur rate shortfalls doesn't matter since tejas mk1 completed a vertical loop in aeroindia 2013 in twenty seconds,

he incredibly claimed that tejas mk1 completing a vertical below 20 seconds in aeroindia2013 even with in 20 deg AOA limitation and 6G limit has no combat implication and just an air show stunt, in the comments section of his iconic stupid piece" AeroIndia 2015 tamasha"!!!

And when I asked him what will the enemy do if tejas mk1 does this act in close combat to get behind the tail of the fighter, he said only turn rates with full external loads of weapons counts!!!

When I gently reminded him that all fighters exhibit their turn rates in clean config only, A few of the commentors there agreed with me,

Then he went beserk and claimed that these airshow fighters remove many key components to do stunts in air shows!!!

What can you do with such line of stupid logic?

The link below contains my rebuttal,
http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/indian-air-force-news-discussions.57142/page-35
https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=3545138702780178046&postID=2757552678142069869

Stupid piece of logic, Airframe redesign for mk2 was already visible on NP-2 of tejas so what is the need to talk? And already ADA has clearly said that mk2 of IAF wont need any detailed redesign(even the air intake is proposed to be increased by 10 mm only in dia) . SO there is no point in inventing new conspiracy theories on tejas mk2 by blaming ADA for not talking, when all the aims of tejas mk2 listed out by Senguptha are infact his own speculations.

because mk2 is availbale when 40 tejas mk1 production ends there is no need for IAf to order more. And if there are delays ordering an additional tejas mk1 squadron doesn't require the approval of pakistani PM perhaps!!!!

And once again mr. Sen gupthe is radically redesigning IAF tejas mk2 only in his dreams, because as per ADA other than increasing the engine power to meet 9G and higher turn rates and adding 0.5 meter to gain 5 percent lesser drag figure there is no radical redesign in IAF tejas mk2.

SP-1 and SP-2 were already part made before IOC-2 , and they will be handed over for tactic development to IAf. SO-3 onwards will come from the newer production line and conform to even FOC standard(IAF has given orders fro 20 IOC-2 tejas mk1 and 20 FOC tejas mk1!!!!). So IAF is going to get 36 FOC compliant tejas . why complain?

he ven lies that TR modules and every thing else in tejas mk1 MMR was from Israel and only atena from India,

but there are tons of materials available to show that TR modules of Tejas mk1 MMR was built in india and only the back end processor (that too for the inabilit to finish air to ground mode on time) is from Israel.
Thats why when some one counters Guptha with comments like,

He dumps even more stupid lies!!!!

If he can not explain why tejas mk1 with 20 deg AOA limit and 6G limit could complete a vertical loop within 20 seconds in clean config despite all the talk of massive shortfalls in performance "as alleged by many of it's detractors", he can choose to keep quiet rather than giving such dubious info as response.

Parameters like Thrust to weight ratio, wing-loading, G-load, AoA limit etc etc define what is instantaneous turn rate, sustained rate, climb rate, pitch rate & roll rate—all this when carrying weapons and while not carrying weapons,

Btw tejas has the lowest wing loading of all fighters in IAF this factor combined with TWR determines the all crucial Instantaneous Turn rate ,(excelled by Mirage-2000
and even in mk1 tejas is "atleast equal to 45 million dollar per plane updated mirage-2000" is the award winning test pilot and IAF group captain Suneeth krishna's authentic claim).

This crucial factor is not only in useful in gun fights alone, When fighters close in for dogfight with WVR missiles the fighter with higher Instantaneous Turn Rate will get the first lock and fire solution for its high off bore MHS enabled missile like R-73 on the enemy fighter. This is no trivia that can be dismissed so easily as the guy does it so casually.

All Instantaneous turn rates, Sustained turn rate AOA and G limits published in spec sheet is only in clean config . If the fighters are loaded with similar ratio of external weapons compared to their weight , they will occupy the same space in the ranking which they occupy in clean config ITR, STR tables.

Because Instantaneous turn rates, Sustained turn rate AOA and G limits are meant only for with in visual range WVR missile and gun fights .

Fighters enter the WVR after firing their long range BVR missiles and droping ground bombs and external fuel tanks. No fighter pilot in his sane mind will try to evade enemy BVR with his heavy external fuel tanks and ground weapon while he tries to pull max Instantaneous turn rates, Sustained turn rate AOA and G .

The time taken to complete a vertical or horizontal loop in clean configuration is a measure of the fighter's agility. Thats why they are displayed in airshows giving a true measure of the fighter's ability to the viewers.

There is no need for any aeronautic expert to ask for max Instantaneous turn rates, Sustained turn rate AOA and G with various configuration. These vary according to atmospheric conditions like humidity, temp and height from sea level.

temp in bangalore is close to 30 Deg and it is close to thousand meters above sea level. it is a known fact that STR, ITR will decrease with increase in altitude. In the same way increase in temp will also lead to close to ten percent reduction in both wing lift and engine thrust in indian hot atmospheric conditions compared to the same manouvres pulled by foreign fighters at airshows abroad in sea level altitude and less than 20 deg temp.

Airshow displays are the fanboys is the guy's claim. then can every other fighter do what SU-30 MKI did at airshows away from the airshows?

SO if we apply the logic in reverse by remove the rafale's two 75 Kn engine and replace them with two 50 Kn engine agility, Sustained turn rate , Instantaneous turn rate, G limit, AOA , max take off weight will not change perhaps!!!! canards will take care of everything perhaps!!!!

The reason for the higher STR and ITR of rafale and Typhoon is due to their higher TWR, which directly relates to its high powered lower weight engines. Not all due to canards as eggsputrs often falsely allege. The job of canards(generating flow energizing vortex to delay stall at high AOA, allowing the fighter to have more energy level sat higher AOA) is done by lower swept wing leading edge of tejas in the form of compound delta.

Canards also act as extra control surface. To compensate for the absence of canards tejas has bigger after wing control surfaces compared to gripen.

So how come Tejas mk2 will not enjoy such an advantage if lower powered GE-404 is replaced with higher powered GE-414 engine/ Strange pieces of logic!!!!

Then even without TVC Rafale has very close combat specs compared to typhoon . How?

Govt rules for tejas mk2 engine clearly suggest L1 should be selected . SO it will be tough for any one to side step that.

it is often a tried and tested line to argue for ever that without TVC Eurojet engines and canards tejas won't be fit for IAf in mk1 or mk2. But if we ask how come tejas with 6G limits and 20 Deg AOA restrictions and lesser powered GE-404 engines can complete a vertical loop in Aeroindia 2013 within 20-21 seconds, that too at 1000 meters above sea level and at temps that are over 10 deg higher than noraml temp in airshows abroad,,,,,, all the blah, blah tumbles out to confuse every one!!!!

this is the tactic called throwing stones to hide your hand, mostly displayed in NEWSHOUR with Arnab, by all the political commentators!!!!

Who told Prasoon Senguptha that only canards will fulfill the agility requirement?
Does that mean J-31 is a step down on agility requirement from J-20?

Or
Adding a canard to FGFA and F-35 will increase their agility requirement?

If only canards can fulfill agility requirement why did Russians dropped it in SU-35 and gave it a higher thrust engine than Su-30 MKI for agility requirement?
Won't this way work for tejas mk2 also?

And who told Prasoon Sen guptha that tejas mk1 costs 52 million dollar each?(with ground infra he says it will go up to 7o million dollar plus)!!!

HAL says it costs 26 million dollar per plane. ADA says it is about 30 million dollar.
After i conclusively rebutted him by posting comments with info from ADA tejas -IV thread , he deleted all my comments!!!!

Much worse he accused me of copy pasting from a forum, with out even knowing, those comments were originally mine!!!!

I haven't seen a bigger con job than this in years.

And the sick joke is this crook accusing Ajai Shukla of yellow journalism for attacking the rafale deal.

This is another instance of this crook telling tons of lies about tejas!!!
: Respected by whom? And often proven right in which cases? And FYI show me one single case in the world when a military aircraft or helicopter was subjected to sequential airworthiness certification processes like IOC-1, IOC-2 & FOC. You won’t find any. For the Tejas Mk1, the IOC-1/2 stages were just events for public consumption for the gullible. Whenever any aircraft is accepted for service-entry, the entire set of airworthiness certification documentation, along with the aircraft logbook, plus flight & maintenance manuals are all presented in one lump-sum all in a single day. This event is known as the commissioning ceremony & from that day onwards, the process of acquiring FOC begins, & it ends in most cases 36 months after service-entry. This is what will happen once the Rafales begin being delivered to the IAF. And what is this continuous harping about ‘without any notable technology’? What technology do you have in mind? Pray be specific instead on harping on generalisations. And also quote other notable worldwide examples of the passover/transfer of such technologies from one country to another. And the online discourses that you mention doesn’t impress anybody simply because no serving or retired IAF or IN official has so far been part of such discourses. Just hold your horses till you come across official MoD figures about the acquisition costs of the Tejas Mk1/2 & LCA (Navy) Mk1/2 MRCAs & then start judging what is cost-prohibitive to procure & what isn’t.
I just asked him how USAF inducted 100 odd F-35s without even IOC, he just deleted my comments,

@ersakthivel

Let us come back to the topic.. none of us is losing anything here but our egos - which is good.

I am not discussing paersolities being colurfull or dull..
I quoted that journalist because @Kunal had quated from the same article selectively

Export ot Myanmar : Govt reply
http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=119834

Project-28 ASW Corvette: Updates & Discussions

http://*****************/threads/project-28-asw-corvette-updates-discussions.238/page-5

I could not find Abhaya LFDS in both that is why I requested him for links.

I am learning quite a lot from all very well qualified and leaned members of the form but I wish to be equally sure or they catch me even on my choice of words !! :daru:

Of course DRDO has neither been able to upgrade the weaponry nor ammunition of 84mmRL . You have any claim contrary to that ?
OFB has upgraded Carl-Gustav with modern technology. I have a supported claim that contradicts your comment that I have quoted earlier.

The topic how DRDO failed Indian Army. I presented CAG report to demonstrate how DRDO failed to upgrade the weapon technologically. If it is modern you can not claim credit for it.
So, stick to the topic. You claimed that Carl-Gustav is 1942's technology and its modern technological improvements are not available with the IA. You have been proven wrong.

You tried to blame DRDO by creating a false premise that because of DRDO, IA is forced to use 1942's technology.

I am not trying to claim credit.

Being judgemental may be your right but perceived ills and falsr accusations are not. I do not accept false accusations .
You do not accept false accusations, but you generously give out false accusations.

AM MORALLY UPRIGHT TO OFFER APLOGIES WHERE IT DESRVE AND YOU DO NOT HAVE TO TEACH ME THAT. IN THIS CASE YOU ARE FORCING IT ON ME. IT IS RATHER YOU WHO SHOULD APOLOGISE.
Morals, yep, morals.

old techonogy

I have truthfully quoted form sources and not bashed any one on my opinion. It is rather you who is bashing a member due to your individual interest.
He he, more emotional blackmail. Sorry, not impressed.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
@ersakthivel

Let us come back to the topic.. none of us is losing anything here but our egos - which is good.

I am not discussing paersolities being colurfull or dull..
I quoted that journalist because @Kunal had quated from the same article selectively

Export ot Myanmar : Govt reply
http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=119834

Project-28 ASW Corvette: Updates & Discussions

http://*****************/threads/project-28-asw-corvette-updates-discussions.238/page-5

I could not find Abhaya LFDS in both that is why I requested him for links.

I am learning quite a lot from all very well qualified and leaned members of the form but I wish to be equally sure or they catch me even on my choice of words !! :daru:
I want DRDO perform like ISRO.

But those lazy bums are skipping sessions. And riding the wave when ever some one creates some thing extraordinary.

I can understand your frustration. I had met people who does miracles with least equipment and very limited resources.

For all these years, I never read anything from DRDO that can be patent worth on global forum.

The export value of military equipment from our side is very low. It shows the state of business.

For all those who are patting their backs for DRDOs achievements, should look at the reality.

If we are not importing the tech from other countries, I doubt they would have made even simple bomb to make their day.

The firm is nothing but money leaching body in the whole system.

How would they have been performed if they have to sell their products to make salary ?

No one performs anything if there is no demand for it.

I demand for total reforms in DRDO .

The smart ass ISRO was also fiddling with cryogenic for twenty years, which was developed in US by 1960.

The comparisons are totally invalid.

If weather goes bad ISRO will delay rocket launch by a few days,

But a sub launched K series ballistic missile will be launched from under water come storm or lightning.

The demands on DRDO products are ten times stiffer than any ISRO product.

NAG is supposed to hit target at 4 to 7 KM range in hot dessert conditions while travelling on a wheeled or tacked vehicle in high 40 deg temp as per IA requirement. Currently no other missile has a seeker capable of doing that in the whole world . SO DRDO is developing tech for seeker.

What the hell does a CAG know about these complexities?

And ISRO takes no ASR or GSQR from IA or IAF to develop its products.

And none of ISRO product need not be upto international standards either, unlike DRDO where you have to match the capcity offered in any brochure supplied by an MNC with frequent revision of ASR and GSQR spec.

CAG is the least competent body to inspect tech projects,

If Navy changes specs midway , how could DRDO deliver sonar on time.
What is the purpose of requesting a sonar without even specifying QR?
Any Eng will laugh his ass off if such a proposition was asked of him.
Only Accounting bodies like CAG can write such wide eyed stories.

@Bhadra, I am quoted official brouchers for specs from that site, You have quoted blog`s owner words for you own needs, You seems to think its smart but not smart, It failed trolling at best ..

@Kunal had quated from the same article selectively
@KunalWhy did not you provide the Link ( you all insist on that and one your moderator deleted my five posts citing link not given)

So as per your view once a missile is launched on a fighter , the game is over!!! Whether pulling lower Gs or higher Gs , there is no escape for a fighter!!!!

Even MAWS is no use!!!!

Then why spend 200 million dollar on a single rafale?

may be the mere mention of Spectra in Dassault aviation brochures wards of all evil missiles!!!
yeah go on.. write whatever you want ..!!

And as usual the great Libiyan opeartions against "space age cutting edge Libiyan airforce and air defence"is the proof of Spectra!!!

SO we can equate Libiyan air defence with SAAB erriee eye AWACSS equipped PAF and more than 30 awacs flyfing PLAF and blithely ask our IAF Rafale pilots to go to war!!!.

just to clarify the situation, inventory of lybia air defense assets...Thanks to @halloweene

- 1 bomber squad (6 TU22)
- 9 fighter squads (15 Mirage F1 ED, 94 Mig 25, 75 Mig 23, 45 Mig 21, 3 Mirage F1 BD, 3 Mig 25U
- 7 fighter/bomber squads (6 SU24 MK D, 14 Mirage F1 AD, 40 Mig 23 BN, 53 su17M2/SU20 , 15 Mig 23U
- 2 reco squads (7 Mig25R, 4 Mirage 5DP30
- unknown (to me) exact number of Hind Mi 25D and Mi35

Air defense : (5 regions)
- 3 brigades (each 20-24 SA6 or SA8)
- 2-3 brigades (12 SA3 each)
- 5-6 brigades with 18 SA2 each
- 4 brigades using SA5A (1 radar and 6 lauchers each)
- 4+ batallions anti aerial artillery

Tell me which supa dupa fighter can do mission such an dominance air power

If you cant even divide 8837 Km by 6 get the answer what is the worth of your claims on Rafale's Spectra?
you spotted it.. I don't know how to do divisions

Source : http://ofbindia.gov.in/products/data/weapons/wlc/add_6.htm

================================

Even the US SOF units still use some MK2s ..

OFB has upgraded Carl-Gustav with modern technology. I have a supported claim that contradicts your comment that I have quoted earlier.

So, stick to the topic. You claimed that Carl-Gustav is 1942's technology and its modern technological improvements are not available with the IA. You have been proven wrong.

You tried to blame DRDO by creating a false premise that because of DRDO, IA is forced to use 1942's technology.

I am not trying to claim credit.

You do not accept false accusations, but you generously give out false accusations.

Morals, yep, morals.

old techonogy

He he, more emotional blackmail. Sorry, not impressed.

@ Pmaitra

I am not going to accept any one of your nagging and irritating questions of 1942 technology. I did mention in my initial post that 84mm Carl Gustav was developed around 1942 and it is that old a technology.

And it is a fact and still remains so that after induction in the Indian Army DRDO have failed to improve upon this weaponry and ammunition ? Period.

@Bhadra, I am quoted official brouchers for specs from that site, You have quoted blog`s owner words for you own needs, You seems to think its smart but not smart, It failed trolling at best ..
Now you can say anything but you did quote selectively and with a purpose. I quoted every thing to show you and the members that
Is it not so ?.

And again I request you to look at that picture which has hallmark "TRISHULE".. so it is not manufactures / OEM site. Old man...

What is the requirement of doing it all.. I just do not understand..

@ Pmaitra

I am not going to accept any one of your nagging and irritating questions of 1942 technology. I did mention in my initial post that 84mm Carl Gustav was developed around 1942 and it is that old a technology.

And it is a fact and still remains so that after induction in the Indian Army DRDO have failed to improve upon this weaponry and ammunition ? Period.

How many times have you asked this question as if you have no othe interest. you are wasting your time, my time and wasting forum space and bandwidth. Choice is yours, you are moderator. you are not a basic school teacher, "the fault finder" but a moderator. if you can moderate yourself how will you moderate others?

In fact you are trying to provoke me so that you wield your moderators power. Childish.
Discuss the topic - Has DRDO failed Indian Army ?
I am answering you in good faith and after this I shall not.
I give a tuppence about what you accept or not.

You lied about IA using 1942's technology. You have been exposed.

As Kunal rightly said, you have a habit of posting outdated information.

It is not a backgrounder, it is simply either your ignorance, or your maliciousness.