It is easy enough to say that, but the physical similarities are evident. In terms of materials and subsystems, they have high commonality in the missile set. They both work on the same dynamic. Akash uses CG because they never developed a SARH seeker. The latter is superior.
Armand, you are just making false claims I'm afraid. The external similarities apart, they don't have any commonality in terms of materials and subsystems. I know this because I have the Akash data right in front of me, and clearly the systems are pretty much different. Everything from the steel, to the propellant for the booster, sustainer etc has been developed inhouse with different specifications from the Russian system and tailored to local requirements. The overall missile also behaves differently.
Second, you are mistaken again when you say a SARH seeker is superior and the Akash uses CG because they never developed one. A SARH seeker is by no means guaranteed to be better than a properly implemented modern CG system. In fact, SARH systems have had a pretty lousy record in recent years against ECM. They were a solution for a bygone era when an onboard nearby receiver on the missile was thought to compensate for lack of reciever sensitivity in a radar system far away. Today's radars don't face this problem.
The Akash was originally planned to have an ARH system but it was dropped when the performance really didnt justify the investment! The missile's CG system proved accurate enough to guarantee a kill in the presence of heavy ECM in trials against the IAF, which BTW operates some of the best jammers developed locally, and sourced from a variety of sources including israel and the west!
So your claims of the Akash not having a SARH system because they couldnt develop one are wrong. Because there were never any plans to develop a SARH seeker to begin with.
Akash is in no way comparable to a high end S-300. It is more akin to the Kub missile with Buk-M1 radar set that lacks a SARH seeker. SACLOS guidance is antiquated and lacking any subtlety in passive mode. It has to continue radiating the target until interception is complete. It makes for a nice target itself and gives plenty of warning to what it is tracking. The radar set is modern thanks to Polish assistance.
Either you didnt understand what I wrote or are choosing to be obtuse. Either ways, you are mistaken.
First, S-300's also use all the way guidance and hence lack subtlety and what not. The point that you deliberately chose to ignore is that the Akash's GBAD element is far more modern than the SA-6 system and used S-300 type architecture deliberately to keep ECM resistance high and offer multi-target engagement capability. Your claims of the Akash being a SA-6 claim are hence incorrect. If the Akash were a SA-6 copy, the Indians would have copied the same layout including a simpler TELAR with simpler radar. As regards antiquated, the Akash proved itself pretty well, thanks much.
Tarmak007 -- A bold blog on Indian defence: 2,000 Akash missiles for Army; good times for DRDO, BDL
The system was put through an electronic warfare (EW) trials conducted to assess the weapon system's survivability in dense jamming environment expected in a battlefield. Multiple aerial jammers (both noise and deception) were flown simultaneously in attack from different directions on the Akash group deployed in combat pattern. Sources claim that the radars of Akash could hold track of all aerial targets despite the jammers, conclusively establishing the operation of built-in electronic counter-counter measures (ECCM) features.
Second, your claim that Polish assistance made the radar set modern is also absolutely wrong.
The Polish have nothing to do with the radar set critical to the Akash, which is the Rajendra BLR. India & PIT of Poland collaborated to develop the TRS-
surveillance radar for the Akash group, and even here, the development was joint with both sides owning the IP for the hardware since both sides worked on it, and the Indian side had the additional critical additional responsibility for the signal and data processing.
This initial Indo-Polish CAR was then developed further by India into the Rohini 3D surveillance radar where even the originally jointly developed antenna, beamformer and receiver were replaced by newer systems developed by India for the production version. This modernized version was then ordered by the IAF en masse, and different variants have been made for the Army & Navy. In short, this is yet another topic you clearly know very little about. And please don't give me some copy pasted rubbish from sengupta and others of his ilk. In contrast the Polish radar has not been developed to the same level with only a few units ordered for the local forces.
In fact India today is far ahead of Poland in terms of radar technologies and even exported slotted waveguide array radar antenna from DRDO for Polish MPA radars.+
It is India's attempt to replace it when the upgrade to Buk-M2 would have been a better option. The drive for indigenisation leaves much to be desired.
The Buk-M2 makes little to no sense for India because its a foreign system with its electronics in the hand of a foreign OEM and with limited potential for further independent upgrades. In contrast the Akash makes ideal sense for India because its baseline systems are as modern or even better, and the missile can continue to evolve or even be replaced with newer variants going forward.
India's drive for indigenization in this case has paid off in spades.
The choice of ramjet for such a short range missile is a waste of weight and mass. The Russians figured that out when they switched back to Buk missile set. DRDO was copying what they had and to say it evolved is an overstatement. It is an inferior design.
Wrong. As if the range alone of the missile decides whether ramjets should be used or otherwise. In the real world, missile design choices stem from user requirements which are based on threat profiles of the target sets. The DRDO chose the ramjet for the Akash based on what the Army and AF came up with in the IGMDP in terms of their GSQR/ASR respectively, which were best met by an air breathing missile for its target set.
The Russians design choices for their Buk are theirs to make depending on what they expected from their systems. Their Buk systems trade off more cost and complexity in terms of not spending on expensive FCRs etc by transferring the expense to more mobility and integrated TELARs. If they wanted more range & found the ramjet concept was limiting their choices in terms of mobility, and went back to conventional propulsion with its obvious cons, it is their choice to make based on their requirements!
Its amusing to see the circular logic that you employ. The Akash is a copy because you insist it is, and hence since it must be a copy, India must and should have copied what happened to the Buk as well. Never mind, that the fact that India ignored the development of the Buk and went on its development trajectory with the Akash and other missile systems, shows its independence. It actually punctures your claims.
You can say that while I can say they went with SACLOS because they didn't have the knowledge and expertise to come up with a SARH seeker. It is no secret India's radar technology requires a lot of foreign assistance.
You can say all that, but then I can also quite clearly say you are talking through your hat. Because, unlike you, I have the real data in front of me released by the Akash developers publicly, which trace the development of the missile and what drove their design choices.
As regards radar technology and requiring assistance, please don't make me laugh as it is absolutely irrelevant to the topic at hand. India was able to successfully develop far more complex seekers for the BMD program. In the world that we exist in today, India apart from China is one of the few countries with a well funded and active radar development program. Coming to foreign assistance, thanks for making the point as today there are multiple countries willing to cooperate and provide technology to India. Why, your wonderful Thales every now and then comes over to India and offers all sorts of fancy programs, and it is India which is in the driving seat as to which technology it chooses to acquire.
Yes yes, it is automated... welcome to the digital age. :shocked:
Pointless sarcasm, and that too deliberately misconstruing the point. Is it really that hard to expect any sort of mature response from you. The point made was simple. That in contrast to the SA-6, the Akash system from day one was designed to be fully automated, which punctures your claims of the missile being a SA-6 copy. And also that the C3I system was of a sufficient grade that it formed the bedrock of Indian tactical SSM efforts, with programs like the Brahmos using the same.
Development started 30 years ago. Requirements have changed but GoI had to field at least one successful initiative started back when I was born so DRDO won't look incompetent. Not even Chinese clones are "exact" configurations of what they copied.
Sorry Armand, that sort of outright dishonesty won't fly. Your debating tactics, are getting more and more silly.
First, you have no clue of anything re: Indian requirements.
Second, GOI did not have to do anything of the sort to assist DRDO or the like and nor did requirements change. They just let the program be & it was approved only after it cleared IAF trials for which the IAF ordered no less than 8 squadrons. After that, when the Ground based systems cleared Army trials, the Army ordered two regiments. Its actually pathetic that you had to run down a successful program in order to somehow win a net argument, when the reality is that the program has been successful, met requirements and hence has record orders.
Tarmak007 -- A bold blog on Indian defence: HAPPY HOURS: 2,500 missiles, 112 launchers, 28 MPARs & 100 3-D CARs | Massive Akash SAM system orders boost to desi pride, industries | 1st Sqn in June & 2nd in Oct 2012 | DRDO mum on Mk-II
Tarmak007 -- A bold blog on Indian defence: 2,000 Akash missiles for Army; good times for DRDO, BDL
I don't particularly care how you lot do things in France, but in India, whereas the MOD can at best continue funding to keep a program running, orders are not placed for series production on local programs unless the product meets stated criteria.
The Army & AF do not release orders unless the weapon is perfected & even then, as series production continues, the first few batches go through user trials again to even iron out teething troubles. That you don't know this, shows you really know little about Indian development.
And the Rafale program was launched many years after I was born, and France has been struggling to field it, and your PM goes around hat in hand, looking for exports! So I guess that is because, judging by your standards, that was done because Dassault need not look incompetent.
And why do you think DRDO gave up on a concept as simple as an improved Osa point defence SAM? Incompetence maybe?
Was the incompetence at their end or at yours, when you don't have the foggiest idea about the Trishul system and what its ground based control system and guidance were? I mean, I get it that you think that your debating tactics are pretty smart and what not, but frankly after all this....its just silly to ask to be spoonfed in turn..
I can go by DRDO's success record, or lack there-of, and see who they have been consulting with for technical assistance in development. Oh yes, Brahmos is so Indian when it is repackaged Yakhont that Russia won't share propulsion technology.
Armand, you don't have the foggiest idea about either DRDO's success record or even India's successes or not for that matter. Judging by your posts on Indian & Russian military technology, I can even point out that apart from playing up French kit, any sort of critical evaluation is not your forte.
And another thing, your deliberately obnoxious and overly aggressive debating style is neither impressive & nor does it present you in a positive light. It does bring to mind however, how lousy the attitudes of some French vendors has been in deals with India, and which is why India developed a burgeoning relationship with Israel. More cost effective & more sanity in terms of understanding customer requirements. So enough please. Ask questions if you must, but kindly ditch the tough guy act.
If I were to get into how great French military technology has been & your record in warfare, you'll be hiding your head.
Brahmos is a repackaged Yakhont? Enough already. About the only thing common between the Yakhont system & the Brahmos system, is the fact that the airframe of both missiles & the propulsion is the same. The rest is entirely different, including the Indian made nav-attack package in the missile itself, to the entirely different C3I system, FCS and launchers developed specifically for the Brahmos program by India. Which is why Russia is selling the Yakhont and not the Brahmos as India does not wish to export critical tech developed for the Brahmos.
And who says Russia won't share propulsion technology? Did the Russians call you up to let you know that? Pillai - the head of Brahmos Corp itself - has gone on record stating that India never bothered to ask for the propulsion tech of the Brahmos when the deal was signed, but that if it wants, it is on the table. India & Russia are anyways working on the next gen Brahmos propulsion with a scramjet, with design centers both in India & Russia.
I already stated that India doesn't clone like China, but to say they didn't try reverse engineering is disingenuous.
India doesn't do reverse engineering like China does, and that is a fact. And that is because reverse engineered products will not meet user staff requirements and also because reverse engineering violates IP, making joint ventures hard.
It has been a much harder path. The difference is the CCP provides nearly limitless resources in their attempt to clone/develop weapon systems. GoI provides a scant amount of funding and refuses to have DRDO reorganise a failed research model. India is left with no option but to go abroad and seek technical assistance. DRDO still couldn't do what China does because they don't get the resources in which to do it. When India stops the brain drain and brings their top minds into a well managed research organisation with adequate funding... you will see things change even surpassing China. Innovation certainly is better than copying... but you are still reinventing the wheel.
The so called limitless resources of China go into hugely inefficient black holes of multiple institutes kept alive for jobs programs and the lack of technology access via joint development has meant that fancy exteriors aside, many chinese systems lack truly competitive subystems.
India "reinventing the wheel" and learning what a wheel is, is far better than buying overpriced ripoffs from other countries, whether it be arty shells from russia or mirage 2000 upgrades from france. Ultimately a nation has to develop its own path to success, India is well on that path. The size and scale of what it has achieved on a limited budget also bodes well for efficiency at least as far as R&D is concerned. As far as manufacturing is concerned, the entry of the private sector into that space has now been cleared and that too will pick up. Unlike Europe, India is not going to be slashing its defence budgets anytime, or go around looking for joint ownership of its military assets. The spend on defence development and production will only go up & lead to successes over the long term. As far as India is concerned, I really don't see much of a concern the way things are developing & rapidly at that. On the other hand, if you in France want to keep any semblance of parity vis a vis earlier capabilities, do take a look at the cost of your systems, the labour costs baked in, and the increasingly untenable pan-european competition. The Americans & Israelis are eating you out of home & hearth in many erstwhile home markets, and it won't get any easier going forward.