Alternatives to Dassault Rafale

@sob , you are talking about developing a F-35 equivalent on our own. We will go broke doing so. US chose the superior design among the two and we all know how it went.

In addition to that, it will kill rest of the programs. It is better to pester France about TOT than bankrupting ourselves in making something nobody wants or needs.

X-32 is the spiritual equivalent of F-20 Tigershark.
How many billions will the Russians drain from us for the T 50 or PAKFGA or whatever the hell it is called, build on unproven technologies with Indian money.

Another short term option might be available (But it is a major compromise with capabilities for a period of time). Even so, what if the air force buys Mig 29Ks instead of Rafaels and transfers them over to the navy when the IAC-I and IAC-II are ready? By that time the air force will have more options available. e.g.:- HAL Tejas Mk3 or (hopefully) HAL AMCA.
That actually is a good idea and a novel one. The IAF can get the pilots for them from navy on deputation who will go back once the carriers becomes operational. By that time LCA Mk-II will also achieve at least IOC and IAF would have started training. Also the deputed pilots will have been well versed in IAF doctrine and if needed can be brought in to fight in theatres where IN won't have involvement or limited involvement like western theatre.

But I doubt such will be a way of thinking by the brass, since that would mean sharing their resouces which they jealously guard. Some thing like would have been possible if we had a joint chief of staff.

You nailed the point. A tri-service chief is what is impeding interoperability.

How many billions will the Russians drain from us for the T 50 or PAKFGA or whatever the hell it is called, build on unproven technologies with Indian money.
It is my personal opinion:
Russians bleed money out of us but give us T.O.T. and technological support, no matter our political stance internationally. They do not mind how we use our P.M.F.s (Perspective Multirole Fighter) as long as it is not against them.
However, if we buy a U.S. product, especially one as expensive as F-35 J.S.F., who knows when they might withdraw support as part of sanctions on Indian military to make us follow their political aim? If we buy U.S. hardware, there is no T.O.T. and you are forced to join the U.S. allied forces, damn the political views and objectives of your own country. We can not become a global lieutenant of the U.S.A.
Now , unproven they might be but Russian engineers have proven time and again that they are one of the best, if not the best. Might I remind you, it was a Russian who gave the concept of stealth and V.L.O. aircraft.

blueblood

Not even a fraction of what we'll end up spending for our own compatible program. Chinese are far behind both US and Russia in terms of developing key technologies and we are not even close to the Chinese.

Since you are a Dilliwalla you may appreciate these words more than I do;

Dil Ko Behlane Ke Liye Ghalib Ye Khayal Achha Hai

In reality, Indian tech is at least one and a half decades behind Russia and then some. The highly troubled F-35 will be trouble free by the mid of the next decade and T-50 will be flying with its new engine and state of the art avionics but India will still be desperately seeking some solution to the "AMCA problem".

As I said, best course of action is to pester French for TOT. You win some and you lose some. This is our time to lose our money and gain a potent platform.

PaliwalWarrior

http://www.businessinsider.in/India...s-Desire-and-Dilemma/articleshow/47469257.cms

FACTS- Dassault Rafale vs Sukhoi SU-35

Sukhoi SU-35 is cheaper.........?
Dassault Rafale is more economical.
Sukhoi SU-35 is faster.
Sukhoi SU-35 is better armed.
Dassault Rafale is better dogfighter.
Dassault Rafale is smaller than Sukhoi SU-35.

----------------------------------------------------

http://idrw.org/indias-fighter-aircraft-ambitions-desire-and-dilemma/#more-65141

-------------------------------------------------------------

Let me put in this way.........

If a country wants to get at least 30 Su-35 / Rafale aircraft in ready to scramble position in any given point of time.

Then how many number of aircrafts they have to buy in total to get 30 aircrafts ready to go....?
What will be the acquisition cost of the whole lot......?
What will be the maintenance cost of the whole lot....?

Now compare Su-35 and Rafale.

Su30MKI costs 358 crores as per RM
Rafale costs twice that as per RM (las year MMRCA figures)

Su30MKI maintainance at 5% works out to 17.9 croores / year
rafale maintainance at 5% works out to double that / year

now tell me which is cheaper ?

Su30MKI costs 358 crores as per RM
Rafale costs twice that as per RM (las year MMRCA figures)

Su30MKI maintainance at 5% works out to 17.9 croores / year
rafale maintainance at 5% works out to double that / year

now tell me which is cheaper ?
Sir, you know it much better than me.
And you also know that you are favouring Russian product, that is why you are playing with the facts.

Anyway first, provide amounts in US $s please. And that price will be for kits.
Add assembling costs.
On top of it what ever western stuff goes on it, that will be additional.

Second, obviously, Rafale has more fly cost, so flat % of its cost will be higher.
But which aircrafts has more operational readiness...!
In real world, in air force fleet, how much % of aircrafts remains in hanger for maintenance at given point of time.....!

And the question remain unanswered........
to get 30 aircrafts ready to go, how much aircrafts they have to buy....?

Reactions: sob

India was / is ATM for Russians.

When ever they need money they come to India and try to sell something to India.

I have no objection to it. In fact I would love to see it in IAF roundels.
If US do a favour to India , in that case, F-35 will be way cheaper than X-32.
Bcz it will be a part of the huge on going JSF program.
On top of it cost effective upgrades, spares and maintenance until entire life cycle.

You nailed the point. A tri-service chief is what is impeding interoperability.

It is my personal opinion:
Russians bleed money out of us but give us T.O.T. and technological support, no matter our political stance internationally. They do not mind how we use our P.M.F.s (Perspective Multirole Fighter) as long as it is not against them.
However, if we buy a U.S. product, especially one as expensive as F-35 J.S.F., who knows when they might withdraw support as part of sanctions on Indian military to make us follow their political aim? If we buy U.S. hardware, there is no T.O.T. and you are forced to join the U.S. allied forces, damn the political views and objectives of your own country. We can not become a global lieutenant of the U.S.A.
Now , unproven they might be but Russian engineers have proven time and again that they are one of the best, if not the best. Might I remind you, it was a Russian who gave the concept of stealth and V.L.O. aircraft.
In other words........ India was / is ATM for Russians.

India got T.O.T. for Su-30. As they paid for it.
Still India can't upgrade Su-30 mki at home itself with the help of that given T.O.T.
So what is the point for that useless TOT.....!

@ PaliwalWarrior ,
Please read it as......... "Rafale has more flyaway cost."

And you also know that you are favouring Russian product, that is why you are playing with the facts.

Add assembling costs.

Second, obviously, Rafale has more flyaway cost, so flat % of its cost will be higher.
In real world, in air force fleet, how much % of aircrafts remains in hanger for maintenance at given point of time.....!

Is the F-35 an alternative to the Rafale?

In my opinion, no.

There are several reasons for it.

It is expensive: First of all, the F-35 is expensive. What started off at an estimate of $50 million, is not hovering at around $140 million.

Tailoring requirements: The Canadian government did not pick a plane that meets its requirements. It picked its requirements that matches a plane. This is very similar to speculation about India's recent RFI on a new battle tank that appeared to be match the Russian T-14 Armata. See from 31:34 in the video below:

Stealth sells: While there has been a lot of publicity to sell the idea of stealth, and how it gives an edge to the F-35 user that it makes it undetectable. In reality, it can be detected by "VHF bands" and by "a growing number of Russian and Chinese radars." See the excerpts from an article below:
. . .

These problems are not secret at all. The F-35 is susceptible to detection by radars operating in the VHF bands of the spectrum. The fighter’s jamming is mostly confined to the X-band, in the sector covered by its APG-81 radar. These are not criticisms of the program but the result of choices by the customer, the Pentagon.

To suggest that the F-35 is VHF-stealthy is like arguing that the sky is not blue—literally, because both involve the same phenomenon. The late-Victorian physicist Lord Rayleigh gave his name to the way that electromagnetic radiation is scattered by objects that are smaller than its wavelength. This applies to the particles in the air that scatter sunlight, and aircraft stabilizers and wingtips that are about the same meter-class size as VHF waves.

The counter-stealth attributes of VHF have been public knowledge for decades. They were known at the dawn of stealth, in 1983, when the MIT’s Lincoln Laboratory ordered a 150-foot-wide radar to emulate Russia’s P-14 Oborona VHF early-warning system. Lockheed Martin’s Fort Worth division—makers of the F-35—should know about that radar: they built it.

. . .

Neither did the technology to add broadband-active jamming to a stealth aircraft exist in 1995. Not only did stealth advocates expect jamming to fade away, but there was an obvious and (at the time) insoluble problem: To use jamming you have to be certain that the radar has detected you. Otherwise, jamming is going to reveal your presence and identify you as a stealth aircraft, since the adversary can see a signal but not a reflection.

. . .

Marketing is its strength: The F-35 has been touted as one of the best and stealthiest aircraft that can do a wide variety of things. In reality, it has been found to be wanting. While US Navy brass thinks it is overrated, it has been found inferior to the F-16 in a dogfight, which it was designed to far exceed, which means, it is useful only at long range engagements.

F-35 ToT worse deal than FGFA: With India's negotiations with Russia regarding the FGFA that seems to have stalled, the Russians are moving ahead with the T-50 PAK-FA, with or without India. Contrary to what many claim, Russia is not asking for funding from India for its PAK-FA programme. India's funding was for the FGFA, which is tailored to suit India's needs, unlike in case of Canada, who tailored their needs based on what they were going to buy. If India invests in F-35, it will be funding an already delayed and beyond budget project for a plane that was not designed to meet India's requirements. With the F-35 programme having run over budget and sounds of criticism growing, one must be cautious and consider that Lockheed-Martin might be looking to rope in more partners to ensure that its struggling JSF programme succeeds.

What is the solution?
The solution is to go for 36 Rafales off the shelf, get more Sukhoi-30 MKIs, go for a batch-wise upgrade to Super Sukhoi, and produce more LCA I-P.

Is the F-35 an alternative to the Rafale?

In my opinion, no.

There are several reasons for it.

It is expensive: First of all, the F-35 is expensive. What started off at an estimate of $50 million, is not hovering at around $140 million.

Tailoring requirements: The Canadian government did not pick a plane that meets its requirements. It picked its requirements that matches a plane. This is very similar to speculation about India's recent RFI on a new battle tank that appeared to be match the Russian T-14 Armata. See from 31:34 in the video below:
https://www.f35.com/news/detail/lockheed-martin-prepares-for-f-35-ramp-up-to-drive-down-costs/

Stealth sells: While there has been a lot of publicity to sell the idea of stealth, and how it gives an edge to the F-35 user that it makes it undetectable. In reality, it can be detected by "VHF bands" and by "a growing number of Russian and Chinese radars." See the excerpts from an article below:.....
Sir, if that red color part is true, then India won't go for war with Russia anyway. :troll:
So no need to worry. :biggrin2:
And Russia also has many tech, that they don't offer it in export market , what so ever.

Have a look at price of F-35A........ https://www.f35.com/about/fast-facts/cost
It says.................. "An F-35A purchased in 2018 and delivered in 2020 will be $85 million".
If we get that (or near to this) price then good, otherwise no good. On top of it, that price include engine.

. . .

These problems are not secret at all. The F-35 is susceptible to detection by radars operating in the VHF bands of the spectrum. The fighter’s jamming is mostly confined to the X-band, in the sector covered by its APG-81 radar. These are not criticisms of the program but the result of choices by the customer, the Pentagon.

To suggest that the F-35 is VHF-stealthy is like arguing that the sky is not blue—literally, because both involve the same phenomenon. The late-Victorian physicist Lord Rayleigh gave his name to the way that electromagnetic radiation is scattered by objects that are smaller than its wavelength. This applies to the particles in the air that scatter sunlight, and aircraft stabilizers and wingtips that are about the same meter-class size as VHF waves.

The counter-stealth attributes of VHF have been public knowledge for decades. They were known at the dawn of stealth, in 1983, when the MIT’s Lincoln Laboratory ordered a 150-foot-wide radar to emulate Russia’s P-14 Oborona VHF early-warning system. Lockheed Martin’s Fort Worth division—makers of the F-35—should know about that radar: they built it.
Sir, few days back Israeli aircrafts invaded in Syrian skies again. And Syrian radars / missiles can't get Israeli aircrafts.
Those radars and missiles were supplied by Russians. If I am not wrong.
If they can't get non-stealthy aircrafts then what I can say about F-35.....!

. . .

Neither did the technology to add broadband-active jamming to a stealth aircraft exist in 1995. Not only did stealth advocates expect jamming to fade away, but there was an obvious and (at the time) insoluble problem: To use jamming you have to be certain that the radar has detected you. Otherwise, jamming is going to reveal your presence and identify you as a stealth aircraft, since the adversary can see a signal but not a reflection.
Again, Russia never offer that 'good things' in actual products, supplied in export market. If I am not wrong, that is why it get designated as Commercial (Kommercheskiy).

. . .

[/SPOILER]
Marketing is its strength: The F-35 has been touted as one of the best and stealthiest aircraft that can do a wide variety of things. In reality, it has been found to be wanting. While US Navy brass thinks it is overrated, it has been found inferior to the F-16 on a dogfight, which it was designed to far exceed, which means, it is useful only at long range engagements.
When someone got F-35, then why the hell he / she gonna think about a dag fight, I wonder....!
Even Swedish believe in 'look first, kill first' concept, forget about US.

F-35 ToT worse deal than FGFA: With India's negotiations with Russia regarding the FGFA that seems to have stalled, the Russians are moving ahead with the T-50 PAK-FA, with or without India. Contrary to what many claim, Russia is not asking for funding from India for its PAK-FA programme. India's funding was for the FGFA, which is tailored to suit India's needs, unlike in case of Canada, who tailored their needs based on what they were going to buy. If India invests in F-35, it will be funding an already delayed and beyond budget project for a plane that was not designed to meet India's requirements. With the F-35 programme having run over budget and sounds of criticism growing, one must be cautious and consider that Lockheed-Martin might be looking to rope in more partners to ensure that its struggling JSF programme succeeds.
Again, what we gonna do with TOT....!
OR
What we did with all those TOT which we got in past....?
TOT is not free anyway. And India did paid for it with tax payer's money.

For bold part...... best example is T-90.
Super duper tailored suit India's need.

What is the solution?
The solution is to go for 36 Rafales off the shelf, get more Sukhoi-30 MKIs, go for a batch-wise upgrade to Super Sukhoi, and produce more LCA I-P.
Back to square again. :bounce:
Modi loves this question very much. So for him, no need to worry at all for spending money at all. :yo:

Sir, if that red color part is true, then India won't go for war with Russia anyway. :troll:
So no need to worry. :biggrin2:
Your quote is messed up. Not sure what red part you are referring to.

Edit: I see you fixed your post. Got it. :)

And Russia also has many tech, that they don't offer it in export market , what so ever.

Have a look at price of F-35A........ https://www.f35.com/about/fast-facts/cost
It says.................. "An F-35A purchased in 2018 and delivered in 2020 will be $85 million".
If we get that (or near to this) price then good, otherwise no good. On top of it, that price include engine.
$85 million is one of the many prices that float around. The cost has already touched $140 million.

Sir, few days back Israeli aircrafts invaded in Syrian skies again. And Syrian radars / missiles can't get Israeli aircrafts.
Those radars and missiles were supplied by Russians. If I am not wrong.
If they can't get non-stealthy aircrafts then what I can say about F-35.....!
Russia sells monkey models to its client states. It will never give out its best. When Russia actually chose to use its radar (it was on a Russian ship, not with the Serbs), the F-117A was shot down in Yugoslavia.

Again, Russia never offer that 'good things' in actual products, supplied in export market. If I am not wrong, that is why it get designated as Commercial (Kommercheskiy).
Absolutely correct.

When someone got F-35, then why the hell he / she gonna think about a dag fight, I wonder....!
Even Swedish believe in 'look first, kill first' concept, forget about US.
When someone is in an F-35, why would he get in a dogfight? No, he won't, because he will become mincemeat. So, what will he do? Engage enemy targets from a long range? He can't even do that. To engage enemy target, he will have to use the F-35's radar, that will automatically turn his plane from stealth to non-stealth.

Stealth and early target acquisition are mutually contradictory concepts. One cannot swim in the river and remain dry at the same time.

What I am getting at is, stealth has been oversold. Which is why I am not too big on the FGFA either.

Again, what we gonna do with TOT....!
OR
What we did with all those TOT which we got in past....?
TOT is not free anyway. And India did paid for it with tax payer's money.

For bold part...... best example is T-90.
Super duper tailored suit India's need.
We have done little with ToT in the past. Even the T-90's armour is Kanchan armour, developed by DRDO. The Russians did not give us their best. Ditto with the AC, without which T-90 is blind in the heat of Rajasthan and Punjab. T-90 was not tailored to India's need. It was procured in haste after Pakistanis got their al-Khalid and our Arjun programme was delayed.

Back to square again. :bounce:
Modi loves this question very much. So for him, no need to worry at all for spending money at all. :yo:
Back to square one, indeed. We can try and spend money on indigenous products. Get more of that F404 or F414, and induct more LCAs. Upgrade the Sukhois instead of banking on the FGFA. Also, get those 36 Rafales.

Did you read the article in The Daily Beast?

PaliwalWarrior

Add assembling costs.

Second, obviously, Rafale has more fly cost, so flat % of its cost will be higher.

when Su30mki

are made in INDIA IT DOES NOT make sense to provide figures in dollars it only makes sense to do calculations in INR as that is what we are going to spend

i am not favouring any russian product
but this question from you means that you want readers & forum members to favour other products - i.e. rafales

why should i do it ?

i am giving you figures which the Def Min of india has quoted

lets come to the second part of the question

operational readiness

if you look at india Uk excercise in UK

Su30MKi did 2 sorties a day - 1 in the morning 1 in the afternoon

so there is no problem with Su30's
operational readiness
TAT
sortie rate

of course a ten day excersice is not the best indiactor or data point to judge the operational readiness parameters

but then,in the same neither is what is written in brochures nor what rafail fanboys / pr guys says should be taken as gospel truth

ieven in france AF the availability rate of Rafale is 75%

i.e.
to have 30 ready rafales at any point of time you need 40 rafales

The availability rate of SU30Mki is not constrained by SU30's problems

but as has been pointed out n no of times - the problem is IAF is not stocking enough spares for it

so what happens is when SU30 needs some spares IAF goes to HAL who then orders it from OEM vendor
now there is a lead time involved in mfg a aprt
so during all that time the SU30 sits in the hangar and thus the availability rte gets affected

last year IAF spent only Rs 58 crores on spares of Su30 - i.e less than 100 million dollars on spares for a fleet of 200 SU30MKI

even after all such antics - the availability rate of Su30 is close to 60% and in next 1 year it will reach 75-80% as per the indian Def Min

PaliwalWarrior

Add assembling costs.
no the net costs to india for Su30MKI is 358 crores

all inclusive - ( also indian taxes ) so there is no extra costs

PaliwalWarrior

In other words........ India was / is ATM for Russians.

India got T.O.T. for Su-30. As they paid for it.
Still India can't upgrade Su-30 mki at home itself with the help of that given T.O.T.
So what is the point for that useless TOT.....!

you are making funny points ?

cant upgrade SU30 at home ?

are you out of your mind or what

indian Su30 upgrade to super standards will be carried out in india only

but the point is if India wanted to upgrade them itself - what will india upgrade them with ?

upgrade ENgines - does india have own engines ? No so India needs to buy new engines for upgrade for Russia

Upgrade Radar - does india have own AESA ? No so india needs to buy new AESA radar for upgrade from Russia

now do you understand why we need to sit with russia for upgrading the SU30 FLEET ?

there are small things which india has developed

OBOGS
EW internal suite
MAWS

etc

which are small things but which are indian & india developed which will be fitted in Su30

Your quote is messed up. Not sure what red part you are referring to.

Edit: I see you fixed your post. Got it. :)

$85 million is one of the many prices that float around. The cost has already touched $140 million.
Can't India wait to order till 2018 to get that price..? :dude:

Russia sells monkey models to its client states. It will never give out its best. When Russia actually chose to use its radar (it was on a Russian ship, not with the Serbs), the F-117A was shot down in Yugoslavia.

Absolutely correct.
Now people know what happened to F-117A.

When someone is in an F-35, why would he get in a dogfight? No, he won't, because he will become mincemeat. So, what will he do? Engage enemy targets from a long range? He can't even do that. To engage enemy target, he will have to use the F-35's radar, that will automatically turn his plane from stealth to non-stealth.

Stealth and early target acquisition are mutually contradictory concepts. One cannot swim in the river and remain dry at the same time.
The same radar technology, in which Russian can't able to get a AESA radar on MiG-29 and Israelis managed.
That Israel, also happy to get second squadron of F-35.
There must be something, which you and I don't know.

What I am getting at is, stealth has been oversold. Which is why I am not too big on the FGFA either.
It was @ sob who was talking about X-32 and I turned the talks to F-35. :tongue2:

We have done little with ToT in the past. Even the T-90's armour is Kanchan armour, developed by DRDO. The Russians did not give us their best. Ditto with the AC, without which T-90 is blind in the heat of Rajasthan and Punjab. T-90 was not tailored to India's need. It was procured in haste after Pakistanis got their al-Khalid and our Arjun programme was delayed.

Back to square one, indeed. We can try and spend money on indigenous products. Get more of that F404 or F414, and induct more LCAs. Upgrade the Sukhois instead of banking on the FGFA. Also, get those 36 Rafales.
Let Modi decide. :biggrin2:

Did you read the article in The Daily Beast?
No. Post it please.

Can't India wait to order till 2018 to get that price..? :dude:
India can wait till 2018, but it won't get that price. The price has already touched $140 million for the Canadians, who are a participating member. It will most likely be over $140 million for India. I won't rely on that F-35 link. A lot of official claims from Lockheed Martin and its proponents have turned out to be pipe dreams.

Now, let us assume I am wrong and we get it at that price, even then, what are we getting for that price? Something that offers no benefit to India.

The same radar technology, in which Russian can't able to get a AESA radar on MiG-29 and Israelis managed.
Russia was not able to or was not willing to? Can you post some sources?

That Israel, also happy to get second squadron of F-35.
There must be something, which you and I don't know.
Well, if there is something I don't know, then I don't know why I should support the F-35. It is still an expensive overrated white elephant for me.

No. Post it please.
Already posted. Check my original post entitled "Is the F-35 an alternative to the Rafale?"

India can wait till 2018, but it won't get that price. The price has already touched $140 million for the Canadians, who are a participating member. It will most likely be over $140 million for India. I won't rely on that F-35 link. A lot of official claims from Lockheed Martin and its proponents have turned out to be pipe dreams.

Now, let us assume I am wrong and we get it at that price, even then, what are we getting for that price? Something that offers no benefit to India.
Benefits were there, but UPA - 1 preferred to ignore it as usual. :rage:

Russia was not able to or was not willing to? Can you post some sources?
Which Russian AESA radar they use or supply on MiG-29s. :confused1:

Well, if there is something I don't know, then I don't know why I should support the F-35. It is still an expensive overrated white elephant for me.
Already posted. Check my original post entitled "Is the F-35 an alternative to the Rafale?"
Let's wait and watch. :)