Anything on the .338 or both 7.62 & 5.56 carbines?
You mean SSS "Saber" .338 lapua magnum rifle ?
bhai i've already writte about it extensively abouit it in some threads here,please refer to it
https://defenceforumindia.com/forum...somappa-defence-ltd.81790/page-6#post-1627368
my last reply about it after DefExpo 2020 reveal was this
Specs are impressive
but i am still kinda suspecious bekoze their maal indeed feels like phoren supplied "cheetos" to me.
Anyway,if IA is going after .338 Lapua Magnum sniper rifle this will serve them fine.
#As for 5.56mm NATO Carbine designed by ARDE//made by OFB,
I like the concept very much,it offers a rigid mount on top with full length picatiny rail thanks to its two piece sectioned receiver construction based on
SG540 // SG550 rifle series (some member here compared the design as "FNC minus mag well" but
naah it clearly is not FNC) - it provides sturdier,non moving mounting place for optics to be mounted on top compared to traditional kalashnikovs with railed top covers (or dust covers,simply) as no matter how much rigid it is made using different locking methods (in case of INSAS, there is a spring operated locking mechanism on its right side that snaps with top cover to make it fit rigidly,a user can push a button on its right to loosen it for disassembly purposes) it always will have some mechanical vibratios that could eventually move aim towars loose side.
So TL;DR; Two piece sectioned receiver provides much better,sturdier surface to mount optics on top, and this ARDE//OFB Carbine definitely has a plus point here.
Also,these pattern of receiver offers better access to internal parts for cleaning and maintenance purposes as internals are divided in two parts and twice exposed after disassemby than traditional kalashnikov pattern receiver where they are mounted on a single metallic block. It is also good for providing much sturdier fittings for internal parts of the guns.
^These seems the reasons why ARDE upgraded MSMC from traditional kalashnikov style single piece receiver to sectioned two piece receiver in final iteration of JVPC.
There are some minor plus minus points with this pattern of receiver design over traditional single piece receiver design of kalashnikovs but explaining it all would be irrelevant here.
Finally,i have written it countless times (perhaps not here but other places like our groups on facebook messenger , telegram and so) that INSAS SHOULD HAVE BEEN BASED ON SIG540//SG550 STYLE OF KALASHNIKOV FROM VERY START instead of kopy of AKM , I.E. 1995 ERA WHEN INSAS WAS DESIGNED - and it seems deez PSU nuts have finally realised the limitations of traditional kalashnikov patters after wasting our precious time,money,resources ( and dare i say,human lives) and rolled out a SG540//SG550 pattern desi kalashnikov from their side...but too f**king late,mate!
#As for 7.62x39mm Carbine of OFB,
Clearly based on Trichy Assault Rifle - concept is similar to AKS74U but in 7.62x39mm,also has similar pattern of "muzzle booster" on it.Good experiment,i would say.Would it work here ? cannot say much but it seems similar concepts has been already out there in phoren market and to some extent working fine - some examples in 7.62x39mm being
-
Zastava M92
-
Arsenal AR-M14SF
and so.