Trump Uses the K-word, Includes Bajwa in Talks with Imran

S.A.T.A

Yup, this is the right approach...
But sadly our diplomatic corps are not geared to take up these projects at the moment, I guess we will have to wait for another 5 years atleast.

But fundamental thing we have to understand about strategic diplomacy is that, it’s always the case that long term business interests which guide strategic diplomacy. This applies to all major countries.

Are the Indian business houses showing any major interest in South America and Africa? For now they are mostly selling two wheelers in Africa and South America. Look at it from another angle, why does Modi govt lays such emphasis on good relationships with Middle East major economies like Saudi, UAE. It’s because we get 40-50 billion $ annually from Indians working there. It’s always the revenue which drives the foreign policy.

So if we want India’s foreign policy to focus on SEA, Africa and South America , it’s the Indian businesses who need to start looking at these regions first. Govt will automatically follow them to support them.
Government can play its role. How often have we seen our best and most seasoned diplomats are appointed ambassadors to the US and invariably these ambassadors end up as foreign secretaries in the EAM. It's no wonder then why Indian foreign policy has decisive US tilt. Send your best to these other regions and then let these guys, once they have gained sufficient experience from these regions, head the foreign ministry. You will then notice a spurt in our activities in these regions. Entrepreneurs and the state machinery must work hand in hand to open up new frontiers.

Actually that’s not a reading supported by facts. US desires closeness in the relationship as much as India, where there is a dispute is on the trade deficit. That can and should be worked on and managed. We will always have issues to deal with but they need not be the defining points of the relationship.
Infact make a list of people who are propagating this theory that trade relationships between indo-US are at the lowest ever, 95% of them are the same people who were pro-congress and anti-Modi during recent elections.the list includes both Indians and India-American “experts”.

There was an article in the economic times which said that both sides have looked at the record and found no mention of any such thing. Attempting to publicly humiliate Trump (not sure you can ever do that...) hardly smacks of sensible diplomacy. The US state department has already attempted damage control, best to let this remain where it is.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...di-trump-talk-at-g20/articleshow/70341467.cms
As said before, his highness DT doesn't give two shits about public humiliation. He is all about the agenda. He is playing 4D chess and if he succeeds, we could be laying down foundation for Puki De-nuking if the Afghan peace process goes well. That's a Big IF.

See when you have a poisonous snake that you can't kill, it's best to de-fang it. De-nuking Pak is one of best long term solutions for the world.

Government can play its role. How often have we seen our best and most seasoned diplomats are appointed ambassadors to the US and invariably these ambassadors end up as foreign secretaries in the EAM. It's no wonder then why Indian foreign policy has decisive US tilt. Send your best to these other regions and then let these guys, once they have gained sufficient experience from these regions, head the foreign ministry. You will then notice a spurt in our activities in these regions. Entrepreneurs and the state machinery must work hand in hand to open up new frontiers.
True, only recently I have started observing how entrenched America is in our internal matters. Hardly a week goes by that America is not quoted in our parliament,judiciary or some minister’s speech. I don’t know why but Delhi based parliamentarians keep quoting past American presidents.

There is no hand in hand, bureaucracy by nature is slow. It’s the business houses that have to take the lead, and show a business case for diplomatic investment in new countries. If they are able to show more than 60000 crores revenues from a particular country, govt will automatically invest more in diplomatic corps in that country.

Ex: Modi govt focused on Africa in first two years, now not anymore why? Because Indian businessmen are not committing themselves to Africa.

Guys, please do not take the bait.

Wait for a couple of days and India will respond.

S.A.T.A

Actually that’s not a reading supported by facts. US desires closeness in the relationship as much as India, where there is a dispute is on the trade deficit. That can and should be worked on and managed. We will always have issues to deal with but they need not be the defining points of the relationship.
The way I see it, US perceives India as a bulwark against its rising rival China. Much like how China perceives Pakistan vis-a-vis India. Our relevance to the US would be largely dependent on how far we are willing to toe US line on matters that are of strategic importance to the US. This was implicit in the way how most previous US administrations approached India. its just that Trump has made it very explicit.

S.A.T.A

There was an article in the economic times which said that both sides have looked at the record and found no mention of any such thing. Attempting to publicly humiliate Trump (not sure you can ever do that...) hardly smacks of sensible diplomacy. The US state department has already attempted damage control, best to let this remain where it is.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...di-trump-talk-at-g20/articleshow/70341467.cms
This guy has decided to deliberately put us in a tight spot, by inventing a fake conversation. I can forgive his offer to mediate, which anyway is still one of their stated policy. But to claim that India wanted US to mediate on kashmir and bring the so called 'peace to the violence wracked place' is more than mischievous, it was a deliberate attempt to belittle us. Modi shows no mercy on folks who belittle him, why should he spare Trump.

EAM and Indian parliament have slapped Trump right left and centre. Modi will respond for sure.

But the main focus must be on punishing Pakistan.

S.A.T.A

I would argue that American nationalism never went away, it got suppressed in American MSM during Obama’s second term. What we are seeing now is a reaction to that. The flower power era oldies thought they would use Obama presidency to bring back hippie politics and take it to next phase. And then trump happened.
American nationalism merely masqueraded as American liberalism against the soviets during the cold War, but it was always there. Why else would a liberal rag like the NYT would appear so hostile against India. The fact is she and her sister publications on both sides of the ideological divide have always been critical of India. American nationalism is the new normal and the only friends of America are those that will be subservient to it.

ssg_slayer

Director at Search & Troll Wing - STW
Seems this forum is compromised by Americans stooges .
There is a difference being a stooge and being calm and clever.

Pakistanis want to spoil India US bilateral relations and they will surely succeed because of no other than Indians. They exploit the politics in India for this purpose. Look how Indians are reacting, we are instead of propagating the insult done to Pakistan by Americans , we are fighting in parliament on Kashmir with eachother. I agree with @Knowitall absolutely!!

This is so lame, this is not a mistake this is a blunder! There was no need to react at all, the EAM is a fool who asked the spokesperson to react immediately.The explanation should have come from NSA or some officio from US to explain what Trump meant!!

The same thing happened during Rafael. When some one said something in France and explanation was to be given in India by the current government. This is absolutely so lame.

Congress and Pakistan wants to spoil the Indian effort in diplomatic wins against China and Pakistan.

American nationalism merely masqueraded as American liberalism against the soviets during the cold War, but it was always there. Why else would a liberal rag like the NYT would appear so hostile against India. The fact is she and her sister publications on both sides of the ideological divide have always been critical of India. American nationalism is the new normal and the only friends of America are those that will be subservient to it.
In case you haven’t watched this interview...

Multiple ceasefire violations by pakistan. Coincidence much.

EAM and Indian parliament have slapped Trump right left and centre. Modi will respond for sure.

But the main focus must be on punishing Pakistan.
We know that Kashmir was discussed between DT and Modi. This could easily be a ruse, an understanding between the two. Since, our own Parliament needs to have this debate. Like clockwork, the Parliament overtly reacted by saying it's bilateral matter till all terror activities stop and Simla and other accords are key to resolving this issue. We set are setting our cards in play. It's also a good way to identify the fresh face Napkis in our own parliament which is new since election.

Trump's focus is on De-nuking certain hostile countries with NK, Iran and Paks in his sights. If such De-Nuking is to happen, it is clear US mediation would be needed, I am certain Modi and Trump know and discuss this. Modi is pretty quiet and will remain so.

Does one here really think that even before beggar IK wore his unwahsed 'kaccha' to leave to the US, Modi and Trump didn't have a simple call on the phone. They have direct instant access to each other and they speak more often than people assume.

Overall world media is more focused on Trump's yet another lie as India has categorically refuted his claim.

Funny he has suddenly become fake Allah of Pakistanis.

Pakistani army Kutta Pathan Imran Khan who became popular abusing America and Trump has started liking him and was so comfortable when Trump talked about Pashtun Genocide. Trust me this is not going to go well to his core constituency. Pakistani army kutta has sold Phastun pride for American dollars.

India must make sure that the Pashtun genocide Trump and Imran are planning is told to every Afghan and Pathan living in Pakistan.

Fake ba$tard$ can bend as backwards as the pounder wants.

ssg_slayer

Director at Search & Troll Wing - STW
Modi govt focused on Africa in first two years, now not anymore why? Because Indian businessmen are not committing themselves to Africa
The chinese and Pakistanis are propagating there against Indians, the recent diplomatic crash in South Africa related due to Gupta a businessmen, who once had all South African officials in his pocket got exposed and now he is absconding and hiding in India. He show-offed his money came into lime light, the opposition took the opportunity and inflicted heavy loss to Indian diplomatic outreach. Both opposition and govt were in his pocket but some one propagated who we know who it can be. More over after Zimbabwe and condition in Mozambique the crime has gone really up. Not safe for businessmen!

Funny he has suddenly become fake Allah of Pakistanis.
So this means Imraand Khan's visit was successful due to Indian overreaction and blunder even after getting a bashing from Trump. It should have had not happened man!

S.A.T.A

True, only recently I have started observing how entrenched America is in our internal matters. Hardly a week goes by that America is not quoted in our parliament,judiciary or some minister’s speech. I don’t know why but Delhi based parliamentarians keep quoting past American presidents.

There is no hand in hand, bureaucracy by nature is slow. It’s the business houses that have to take the lead, and show a business case for diplomatic investment in new countries. If they are able to show more than 60000 crores revenues from a particular country, govt will automatically invest more in diplomatic corps in that country.

Ex: Modi govt focused on Africa in first two years, now not anymore why? Because Indian businessmen are not committing themselves to Africa.
While I can understand why Indian IT sector might still be upbeat about the US, but for the rest it's a lost cause. As an export market, Trump will make it even more difficult to penetrate or do business. From what I'm reading, Trump and his acolytes are now heaping scorn on business that want to invest in foreign shores. US is now increasingly moving from American exceptionalism to American introvertism, from trade, society to culture. If Indian business want new and promising markets, they better look towards, SEA , EU, China, Africa and Latin America. That's the way wind is blowing and they better catch it quick.

Absolut_Vodka

Quarantined Abdul
If you really want to know how's the mood in New Delhi, tune into Republic tonight with Arnab debate.

Multiple ceasefire violations by pakistan. Coincidence much.
No just highlighting the conflict. Expect major terrorist attack in coming months. Paki would try to revive stone pelting and terrorism like there's no tomorrow. Good that we have Amit Shah as HM.

While I can understand why Indian IT sector might still be upbeat about the US, but for the rest it's a lost cause. As an export market, Trump will make it even more difficult to penetrate or do business. From what I'm reading, Trump and his acolytes are now heaping scorn on business that want to invest in foreign shores. US is now increasingly moving from American exceptionalism to American introvertism, from trade, society to culture. If Indian business want new and promising markets, they better look towards, SEA , EU, China, Africa and Latin America. That's the way wind is blowing and they better catch it quick.
SEA is fine (plenty of Indian investment already flourishes here), EU is a house of soy-boy cards (wait till no deal Brexit for more cracks in their foundation), China is a commie desh and closeness with it will commiefy our nation even more (I thought we had enough socialists and commies already). Africa is mostly debt ridden shithole, Indian businesses already exists a lot in the stable parts of Africa. Many nations are in Chinese debt trap due to OBOR.
Lot of Lain American nations are unstable (yet there are many Indian businesses already in that region)

Let's not catch the wind blowing a direction without knowing if the wind contains toxic fart particles, else we'll be smelling shit all the way.

Easier fix is to drop tariffs on both sides to a minimum (shouldn't be more than 2-3% on anything) and let people / companies trade as they wish. Trump couldn't care less where US businesses invest their money.

We know that Kashmir was discussed between DT and Modi. This could easily be a ruse, an understanding between the two. Since, our own Parliament needs to have this debate. Like clockwork, the Parliament overtly reacted by saying it's bilatral matter till all terror actitvities stop a

Trump's focus is on De-nuking certain hostile countries with NK, Iran and Paks in his sights. If such De-Nuking is to happen, it is clear US mediation would be needed, I am certain Modi knows this. Modi is pretty quiet since the game is on.

Does one here really think that even before beggar IK wore his unwahsed 'kaccha' to leave to the US, Modi and Trump didn't have a simple call on the phone. They have direct instant access.

I have a different take on this.

1. First, India must develop immunity for anyone talking about the Kashmir issue.Investing too much diplomatic equity to making sure no one talks about Kashmir is the most moronic feature of Indian diplomacy

Kuch To Log Kaheyngey Logo Ka kaam hai kehna.

It does not mean that we will remain indifferent. For that, we must develop a discourse that uses clever responses.

The government must do a crackdown on librandoo media when they go berserk.

The other method will be to punish Pakistan harder when anyone raises this issue on behalf of Pakistan.

Pakistan has invested in a game where they manipulate opinion and use internalization of the Kashmir issue as a chip when India reacts aggressively. And then that so-called internationalization is used to create pressure within India against the political dispensation.

I have great hopes from new EAM think tank lead by Mr. JS that they have already de-coded this game and will invest heavily in trans border aggression and interference in Pakistan's fault lines.

So far I have not read a single comment that talks about this game but usual reactions.

2. Americans can not de-nuke Pakistan because it is an extension of the Chinese nuclear weapon program. India must sit in an ambush or USA for that matter and wait for a major crisis in China to deflate Porkistan's borrowed nuclear security once for all.

3. No one takes Pakistan seriously. They are spending millions to copy Modi. He was handpicked by the army to counter Modi's influence. People who are well aware of Jihadi mentality knows it. Jihadi thinks doing the same symbolism will yield results but it is more than that which works and Modi is quite advanced in that. Let them keep guessing and spend million which they could have used to build Toilets.