DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Kya yaar, kuch bhi bol dete ho (regarding Kamorta).
Why bro? Will it not have some of these weapons? :crying:
I hope that it at least gets S.M.A.R.T.

Why bro? Will it not have some of these weapons? :crying:
I hope that it at least gets S.M.A.R.T.
He meant that the Karmorta is anything but lightly armed. Its a fucking nightmare for ChinkiPorki Subs. It's an extremely capable ASW dedicated ship. The IN never said that it was a multipurpose corvette. western analysts who have become so used to seeing IN ships that do everything got shocked and started the rumours.

NeXoft007

Actual scaled pic of Stand Off Anti-Tank Missile/ S.A.N.T Missile (also known as MLPGM/ Missile Launched Precision Guided Munition). Powered by MMW Seeker.

The name Missile Launched PGM (MLPGM) IS given because it can be fitted inside a Tactical Ballistic Missile and release it from a favorable altitude. Ultra Unique Concept. I guess Pinaka will take the role of carrying it although the other pic mentions Prithvi Missile.
IMG_20180227_115608.jpg

Ncawpal.jpg

Actual scaled pic of Stand Off Anti-Tank Missile/ S.A.N.T Missile (also known as MLPGM/ Missile Launched Precision Guided Munition). Powered by MMW Seeker.

The name Missile Launched PGM (MLPGM) IS given because it can be fitted inside a Tactical Ballistic Missile and release it from a favorable altitude. Ultra Unique Concept. I guess Pinaka will take the role of carrying it although the other pic mentions Prithvi Missile.
View attachment 23520
View attachment 23521
Just saying when you put the watermark "indian defence forum" and people Google for it then the first link to come up will be from the porky PEEDF indian defence forum.

so my advice watermark your pictures as " defence forum India / DFI "

then any Google search against the same will directly link to this forum rather than any porky forums

cyclops

NEWS: @DRDO_India tested the Prospina anti-tank guided missile (ATGM) in top-attack mode earlier today. Prospina is the latest iteration of the Nag ATGM and sports an indigenous MWIR seeker. Here are file images of the Prospina/Nag being tested in top-attack mode. https://t.co/SVnHEwKoJp

Sent from my Aqua Ace II using Tapatalk
I hope its a cooled MWIR seeker, those perform better, cooled IRs that is.
I think Javelin has a cooled MWIR seeker as well.

I hope its a cooled MWIR seeker, those perform better, cooled IRs that is.
I think Javelin has a cooled MWIR seeker as well.
Yes it is cooled, it has a miniature cryogenic cooling unit.

And that is one of the reasons why the present seeker is able to maintain lock when the target gets heated up to the same temperature as that of the surrounding ie very minute difference of temperature between the 2 for the seeker to differentiate. Without the cooling unit at high temperatures the seeker will see only white noise.

The new seeker with the cooling unit will be able to sense heat or infra-red signals in three different thermal scenarios
1.thermal differential within the target
2.between the target and the surroundings
3.and the surrounding temperature variation.

That much sensitive it has become .

Javelin and spike failed because their seeker was not able to differentiate between target thermal signature and the background thermal signature at extreme heat conditions, which heated up the target to almost the same temperature as that of the surrounding.

The new seeker with the cooling unit will be able to sense heat or infra-red signals in three different thermal scenarios
1.thermal differential within the target
2.between the target and the surroundings
3.and the surrounding temperature variation.

That much sensitive it has become .
Forgot to add that the new seeker of nag has the ability to detect and hit targets with a very low thermal contrast vis a vis the surroundings to the tune of a mere 0.2 degree Celsius.

vishnugupt

Foreign missile failed in thar desert in summer If this a capability of our indigenous MWIR ( 0.2 Celsius) then it must be best seeker in the world in its class still this missile is being treated in MBT Arjun 's way, by indian army Why?? Test firing, test firing, no orders......

I think I found the loophole why DRDO tests fail or get delayed. [emoji14]

When ever there is a parallel foreign procurement going on tests fail. When procurement is completed test pass and development moves ahead.

Recently any ATGMs deals were signed in last 1-2 years?

soikot banerjee

upload_2018-2-28_22-43-33.png

Regarding the gun scenario, one thing is clear from the TPCR doc of MOD, the doc is primarily based on "Indigenously Designed Developed and Manufactured " scehme of DPP 2016:
1. Majority of 7.62*51 will be license manufactured foreign rifle and Indian design will be winded up at 250000+.
2. JVPC is going to see some light now, just look at the cartridge requirement it is shouting at the face, about JVPC or amogh.

soikot banerjee

When ever there is a parallel foreign procurement going on tests fail. When procurement is completed test pass and development moves ahead.

That's simple, you just decided to spend money on yourself rather than importing. You decided to have faith on your own system rather than importing and license manufacturing under the BUY AND MAKE INDIAN scheme.

darshan978

Darth Vader

its all about kickbacks in short term!!!

cyclops

Foreign missile failed in thar desert in summer If this a capability of our indigenous MWIR ( 0.2 Celsius) then it must be best seeker in the world in its class still this missile is being treated in MBT Arjun 's way, by indian army Why?? Test firing, test firing, no orders......
If I am being honest, when IA floated the idea of Namica at the very last moment some years back I had a feeling Nag's induction will be dragged by "evaluations".

And if after last year's barrage of successful tests and this one with the improved seeker head doesn't result to IA mass ordering Nags.

I don't know what to say except that there is concerted effort to see indigenous equipment fail.

MOD's press release after yesterday's successful test.

http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=176898
Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Defence
28-February-2018 19:55 IST
Successful Flight Test of ATGM NAG
Anti Tank Guided Missiles (ATGM) NAG were successfully flight-tested today in desert conditions against two tank targets at different ranges and timings. NAG ATGM has been developed by Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and today’s flight tests have once again proved its capability. With this, the developmental trials of the missile have been completed and it is now ready for induction.

Director General (Missiles and Strategic Systems) Dr. G Satheesh Reddy, said that with the successful test flights, the technologies pertaining to ATGM to engage targets in different conditions have been established.

Chairman, DRDO & Secretary, Department of Defence R&D Dr. S Christopher, congratulated the NAG team for the achievement.

SRR/NAo/Nampi/Rajib