PaliwalWarrior
is 27g enough ?
I think, Most fighter Aircraft are designed to survive upto 24 G's . but Pilots are able to perform only 9g's which is safer to human Body. Exceeding the Limit may cause severe damage to the Human BodyHow many g's can a fighter aircraft pull?
For every G pulled by Aircraft missile needs to counter it by multiple G's to outbeat it. 24g's is generally not good enough to defeat a fighter with good pilot.I think, Most fighter Aircraft are designed to survive upto 24 G's . but Pilots are able to perform only 9g's which is safer to human Body. Exceeding the Limit may cause severe damage to the Human Body
I do not know as a fighter pilot but merely the input of 27 g that was mentioned by the reports is clearly insufficient detail. The report inputs provided are more intended to flummox people who rely on Brochure data too much. So if somebody says that an AIM120 can do this and that kind of ta-ta-thaiya then DRDO has just said we can too. And thats it.For every G pulled by Aircraft missile needs to counter it by multiple G's to outbeat it. 24g's is generally not good enough to defeat a fighter with good pilot.
Good start for development flights.is 27g enough ?
i am not criticizing but aking for my own knowledgeGood start for development flights.
More the better, target is 40g. You see they have to set up special test range where all these G have to be recorded not only by fighters, missile, target but also by ground stations.i am not criticizing but aking for my own knowledge
also what should be ideal g values i should achieve to be a sure shot deadly missile ?
Sir, while the numbers you have stated is undoubtedly correct, you are missing the actual meaning and import of the numbers. One needs a reasonably good concept of Newtonian Physics to make sense of these numbers.More the better, target is 40g. You see they have to set up special test range where all these G have to be recorded not only by fighters, missile, target but also by ground stations.
This is first attempt, so 40g is good if you take that 9g is human limit and pilots pass out for lack of blood in brain.
perhaps you can give it a try.I will bookmark it and read it whenever i dont get sleep.Sir, while the numbers you have stated is undoubtedly correct, you are missing the actual meaning and import of the numbers. One needs a reasonably good concept of Newtonian Physics to make sense of these numbers.
The 40G for the missile does not necessarily equal better performance than the 9G for the fighter aircraft. I could try explaining the nuances but it'd long, and boring. And I suspect most people will fall asleep while reading
This site was blocked(?) or perhaps refused connection on our college network, by which I mean the Central government's fibre optic network and hence I was unable to gain access to it for a long time. This is why the reply is so late.perhaps you can give it a try.I will bookmark it and read it whenever i dont get sleep.
Do you mean to say missile should slow down to mach 2 to hit aircraft trying to evade at 9g?T
In fact, the missile will have to fly at less than 700 m/s to have any chance of striking the aircraft.
This is why despite what a lot of people might believe, evading a missile is not impossible.
I hope the explanation has been adequate. If not, feel free to ask, or correct me if there’s any flaw.
[/url] imgupload[/IMG]
Precisely. Everything else being the same, the slower the speed, the tighter the turn. You might have seen in F1 race, where the driver coming in too fast can't make a tight turn, and is sent off the track. It follows the same principle.Do you mean to say missile should slow down to mach 2 to hit aircraft trying to evade at 9g?
If this is so obvious,Do you think DRDO would have factored this into the missile?Precisely. Everything else being the same, the slower the speed, the tighter the turn. You might have seen in F1 race, where the driver coming in too fast can't make a tight turn, and is sent off the track. It follows the same principle.
In the case of the missile, the path of the aircraft is it's track, and if it cannot slow down sufficiently to stay in track, it will overshoot. And therein lies the problem: Very few missiles have variable thrust, that would allow it to change speeds.
It should be kept in mind that some of the most 'straightforward' problems require the most complicated of engineering solutions. Conversely, some of the most 'complex' of problems have been solved with some of the most simple engineering solutions.If this is so obvious,Do you think DRDO would have factored this into the missile?
BTW,do you know examples of other AAM which uses this variable thrust?
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
M | India successfully test fires Astra interceptor missile | Strategic Forces | 48 | |
S | Astra Microwave wins Rs 310 crore defence contract | Indian Army | 4 | |
Is this is how India’s “Desi Meteor” SFDR BVRAAM is gonna look like ? | Indian Air Force | 19 | ||
METEOR Missile -BVRAAM | Strategic Forces | 5 |