DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

jai jaganath

Wow, he said 2 years for scaling it up for Su-30MKI and then 2 more years of testing it after which we can start installing them on entire Su-30MKI fleet!
If development is issue then why twitter and youtube experts boasting about offering of uttam to Malaysia, Egypt, etc.
Our own manufacturer aren't showing interest then what could be done

jai jaganath

If development is issue then why twitter and youtube experts boasting about offering of uttam to Malaysia, Egypt, etc.
Our own manufacturer aren't showing interest then what could be done
Development is done. Now onto production.
It may be that they can't produce uttam fast enough for first 40 mk1a .
Also the fact that Israel earlier agreed to supply aesa for jaguar on condition that should get a larger order later.

So I guess a compromise in works .

No issue in offering other countries since even if they order today there jets won't be delivered for 3 years atleast.

yaar propaganda ki bhi hadd hoti hai, the so called powered exoskeleton is a joke without the bottom part actually helping in support that weight, because without it the exoskeleton is adding more problems than solving it. Extra weight toh beycharey soldier pey hi daal diya

Coomer is using An exoskeleton in Close Quarter combat, where you need to maintain a smaller profile and require a carbine
This is just propoganda for 15 yr olds

jai jaganath

Development is done. Now onto production.
It may be that they can't produce uttam fast enough for first 40 mk1a .
Also the fact that Israel earlier agreed to supply aesa for jaguar on condition that should get a larger order later.

So I guess a compromise in works .

No issue in offering other countries since even if they order today there jets won't be delivered for 3 years atleast.
When u have a homegrown radar that too giving performance at par with Israeli then what amount of clause shouldn't stop
Who has abided our conditions, who has respected our agreement and I am speaking in broad sense not only in defense sector
I don't see any logic behind it
Now our first 40 mk1a will be dependent for radar on Isreal doesn't that hamper oir goal of self reliance yeah it might be small thing but these small things shows their intention
When everyone was reporting that 21st tejas and then again changed that 20th tejas would receive uttam for past 3 years didn't they know about the clause that time or it skipped from their mind but that isn't true

jai jaganath

Haha Sriram the Delhi defence review editor liked this tweet
Pls don't bash me but for past 3 years reports were coming that 21st tejas will be equipped with uttam and that too from reliable sources
Didn't they realize that time that an agreement exists with iai
Majorly those authors used to quote hal officials or mod officials

Srinie

Pls don't bash me but for past 3 years reports were coming that 21st tejas will be equipped with uttam and that too from reliable sources
Babu Bhaiya yaha contracts with desi firms have no value until order is given . It's a win win for HAL . It's a loss for lrde and the many msmes involved in the project

jai jaganath

Babu Bhaiya yaha contracts with desi firms have no value until order is given . It's a win win for HAL . It's a loss for lrde and the many msmes involved in the project
Exactly many firms were involved in this project and hopeful too
Those reporting in prestigious news papers and mostly reliable always stated 21st unit will have uttam and sources were sometimes hal officials or mod but that time did entire establishment forget about clause and other things
More importantly many agreements which we have made with countries are not abided then why should we when we have at par performance platform

mere existence of quotes in news reports mean nothing.

in the first place named source is rare in defence related news.
secondly, after years pass, context of the news report from years prior is forgotten and people's memory is clouded by confirmation bias.
thirdly, every engineering project is the same. there will be delays, it's an occupational hazard. can't hold them against them.

don't get hung up on news paper reports.

separating facts from the clutter is what DFI is for.

ObiWanKenobi

Nope, that's exactly why first you need to know what you exactly want and form a detailed QRs so as to get that. They didn't put a cap on dimensions and hence tonbo big TI was selected.
From what I observed, IA seems to have no idea what it exactly wants and hence refloatation of tenders endlessly. L1 is essentially a very good mechanism, you just have to make QRs very detailed.
But yeah, going forward IA has to take lead in programs to get any good needed tangible system. IA has to shed their customer mind where they form QRs which apparently they keep on changing the. Take on a project actively, give your inputs and get what you want.
If not, I wholly expect our Government to shove down indigenious systems down on them, sooner or later they have to learn not to salivate over foreign maal. Well, what can I say IA seems to be full of old generals who still think of ruski and foreign weapons as superior to indigenious or atleast there is some noticable foreign lobby influence, which of course is backed by their nostalgia.
Don't disagree with what you are saying, in fact, you are 100% correct. But look at it this way for a second.

To get the right thing with L1, you will always need to think of each and everything under the sun in your QR so nobody cuts corners.

With L1, the market dynamic is such that here will be a never ending race to the bottom among the bidders to find loopholes in your QR no matter how detailed you make it. Without L1, you can have something that encourages bidders to push up and not down.

In the TONBO example, if there was no L1 - they could specify the same 0.5kg maximum weight and just give each contender a 'score' with maximum 33% of points for cost/value. TONBO would still win. But when the cost is ultimate determinant, everybody will try to make something with the maximum weight because it's cheaper.

mokoman