Arjun Main Battle Tank (MBT)

guys do you notice,lookwise it is better than T-90 and also i think it has good capabilities since many drivers want ac in T-90 showing it has problems in heating but not in arjun tank
just my 2cents

ZOOM

Founding Member
Any updates on MBT Tank X that is in development?

Rajan

Any updates on MBT Tank X that is in development?
As far as I remember it is rejected by the IA. They went for more T-90S/M. T-90S failed in many ways in trials as well as tests but they still went for it because of its weight issue!!!! Thats why IA is far behind the IAF and IN in terms of technology.

Sandrocottas

Whew. I am highly pleased that IA have inducted Arjun. I hope with increased usage, The mindset of IA would change. Constant interaction with an object can change one's attitude.

Sumku

Seeking to build up its armoured warfare capabilities to crush a potential threat from Venezuela, its Latin American neighbour Colombia has shown interest in buying India’s indigenous Main Battle Tank (MBT) Arjun.

The first ever expression of interest from abroad in the MBT Arjun could translate into an export order worth Rs 1,700 crore, with Colombia wanting to raise at least two regiments of main battle tanks.

“Bogota has expressed interest in the MBT Arjun. The Colombian army has an immediate requirement for 10 tanks to be followed up with the induction of another 100 over five years,” said a senior official, on the condition of anonymity.

The competitors for the Colombian order include France (MBT Leclerc), US (MIAI Abram), Israel (Sabra), Korea (KI AI) and China.
India’s reluctance to export military equipment could tip the scales in the favour of international suppliers.
Whats so unique with the tech here, afterall there are more than handfull of nations that would be more than happy to fill the order. Why are we always such a ****head when it comes to practicall matters?

Sell the MBT, earn some money and invest that profit back to DRDO. Whats the issue here?

The ministry of external affairs had recently turned down a Bolivian request for a line of credit to buy seven Dhruv advanced light helicopters worth over Rs 300 crore from Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.
Again why not. Whats so wrong with extending a line of credit? If not happy with line of credit then can we barter it for something - anything that we need and they have in plenty, if for nothing else then just give it as gift from India and make some diplomatic headway-generate some goodwill.

Sumku

Mods: seems we have another thready(sticky) around Arjun. Can this thread be merged with one here?
Makes for easy reading and no need to go through multiple threads for one topic

[mod]thread merged with similar thread[/mod]

the really sad part is we lost the bhim as well that would have made one helluva gun.:icon_salut:

Arun

Well guys take a look at this spec from the above posted pdf, ground pressure [psi] of arjun is even lower than T-90s .Then how cum IA classify it as a chunky junk ha.

Sridhar

House keeper
Well guys take a look at this spec from the above posted pdf, ground pressure [psi] of arjun is even lower than T-90s .Then how cum IA classify it as a chunky junk ha.
If you have a Bigger foot print , you can achieve it.

Arun

If you have a Bigger foot print , you can achieve it.
bro exactly the pressure is is equally distributed ,so the question of arjun getting stuck doesn't occurs, according to the comparison T-90s will often

The difference is not that big. According to the comparison the T-90 has a greater ground pressure compared to the Arjun. It does not say anywhere that the T-90 will get stuck often.

Arun

The difference is not that big. According to the comparison the T-90 has a greater ground pressure compared to the Arjun. It does not say anywhere that the T-90 will get stuck often.
Its not quoted but you can speculate from it wright.Yeah your wright its not that a big diff.

Arun

Guys i was thinking the whole plot of denial of Arjun tank by IA seems to be fishy.Well what i mean is that they really like Arjun but they don't want to create a logistical problem by sudden induction of Arjun.Since war doctrine for heavy tank like Arjun is always different.And they know if they opt for Arjun it would mess up the whole army tank units.So the induction of T 90S may be consider as a smooth way maker for Arjun induction into the Arny. Don't forget that we have around 3500 odd tanks of which chunk of them will get phased out in a decade,also our "babus" make the purchase of new MBT to supplement the above cause ,difficult as we all know.

Because of that "maybe" army opt for such a measure.Perfect example for my thought is the situation of IAF.

"This is only my thought"

pavanvenkatesh

guys,
we can give all the source in the world regarding the capabilities of the Arju but the bottom line is THE ARMY WILL NEVER BUY MORE ARJUNS AND WILL NEVER CONDUCT THE AUCRUT test with T-90S, the funny thing is they cry for indegineous development but the same T-90S has half the components bought off the shelf from Russia. The Arjun even havin better mobility,survivability, & more accurate fire power it will be buried jus like all t other projects

Sridhar

House keeper
guys,
we can give all the source in the world regarding the capabilities of the Arju but the bottom line is THE ARMY WILL NEVER BUY MORE ARJUNS AND WILL NEVER CONDUCT THE AUCRUT test with T-90S, the funny thing is they cry for indegineous development but the same T-90S has half the components bought off the shelf from Russia. The Arjun even havin better mobility,survivability, & more accurate fire power it will be buried jus like all t other projects
You meant Comparative Trials , Is int it ?