If such system entered production phase, Its high time for OFB to make version of this in SPGH both wheeled and tracked ..
I think you are comparing wrong howitzers.Yes sir i know that... was just getting a descriptive view...
that is a long way for us to go... huge ....
I think you are comparing wrong howitzers.
Dhanush has a APU where as M777 doesn't have.
The towed metamorphosis howitzer is a towed version of Dhanush and it weighs 8.7 tonnes.
Ordnance Factory Board
Also, metamorphosis is of 45 cal whereas m777 is 39 cal. So, some weight reduction in barrel too.
But, then again the difference between 3500 odd kg vs 8000 odd kg has to be mastered through metallurgy. ( titanium alloy)
Reason being that Bofors name too bad and no one wanted it to be touched becoz of last scam...the culprits are army themselves
when we bought bofors in 1986 we got ToT
even when we had shortage of guns
we didnt remember that we had ToT
some1 jut recalled 1 years ago
What non sense
I think Bofors was to be made under license by India. This was the reason for TOT.the culprits are army themselves
when we bought bofors in 1986 we got ToT
even when we had shortage of guns
we didnt remember that we had ToT
some1 jut recalled 1 years ago
What non sense
Disagree on this bit sir.
His efforts paid off ..
Disagree on this bit sir.
During his tenure nothing progressed...no progress or change in army's mind set.
Speaking and action are two different things. Let me know 1 indigenous project that got any support from army top brass during his tenure? real reason is army is not able to get any replacements for its older guns. that's why dhanush.
No support on Arjun tank, neither on INSAS etc.
Both the Army and OFB, in fact, are "quite excited" about Dhanush, which performs "20-25% better" than the original Bofors gun in virtually all parameters like range, accuracy, consistency, low and high angle of fire and shoot-and-scoot ability. "It outclassed the Bofors during the trials in Sikkim at sub-zero temperatures at 11,500 feet altitude," said an official.
Source : Desi Bofors howitzer undergoes final trials in major boost to indigenization - The Times of IndiaThe Army hopes to plug at least some of its operational gaps in long-range, high-volume firepower through the initial induction of 414 Dhanush guns. The OFB has already been given an order of over Rs 1,260 crore to make 114 howitzers. There was a slight setback to the project when the barrel of a Dhanush prototype burst during firing trials at Pokhran in August last year. But officials contend it was the use of "old ammunition with air bubbles" that led to the accident. "The inquiry established there was no fault with the barrel or its metallurgy," he said.
Gen VK Singh was unfortunate to have his tenure coincide with one of the most inept Defense Minister India has seen. The armed forces have a word for it "Äntony Effect" - ask any senior brassDisagree on this bit sir.
During his tenure nothing progressed...no progress or change in army's mind set.
Speaking and action are two different things. Let me know 1 indigenous project that got any support from army top brass during his tenure? real reason is army is not able to get any replacements for its older guns. that's why dhanush.
No support on Arjun tank, neither on INSAS etc.
Desi Bofors howitzer undergoes final trials in major boost to indigenization
Source : Desi Bofors howitzer undergoes final trials in major boost to indigenization - The Times of India
========================
As per the plan, OFB will manufacture 18 howitzers in this financial year, followed by 50 in the next, and 100 per year thereafter," said the official. Based on the current production plan, it will take around 6 years (2020) to produce all 414 Dhanush guns.
Agree on few things Sir...There is not much public about what he did, Due to only his efforts today we have Dhanush and MK2 in trails so does many other minor things which are numerous and which make big difference, He is doing even now at position he is appointed in ..
As for INSAS, There won`t be any 1B1 improved in service without much of his presence, One man cannot undo decade of corruption in one go ..
Issue is with decades of in decision. its will not change over time.I am not happy. India needs minimum 1500 guns for China border if India thinks it needs to deter China. Tanks are largely ineffective on this border. Chinese have much higher firepower compared to Indians in every respect. Army dragging its feet equals to not wanting to fight with China. It is one thing to talk about two-front war, it is another to actually prepare for one.
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
Indian Army Likely to Place $190 Million Order for 114 Dhanush Howitzers | Indian Army | 2 | ||
Indigenous Bofors gun Dhanush inducted | Indian Army | 20 | ||
IAF to take part in Ex Indra Dhanush in UK, Red Flag in US | Indian Air Force | 2 | ||
155mm Dhanush MK2 of 52 caliber | Indian Army | 42 |